Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
What sparcs are people running?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 11, 12, 13  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
GenTimJS
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 406
Location: NH, USA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2003 12:16 pm    Post subject: my sparcs Reply with quote

horus.killminusnine.net
Sun ULTRA1 Creator 3d, 167MHZ cpu
128mb ram
18gb hard disk
previously running gentoo before hard disk explosion, currently re-installing as I post this. When install is done, taking over duties of Ra

ra.killminusnine.net
Sun ULTRA5 360MHZ cpu
256mb ram
8gb hard disk
currently hosting mail and web, however when horus finishes its install and takes the server roles over, ra will go back to being a game station. Mmmm... doom 1 .....
_________________
-Tim Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
appetitus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Sep 2003
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2003 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

One Ultra1 and about a dozen classics (sun4m). Used to have some SS5s too.

Sparcs own in context switching, they are remarkable under load. If only they were cheap.

been running linux since the 1.1.41 days, sparcs for about half as long.
_________________
Being a Gentoo user means living in a house inhabited by a family of crazed carpenters. When you wake up, the house is different. Maybe there is a new turret, or some walls have moved, or perhaps someone has removed the floor under your bed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonas_nilsson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Aug 2003
Posts: 57
Location: Stockholm, Switzerland

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2003 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've noticed your thread, and I find it interresting. Sparcs are a bit exotic to me and would be nice to try out :)

Maybe you people could give me an idea what to expect from a rather old Sun Sparc when it comes to performance. I have the possibilty to buy old ones from my school really cheap. Don't know what models or anything, just know that the CPU is running at perhaps 150MHz +/- 30MHz, and that they most likely have been running as terminals for the students (which means: no monster machines for sure), but as I said I have no idea what this could be equivalent to in the x86-world.
_________________
Physics is like sex: sure, it may give some practical results, but that's not why we do it.
--Richard Feynman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
H0bb3z
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 121
Location: in the transmogrifier

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2003 4:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My Sun arsenal thus far:

Sparcstation 5: 110MHz, 64Mb, 2x9Gb + sbus QFE <- perfect for the firewall!
Ultra 60: Just acquired - I have no idea what's in it yet, but you can bet it'll be running Gentoo!
Netra T105: 360MHz, 256Mb, 2x9Gb

Unfortunately, the other 6 boxen are x86. :oops: At least they're all running Gentoo (except my wife's workstation, of course -- she loves Age of Mythology and it doesn't have a Linux port yet)...
_________________
-H0bb3z-
-----------
Intel QX9770 | 6Gb DDR3 | ATI 4870 HD 1Gb | 2xSeagate 1Tb SATAs
Running Funtoo Core2 build
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
H0bb3z
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 121
Location: in the transmogrifier

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2003 4:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jonas_nilsson wrote:
I've noticed your thread, and I find it interresting. Sparcs are a bit exotic to me and would be nice to try out :)

Maybe you people could give me an idea what to expect from a rather old Sun Sparc when it comes to performance. I have the possibilty to buy old ones from my school really cheap. Don't know what models or anything, just know that the CPU is running at perhaps 150MHz +/- 30MHz, and that they most likely have been running as terminals for the students (which means: no monster machines for sure), but as I said I have no idea what this could be equivalent to in the x86-world.


In my experience, the clock speeds on sun processors may be physically equivalent, but the underlying Sun architecture seems to make up for quite a bit in efficiency. My lowly sparcstation5 (old sparc architecture) is a real slug for compiling things, but it doesn't do much else than route and filter traffic, so its nowhere near capacity. The Netra T105 at 360Mhz (ultrasparcIII architecture) screams! I'd compare it to systems more than twice as fast on x86!

I guess it depends on the architecture, but comparing straight CPU speeds you can probably assume Sun will run 10-20% faster -- newer Sun architectures may be orders of magnitude faster!
_________________
-H0bb3z-
-----------
Intel QX9770 | 6Gb DDR3 | ATI 4870 HD 1Gb | 2xSeagate 1Tb SATAs
Running Funtoo Core2 build
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kullenwulf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 3
Location: Knoxville, TN

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2003 6:06 pm    Post subject: Ultra 1 here Reply with quote

Ultra 1-E
167 MHz
640MB RAM
36GB SCSI HDD
Creator3D video card

All in all, I'm impressed with the speed...I had this box running Solaris 9 with Gnome 2.0, and was quite the mule...worked hard, but slow as hell.

I'm emerging KDE as I write this...so only time will tell.

Started from Stage1, took about 36 hours to get to this point, but a good portion of that was learning time for me!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jjacocks
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jun 2002
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2003 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a sparc problem:

[Ex-machines]
SparcStation 10 SM51
SparcStation 20 2xSM71
Ultra 2 2x300 Creator 3

[Current machines]
Ultra Ent. 220R 2x450
Tadpole CycleQuad (E450 clone)
Ultra 60 2x300 Creator 2
SparcClassic
Netra T1/105 440
Too many 270mHz U5's
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kumba
Developer
Developer


Joined: 16 Jul 2002
Posts: 373
Location: Sigma 957

PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2003 3:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Only have two sparcs myself...

isengard:
Sun Blade 100
256MB Ram *
1 Barracuda ~15GB drive **

* I have another 256MB stick to install, but I have about a half-year's uptime on the thing, thus I'm gonna see how far I can go w/o a reboot.
** Have a second 20GB drive to install; see above

armenelos:
Sparcstation 20
2x125MHz Hypersparcs
448MB Ram
2x4.2GB drive
2.4.22-rc3 kernel (took 21 reboots to boot)


I also have mips and x86 hardware to tinker with:

angband:
SGI Indigo2
R4400 250MHz
320MB Ram (only 256 used)
18GB Fujitsu SCSI
9GB IBM SCSI

udun: *
Cobalt RaQ2
R5231 250MHz
144MB Ram
3.2GB IDE

* Inoperable due to flaky Tulip driver

khazad-dum:
AMD Duron 700MHz (OC 798MHz)
320MB Ram
18GB Seagate SCSI-LVD
18.2GB Compaq SCSI-LVD


--Kumba
_________________
"The past tempts us, the present confuses us, the future frightens us. And our lives slip away, moment by moment, lost in that vast, terrible in-between."
--Emperor Turhan, Centauri Republic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SeJo
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 08 Oct 2002
Posts: 298
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2003 6:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just gotten my first personal sparc:

ultra sparc 5 it's lying here @ work, and tonite i'll know more bout the specs etc...

I am going to install gentoo on it... but dunno how to do it yet...

greets
_________________
"I am not bound to please thee with my answers."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crazy-bee
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 170

PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2003 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ultra60, 1x 450 MhZ, 1 GB RAM, 18 GB SCSI HD, Elite 3D grafics card (which is fscking huge!), normal SUN HME ethernet + Intel Pro 100 PCI+ 3Com PCI network cards.

Currently trying to get a 2nd CPU since that would rock!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smeets_marc
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Oct 2002
Posts: 98
Location: NL

PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2003 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

crazy-bee wrote:
Currently trying to get a 2nd CPU since that would rock!


I've got the same system with second cpu..yes it rocks!
but, hehe, I'm looking for another 512 mb for a total of 1 gig..that would rock ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trickm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 3:20 am    Post subject: Yeah, it rocks... Reply with quote

That's sorta what I have on Sapphire here (the dual-450 Ultra 2 with 1GB RAM).

Sometimes, it feels like:

trick@sapphire / $ emerge somethi

>>> Unpacking source...

[snip]

* GNU info directory index is up-to-date.

trick@sapphire / $ HEY! I didn't finish typing the package name yet!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wheatthin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 22
Location: Maumee, OH

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 12:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I only have one Sparc Ultra 5 at home to play with.

360 Mhz
256 Mb
8.6 GB
9.1 GB
Raptor Gfx card (not installed yet)

I need at least another 256 Mb of RAM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paguilera
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Aug 2003
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not having used Gentoo before, I'm hoping to resurrect a Sparc Ultra 30 at work that needs a new hard drive.

If it works, then I can be added into this list.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erik.crouch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Aug 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Wichita, KS USA -- United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2003 6:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wheatthin wrote:
I only have one Sparc Ultra 5 at home to play with.

360 Mhz
256 Mb
8.6 GB
9.1 GB
Raptor Gfx card (not installed yet)

I need at least another 256 Mb of RAM.


256 ram is plenty unless you plan on running an email, web AND majordomo server while running hoggy GNOME and rendering video

I have 320mb and only use up 150,000k when playing music, irssi, icbm (perl icb client), KDE and browsing... Swap rarely gets touched even when emerging.

And you can easily replace those HD's with something bigger. I hope you aren't applying PC tactics to a Sun :wink:

Erik
8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ciaranm
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 1719
Location: In Hiding

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2003 6:13 pm    Post subject: two sun boxen so far Reply with quote

sundrop: ss5 75MHz, not enough memory, massively overkill 9GByte IBM scsiIII 15krpm hdd that I had lying around. Stage1, xfree86, fluxbox and kde. Not because I use bloatware like kde, mind (box is headless), I just did it to see how long it would take (less than two months to compile!). OOo is still emerging...

stardrop: u10 333MHz, 128M (not enough), 20G IDE disk that I had lying around. Stage1, xfree86 and fluxbox. Mixed 32/64 userland which actually mostly works. Also has a USB card in it. Oh yeah, UPA c3d graphics too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Oct 2002
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2003 9:18 pm    Post subject: Very first sun box! Reply with quote

Ultra 5 270 mhz
320 megs of ram
45 gig IDE disk I had hanging around
PCI USB card for kicks (Will this work?)

Doing its emerge system as I type.

.. Anyone know how to make Solaris 8 and Gentoo co-exist on one drive? (Solaris installer keeps saying “newfs failed” when trying to format its partitions/slices/whatever)

A 4-way 400mhz E450 has been recently orphaned at work.. Hmm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ciaranm
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 1719
Location: In Hiding

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2003 9:33 pm    Post subject: Re: Very first sun box! Reply with quote

Phy wrote:
PCI USB card for kicks (Will this work?)

You can get it to work, yes. Drop by #gentoo-sparc on freenode and speak to myself (ciaranm) or bazik. You may have to screw around a bit to get it working... Or you may have one of those chipsets that just doesn't work at all...

Don't forget to give bazik the details of the card so that he can update the PCI list :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
type1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2003 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got an Ultra 10 / 333MHz, 512MB RAM, 2x 9GB IDE drives. I got tired of running Solaris on it, since I'm a solaris admin at work. Its currently serving web, dns, mail, etc, from my dsl connection at home. The gentoo install went so smoothly, I'm considering getting an Ultra 60 for use as a development workstation. Dual procs, a gig of ram, and a couple of 18gig scsi drives . . . 8)

-j
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
type1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2003 5:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Very first sun box! Reply with quote

Phy wrote:
A 4-way 400mhz E450 has been recently orphaned at work.. Hmm


Does Linux work well on a 4-way machine?

-j
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ciaranm
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 1719
Location: In Hiding

PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2003 5:54 pm    Post subject: Re: Very first sun box! Reply with quote

type1 wrote:
Does Linux work well on a 4-way machine?

Linux works very well on SMP boxes. It's fine up to about 64 CPUs (AIX seems to do better at 32+ CPUs, but that'll probably change with 2.6) if you can get a box that big...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rprehn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Oct 2003
Posts: 5
Location: Austin, TX

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 3:02 pm    Post subject: My (new) sparc Reply with quote

Just scored an ultra 440mhz rebrand. I haven't had the time to poke around in it yet, but it has similar specs to the other ultra10 based workstations people are posting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wheatthin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 22
Location: Maumee, OH

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just installed a 333 Mhz CPU in my Ultra 5 which had a 360 in it. Seems that the extra cache really makes a difference. Maybe I am just crazy. Also added a 52x24x25 cd-rw to the system. Still playing around with it, but wrote my first backup successfully. Things are looking up now!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
baelbouga
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 15
Location: Reston, VA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sun Ultra 1

I had mixed results with FreeBSD and other Linux distros on a Sun Ultra1 w/ 1GB RAM and 9GB Disk w/o video. Gentoo installed very easily via serial console EXCEPT for nano. In other words, booted it from CD and started network and SSH first thing. Oh, BTW, there's just a slight bug with the network driver. It does get fixed after you download the latest sources.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Weeve
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Oct 2002
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you elaborate on the Ultra 1 bug you are talking about here?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 11, 12, 13  Next
Page 2 of 13

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum