Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo: 10 years compiling - Testers for liveDVD enter here
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 731
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ArneBab wrote:
likewhoa wrote:
Use this

Code:

xorg.conf


Good luck!


I tried it, and I also tried using the version which runs my main Gentoo, but it didn't work.

I get the feeling, though, that it might be due to damaged blocks on the USB stick, since it now complained that it couldn't find extensions like radeon, though lsmod | grep radeon showed it.


Wait there will be a new image coming up later today.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fable
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Issue:
-------
Toshiba Satellite A200-12F, Intel GMA950 graphics, Core2Duo 1.73GHz 32-bit.

Tried to boot up Gentoo 10.0 live dvd, once just by pressing enter, once by typing "gentoo-nofb" and pressing enter.

Both times after some boot process I was able to choose keyboard layout and hear music playing, but instead of a login prompt or any X desktop showing up, I just got a black screen with an underscore-cursor blinking in the top left, and everything appearing completely frozen, except the DVD-Drive spinning up/down for a second every minute or so.

Side Notes:
-------------
I've never tried Gentoo before and thought live DVD might be a good opportunity.
Yesterday, I also tried "Sabayon 5.0" live DVD, which I understand is a distro based off Gentoo, just consisting of precompiled binaries instead. Sabayon 5.0 would boot up completely fine and work out of the box, not sure whether this info might be important in any way. Generic live dvds of other distributions also "just boot" fine (Ubuntu, Mandriva, Fedora, Suse).

I just registered in this forum for reporting this problem, read the FAQ, searched a bit, and hope I found the correct thread for posting.
regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 731
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fable wrote:
Issue:
-------
Toshiba Satellite A200-12F, Intel GMA950 graphics, Core2Duo 1.73GHz 32-bit.

Tried to boot up Gentoo 10.0 live dvd, once just by pressing enter, once by typing "gentoo-nofb" and pressing enter.

Both times after some boot process I was able to choose keyboard layout and hear music playing, but instead of a login prompt or any X desktop showing up, I just got a black screen with an underscore-cursor blinking in the top left, and everything appearing completely frozen, except the DVD-Drive spinning up/down for a second every minute or so.

Side Notes:
-------------
I've never tried Gentoo before and thought live DVD might be a good opportunity.
Yesterday, I also tried "Sabayon 5.0" live DVD, which I understand is a distro based off Gentoo, just consisting of precompiled binaries instead. Sabayon 5.0 would boot up completely fine and work out of the box, not sure whether this info might be important in any way. Generic live dvds of other distributions also "just boot" fine (Ubuntu, Mandriva, Fedora, Suse).

I just registered in this forum for reporting this problem, read the FAQ, searched a bit, and hope I found the correct thread for posting.
regards


there seems to be issues with intel drivers and these should be fixed on the upcoming revision. Please open a bug with 'lspci'. You will find the livedvd bug thread on the first page of this topic or one the other thread related to the livedvd.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nikodell
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Apr 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 4:28 pm    Post subject: Nice new live but the 10.0 has issues the RC did not for me. Reply with quote

I will have to go back and look but both network and sound modules fail to load with this 10.0 disk for me that I downloaded yesterday. The previous RC I got the day before worked fine, MD5sum was good?


Versions tested:
10.0/ 2009-Oct-04 20:21:28 - Directory Not so good for me
10.0_pre20090926-1952/ 2009-Sep-28 14:39:43 - Directory Good for me


The 2 systems I tested both DVD's on:

<> Evga 132-CK-NF78-A1 780i
<> 2 @ Evga GTX 260 216
<> Intell Q6600 @ 3.0
<> 4 @ Mushkin 1GB 1066
<> Win-TV-HVR-1800

<> EVGA 112-CK-NF77-A1 LGA 775 7150/630i
<> Intel E6400
<> CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB)
<> CORSAIR CMPSU-450VX 450W
<> ATI 650 Pro HDTV
<> Evga 9800 GTX+
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 731
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 5:09 pm    Post subject: Re: Nice new live but the 10.0 has issues the RC did not for Reply with quote

nikodell wrote:
I will have to go back and look but both network and sound modules fail to load with this 10.0 disk for me that I downloaded yesterday. The previous RC I got the day before worked fine, MD5sum was good?


Versions tested:
10.0/ 2009-Oct-04 20:21:28 - Directory Not so good for me
10.0_pre20090926-1952/ 2009-Sep-28 14:39:43 - Directory Good for me


The 2 systems I tested both DVD's on:

<> Evga 132-CK-NF78-A1 780i
<> 2 @ Evga GTX 260 216
<> Intell Q6600 @ 3.0
<> 4 @ Mushkin 1GB 1066
<> Win-TV-HVR-1800

<> EVGA 112-CK-NF77-A1 LGA 775 7150/630i
<> Intel E6400
<> CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB)
<> CORSAIR CMPSU-450VX 450W
<> ATI 650 Pro HDTV
<> Evga 9800 GTX+


This with amd64-multib, if so them you'll need to download these images for now which should just work(tm)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
logar0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Oct 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried the live dvd today. It could not recognize any of my usb devices. lsusb didn't report any device. Nothing connected on a usb port wasn't working (mouse, webcam, wireless, etc). I even tried modprobe some modules my self.

My lspci
Code:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82865G/PE/P DRAM Controller/Host-Hub Interface (rev 02)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82865G/PE/P PCI to AGP Controller (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev c2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801EB (ICH5) SATA Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV34 [GeForce FX 5200] (rev a1)
02:01.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8029(AS)
02:02.0 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 43)
02:02.1 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 43)
02:02.2 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB 2.0 (rev 04)


Does anyone else face the same issue?


The iso I downloaded is

http://gentoo.osuosl.org//releases/x86/10.0/livedvd-x86-amd64-32ul-10.0.iso

md5 hash: 5e46a2967173dfefa4c0591c28c10082
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
comprookie2000
Developer
Developer


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 886
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The ones that likewhoa linked to are r-14 There will be bug fix release may be 10.1 but for now try the link he gave.
_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VikingB
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 May 2006
Posts: 263
Location: ~Brussels (B)

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry not have had the opportunity to answer before, but concerning my problem with the previous version, yes of course I did check the md5sum, which was correct .
I will try with the latest version whenever possible ( this week-end, I hope)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Quick23t
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2009
Posts: 66
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I haven't had time to test everything, but I can confirm boot and basic functionality on Biostar Tpower X58 with I7 920. Although I have the pata controller and onboard sound disabled will test more when I have time

My lspci just in case
Code:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation QuickPath Architecture I/O Hub to ESI Port (rev 12)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation QuickPath Architecture I/O Hub PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev 12)
00:03.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation QuickPath Architecture I/O Hub PCI Express Root Port 3 (rev 12)
00:07.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation QuickPath Architecture I/O Hub PCI Express Root Port 7 (rev 12)
00:10.0 PIC: Intel Corporation QuickPath Interconnect Physical and Link Layer Registers Port 0 (rev 12)
00:10.1 PIC: Intel Corporation QuickPath Interconnect Routing and Protocol Layer Registers Port 0 (rev 12)
00:14.0 PIC: Intel Corporation QuickPath Architecture I/O Hub System Management Registers (rev 12)
00:14.1 PIC: Intel Corporation QuickPath Architecture I/O Hub GPIO and Scratch Pad Registers (rev 12)
00:14.2 PIC: Intel Corporation QuickPath Architecture I/O Hub Control Status and RAS Registers (rev 12)
00:14.3 PIC: Intel Corporation QuickPath Architecture I/O Hub Throttle Registers (rev 12)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5
00:1a.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #6
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) PCI Express Port 1
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) PCI Express Port 2
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) PCI Express Port 3
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 90)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801JIR (ICH10R) LPC Interface Controller
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) SATA AHCI Controller
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) SMBus Controller
01:06.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy (rev 04)
01:06.1 Input device controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy Game Port (rev 04)
01:06.2 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Creative Labs SB Audigy FireWire Port (rev 04)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 02)
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 02)
06:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GeForce 9800 GTX (rev a2)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kdsw1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Aug 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

logar0 wrote:
I tried the live dvd today. It could not recognize any of my usb devices.
Does anyone else face the same issue?

It seems I have the same problem. My mouse doesnt work. lsusb shows nothing.
My mouse is recognized as Macintosh Mouse Button Emulation at the start-up. I tried to connect different mouses - same result. My motherboard is asus P5K
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
logar0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Oct 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, with the new image it works (using it now). Usb devices are working properly now. lsusb also works.

Use This iso.

I have some other suggestions.

I)

You should include the firmware for rt73 usb based wireless cards. The file is rt73.bin. I had to copy it manually to /lib/firmware/ in order to make my card to work. dmesg output:

Code:

 rt73usb 1-4:1.0: firmware: requesting rt73.bin
phy0 -> rt2x00lib_request_firmware: Error - Failed to request Firmware.


The rt73.bin is included to this packet.



II)

I my opinion the sounds played while the system starts up should be shorter. Much shorter.


.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
comprookie2000
Developer
Developer


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 886
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

logar0 wrote:

I)

You should include the firmware for rt73 usb based wireless cards. The file is rt73.bin. I had to copy it manually to /lib/firmware/ in order to make my card to work. dmesg output:

Code:

 rt73usb 1-4:1.0: firmware: requesting rt73.bin
phy0 -> rt2x00lib_request_firmware: Error - Failed to request Firmware.


The rt73.bin is included to this packet.



Glad you got it going, this should explain the wireless;
http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/pr/releases/10.0/faq.xml#wireless
_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
logar0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Oct 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the impression that the license permits redistributing rt73.bin.

What about the sound played at the beginning; Do you believe that it should be shorter or is it just me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
comprookie2000
Developer
Developer


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 886
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

logar0 wrote:
I had the impression that the license permits redistributing rt73.bin.

I am really not sure, I would like to understand if you could explain why it can be included or why it should not I would be grateful as I would like to understand these matters better.
logar0 wrote:
What about the sound played at the beginning; Do you believe that it should be shorter or is it just me?

I do agree, I think 20 sec is good with 5 sec fadein in the beginning and 5 sec fadeout at the end.
_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
logar0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Oct 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

comprookie2000 wrote:

I am really not sure, I would like to understand if you could explain why it can be included or why it should not I would be grateful as I would like to understand these matters better.


I just read the license:


Quote:
Copyright (c) 2007, Ralink Technology Corporation
All rights reserved.

Redistribution. Redistribution and use in binary form, without
modification, are permitted provided that the following conditions are
met
:

* Redistributions must reproduce the above copyright notice and the
following disclaimer in the documentation and/or other materials
provided with the distribution.
* Neither the name of Ralink Technology Corporation nor the names of its
suppliers may be used to endorse or promote products derived from this
software without specific prior written permission.
* No reverse engineering, decompilation, or disassembly of this software
is permitted.

Limited patent license. Ralink Technology Corporation grants a world-wide,
royalty-free, non-exclusive license under patents it now or hereafter
owns or controls to make, have made, use, import, offer to sell and
sell ("Utilize") this software, but solely to the extent that any
such patent is necessary to Utilize the software alone, or in
combination with an operating system licensed under an approved Open
Source license as listed by the Open Source Initiative at
http://opensource.org/licenses. The patent license shall not apply to
any other combinations which include this software. No hardware per
se is licensed hereunder.

DISCLAIMER. THIS SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED BY THE COPYRIGHT HOLDERS AND
CONTRIBUTORS "AS IS" AND ANY EXPRESS OR IMPLIED WARRANTIES, INCLUDING,
BUT NOT LIMITED TO, THE IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY AND
FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE ARE DISCLAIMED. IN NO EVENT SHALL THE
COPYRIGHT OWNER OR CONTRIBUTORS BE LIABLE FOR ANY DIRECT, INDIRECT,
INCIDENTAL, SPECIAL, EXEMPLARY, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES (INCLUDING,
BUT NOT LIMITED TO, PROCUREMENT OF SUBSTITUTE GOODS OR SERVICES; LOSS
OF USE, DATA, OR PROFITS; OR BUSINESS INTERRUPTION) HOWEVER CAUSED AND
ON ANY THEORY OF LIABILITY, WHETHER IN CONTRACT, STRICT LIABILITY, OR
TORT (INCLUDING NEGLIGENCE OR OTHERWISE) ARISING IN ANY WAY OUT OF THE
USE OF THIS SOFTWARE, EVEN IF ADVISED OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH
DAMAGE.



As far as I can understand it can be redistributed if the above text is included int the documentation. Maybe I am wrong. Copyrights, and licenses can be interpreted in many ways some times.


.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 731
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

logar0 wrote:

As far as I can understand it can be redistributed if the above text is included int the documentation. Maybe I am wrong. Copyrights, and licenses can be interpreted in many ways some times.
.


It is in our best interest to just instruct users to manually download any close source binaries.

UPDATE from 20091009

ISO Sources for 10.1 images.

Image: livedvd-x86-amd64-32ul-10.1.iso
DIGESTS: livedvd-x86-amd64-32ul-10.1.iso.DIGESTS
Image:livedvd-amd64-multilib-10.1.iso
DIGESTS: livedvd-amd64-multilib-10.1.iso.DIGESTS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Azik
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Apr 2005
Posts: 146
Location: Russia, Ufa

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

likewhoa wrote:
logar0 wrote:

As far as I can understand it can be redistributed if the above text is included int the documentation. Maybe I am wrong. Copyrights, and licenses can be interpreted in many ways some times.
.


It is in our best interest to just instruct users to manually download any close source binaries.


Yeah, but if you look /lib/firmware you'll see various firmwares, for example from net-wireless/iwl4965-ucode, with same license as ralink. Why some fw can be shipped into LiveDVD and other (with same license) not?
_________________
From Siberia with Love!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
logar0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Oct 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

likewhoa wrote:

It is in our best interest to just instruct users to manually download any close source binaries.


Yes; I can understand this policy and totally respect it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VikingB
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 May 2006
Posts: 263
Location: ~Brussels (B)

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello . The new version of October does run correctly . But it does not detect the ethernet connection and the soundcard as well.

For info, this is the answer of a cat /dev/sndstat made from another Linux installed on the PC
Card config:
HDA Intel at 0xfbff8000 irq 22

Audio devices:
0: ALC1200 Analog (DUPLEX)
1: USB Audio


Haven't seen an icon "install the Gentoo 10.0" on the desktop ... Should be nice to add :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
comprookie2000
Developer
Developer


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 886
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Gentoo Mirrors have the latest 10.1
Downloads
Gentoo Ten Live DVD 10.1 x86
Gentoo Ten Live DVD 10.1 amd64
_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wiz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Sep 2005
Posts: 121
Location: {€urope}

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Working like a charm on my Dell XPS 420 Duo Core 2, the 10.0 wouldn't detect my usb devices but 10.1 works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Commodore 64
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just downloaded the 10.1 AMD64 DVD last night and I'm still having problems.

I'm trying to dual boot Gentoo 64bit on a 13inch Macbook Pro, 2.53GHz base config with 10.6; using rEFIt.

When ever I try using the standard boot config.; it gets to 74% (loading xdm) and fails to load the livecd environment.

So I tried getting into verbose mode, but it won't recognize my keystrokes.

Then I booted using nox and got a "video mode ffff" error, but was able to get into the cd's kernel, but with no keyboard support.

I'm going to try plugging in an external USB keyboard and see where that takes me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
huckabuck
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Apr 2007
Posts: 110
Location: Bronx, NY

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, this 10.1 x86 version , is now booting on all 3 of my machines :D

T43 thinkpad and Dell 2400 with no extra boot parameters ... and on a dell mini9, but for the mini9 i had to use gentoo-nofb, and kde environment has black screen with flickering issues. Boots fine into xfce4, flux and gnome though. Eventually i'd really like to use this usb environment to install on the mini9 as it has an SSD mini pci-e drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kobboi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 654
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

About the 10.1 version:
On a Pentium 4 desktop, the thing always hangs at "syslog started"
On a Core2Duo laptop (Dell Latitude D630), the thing hangs at "starting xdm"

I am sorry, but based on these two experiences, I'm not really proud as a Gentoo user.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
comprookie2000
Developer
Developer


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 886
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kobboi
Can you try the p-4 with gentoo-nofb with this iso;
http://bouncer.gentoo.org/fetch/gentoo-10.1-livedvd/x86/
And the same with the core2 with this iso;
http://bouncer.gentoo.org/fetch/gentoo-10.1-livedvd/amd64/
_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 6 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum