View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
sharky44
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2002 12:57 am    Post subject: Re: Installing Gentoo as a learning experience Reply with quote

Sir_Stinksalot wrote:

So my post here is to see how many people would actually be willing to help a total n00b. Do you think my assumption that I can get it to work with your help and that it would be a good way to dive into the meat of linux? If I get a good response from this I will take the faster of my two computers down and format the harddrive with two partitions and put winblowz on one 20 gig partition and gentoo on the other 20gig partition.

So what do you think?!? Can I do it? Will you help?

While I gladly offer my time and effort in your Gentoo installation, I am a newbie to Gentoo, and for the most part to Linux as well, so I don't know how much help I would be.

I can say, however, that my recent Gentoo install on my IBM Thinkpad A22m went pretty well, and it now dual-boots beautifully with WinXP. I did have a RedHat partition for a few months prior, but never really used it much. I had never compiled a kernel before, but I managed to get Gentoo to boot on the first try :) I did have to recompile a few times to work out problems with sound, mice, etc, and the Forum was a great resource for that. So it's definitely do-able. Follow the documentation, and you should be OK.

And Gentoo definitely has taught me a ton about linux.

And (yes, another and) I would have to agree that it may take a couple installs to get it right. (Almost) everything is working fine for me on the first install, but when I get some free time I want to start over, as I'd like to do some more optimizations and such that I wasn't aware of the first time.

Good Luck!
abombss
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2002 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote