Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Compiz for Enlightenment-0.17
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You'll have to go the manual way. http://code.google.com/p/itask-module/wiki/Stuff

The ecomp repo is totally outdated atm. I'll have to update it to use the new GIT URL, and rename e -> enlightenment (as in vapier's overlay)
_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
die-hard
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2005
Posts: 255
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gimpel wrote:
You'll have to go the manual way. http://code.google.com/p/itask-module/wiki/Stuff

The ecomp repo is totally outdated atm. I'll have to update it to use the new GIT URL, and rename e -> enlightenment (as in vapier's overlay)


I download e from git repository. I receive this error:

Code:
 gcc -std=gnu99 -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I../../.. -I. -I../../.. -I../../../src/modules/conf_applications -I../../../src/bin -I../../../src/lib -I../../../src/modules -DUSE_E_CONFIG_H -I/usr/include/eina-0 -I/usr/include/eina-0/eina -I/usr/include/efreet -I/usr/include/dbus-1.0 -I/usr/lib/dbus-1.0/include -I/usr/include/eina-0 -I/usr/include/eina-0/eina -g -O2 -MT e_int_config_apps.lo -MD -MP -MF .deps/e_int_config_apps.Tpo -c e_int_config_apps.c  -fPIC -DPIC -o .libs/e_int_config_apps.o
e_int_config_apps.c: In function '_save_menu':
e_int_config_apps.c:659: error: too few arguments to function 'efreet_menu_new'
make[4]: *** [e_int_config_apps.lo] Error 1
make[4]: Leaving directory `/root/prog2install/e/trunk/e/src/modules/conf_applications'
make[3]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/root/prog2install/e/trunk/e/src/modules'
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/prog2install/e/trunk/e/src'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/prog2install/e/trunk/e'
make: *** [all] Error 2
VaioTux e #
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try updating your EFL. In right order (eina eet evas ecore embryo edje efreet e_dbus)
_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
die-hard
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2005
Posts: 255
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I reemerged all EFL but error persist
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

die-hard wrote:
I reemerged all EFL but error persist

I just had the exact same error.

Seems the modified E isn't up2date with current SVN EFL.
_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
die-hard
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2005
Posts: 255
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gimpel wrote:
die-hard wrote:
I reemerged all EFL but error persist

I just had the exact same error.

Seems the modified E isn't up2date with current SVN EFL.


Code:
VaioTux e # emerge -pv eina eet evas ecore embryo edje efreet e_dbus

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R   ] dev-libs/eina-9999  USE="nls threads -benchmark -doc" 0 kB [1]
[ebuild   R   ] dev-libs/eet-9999  USE="nls -doc" 0 kB [1]
[ebuild   R   ] dev-libs/embryo-9999  USE="nls -doc" 0 kB [1]
[ebuild   R   ] x11-libs/evas-9999  USE="X gif jpeg mmx nls opengl png sse svg threads tiff (-altivec) -cairo -directfb -doc -edb -fbcon -sdl -xcb -xpm" 0 kB [1]
[ebuild   R   ] x11-libs/ecore-9999  USE="X curl nls opengl ssl -directfb -doc -fbcon -sdl" 0 kB [1]
[ebuild   R   ] media-libs/edje-9999  USE="nls -doc -vim" 0 kB [1]
[ebuild   R   ] dev-libs/efreet-9999  USE="nls -doc" 0 kB [1]
[ebuild   R   ] x11-libs/e_dbus-9999  USE="X nls -doc" 0 kB [1]

Total: 8 packages (8 reinstalls), Size of downloads: 0 kB
Portage tree and overlays:
 [0] /usr/portage
 [1] /usr/portage/local/layman/enlightenment-svn
VaioTux e #
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah edit.. the SVN E compiles, but the GIT E doesn't.
_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
die-hard
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2005
Posts: 255
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gimpel wrote:
Yeah edit.. the SVN E compiles, but the GIT E doesn't.


I hope u will contact me when u resolve this problem ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

die-hard wrote:
gimpel wrote:
Yeah edit.. the SVN E compiles, but the GIT E doesn't.


I hope u will contact me when u resolve this problem ;)

Erm, I'm not Hannes.
But as soon as he updates his modified E to work with current EFL, it should be fine again.
_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3182

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gimpel wrote:
die-hard wrote:
gimpel wrote:
Yeah edit.. the SVN E compiles, but the GIT E doesn't.


I hope u will contact me when u resolve this problem ;)

Erm, I'm not Hannes.
But as soon as he updates his modified E to work with current EFL, it should be fine again.
:D
with the amount of support you provide here, this was inevitable ;)
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
die-hard
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2005
Posts: 255
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

now all work fine. But when i start ecomorph i have not compiz effects.

Quote:

Comment by hannes.janetzek, Yesterday (28 hours ago)

maybe libecompconfig and ecompconfig-python are not installed correctly. what does it say if you run 'enlightenment_start -evil' and 'ecomorph ccp'?


who can help me to fix ebuild on layman overlay?

When i try to emerge ecomorph i receive this error:

Code:

VaioTux ~ # emerge ecomorph
Calculating dependencies... done!
>>> Verifying ebuild Manifests...

>>> Emerging (1 of 2) x11-wm/e-9999-r1 to /
 * checking ebuild checksums ;-) ...                                      [ ok ]
 * checking auxfile checksums ;-) ...                                     [ ok ]
 * checking miscfile checksums ;-) ...                                    [ ok ]
 * Using user server for live sources: http://svn.enlightenment.org/svn/e/trunk
 * This is a LIVE SOURCES ebuild.
 * That means there are NO promises it will work.
 * If it fails to build, FIX THE CODE YOURSELF
 * before reporting any issues.
>>> Unpacking source...
 * git update start -->
 *    repository: git://staff.get-e.org/users/jeffdameth/e.git
fatal: Couldn't find remote ref ecomorph
 *
 * ERROR: x11-wm/e-9999-r1 failed.
 * Call stack:
 *               ebuild.sh, line   49:  Called src_unpack
 *             environment, line 2771:  Called git_src_unpack
 *             environment, line 2167:  Called git_fetch
 *             environment, line 2149:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *               ${EGIT_UPDATE_CMD} ${EGIT_OPTIONS} origin ${EGIT_BRANCH}:${EGIT_BRANCH} || die "${EGIT}: can't update from ${EGIT_REPO_URI}.";
 *  The die message:
 *   git.eclass: can't update from git://staff.get-e.org/users/jeffdameth/e.git.
 *
 * If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
 * A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/x11-wm/e-9999-r1/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/x11-wm/e-9999-r1/temp/environment'.
 *

 * Messages for package x11-wm/e-9999-r1:

 * This is a LIVE SOURCES ebuild.
 * That means there are NO promises it will work.
 * If it fails to build, FIX THE CODE YOURSELF
 * before reporting any issues.
 *
 * ERROR: x11-wm/e-9999-r1 failed.
 * Call stack:
 *               ebuild.sh, line   49:  Called src_unpack
 *             environment, line 2771:  Called git_src_unpack
 *             environment, line 2167:  Called git_fetch
 *             environment, line 2149:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *               ${EGIT_UPDATE_CMD} ${EGIT_OPTIONS} origin ${EGIT_BRANCH}:${EGIT_BRANCH} || die "${EGIT}: can't update from ${EGIT_REPO_URI}.";
 *  The die message:
 *   git.eclass: can't update from git://staff.get-e.org/users/jeffdameth/e.git.
 *
 * If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
 * A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/x11-wm/e-9999-r1/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/x11-wm/e-9999-r1/temp/environment'.
 *
VaioTux ~ #


The git url is the same where i download source and compile manually.

Help me pls. Thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nordic bro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2003
Posts: 560

PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2008 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

When i try to emerge ecomorph i receive this error:


these are the steps to install and run ecomorph:

- install e17 (svn, emerge or whatever)

- follow the instructions, in order, for the five pkgs of ecomorph itself using that link from "you have go the manual way" post; the only emerge'ing you'd do here is if some support pkg ecomorph complains about isn't installed on your system

- if all five of those installed without error then you're mostly done.

I don't know what state you have it in right now but I'd probably just go through each of the five pkgs again to be sure they compiled/installed ok.

for testing it, I don't know if you can do this on a running instance of e17 but assuming not, remove the xdm link from /etc/runlevels/default (or gdm if that's what you're using) and reboot your computer.

once you login put this in ~/.xinitrc:

Code:

exec /usr/local/bin/enlightenment_start -evil


comment out anything else in that file. save it and run "startx". e17 should start.

open a terminal and find the "ecomorph.sh" script and run it. does the bg momentarily flash? if yes, then ecomorph is running and compiz effects should work.

if ecomorph.sh failed to run then either your xorg.conf is (possibly) missing a couple compositing parameters or ecomorph was incorrectly installed or perhaps something else. I'm still using the old stuff but iirc the ecomorph.sh script itself will give indications as to why it didn't start.

but if everything worked you can put back your xdm link in default, follow his instructions to automate startup, and that should be it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
die-hard
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2005
Posts: 255
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

this is output from ecomorph.sh

Code:

Checking for Xgl: not present.
Detected PCI ID for VGA: 01:00.0 0300: 10de:01d8 (rev a1) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
Checking for texture_from_pixmap: present.
Checking for non power of two support: present.
Checking for Composite extension: present.
Comparing resolution (1280x800) to maximum 3D texture size (4096): Passed.
Checking for nVidia: present.
Checking for FBConfig: present.
Checking for Xgl: not present.
window managed: 0x800633 : 0xc00022
window managed: 0x801162 : 0x80115e


Can u help me?

Thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nordic bro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2003
Posts: 560

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it looks to me like ecomorph is running ok so I'll assume the problem is still not seeing compiz effects. ecomorph.sh is a new item and while I only tested the new releases a couple times I didn't have any problem with it that I recall.

I would also expect it to fail or see err output of some kind if something is missing or broken; so most of the following are just shots in the dark to try and stumble on something.

1. do "/bin/ps aux | grep ecomo" then "kill -9 <ecomorph pid>". then do "mv ~/.config/ecomp/ecompconfig/Default.ini ~/.config/ecomp/ecompconfig/Default.ini_OLD"; go to the dir you built ecomorph in, find Default.ini and "cp Default.ini ~/.config/ecomp/ecompconfig".

run ecomorph.sh.

move your mouse cursor into the upper-left corner of your screen - anything happen? try the upper-right and lower-left - anything happen?

2. what happens when you run /usr/local/bin/ecsm?

this is the settings dialog for ecomorph. I don't think it matters if you can't run it but if could indicate a basic problem for ecomorph itself (just a guess).

if ecsm didn't run or nothing happened with the mouse cursor, look in /usr/lib/python-*/site-packages for ecompconfig* - do you see those files/links? if not, cd to /usr/lib/python-*/site-packages and do "ln -s /usr/local/lib/python-2.4/site-packages/* ."

3, does /etc/ld.so.conf contain "/usr/local/lib"? if not add it, run ldconfig then rerun ecomorph.sh

4. is "/usr/local/bin" in $path var? ahead of "/usr/bin"?

5. do you have the non-ecomorph compiz itself installed too? if so do "quickpkg <compiz stuff>" to back it up, unmerge them, go through each ecomorph install step and try running it again.

6. instead of running ecomorph.sh script just try "/usr/local/bin/ecomorph ccp dbus" - do the mouse effects work or do you get error output?

I can't really think of anything else off the top of my head.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4883

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got E17-svn from your (gimpel) site, if I want to get E17 with compiz, do I need to replace my current E17 repository with the one under ecomp?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
I got E17-svn from your (gimpel) site, if I want to get E17 with compiz, do I need to replace my current E17 repository with the one under ecomp?

It's better to compile "by hand".

I updated the repository a bit and it should be possible to install at least patched enlightenment and ecomorph, but it still installs to /usr, paths in the ecomorph.sh are still wrong, library paths need adjustment etc. So you better do it manually, like nordic bro explained.
_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4883

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gimpel wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
I got E17-svn from your (gimpel) site, if I want to get E17 with compiz, do I need to replace my current E17 repository with the one under ecomp?

It's better to compile "by hand".

I updated the repository a bit and it should be possible to install at least patched enlightenment and ecomorph, but it still installs to /usr, paths in the ecomorph.sh are still wrong, library paths need adjustment etc. So you better do it manually, like nordic bro explained.


ok, don't got time to mess with this, will wait till there is a working ebuild
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
die-hard
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2005
Posts: 255
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nordic bro wrote:
it looks to me like ecomorph is running ok so I'll assume the problem is still not seeing compiz effects. ecomorph.sh is a new item and while I only tested the new releases a couple times I didn't have any problem with it that I recall.

I would also expect it to fail or see err output of some kind if something is missing or broken; so most of the following are just shots in the dark to try and stumble on something.

1. do "/bin/ps aux | grep ecomo" then "kill -9 <ecomorph pid>". then do "mv ~/.config/ecomp/ecompconfig/Default.ini ~/.config/ecomp/ecompconfig/Default.ini_OLD"; go to the dir you built ecomorph in, find Default.ini and "cp Default.ini ~/.config/ecomp/ecompconfig".

run ecomorph.sh.

move your mouse cursor into the upper-left corner of your screen - anything happen? try the upper-right and lower-left - anything happen?


- work fine some virtual desktop appears like compiz on Gnome


Quote:

2. what happens when you run /usr/local/bin/ecsm?

this is the settings dialog for ecomorph. I don't think it matters if you can't run it but if could indicate a basic problem for ecomorph itself (just a guess).

if ecsm didn't run or nothing happened with the mouse cursor, look in /usr/lib/python-*/site-packages for ecompconfig* - do you see those files/links? if not, cd to /usr/lib/python-*/site-packages and do "ln -s /usr/local/lib/python-2.4/site-packages/* ."


Code:

palban@VaioTux ~ $ ecsm
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/ecsm", line 37, in <module>
    import ecompconfig
InportError: No module named ecompconfig


/usr/lib/python-*/site-packages not exist

Quote:

3, does /etc/ld.so.conf contain "/usr/local/lib"? if not add it, run ldconfig then rerun ecomorph.sh

4. is "/usr/local/bin" in $path var? ahead of "/usr/bin"?

5. do you have the non-ecomorph compiz itself installed too? if so do "quickpkg <compiz stuff>" to back it up, unmerge them, go through each ecomorph install step and try running it again.

6. instead of running ecomorph.sh script just try "/usr/local/bin/ecomorph ccp dbus" - do the mouse effects work or do you get error output?

I can't really think of anything else off the top of my head.


emerald not work and i cant drags some windows
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nordic bro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2003
Posts: 560

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

- work fine some virtual desktop appears like compiz on Gnome


Quote:

Quote:

2. what happens when you run /usr/local/bin/ecsm?

this is the settings dialog for ecomorph. I don't think it matters if you can't run it but if could indicate a basic problem for ecomorph itself (just a guess).

if ecsm didn't run or nothing happened with the mouse cursor, look in /usr/lib/python-*/site-packages for ecompconfig* - do you see those files/links? if not, cd to /usr/lib/python-*/site-packages and do "ln -s /usr/local/lib/python-2.4/site-packages/* ."


Code:

palban@VaioTux ~ $ ecsm
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/ecsm", line 37, in <module>
    import ecompconfig
InportError: No module named ecompconfig


/usr/lib/python-*/site-packages not exist


yeah, sorry I had a typo there - there isn't a "-" in the name. look in /usr/lib again for something like "python2.4" or "python2.5" and you'll probably see it.

so ecomorph itself is working, moving mouse cursor to screen corners makes windows move? ecsm is an optional piece of ecomorph meaning ecomorph will work fine without it - ecsm is a gui to edit the Default.ini I mentioned, which is where things for ecomorph can be turned on and off and set keybindings, etc.

so you can edit Default.ini by hand (kill ecomorph first); if you google "compiz Default.ini" you should find lots of examples. ecomorph doesn't support everything in compiz so not everything in a google'd Default.ini is going to work. but after you make some changes, restart ecomorph and you should see the effects.

or if you want the ecsm gui to do it for you, then assuming you have a /usr/lib/python2.5, cd to "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages" and create the links I mentioned above; then see if ecsm runs. I don't quite know why but I could never get ecsm to work unless the 3 "ecompconfig*" libs and "ccm" dir were linked in my /usr/lib/python*/site-packages/ dir. maybe you're having the same problem I did.

Quote:

emerald not work and i cant drags some windows


sorry, don't really know anything about window dragging problems unless you're simply getting windows with no titlebars or frames - I ran into that testing the new ecomorph and it was something like "emerald --replace" or "ecomorph --replace" or the start order or something, don't really remember. someone else will have to say what's going on there.

if your emerald is less than 0.7 though it's not going to do anything; all emerald does with ecomorph anyway is provide shadows but if you want that make sure emerald is 0.7+

if you *already* have emerald 0.7+ installed then the problem is probably that it was not built against ecomorph's "libdecoration*" libs. I believe compiz is a dependency for emerald which means compiz's libdecoration* is what emerald gets built against and that's not going to work for ecomorph.

so:

1. if you have compiz installed, do the quickpkg thing I mentioned above (if you want) and unmerge it; make sure there's no libdecoration* in /usr/lib

2. if you don't have compiz currently installed, just double-check there's no libdecoration* in /usr/lib

3. I don't know how to do it but there must be a way to have an emerge compile pick out libs from /usr/local/lib instead of /usr/lib meaning you could ostensibly leave compiz installed

in any case, following one of those do "emerge emerald --nodeps" and it will build against ecomorph's libdecoration* in /usr/local/lib.


I think the ecomorph.sh script will access or start emerald for you but that's a guess (look in it for "USE_EMERALD"); but once you get the ecomorph/emerald combo starting ok, run emerald theme mgr and from somewhere in there you can enable/alter shadows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3182

PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2008 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow! This e17+ecomorph is nice :D

EDIT: By the way, I had hacked up some ebuilds in order to install ecomorph. The ebuilds can be downloaded from here: http://ppurka.googlepages.com/ecomorph.tar.bz2

EDIT 2: [01 Jan 2009] Updated above to change x11-wm/e to x11-wm/enlightenment-9999-r1

EDIT 3: [20 Feb 2009] Updated to reflect the change in git repository. Also added a USE flag "local" to ecomp, if you want to install it to /usr/local.

EDIT 4: [28 Mar 2009] Updated the ecomp ebuild to filter out --as-needed from LDFLAGS. Also removed the deprecated ebuilds,- libecompconfig, ecsm, ecsm-python,- from the tar-file.

EDIT 5: [02 Jun 2009] Updated both enlightenment and ecomp ebuilds to filter out -Wl,-O1 and -Wl,--as-needed from LDFLAGS. Also added exchange USE flag to enlightenment ebuild.
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II


Last edited by ppurka on Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:41 pm; edited 6 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sian
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jan 2004
Posts: 288

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi !
Do you think ecomorph could be directly integrated in e17 ? or these ebuilds in some overlays ?

Btw Happy New Year
_________________
Kernel : 2.6.32 - E17 - OpenRC-0.61 - gcc-4.4.3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3182

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sian wrote:
Hi !
Do you think ecomorph could be directly integrated in e17 ? or these ebuilds in some overlays ?

Btw Happy New Year
As the main page for ecomorph clearly states: ecomorph is a hack to get compiz work with e17! If and when e18 development starts, we will have native compositing within enlightenment.

The ebuilds are not in any overlay. I believe gimpel also provides some ebuilds, however I haven't looked at them. The ebuilds are also basically a hack to get e17+ecomorph working.

While writing this, I just realized that I must rename the x11-wm/e ebuild in the above tar file to x11-wm/enlightenment otherwise other people's emerges will fail. :(

EDIT: Updated the above tarred file.
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nordic bro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2003
Posts: 560

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what's this e18 of which you speak? I googled a couple things and didn't see anything. can't wait for an "E18 is coming? (part 1)" thread :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sian
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jan 2004
Posts: 288

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it works with ecomp and launching from entrance ! That's cool !
_________________
Kernel : 2.6.32 - E17 - OpenRC-0.61 - gcc-4.4.3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Leon_UK
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 128
Location: London

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2009 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ppurka wrote:
Wow! This e17+ecomorph is nice :D

EDIT: By the way, I had hacked up some ebuilds in order to install ecomorph. The ebuilds can be downloaded from here: http://ppurka.googlepages.com/ecomorph.tar.bz2

EDIT 2: [01 Jan 2009] Updated above to change x11-wm/e to x11-wm/enlightenment-9999-r1


the link in your ebuild seems to be dead or restricted for enlightenment.

Code:

>>> Unpacking source...
 * git clone start -->
 *    repository: git://staff.get-e.org/users/jeffdameth/e.git
Initialized empty Git repository in /usr/portage/distfiles/git-src/enlightenment/
fatal: The remote end hung up unexpectedly
 *
 * ERROR: x11-wm/enlightenment-9999-r1 failed.
 * Call stack:
 *               ebuild.sh, line   49:  Called src_unpack
 *             environment, line 2625:  Called git_src_unpack
 *             environment, line 2013:  Called git_fetch
 *             environment, line 1982:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *           ${EGIT_FETCH_CMD} ${EGIT_OPTIONS} "${EGIT_REPO_URI}" ${EGIT_PROJECT} || die "${EGIT}: can't fetch from ${EGIT_REPO_URI}.";
 *  The die message:
 *   git.eclass: can't fetch from git://staff.get-e.org/users/jeffdameth/e.git.
 *



EDIT: I'm guessing it is now "ecomorph-e17.git" instead of "e.git" ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 4 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum