Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo: 10 years compiling - Testers for liveDVD enter here
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 743
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 4:29 pm    Post subject: Re: Cannot use it Reply with quote

VikingB wrote:
I have used the DVd on two different PC's and also re-burned the ISO . Same problem .
See here the messages ( picture from the screen) :
http://www.culbutte.be/content/gentoo-100-live-dvd#comment-422


please try it on a usb stick or hard drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
comprookie2000
Developer
Developer


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 903
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may have received a corrupt image, from the download or something else. There will be a new image to download soon, so I would try the next iso when it becomes available :)
_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VikingB
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 May 2006
Posts: 263
Location: ~Brussels (B)

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It was indeed my thought as well. I had re-downloaded the same but exactly with the same effect . Stops at the same place .
I shall wait till the next iso .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 743
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VikingB wrote:
It was indeed my thought as well. I had re-downloaded the same but exactly with the same effect . Stops at the same place .
I shall wait till the next iso .


did you confirm md5/sha1 sums?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArneBab
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 371
Location: Graben-Neudorf, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 6:40 pm    Post subject: How to get an Apple PowerBook to boot from USB-stick Reply with quote

Hi,

I just tried to boot a PowerBook (intel) with the USB stick, but it didn't see the stick (in the boot volume menu I reached by pressing alt during boot). How can I get it to boot from the stick?
_________________
Being unpolitical means being political without realizing it. - Arne Babenhauserheide ( http://draketo.de )

pkgcore: So fast that it feels unreal - by doing only what is needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 743
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 7:28 pm    Post subject: Re: How to get an Apple PowerBook to boot from USB-stick Reply with quote

ArneBab wrote:
Hi,

I just tried to boot a PowerBook (intel) with the USB stick, but it didn't see the stick (in the boot volume menu I reached by pressing alt during boot). How can I get it to boot from the stick?


The hybrid mode is not available on all bioses, make sure your system allows booting from a usb device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2404
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been playing around with KVM lately, I'll give this a try in that. (and then maybe use it on some of these old boxes I have lying around)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ilyatau
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One question, from this livedvd can I install gentoo with visual installer on my pc?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2404
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First complaint I have about it: as soon as you log in KDE floods you with indexing notices and runs like molasses for several minutes. Is there any point to having all that crap loaded on startup on a LiveCD?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
comprookie2000
Developer
Developer


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 903
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

LiveDVD (released Oct 4, 2009)
http://www.gentoo.org/main/en/where.xml
_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 743
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 2:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant_P wrote:
First complaint I have about it: as soon as you log in KDE floods you with indexing notices and runs like molasses for several minutes. Is there any point to having all that crap loaded on startup on a LiveCD?


that has been removed.

EDIT: thread topic links updated to point to better sources. Download these ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linked67
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Feb 2009
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have copied the livedvd on a liveusb with: dd if=.... of=....
I want to use emerge but the system is mounted in read only. How can i change this ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NuGearz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Aug 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

likewhoa wrote:

You missed 7 very important and I need log for 11, go back and do 7 then try again.


I'm lost on this step. What do I need to do with .config or genkernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
comprookie2000
Developer
Developer


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 903
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NuGearz wrote:

I'm lost on this step. What do I need to do with .config or genkernel?

If you would like to learn how to compile your own kernels pappys guide has helped many;
http://62.3.120.141/~pappy/
http://62.3.120.141/~pappy/working.html
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-kernel.xml
_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NuGearz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Aug 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 11:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

comprookie2000 wrote:
NuGearz wrote:

I'm lost on this step. What do I need to do with .config or genkernel?

If you would like to learn how to compile your own kernels pappys guide has helped many;
http://62.3.120.141/~pappy/
http://62.3.120.141/~pappy/working.html
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-kernel.xml


so I need to emerge gentoo-sources and make menuconfig? I've built kernels before, but just wanted to make sure this is what i need to do. I've seen pappy's configs, but haven't played with them yet.

I've yet to get my stinking bcm4312 to work right but that's another thread that i haven't started... Still just learning how the nix world rolls as compared to the Windows world which my friends and co-workers agree I'm a somewhat a guru.

So forgive any ignorance :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 743
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NuGearz wrote:
comprookie2000 wrote:
NuGearz wrote:

I'm lost on this step. What do I need to do with .config or genkernel?

If you would like to learn how to compile your own kernels pappys guide has helped many;
http://62.3.120.141/~pappy/
http://62.3.120.141/~pappy/working.html
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-kernel.xml


so I need to emerge gentoo-sources and make menuconfig? I've built kernels before, but just wanted to make sure this is what i need to do. I've seen pappy's configs, but haven't played with them yet.

I've yet to get my stinking bcm4312 to work right but that's another thread that i haven't started... Still just learning how the nix world rolls as compared to the Windows world which my friends and co-workers agree I'm a somewhat a guru.

So forgive any ignorance :)


the easy way is
Code:

# emerge genkernel
# genkernel --menuconfig all


good luck :)


linked67 wrote:

I have copied the livedvd on a liveusb with: dd if=.... of=....
I want to use emerge but the system is mounted in read only. How can i change this ?


The livedvd is read-only for a number of reasons but the biggest is that squashfs setup in genkernel is read-only and the old unionfs method is broken. I will be working on a patch for gentoo-sources and genkernel to include aufs support so that you can use portage on all the release media.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
comprookie2000
Developer
Developer


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 903
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

likewhoa wrote:

The livedvd is read-only for a number of reasons but the biggest is that squashfs setup in genkernel is read-only and the old unionfs method is broken. I will be working on a patch for gentoo-sources and genkernel to include aufs support so that you can use portage on all the release media.


Oh Wow, now that would be sweet :)
_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leoha
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 5:39 pm    Post subject: cp: read error: input/output error Reply with quote

LiveDvd from here

>>keeping default keymap
>>making tmpfs for /newroot
>>looking for cdrom
>>attempting to mount media:- /dev/sda1
>>attempting to mount media:- /dev/sda2
>>attempting to mount media:- /dev/sda5
>>attempting to mount media:- /dev/sda6
>>attempting to mount media:- /dev/sdb1
>>attempting to mount media:- /dev/sdb2
>>attempting to mount media:- /dev/hda1
>>attempting to mount media:- /dev/hda2
>>attempting to mount media:- /dev/hdc
>>media found on /dev/hdc
>>detecting foot device...
>>detecting lootype...
>>mounting squashfs filesystem
>>copying read-write image contents of tmpfs
cp: read error: input/output error
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
comprookie2000
Developer
Developer


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 903
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 5:54 pm    Post subject: Re: cp: read error: input/output error Reply with quote

leoha wrote:
LiveDvd from here
cp: read error: input/output error


I too get errors with livedvd-amd64-multilib-10.0.iso I think there will be a 10.1 to fix them.
Try LiveDvd from here
and boot gentoo64.
_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 8005

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

leoha wrote:
>>copying read-write image contents of tmpfs
cp: read error: input/output error
Just to rule out horses, did you verify the checksums?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ottembomb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2007
Posts: 15
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 5:14 am    Post subject: Boots OK, but several problems... Reply with quote

Downloaded the .iso last night and am able to boot OK... but i've several problems.

1) resolution through default X session reports as 1440x900 - monitor reports as 1280x1024 - 2nd monitor not detected at all
2) absolutely no networking support - net-setup eth0 / eth1 returns no errors, but ifconfig lists only net.lo
3) so I try to modprobe the forcedeth module for my 780i mobo and get this error "FATAL: Error inserting forcedeth (/lib/modules/2.6.30-gentoo-r5/kernel/drivers/net/forcedeth.ko): Invalid module format.
Out of curiosity, I try various modules of all sorts, networking and otherwirse - all return the invalid module format ...


what'm i doing wrong?
_________________
beware the temptation to imagine yourself treated unfairly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
comprookie2000
Developer
Developer


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 903
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:24 am    Post subject: Re: Boots OK, but several problems... Reply with quote

ottembomb wrote:
Downloaded the .iso last night and am able to boot OK... but i've several problems.

1) resolution through default X session reports as 1440x900 - monitor reports as 1280x1024 - 2nd monitor not detected at all
2) absolutely no networking support - net-setup eth0 / eth1 returns no errors, but ifconfig lists only net.lo
3) so I try to modprobe the forcedeth module for my 780i mobo and get this error "FATAL: Error inserting forcedeth (/lib/modules/2.6.30-gentoo-r5/kernel/drivers/net/forcedeth.ko): Invalid module format.
Out of curiosity, I try various modules of all sorts, networking and otherwirse - all return the invalid module format ...


what'm i doing wrong?


You are not doing anything wrong. Which iso ?
If it is the livedvd-amd64-multilib-10.0.iso and you downloaded this because you have a 64 bit machine there is a problem with the iso and it is in the process of being updated. In the meantime you can download:
livedvd-x86-amd64-32ul-10.0.iso
and boot with the option gentoo64
_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArneBab
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 371
Location: Graben-Neudorf, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:36 am    Post subject: Re: How to get an Apple PowerBook to boot from USB-stick Reply with quote

likewhoa wrote:
The hybrid mode is not available on all bioses, make sure your system allows booting from a usb device.


Thanks for the Info! I'll try it with a DVD once I get back there (in two weeks or so).
_________________
Being unpolitical means being political without realizing it. - Arne Babenhauserheide ( http://draketo.de )

pkgcore: So fast that it feels unreal - by doing only what is needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArneBab
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 371
Location: Graben-Neudorf, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

likewhoa wrote:
Use this

Code:

xorg.conf


Good luck!


I tried it, and I also tried using the version which runs my main Gentoo, but it didn't work.

I get the feeling, though, that it might be due to damaged blocks on the USB stick, since it now complained that it couldn't find extensions like radeon, though lsmod | grep radeon showed it.
_________________
Being unpolitical means being political without realizing it. - Arne Babenhauserheide ( http://draketo.de )

pkgcore: So fast that it feels unreal - by doing only what is needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ottembomb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2007
Posts: 15
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:47 pm    Post subject: Re: Boots OK, but several problems... Reply with quote

comprookie2000 wrote:
ottembomb wrote:
Downloaded the .iso last night and am able to boot OK... but i've several problems.

1) resolution through default X session reports as 1440x900 - monitor reports as 1280x1024 - 2nd monitor not detected at all
2) absolutely no networking support - net-setup eth0 / eth1 returns no errors, but ifconfig lists only net.lo
3) so I try to modprobe the forcedeth module for my 780i mobo and get this error "FATAL: Error inserting forcedeth (/lib/modules/2.6.30-gentoo-r5/kernel/drivers/net/forcedeth.ko): Invalid module format.
Out of curiosity, I try various modules of all sorts, networking and otherwirse - all return the invalid module format ...


what'm i doing wrong?


You are not doing anything wrong. Which iso ?
If it is the livedvd-amd64-multilib-10.0.iso and you downloaded this because you have a 64 bit machine there is a problem with the iso and it is in the process of being updated. In the meantime you can download:
livedvd-x86-amd64-32ul-10.0.iso
and boot with the option gentoo64


Thanks! I was using the amd64 only .iso... Downloading thy hybrid as we speak!
_________________
beware the temptation to imagine yourself treated unfairly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 5 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum