Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo: 10 years compiling - Testers for liveDVD enter here
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2232
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@likewhoa,
I ran rescuecd memtest for 12 hours:zero errors.
I tried the livedvd again but it still freezes kde.
I mounted the partition containing my /home to /mnt/gentoo.
I wanted to copy .xsession errors to my regular /home directory but I
couldn't return to console.
Had to fsck my /home partition on booting into my regular Gentoo.
Docache doesn't work.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 743
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gerard82 wrote:
@likewhoa,
I ran rescuecd memtest for 12 hours:zero errors.
I tried the livedvd again but it still freezes kde.
I mounted the partition containing my /home to /mnt/gentoo.
I wanted to copy .xsession errors to my regular /home directory but I
couldn't return to console.
Had to fsck my /home partition on booting into my regular Gentoo.
Docache doesn't work.
Gerard.


you do not have enough ram for docache as the uncompressed squashfs image is over 8G and you only have 4G of ram. You will have to just do without docache. The final image will be a lot smaller, these images are just for testing and are not final.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2232
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ likewhoa,
Well thanks for telling me now.
If you had told me this before I wouldn't have had to do the memtest!
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 743
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gerard82 wrote:
@ likewhoa,
Well thanks for telling me now.
If you had told me this before I wouldn't have had to do the memtest!
Gerard.


yea, sorry about that. I have been so busy that I over looked that fact and it was mentioned in #gentoo-ten.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
90si
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2007
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works well, only thing is the ati (flogged to death)
and any glx apps wont run (blender) but other then that
it's awesome, boots the q6600 with 16gb , finds the radeon hd 2600
and flies..it's dual head which it only shows the mirror (which is fine)
thanks for the hard work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raze
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jul 2009
Posts: 56
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You already got a fix for the IA32 Emulation?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 743
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Raze wrote:
You already got a fix for the IA32 Emulation?


coming in later today, along with gnome-2.26
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hook
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 1398
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been trying to download the latest snapshot for hours now from:

ftp://mirrors.sfo1.gni.com/Gentoo/ten/

and it just keeps timing out before it reaches 25%, so I have to start from anew everytime ...I've tried using Firefox as well as its DownloadItAll! plugin.

Can anyone suggest a better mirror or a better download manager? Is there a torrent somewhere?
_________________
tea+free software+law=hook

(deep inside i'm still a tux's little helper)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
comprookie2000
Developer
Developer


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 906
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mirrors LiveDvd Testing iso #1952
x86
amd64
_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
didomax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In my case everything works perfectly! My configuration (lshw) is reported below.

Keep it going, Gentoo is the best dist!
Max

livecd
description: Mini Tower Computer
product: SCENIC W
vendor: FUJITSU SIEMENS
version: CELM
serial: YBNQ082121
width: 64 bits
capabilities: smbios-2.31 dmi-2.31 vsyscall64
configuration: boot=normal chassis=mini-tower uuid=BBE3FCC5-553C-11DA-A511-003005AB285C
*-core
description: Motherboard
product: D1837
vendor: FUJITSU SIEMENS
physical id: 0
version: S26361-D1837
serial: 18936886
slot: Serial-1
*-firmware
description: BIOS
vendor: FUJITSU SIEMENS // Phoenix Technologies Ltd.
physical id: 0
version: 5.00 R1.11.1837 (04/05/2005)
size: 111KiB
capacity: 448KiB
capabilities: pci pnp apm upgrade shadowing escd cdboot bootselect int13floppynec int13floppytoshiba int13floppy360 int13floppy1200 int13floppy720 int13floppy2880 int5printscreen int9keyboard int14serial int17printer int10video acpi usb agp ls120boot zipboot biosbootspecification
*-cpu
description: CPU
product: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.20GHz
vendor: Intel Corp.
physical id: 4
bus info: cpu@0
version: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU
slot: CPU
size: 3200MHz
capacity: 3200MHz
width: 64 bits
clock: 800MHz
capabilities: fpu fpu_exception wp vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx x86-64 constant_tsc pebs bts pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl est cid cx16 xtpr
*-cache:0
description: L1 cache
physical id: 5
slot: L1 Cache
size: 16KiB
capacity: 32KiB
capabilities: burst synchronous internal write-through data
*-cache:1
description: L2 cache
physical id: 6
slot: L2 Cache
size: 2MiB
capabilities: burst internal write-back unified
*-cache:2 DISABLED
description: L3 cache
physical id: 7
slot: L3 Cache
capacity: 16MiB
capabilities: internal write-back unified
*-memory
description: System Memory
physical id: 25
slot: System board or motherboard
size: 2GiB
*-bank:0
description: DIMM DDR Synchronous 533 MHz (1.9 ns)
physical id: 0
slot: Slot-1
size: 512MiB
width: 64 bits
clock: 533MHz (1.9ns)
*-bank:1
description: DIMM DDR Synchronous 533 MHz (1.9 ns)
physical id: 1
slot: Slot-3
size: 512MiB
width: 64 bits
clock: 533MHz (1.9ns)
*-bank:2
description: DIMM DDR Synchronous 533 MHz (1.9 ns)
physical id: 2
slot: Slot-2
size: 512MiB
width: 64 bits
clock: 533MHz (1.9ns)
*-bank:3
description: DIMM DDR Synchronous 533 MHz (1.9 ns)
physical id: 3
slot: Slot-4
size: 512MiB
width: 64 bits
clock: 533MHz (1.9ns)
*-pci
description: Host bridge
product: 82915G/P/GV/GL/PL/910GL Memory Controller Hub
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 100
bus info: pci@0000:00:00.0
version: 04
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
configuration: driver=agpgart-intel module=intel_agp
*-display:0 UNCLAIMED
description: VGA compatible controller
product: 82915G/GV/910GL Integrated Graphics Controller
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 2
bus info: pci@0000:00:02.0
version: 04
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm vga_controller bus_master cap_list
configuration: latency=0
*-display:1 UNCLAIMED
description: Display controller
product: 82915G Integrated Graphics Controller
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 2.1
bus info: pci@0000:00:02.1
version: 04
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list
configuration: latency=0
*-pci:0
description: PCI bridge
product: 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) PCI Express Port 1
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 1c
bus info: pci@0000:00:1c.0
version: 03
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pci pciexpress msi pm normal_decode bus_master cap_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NuGearz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Aug 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 6:01 pm    Post subject: Re: transfer the image and make it permanent on a slow deskt Reply with quote

[quote="likewhoa"]
snkmoorthy wrote:
can I blindly copy the content of the squashfs image and fix up a bootloader and other hardware configs to

The only changes you would need to do after copying the contents of image.squashfs into your hard drive would be:


  • fdisk /dev/$ROOTDEVICE # Normal gentoo stuff first..
  • mount /dev/$ROOTDEVICE /mnt/gentoo # Mount your / partition, if you have more then mount at will to their correct destination
  • mkdir /tmp/loop # Temp directory for squashfs contents
  • mount -o loop,ro /mnt/cdrom/image.squashfs /tmp/loop # Mounts the contents of the livedvd squashfs image to /tmp/loop
  • rsync -a /tmp/loop/ /mnt/gentoo # Copy squashfs contents to hard drive
  • Grub # Setup your bootloader
  • Kernel Sources "You can use the .config from the dvd or just use genkernel"
  • /etc/fstab
  • /etc/hosts
  • /etc/conf.d/net
  • emerge -C livecd-tools mkxf86config sys-apps/hwsetup
  • /etc/make.conf
  • set root password
  • Light a candle then reboot




Hey all, i'm fairly new to nix, been playing somewhat successfully with gentoo. I tried this and probably cause I don't have a good understanding couldn't get it to work. Could someone post a dummies guide to this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
comprookie2000
Developer
Developer


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 906
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Of these steps which number did you get errors and can you post / paste them.

1. fdisk /dev/$ROOTDEVICE # Normal gentoo stuff first..
2. mount /dev/$ROOTDEVICE /mnt/gentoo # Mount your / partition, if you have more then mount at will to their correct destination
3. mkdir /tmp/loop # Temp directory for squashfs contents
4. mount -o loop,ro /mnt/cdrom/image.squashfs /tmp/loop # Mounts the contents of the livedvd squashfs image to /tmp/loop
5. rsync -a /tmp/loop/ /mnt/gentoo # Copy squashfs contents to hard drive
6. Grub # Setup your bootloader
7. Kernel Sources "You can use the .config from the dvd or just use genkernel"
8. edit /etc/fstab
9. edit /etc/hosts
10. edit /etc/conf.d/net
11. emerge -C livecd-tools mkxf86config sys-apps/hwsetup
12. edit /etc/make.conf
13. set root password
14. Light a candle then reboot
_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
comprookie2000
Developer
Developer


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 906
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi everyone, I am putting together a FAQ. Looking for errors, suggestions, comments.
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/pr/gentoo-ten-livedvd-faq.xml
_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hook
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 1398
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I somehow managed to get that 20091003-r3 snapshot ...I saw your post only after that :\

Problems that I encountered are:

  • xorg-video-intel repeatedly reported an error with DRI and composite blinked so hard, that I had to turn it off in KDE to see anything at all. I'll post the details when I get hold on an "official" testing snapshot and find time to play more.
  • Wicd doesn't support RFKILL yet (AFAIK) and therefore I was unable to get my wireless up. Although I like Wicd a lot more, until it gets support for the newer drivers (because of RFKILL), I think including NetworkManager is a must.


Otherwise it seems like quite a huge beast ...I kinda like it :]
_________________
tea+free software+law=hook

(deep inside i'm still a tux's little helper)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NuGearz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Aug 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It wasn't so much errors than complete confusion, also is there supposed to be a chroot in here somewhere?

Here's what i did:

1. Fdisk :
SDA1 boot ext2
SDA2 swap
SDA3 / ext4
2. Mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
(do I need to mount /proc, /boot /dev)? I didn't
3. as written
4. as written
5. as written but when it completed I was left with a dir called loop in mnt/gentoo. Inside it was all the files and dirs (etc, usr, dev etc...) I don't think this was right, is it?

6. Grub: root(hd0,0) then setup (hd0)
7. Got lost here... so I honestly didn't do anything
8. Not sure if this is different from the handbook so I just used what the handbook had (with the correct file systems)...
9 and 10 as written
11. I ran it but didn't save the error and i'm not home at the moment.
12 and 13 done...
14. The candle blew out :) all I was left with was a grub shell and dead in the water...




comprookie2000 wrote:
Of these steps which number did you get errors and can you post / paste them.

1. fdisk /dev/$ROOTDEVICE # Normal gentoo stuff first..
2. mount /dev/$ROOTDEVICE /mnt/gentoo # Mount your / partition, if you have more then mount at will to their correct destination
3. mkdir /tmp/loop # Temp directory for squashfs contents
4. mount -o loop,ro /mnt/cdrom/image.squashfs /tmp/loop # Mounts the contents of the livedvd squashfs image to /tmp/loop
5. rsync -a /tmp/loop/ /mnt/gentoo # Copy squashfs contents to hard drive
6. Grub # Setup your bootloader
7. Kernel Sources "You can use the .config from the dvd or just use genkernel"
8. edit /etc/fstab
9. edit /etc/hosts
10. edit /etc/conf.d/net
11. emerge -C livecd-tools mkxf86config sys-apps/hwsetup
12. edit /etc/make.conf
13. set root password
14. Light a candle then reboot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 743
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 2:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NuGearz wrote:
It wasn't so much errors than complete confusion, also is there supposed to be a chroot in here somewhere?

Here's what i did:

1. Fdisk :
SDA1 boot ext2
SDA2 swap
SDA3 / ext4
2. Mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
(do I need to mount /proc, /boot /dev)? I didn't
3. as written
4. as written
5. as written but when it completed I was left with a dir called loop in mnt/gentoo. Inside it was all the files and dirs (etc, usr, dev etc...) I don't think this was right, is it?

6. Grub: root(hd0,0) then setup (hd0)
7. Got lost here... so I honestly didn't do anything
8. Not sure if this is different from the handbook so I just used what the handbook had (with the correct file systems)...
9 and 10 as written
11. I ran it but didn't save the error and i'm not home at the moment.
12 and 13 done...
14. The candle blew out :) all I was left with was a grub shell and dead in the water...




comprookie2000 wrote:
Of these steps which number did you get errors and can you post / paste them.

1. fdisk /dev/$ROOTDEVICE # Normal gentoo stuff first..
2. mount /dev/$ROOTDEVICE /mnt/gentoo # Mount your / partition, if you have more then mount at will to their correct destination
3. mkdir /tmp/loop # Temp directory for squashfs contents
4. mount -o loop,ro /mnt/cdrom/image.squashfs /tmp/loop # Mounts the contents of the livedvd squashfs image to /tmp/loop
5. rsync -a /tmp/loop/ /mnt/gentoo # Copy squashfs contents to hard drive
6. Grub # Setup your bootloader
7. Kernel Sources "You can use the .config from the dvd or just use genkernel"
8. edit /etc/fstab
9. edit /etc/hosts
10. edit /etc/conf.d/net
11. emerge -C livecd-tools mkxf86config sys-apps/hwsetup
12. edit /etc/make.conf
13. set root password
14. Light a candle then reboot


You missed 7 very important and I need log for 11, go back and do 7 then try again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArneBab
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 376
Location: Graben-Neudorf, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The FAQ misses a link to the ISOs :)

Anyway: Looks nice!
_________________
Being unpolitical means being political without realizing it. - Arne Babenhauserheide ( http://draketo.de )

pkgcore: So fast that it feels unreal - by doing only what is needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hron
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2006
Posts: 65
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The artwork is available from Portage or some overlay?
_________________
Garami Gabor Gyorgy
translator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RevJack
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Nov 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I downloaded the .iso for the anniversary test release of Gentoo 10.0, burned it to DVD and ran the live DVD. Everything seemed ok, but when it got to the desktop, this release of Gentoo would not work with my Logitech wireless keyboard and Logitech wireless mouse. They were not recognized at all. I could not type anything or move the pointer with the mouse. The only way I cour shut down my system is by a hard shutdown with the button on the computer. My system is a Gateway 5420 desktop with 1.8GHZ Core 2 duo processor, 6GB of RAM, Intel 985G chipset. Is there a fix for this issue with the wireless keyboard and mouse?
_________________
Rev. Jack Howell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArneBab
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 376
Location: Graben-Neudorf, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does the LiveCD work with Open Firmware like the one from the OLPC?

-> Info: http://gentooxo.org/
_________________
Being unpolitical means being political without realizing it. - Arne Babenhauserheide ( http://draketo.de )

pkgcore: So fast that it feels unreal - by doing only what is needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
berg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hron wrote:
The artwork is available from Portage or some overlay?


http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/pr/10-livedvd-graphics.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArneBab
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 376
Location: Graben-Neudorf, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

berg wrote:
http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/pr/10-livedvd-graphics.xml


The dark version is fantastically intense! Many congrats to the artist!
_________________
Being unpolitical means being political without realizing it. - Arne Babenhauserheide ( http://draketo.de )

pkgcore: So fast that it feels unreal - by doing only what is needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 743
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RevJack wrote:
I downloaded the .iso for the anniversary test release of Gentoo 10.0, burned it to DVD and ran the live DVD. Everything seemed ok, but when it got to the desktop, this release of Gentoo would not work with my Logitech wireless keyboard and Logitech wireless mouse. They were not recognized at all. I could not type anything or move the pointer with the mouse. The only way I cour shut down my system is by a hard shutdown with the button on the computer. My system is a Gateway 5420 desktop with 1.8GHZ Core 2 duo processor, 6GB of RAM, Intel 985G chipset. Is there a fix for this issue with the wireless keyboard and mouse?


Final iso should have a working wireless setup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RevJack
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Nov 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That would be great! :D
_________________
Rev. Jack Howell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VikingB
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 May 2006
Posts: 263
Location: ~Brussels (B)

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 2:53 pm    Post subject: Cannot use it Reply with quote

I have used the DVd on two different PC's and also re-burned the ISO . Same problem .
See here the messages ( picture from the screen) :
http://www.culbutte.be/content/gentoo-100-live-dvd#comment-422
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 4 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum