Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub: Cannot read grub.conf file
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tylerd75
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Aug 2005
Posts: 52
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 12:22 pm    Post subject: Grub Error 15: File Not Found Reply with quote

I have a fileserver running Gentoo x64 (I've also tried x86, with the same grub error).

When I boot, grub is loaded normally, but when I choose the kernel and hit enter, the screen turns black and I get this error:
Grub Error 15: File Not Found

My grub.conf looks like this:
Code:

default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd5,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title Gentoo Linux 2.6.30-r8-2
root (hd5,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86_64-2.6.30-gentoo-r5-1 init=/linuxrc root=/dev/ram0 ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/sdf3 udev vga=791 splash=silent
initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-2.6.30-gentoo-r5-1


If I manually load the kernel etc. by entering the grub commandline:
Code:

kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86_64-2.6.30-gentoo-r5-1 udev vga=791 real_root=/dev/sdf3
initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-2.6.30-gentoo-r5-1
boot

Then the kernel boots fine.

I have a faint idea that this is either related to the initramfs or the BIOS setup of the sata controller.
I have never been able to boot from grub on this motherboard (Asus P5Q, ICH10R).
The menu.lst symbolic link exists...

Any ideas?
_________________
Martin
Linux User: #158780 @ http://counter.li.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s2ndsight
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Feb 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I created a grub boot floppy according to the instructions I've found here. Understand that the setup (fd0) command invokes the grub-install command to look for menu.1st as the config file instead of grub.conf, and done practically everything else I can think of to solve this problem, and I'm stumped. When setup (fd0) completes, it tells me that stage 1 and stage 2 were written properly and the config file is expected to be found in /boot/grub/menu.1st, and that's exactly where it is.

When I boot from the floppy, instead of seeing the grub splash and the boot option, I get dumped back to the grub prompt after stage 2 has loaded. Somehow, the menu.1st file is not being found by grub.

At the grub prompt, if I enter "configfile /boot/grub/menu.1st", everything boots up perfectly.

Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
derk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Mar 2003
Posts: 273
Location: St Thomas Ontario

PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

looks like you have a typo .. should be: menu.lst ( a lower case L not a number 1) is it correct on your disk?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flangemonkey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2010
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2011 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

not entirely on topic, but i had the same symptoms, with a different cause;

my grub/menu.lst had this:

#title Gentoo 3.0.6
root (hd0,7)
kernel (hd0,5)/gentoo-3.0.6 ro vga=791 root=/dev/sdc8

the comment over "title" was causing grub to bomb out to a command line, remove the comment:

title Gentoo 3.0.6
root (hd0,7)
kernel (hd0,5)/gentoo-3.0.6 ro vga=791 root=/dev/sdc8

all worked fine;

posting this here in the hope it'll help someone else one day :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghicksrn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Mar 2012
Posts: 11
Location: Tennessee

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2012 6:20 pm    Post subject: So I'm resurrecting an old thread. Reply with quote

I have the same problem as these guys, but I have not been able to solve it. I've searched high and low without satisfaction. So I must be missing something along the way.
I was previously triple booting Win 7, Crunchbang, and Gentoo. All was working well using Grub2 from Crunchbang to boot Gentoo. I finally have Gentoo working well enough to drop Crunchbang, so I have deleted it from my system. I am using Windows bootloader, then chainloading into Grub. I used EasyBCD in Windows for the boot menu.

At present, I can boot into Windows fine (using Windows bootloader). When I choose linux from my Windows boot menu, I get the prompt
Code:
grub>

I can then type
Code:
configfile (hd0,2)/grub/menu.lst

and it boots perfectly. What am I doing, or have I done, to keep this from being automatic?

Code:
 fdisk -l

gives me
Code:
Disk /dev/sda: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders, total 625142448 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00066cd5

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *        2048   312573951   156285952    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda2       312573952   320970751     4198400   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda3       320970752   322019327      524288   83  Linux
/dev/sda4       322019328   625141759   151561216    5  Extended
/dev/sda5       322021376   625141759   151560192   83  Linux


I have grub.conf of
Code:
default 0

timeout 3

splashimage=(hd0,2)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title Gentoo Linux 3.2.12
root (hd0,2)
kernel /kernel-3.2.12-gentoo-033112 root=/dev/sda5 raid=noautodetect

title Gentoo Linux 3.2.12 (rescue)
root (hd0,2)
kernel /kernel-3.2.12-gentoo-033112 root=/dev/sda5 init=/bin/bb

title Windows 7
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1


menu.lst exists as a symlink to grub.conf in /boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghicksrn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Mar 2012
Posts: 11
Location: Tennessee

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2012 6:51 pm    Post subject: I figured out my problem after I posted Reply with quote

I worked for 2 days trying to figure that out before I posted.
I finally realized that the grub prompt I was seeing was on a screen with
Quote:
GRUB4DOS
at the top of the screen. I went into Windows and removed the entry for Linux from EasyBCD (the same I was using with Crunchbang) and made a new entry for Gentoo. Now everything works as intended.
How dumb can I feel?
Problem solved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LordVan
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Nov 2002
Posts: 67
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2012 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
pacman99,

You have a missing symbolic link.

When grub boots, it looks for a file called menu.lst and you provide grub.conf.
You need to do the following

Code:
mount /boot
cd /boot/grub
ln -s /boot/grub/grub.conf menu.lst
thats a lower case "L" for l(i)st not numeral "1" for First.


O.o I should've looked in the forum sooner! I think my wife's PC has had this problem for months!!
_________________
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 3822
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2012 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know about everyone else but when I tried unmasking grub2 and started using it, I could not get the menu to show up at all...

That is, until I noticed I used grub.conf (or rather grub/menu.lst) ... and grub2 wanted grub2/grub.cfg ...

So frustrating... someone wanted to save a letter...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greanie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Nov 2007
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 9:50 am    Post subject: grub.conf no longer being read after repartitioning of drive Reply with quote

So I seem to have a similar problem as reported repeatedly on this thread but none of the solutions have worked. I recently installed gentoo and it was working just fine. Somehow, during the install, I did not make /dev/sda7 as large as I wanted. So, using fdisk, I changed the size of /dev/sda7. The file system is installed on /dev/sda3, /dev/sda5 & /dev/sda6 but I didn't touch those partitions. As I read that rewriting the partition table wipes out the grub command in the MBR, I re-issued grub-install --no-floppy /dev/sda (/dev/sda1/ was probably not mounted). I did not change /etc/mtab as the file was already there. On reboot, all I get now is the grub prompt. My grub.conf is still in /dev/sda1/boot/grub/grub.conf and hasn't changed. I tried making a symbolic link of menu.lst to grub.conf but that didn't make a difference. If I issue configfile /boot/grub.conf, the grub screen with my available kernels comes up. What did I mess up in updating the partition table?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greanie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Nov 2007
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I solved the problem. I mounted /dev/sda1 to /boot and reissued grub-install --no-floppy /dev/sda and now my kernel options come up automatically again on grub.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum