Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kino, dvgrab and ieee1394 subsystem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
davecs
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Nov 2003
Posts: 436
Location: Dagenham, GB

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2003 10:55 pm    Post subject: kino, dvgrab and ieee1394 subsystem Reply with quote

There are two problems you may have with Kino (which uses dvgrab to capture video from your digital camcorder via Firewire).

You may get an error message when selecting preferences: about the ieee1394 subsystem not being loaded.

If this happens, run Kino as root and try again. If you get the same message there are two possibilities:

1. You have not compiled the ieee1394 modules into your kernel.

2. You have, but they are not currently loaded into the kernel.

If (1) is the case, you will have to add the modules, see the Linux Kermel HOWTO for the tip on how to just add one or two modules without redoing the whole thing. When you have sorted this, you will probably find that (2) is now the case!

If (2) is the case, you must edit your kernel startup file (eg /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.4) adding the lines:

raw1394
dv1394
video1394

The other two modules, ohci1394 and ieee1394 will load automatically because the computer detected your firewire card, but not your DV camcorder.

You should get everything working as root. Now try running kino as normal user, and you may get the same error message! You will need to change some file permissions next! There are two directories under /dev, they are ieee1394 and video1394. Run File Manager as Super User and locate them and right click and select Properties. Under Permissions, check all ticks in the first three columns, and check "Apply Changes to All Subdirectories and their contents". Now locate /dev/raw1394 and to the same (except the subdirectory bit).

If the /dev entries are not there, try rebooting with your camcorder plugged in and switched to "Play" (though not actually playing). As long as you have devfs (another kernel module I'm afraid) loaded they should appear after one or possibly two reboots. You can now go back and change the file permissions as already explained.

Anyway, now kino/dvgrab should work properly!

:D
_________________
Gentoo, PCLOS-pre-81a and Windows 98SE.
Shuttle SN41G2V2
Athlon XP2500+ o/c to 3200+, 2x256Mb Geil Value RAM, FX5200.
Ntlworld cable internet via ethernet
and PC-Chips Desknote Laptop (with PCLOS-pre-81a )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2003 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey Dave, I had this problem - does it work with drivers built directly into the kernel? or do they HAVE to be modules?

cause I also couldn't get it to work with them built directly in..

ta
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davecs
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Nov 2003
Posts: 436
Location: Dagenham, GB

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2003 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

taskara wrote:
hey Dave, I had this problem - does it work with drivers built directly into the kernel? or do they HAVE to be modules?

cause I also couldn't get it to work with them built directly in..

ta


No idea!

I would imagine if the modules are built into the kernel you will not have to "modprobe" them, but if kino works as root but not as user, you will have to change the permissions on the /dev/*1394 entries as I described.

Try it you've nothing to lose. Maybe you can add what worked for you if it does...
_________________
Gentoo, PCLOS-pre-81a and Windows 98SE.
Shuttle SN41G2V2
Athlon XP2500+ o/c to 3200+, 2x256Mb Geil Value RAM, FX5200.
Ntlworld cable internet via ethernet
and PC-Chips Desknote Laptop (with PCLOS-pre-81a )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2003 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

righto..

if they are built directly in, then there are no modules to load..

I guess I'll try it when I get my firewire stuff back and let u know how I go..

cheers
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BonezTheGoon
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 1375
Location: Albuquerque, NM -- birthplace of Microsoft and Gentoo

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2003 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just wanted to mention that if you want to allow normal users to access the 1394 subsystem you can add the following entry to your /etc/devfsd.conf -- well at least it worked for me.

Code:

#raw1394 devices
REGISTER       raw1394      PERMISSIONS root.video 660


Of course I probably did something wrong -- but I've found one good way to learn a better way of doing these things is to admit to the world how you've done it!!! Next thing you know everyone will tell you a better way to do it!! Works like a charm!

Oh of course if you want your users to be able to access this device you will need to add them into the video group. To do this simply use the command usermod with the -G switch. Be sure to re-add all the pre-existing groups the user is already in (you can check by issuing the comand 'groups' while logged in as the user in question.)

Regards,
BonezTheGoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2003 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks.. I'll look into it when next I need dv under linux.

ta
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Schem
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 39
Location: Kraków, Poland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sorry that I'm using the old topic, but I run out of my senses...
Some time ago I had my camcoder working with kino under gentoo (AMD64) without problems. But while capturing, some frames were being lost. I think it was because of my old disk, so I've bought a new one on SATA. And of course installed gentoo once again.
And my camcoder is not working anymore ;(

I've checked this topic and found it helpfull. But I can't understand why I have everything BUT /dev/ieee1394
And of course I'm using udev instead of devfs (I have 2006.1 release)

Here are my modules:

Code:
lsmod |grep 1394

dv1394                 23632  0
video1394              21904  0
raw1394                30192  0
ohci1394               36232  2 dv1394,video1394
ieee1394              107704  5 dv1394,video1394,raw1394,sbp2,ohci1394


Here's what dmesg says:

Code:
dmesg |grep 1394

ieee1394: Initialized config rom entry `ip1394'
ohci1394: fw-host0: OHCI-1394 1.0 (PCI): IRQ=[185]  MMIO=[fa900000-fa9007ff]  Max Packet=[2048]  IR/IT contexts=[4/8]
ieee1394: sbp2: Driver forced to serialize I/O (serialize_io=1)
ieee1394: sbp2: Try serialize_io=0 for better performance
ieee1394: raw1394: /dev/raw1394 device initialized
video1394: Installed video1394 module
ieee1394: Host added: ID:BUS[0-00:1023]  GUID[0011d800001037b7]


And my /dev :

Code:
ls /dev/ |grep 1394

dv1394
raw1394
video1394


There's no /dev/ieee1394 as you can see... May it be a problem? And how to resolve it? The permissions are OK...
There is a "0" device in /dev/dv1394/ and /dev/raw1394 catalogues only...

Kino doesn't see any device as well as dvgrab does:

Code:
dvgrab

Error: no camera exists


Please help :roll:

PS. I'm using from yesterday 2.6.18-gentoo-r6, but it was not working at 2.6.17-gentoo-r7 and r8...
I don't know what to do...
_________________
Schem
Registered Linux User #349134

*powered by PLD & Gentoo Linux*

"Umysł jest jak spadochron - najlepiej gdy otwarty"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psheldon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2006
Posts: 53
Location: South Africa

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have a look at the MINIDV thread I suspect
"mknod -m 666 /dev/raw1394 c 171 0"

Oh and as I said in the other thread I had to install as modules.

regards
peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Schem
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 39
Location: Kraków, Poland

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your response, but raw1394 file already exist ;) I've tried with /dev/ieee1394 but unfortunatelly camcoder is not working, still...

Code:
# IEEE 1394 (FireWire) support
#
CONFIG_IEEE1394=m

#
# Subsystem Options
#
# CONFIG_IEEE1394_VERBOSEDEBUG is not set
# CONFIG_IEEE1394_OUI_DB is not set
CONFIG_IEEE1394_EXTRA_CONFIG_ROMS=y
CONFIG_IEEE1394_CONFIG_ROM_IP1394=y
CONFIG_IEEE1394_EXPORT_FULL_API=y

#
# Device Drivers
#
# CONFIG_IEEE1394_PCILYNX is not set
CONFIG_IEEE1394_OHCI1394=m

#
# Protocol Drivers
#
CONFIG_IEEE1394_VIDEO1394=m
CONFIG_IEEE1394_SBP2=m
CONFIG_IEEE1394_ETH1394=m
CONFIG_IEEE1394_DV1394=m
CONFIG_IEEE1394_RAWIO=m


All in modules. Modules are being loaded, as I wrote... I'll try - I'm sure it's something stupid...
_________________
Schem
Registered Linux User #349134

*powered by PLD & Gentoo Linux*

"Umysł jest jak spadochron - najlepiej gdy otwarty"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psheldon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2006
Posts: 53
Location: South Africa

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

quote
CONFIG_IEEE1394_SBP2=m
CONFIG_IEEE1394_ETH1394=m
end

You do have a firewire sound blaster? And firewire ethernet card? I have found that some how, having the ethernet drivers available without the hardware causes problems.
In Kino preferences, ie1394 what is the error if any?
regards
peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Schem
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 39
Location: Kraków, Poland

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

psheldon wrote:

quote
CONFIG_IEEE1394_SBP2=m
CONFIG_IEEE1394_ETH1394=m
end

You do have a firewire sound blaster? And firewire ethernet card? I have found that some how, having the ethernet drivers available without the hardware causes problems.


No, I don't. I've checked the config once again and throw away some things... I've changed CONFIG_IEEE1394=m for "y"... may it be the way. But it was late in the night, so I'll continue today evening and post some news.

I saw many "miracles", so everything is possible. Few years ago I was fighting with Nvidia drivers over 2 weeks. Changing "assign IRQ to AGP" option in BIOS (sic!) helped finally :lol:

psheldon wrote:

In Kino preferences, ie1394 what is the error if any?


Kino just doesn't see ieee1394 device. I can't choose one in preferences, because no device is available in the menu. But dvgrab (which is used by kino) says "Error: No camera exist" like I wrote in my first post.

Thanx again

EDIT 12th of January:
Still nothing...
_________________
Schem
Registered Linux User #349134

*powered by PLD & Gentoo Linux*

"Umysł jest jak spadochron - najlepiej gdy otwarty"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peakeyed
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Nov 2004
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 2:06 am    Post subject: Same problem Reply with quote

Its been around 2 years since this post but I have the same exact problem. I'm trying a few different things and will post here if I find a solution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Schem
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 39
Location: Kraków, Poland

PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 6:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow!!! 2 years? ;)

I'd like to clear the problem...
FireWire port in my camera was dead :oops:
Not completly dead (that's why something showed itself) but couldn't communicate.
So, it was not software problem :roll:
_________________
Schem
Registered Linux User #349134

*powered by PLD & Gentoo Linux*

"Umysł jest jak spadochron - najlepiej gdy otwarty"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psheldon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2006
Posts: 53
Location: South Africa

PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, Mine works most of the time. The male/female plug that plugs into the camera is not as robust as a usb plug. Sometimes I have to wiggle the plug to get it to work.
I have upgraded my camera but still use Kino and the same port.
regards
peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum