Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo: 10 years compiling - Testers for liveDVD enter here
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2228
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I booted it twice.
The first time with
Code:

gentoo64

Worked alright.
The second time I tried
Code:

gentoo64 docache

It (of course) takes quite a while to copy everything.
But login to the desktop freezes kde.
I have 4 GB RAM in my box so there's enough room for it IMO.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 743
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gerard82 wrote:
I booted it twice.
The first time with
Code:

gentoo64

Worked alright.
The second time I tried
Code:

gentoo64 docache

It (of course) takes quite a while to copy everything.
But login to the desktop freezes kde.
I have 4 GB RAM in my box so there's enough room for it IMO.
Gerard.


very odd, have you tested your ram lately for errors?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2228
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My normal uptodate Gentoo works fine so I don't think my RAM has bad parts.
I don't use swap.
I'll run a memcheck.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jancici
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 284
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would like to put new liveDVD on USB key.
will this http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/liveusb.xml howto work ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2228
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ran memtest for an hour:zero errors.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
huckabuck
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Apr 2007
Posts: 110
Location: Bronx, NY

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jancici wrote:
I would like to put new liveDVD on USB key.
will this http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/liveusb.xml howto work ?


You dont have to follow those directions, follow these directions at the beginning of this thread, i plugged in the 8 gig stick, and formatted it to ext 3, and do this as root from the location of the .iso ,

Code:
dd if=image.iso of=/dev/<DEVICE>
# Do not point to a partition

If you're using windows, download unetbootin, and create it with that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2228
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also tried
Code:

gentoo64-nofb docache

Same problem.
Then I tried
Code:

gentoo docache

I got an error no space left.
I guess the 32-bit kernel cannot handle 4GB RAM.
When it finishes it says on the terminal something like
Code:

You can start the installer by typing "installer" at the prompt below.

When I do this I get
Code:

bash:installer command not found

Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keet
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Sep 2008
Posts: 394

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:33 am    Post subject: Kanagram Word Order Game File is not readable Reply with quote

I'm in a hurry now so please excuse me if I'm posting a duplicate; I searched for the term but didn't find it. When I try to play the 'Word Order Game' or Kanagram (for my son, who I think is becoming a Gentoo convert), this error message appears: 'File is not readable', and it doesn't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 743
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

huckabuck wrote:
jancici wrote:
I would like to put new liveDVD on USB key.
will this http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/liveusb.xml howto work ?


You dont have to follow those directions, follow these directions at the beginning of this thread, i plugged in the 8 gig stick, and formatted it to ext 3, and do this as root from the location of the .iso ,

Code:
dd if=image.iso of=/dev/<DEVICE>
# Do not point to a partition

If you're using windows, download unetbootin, and create it with that.


you don't need to format the partition ahead of time, the hybrid iso actually will create necessary partitions for you.

@gerard82 there is no installer, that text is going to go away on next testing iso.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 743
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

huckabuck wrote:
jancici wrote:
I would like to put new liveDVD on USB key.
will this http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/liveusb.xml howto work ?


You dont have to follow those directions, follow these directions at the beginning of this thread, i plugged in the 8 gig stick, and formatted it to ext 3, and do this as root from the location of the .iso ,

Code:
dd if=image.iso of=/dev/<DEVICE>
# Do not point to a partition

If you're using windows, download unetbootin, and create it with that.


you don't need to format the partition ahead of time, the hybrid iso actually will create necessary partitions for you.

@gerard82 there is no installer, that text is going to go away on next testing iso, also running memtest for an hour won't really guarantee you have stable ram. I have found issues with memtest after 7 hours at times. I usually let it run overnight when testing ram stability.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
comprookie2000
Developer
Developer


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 901
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Azik wrote:
Also Xorg freeze, same as ArneBab, and suggestion from comprookie2000 not working for me too. My netbook is Lenovo Ideapad S10-2 (see http://ru.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Lenovo_Ideapad_S10-2 for hardware information).


I see you have a working installation to the hard drive. Could you paste your xorg-server version and if you are using an xorg.conf that also, please include the link to those, thanks.
_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mehrez
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Location: algerie

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I try to install livedvd amd64, But I could not be installed.. :x
Is it the same way the installation livecd or not

Please help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
comprookie2000
Developer
Developer


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 901
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mehrez wrote:
I try to install livedvd amd64, But I could not be installed.. :x
Is it the same way the installation livecd or not

Please help


The livedvd does not contain an installer. I would suggest if you want to install Gentoo to follow the handbook and use the autobuilds.
_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mehrez
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Location: algerie

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for the assistance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
comprookie2000
Developer
Developer


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 901
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your welcome. Also for anyone having issues please help us and post you bugs, fixes here on the tracker bug.
http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=286589
_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hook
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 1398
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 4:36 pm    Post subject: KOffice Reply with quote

I see there's OpenOffice.org (binary) and GOffice included, but no KOffice. Could you add KOffice to the LiveDVD as well?

Hehe, I'm going to use it as my home system until I get a new laptop ...I plan to make an USB key my home directory and this way use the laptop I borrowed as my home comp in the mean time :]

If there was also KMyMoney installed, I'd be very happy. But I suppose that's my personal need :P
_________________
tea+free software+law=hook

(deep inside i'm still a tux's little helper)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArneBab
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 370
Location: Graben-Neudorf, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 6:14 pm    Post subject: Re: KOffice Reply with quote

hook wrote:
If there was also KMyMoney installed, I'd be very happy. But I suppose that's my personal need :P


Since I assume more of these will crop up: Any chance of adding a mechanism similar to Puppy Linux, where people can modify their System and store the changes on a partition on the computer?

Can I just emerge on a Gentoo 10 Live USB-stick?
(I assume I should use a normal disk for /var/tmp/portage/...).
_________________
Being unpolitical means being political without realizing it. - Arne Babenhauserheide ( http://draketo.de )

pkgcore: So fast that it feels unreal - by doing only what is needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnlu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Aug 2004
Posts: 239
Location: Córdoba, España

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tested with qemu.
Code:
$ qemu -cpu coreduo -kernel-kqemu -cdrom Desktop/livedvd-x86-x86_64-10.0-20090926-1952.iso -m 256 -boot d


The problem is that it returns to first vt after loading kdm. I tried /etc/init.d/xdm restart, but same result.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hook
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 1398
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Slightly OT ...if I take out the disk from my previous (lately dead) laptop and plug it in as an external disk. Will it work, if I just make a user on the LiveDVD and point my old home dir on the external disk as the home dir of the new user?

If that'd work, it'd make my life ever so more pleasant until I get together enough money to buy a new laptop...
_________________
tea+free software+law=hook

(deep inside i'm still a tux's little helper)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArneBab
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 370
Location: Graben-Neudorf, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hook wrote:
Slightly OT ...if I take out the disk from my previous (lately dead) laptop and plug it in as an external disk. Will it work, if I just make a user on the LiveDVD and point my old home dir on the external disk as the home dir of the new user?


You'll likely need to adjust the users UID, so he's being recognized as you.

Why from DVD and not from USB stick?
_________________
Being unpolitical means being political without realizing it. - Arne Babenhauserheide ( http://draketo.de )

pkgcore: So fast that it feels unreal - by doing only what is needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hook
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 1398
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ArneBab wrote:

Why from DVD and not from USB stick?


I don't think I have a big enough USB stick...
_________________
tea+free software+law=hook

(deep inside i'm still a tux's little helper)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
david.stevenson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Nov 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Wiltshire, England

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disappointing.
USB stick is fine and basic boot is fine.
But tried on 2 machines in both cases X fails to start.
On the IPX system I can see a terminal screen and X is trying hard but failing with memory allocation problems in the intel driver.
On the EEPC 901 could not get back to a cli.
Both machines normally run X.
I will try to compare logs and report how to fix, but not this week as I am tied up.
David
_________________
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raze
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jul 2009
Posts: 56
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
livecd ~ # grub --no-floppy
-bash: /sbin/grub: cannot execute binary file



Code:
livecd ~ # zgrep IA32 /proc/config.gz
# CONFIG_IA32_EMULATION is not set


:?: :?:
Why isnt it included in the kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 743
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Raze wrote:
Code:
livecd ~ # grub --no-floppy
-bash: /sbin/grub: cannot execute binary file



Code:
livecd ~ # zgrep IA32 /proc/config.gz
# CONFIG_IA32_EMULATION is not set


:?: :?:
Why isnt it included in the kernel?


It was missing from the amd64 kernel by accident but later today there will be a new image for both arches with bug fixes and added artwork. You can download the x86/x86_64 iso then boot with gentoo64 which has IA32 enabled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 743
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

david.stevenson wrote:
Disappointing.
USB stick is fine and basic boot is fine.
But tried on 2 machines in both cases X fails to start.
On the IPX system I can see a terminal screen and X is trying hard but failing with memory allocation problems in the intel driver.
On the EEPC 901 could not get back to a cli.
Both machines normally run X.
I will try to compare logs and report how to fix, but not this week as I am tied up.
David


If both machines are already running X, you should try using their xorg.conf on the livedvd, just boot with 'gentoo nox' and copy your xorg.conf. This livedvd is in testing mode now and since it contains xorg-server there might be issues but it seems to be booting for most users.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 3 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum