Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Quake2 won't work
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mavos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jun 2002
Posts: 26
Location: Göteborg, Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Aug 09, 2002 2:43 am    Post subject: Quake2 won't work Reply with quote

Quake2 doesn't like me...

When I start it up, the picture is only 50% wide and the colors are all screwed up... but this is not really a problem and is problably the X11 output thing in Quake2 having a problem with the color depth of my screen.

When I switch to "OpenGL glx" for a more pleasant gaming experience, it kicks me out of the game, telling me this:

Code:

------- Loading ref_glx.so -------
ref_gl version: GL 0.01
R_SetMode() - CDS not allowed with this driver
Initializing OpenGL display
...setting mode 3: 640 480
Error couldn't open the X display
ref_gl::R_SetMode() - invalid mode
Initializing OpenGL display
...setting mode 3: 640 480
Error couldn't open the X display
ref_gl::R_SetMode() - could not revert to safe mode
ref_gl::R_Init() - could not R_SetMode()


This is obviously quite annoying. Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2867
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Fri Aug 09, 2002 3:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some suggestions:

* Make sure that the modes you want run with Quake2 are lists in XF86Config.

* Make sure DGA is enabled in your XServer.

* Make sure DRI _and_ DRM are enabled in your XServer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mavos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jun 2002
Posts: 26
Location: Göteborg, Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Aug 09, 2002 5:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well... the thing is that everything else works as expected. For example, Quake3 does exactly what I tell it to do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2867
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Fri Aug 09, 2002 6:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perhaps this will help (Google):

http://www.mcdownloads.com/do_q.php?q_id=69
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mavos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jun 2002
Posts: 26
Location: Göteborg, Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Aug 09, 2002 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope, that's not the same problem. Anyway, since Quake3 works perfectly for me, I don't think it's related.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum