Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Fresh install hangs at "mounting proc at /proc" [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5190

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 3:05 am    Post subject: Fresh install hangs at "mounting proc at /proc" [S Reply with quote

Yo-kayyyy, I think I have the oddest install muck-up I've ever seen.

Booting into my fresh install simply hangs at "Mounting proc at /proc".

I am at. A complete. And total. Loss.

I've installed Gentoo x-hundred times. Never seen this.

Any ideas? 8O 8O 8O
_________________
Gentoo Studio: http://gentoostudio.org
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/gentoostudio
G+: https://plus.google.com/113947758237122861689/posts
Pappy's Kernel Seeds: http://kernel-seeds.gentoostudio.org


Last edited by audiodef on Mon Oct 05, 2009 7:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6250
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 3:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

<ctrl><c> and see what transpires?
is there a /proc?
perhaps the untar of stage 3 went wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5190

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No keyboard - everything freezes. All I can do is hold down the power button to turn it off or reboot.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: http://gentoostudio.org
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/gentoostudio
G+: https://plus.google.com/113947758237122861689/posts
Pappy's Kernel Seeds: http://kernel-seeds.gentoostudio.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4560
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anything interesting in logs after lockup and boot from CD?
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5190

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have grub.conf and fstab set to use /dev/sda. When I changed fstab to use hda, it went a little further but stopped at "waiting for uevents".

There don't appear to be any relevant logs in /var/log.

Gonna try the install again.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: http://gentoostudio.org
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/gentoostudio
G+: https://plus.google.com/113947758237122861689/posts
Pappy's Kernel Seeds: http://kernel-seeds.gentoostudio.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5190

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fail!

My system still hangs at "Waiting for uevents to be processed..."

I would really appreciate any advice! :cry:
_________________
Gentoo Studio: http://gentoostudio.org
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/gentoostudio
G+: https://plus.google.com/113947758237122861689/posts
Pappy's Kernel Seeds: http://kernel-seeds.gentoostudio.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe you are missing a kernel option.
What does grep '^[^#].*PROC_' /usr/src/linux/.config return?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5190

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found this:

http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?ctype=xml&id=230807

So I'm seeing what happens if I upgrade udev (and maybe world while I'm at it) while chrooted.

I'll check that command when the current emerge in chroot is done.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: http://gentoostudio.org
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/gentoostudio
G+: https://plus.google.com/113947758237122861689/posts
Pappy's Kernel Seeds: http://kernel-seeds.gentoostudio.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5190

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mike Hunt wrote:
Maybe you are missing a kernel option.
What does grep '^[^#].*PROC_' /usr/src/linux/.config return?


If those are back ticks, I get a command not found. If those are single quotes, nothing happens and I have to hit ctrl-c.

It's a no-go on updating udev. It hangs at "mounting proc at /proc".

Guess I'll try a world update in chroot and hope *something* gets fixed.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: http://gentoostudio.org
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/gentoostudio
G+: https://plus.google.com/113947758237122861689/posts
Pappy's Kernel Seeds: http://kernel-seeds.gentoostudio.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

single quotes, but you don't need them
Code:
grep ^[^#].*PROC /usr/src/linux/.config

or even just this
Code:
grep PROC /usr/src/linux/.config| grep -v \#


Here is what I get
Code:
# grep ^[^#].*PROC /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR=y
CONFIG_NF_CONNTRACK_PROC_COMPAT=y
CONFIG_SCSI_PROC_FS=y
CONFIG_PROC_FS=y
CONFIG_PROC_KCORE=y
CONFIG_PROC_SYSCTL=y
CONFIG_PROC_PAGE_MONITOR=y
CONFIG_KEYS_DEBUG_PROC_KEYS=y


I think these are the important ones
Code:
CONFIG_PROC_FS=y
CONFIG_PROC_KCORE=y
CONFIG_PROC_SYSCTL=y
CONFIG_PROC_PAGE_MONITOR=y
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5190

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for clarifying. I tried again and I got the important ones and a bunch of others.

Trying the world update now. It looks like baselayout2 and openrc come in, as well as coreutils, gcc and other stuff. Then I'll switch over to the new gcc and run python-updater and try to boot into it again.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: http://gentoostudio.org
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/gentoostudio
G+: https://plus.google.com/113947758237122861689/posts
Pappy's Kernel Seeds: http://kernel-seeds.gentoostudio.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6250
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you run ~amd? and it brings in baselayout2??
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/openrc-migration.xml may merit attention.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5190

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, ~x86.

I'm filing a bug. It now hangs at "mounting /dev...".
_________________
Gentoo Studio: http://gentoostudio.org
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/gentoostudio
G+: https://plus.google.com/113947758237122861689/posts
Pappy's Kernel Seeds: http://kernel-seeds.gentoostudio.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe the problem is the stage3

There is this that you could try
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5190

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I rather think it would be in the stage3.

With nothing to lose, gonna give the stage3 from funtoo a try. 8)

Do I need to start the install over, or can I simply unpack the file?
_________________
Gentoo Studio: http://gentoostudio.org
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/gentoostudio
G+: https://plus.google.com/113947758237122861689/posts
Pappy's Kernel Seeds: http://kernel-seeds.gentoostudio.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

backup your /var/lib/portage/world file

you can unpack the stage3 file on /

restore the world file

then you still need to edit the configs: fstab, hosts, hostname, locale.gen, make.conf, resolv.conf, and so on... all of them

and
    emerge -e world
    perl-cleaner all
    eselect python set python2.6
    python-updater
    etc-update
    emerge -1 libtool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5190

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! I'll keep that info handy. In the meantime, since this is a fresh install, I'll just do it over but use the funtoo stage3.

And yeah, it wasn't the sources, but just trying to troubleshoot...
_________________
Gentoo Studio: http://gentoostudio.org
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/gentoostudio
G+: https://plus.google.com/113947758237122861689/posts
Pappy's Kernel Seeds: http://kernel-seeds.gentoostudio.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5190

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, Mike, for the stage3 funtoo suggestion. There must be something wrong with the current official stage3 because this one worked! :D
_________________
Gentoo Studio: http://gentoostudio.org
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/gentoostudio
G+: https://plus.google.com/113947758237122861689/posts
Pappy's Kernel Seeds: http://kernel-seeds.gentoostudio.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok awesome and cool that it's fixed. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5190

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep. If there IS something wrong, I hope the devs look into it. I did file a bug and pointed them to this thread.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: http://gentoostudio.org
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/gentoostudio
G+: https://plus.google.com/113947758237122861689/posts
Pappy's Kernel Seeds: http://kernel-seeds.gentoostudio.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum