FF8 and other wine games.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2009 1:34 pm    Post subject: FF8 and other wine games. Reply with quote

Hi there.
I have just installed wine and wine doors and have managed to get my FF8 installed .
The only problem i have is the soiund and video are really glitchy making the game almost unplayable.

Is there any special things you need to do when installing games under wine ?
Im new to this all and have been searching for days on the net.
Oerpi
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2009 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe this helps:
http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=version&iId=9661
keet
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used to play Final Fantasy VIII on W.I.N.E., but I forget the configuration. If you're trying to use hardware 3D acceleration, please don't; it almost certainly won't work. In fact, it doesn't even work in Windows.
Hyper_Eye
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 1:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you can't get this working you might try the playstation version with a psx emulator. It worked pretty well the last time I tried it.
keet
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 1:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I remember how I made it work (thankfully I posted in WineHQ about it). Just install the Windows version, use software 3D, and if you want for the in-game MIDI to work, get and copy dmband.dll, dmime.dll, dmloader.dll, dmstyle.dll, dmsynth.dll, dmusic.dll, and eax.dll into ~/.wine/drive_c/windows/system32, then tell WINE to use the native versions of those files.

Hyper_Eye: Which Playstation emulator do you use?
Hyper_Eye
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 2:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote