Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[HOWTO]New freetype subpixel font rendering for lcd monitors
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 26, 27, 28, 29, 30  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bi3l
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 268
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should reemerge fontconfig.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GoofyX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2005
Posts: 51
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bi3l wrote:
You should reemerge fontconfig.

OK, that's what I'm doing right now.
_________________
... Morpheus: What is "real"? How do you define "real"? If you 're talking about what you can feel, what you can smell, what you can taste and see, then "real" is simply electrical signals interpreted by your brain...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manwe_
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 552
Location: Kraków/Cracow, Poland

PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2008 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Found a new thing about my problem with cairo-1.8.0. This is somehow related to GTK. I didn't notice that at first, 'cause I use xfce4 and almost none Qt apps. This is difference between text in QtConfig4 and Mousepad [GTK], font Dejavu Sans 8: http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/395/screenshot2008100914314bu3.png Qt looks fine, no difference between cairo 1.6.4 and 1.8.0. Any ideas what to do with GTK?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yabbadabbadont
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 4791
Location: 2 exits past crazy

PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2008 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

manwe_ wrote:
Found a new thing about my problem with cairo-1.8.0. This is somehow related to GTK. I didn't notice that at first, 'cause I use xfce4 and almost none Qt apps. This is difference between text in QtConfig4 and Mousepad [GTK], font Dejavu Sans 8: http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/395/screenshot2008100914314bu3.png Qt looks fine, no difference between cairo 1.6.4 and 1.8.0. Any ideas what to do with GTK?

I think that it was said earlier in this thread that Qt does not use cario, so your Qt apps would look the same no matter what version of cairo you have. ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phlogiston
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 1925
Location: Europe, Swizerland

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

acevery wrote:
bi3l wrote:
I've updated fontconfig-2.6.0 according to fontconfig_2.6.0-1ubuntu4.diff which includes the lcddefault patch, and cairo-1.8.0 so that it applies the lcdfilter patch from mwhitlock. I've also added EAPI="1" to the freetype and fontconfig ebuilds.

The tarball is here: http://ogmrip.sourceforge.net/misc/gentoo-lcd-filtering.tar.bz2


Great works!
Thanks :D


Is this still updated?

Please fix:
Code:
  ... When querying use flag 'directfb' for 'x11-libs/cairo-1.8.0:0::lcdfiltering' in Paludis environment:
  ... When parsing metadata key 'IUSE' from 'x11-libs/cairo-1.8.0:0::lcdfiltering':
  ... When extracting USE flag state from IUSE flag '+newspr':
  ... +/- prefixed IUSE flag names not allowed in this EAPI

_________________
Workstation: 5.1 SurroundSound, LIRC remote control; Laptop [IBM-T43]: patched sources, s2disk/ram, fingerprint sensor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bi3l
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 268
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Should be fixed, even though you're quite unpleasant and do not say clearly what the problem is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phlogiston
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 1925
Location: Europe, Swizerland

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bi3l wrote:
Should be fixed, even though you're quite unpleasant and do not say clearly what the problem is.


The message should explain it: You sound not have + or - before use flags in the ebuilds.

Sorry I don't want to insult you.
_________________
Workstation: 5.1 SurroundSound, LIRC remote control; Laptop [IBM-T43]: patched sources, s2disk/ram, fingerprint sensor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bi3l
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 268
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Phlogiston wrote:
Sorry I don't want to insult you.

I don't feel insulted.
Phlogiston wrote:
Ok I'm curios how long it will last

Phlogiston wrote:
Is this still updated?

But this kind of comments is not very pleasant.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lori
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 265
Location: Barcelona, Spain

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The fix is not to remove the + sign, but to add a line EAPI="2" at the top of the ebuild.
_________________
"The hunt is sweeter then the kill."
Registered Linux User #176911
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bi3l
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 268
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lori wrote:
The fix is not to remove the + sign, but to add a line EAPI="2" at the top of the ebuild.

That's what I did.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phlogiston
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 1925
Location: Europe, Swizerland

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bi3l wrote:
Lori wrote:
The fix is not to remove the + sign, but to add a line EAPI="2" at the top of the ebuild.

That's what I did.


Yes the problem went away! Thanks a lot.
_________________
Workstation: 5.1 SurroundSound, LIRC remote control; Laptop [IBM-T43]: patched sources, s2disk/ram, fingerprint sensor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manwe_
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 552
Location: Kraków/Cracow, Poland

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I need a small help with font config. Yesterday I've switched my system to font Candara [from vista-fonts]. Looks great. But have a problem with bold text. This is how it looks with 96dpi: http://img368.imageshack.us/img368/6813/screenshot2008101700091rl5.png . As you can see, there is almost no difference between normal and bold up to 10pt. Some of the letters are a bit thicker [like w or x] which makes it ever look worse. Any ideas how can I get bold font at least from 9pt? Current config: lcddefault, hintslight, cairo-1.8.0, libXft-2.1.13.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

manwe_ wrote:
how can I get bold font at least from 9pt?

I would suggest creating a rule in ~/.fonts.conf to change to hintfull at <= 9pt for that font.

You might need my patch from the previous page in this thread, to get cairo to respect the rule.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manwe_
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 552
Location: Kraków/Cracow, Poland

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For a quick test, without need to use patch or another rule, I've changed to hintfull for all fonts... Doesn't look any different for me: http://img90.imageshack.us/img90/9762/screenshot2008101701072am7.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh well. Would have to do something else to distinguish it. Maybe need to switch to a different font when that small.

Edit: Don't you have candarab.ttf - Candara Bold? That sounds like the perfect font to switch to ;)

Edit2: Nah, that practically changes to non-bold Candara at small sizes, just as you've shown. Maybe change to bold-italic - at least that looks different.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manwe_
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 552
Location: Kraków/Cracow, Poland

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yup, I have candarab.ttf. What's funny, vista-fonts are somehow different than fonts from micro$oft. Now I have normal and bold thin, but when I've tried oryginal fonts [PowerPointViewer installation] I had normal and bold .. thick [in all sizes, also without difference between those two]. Unfortunately candara.ttf from vista-fonts + candarab.ttf from PPV also didn't work out.

Bold + italic is some kind of solution, but how can I force italic when bold? In .gtkrc-2.0 I have just Candara 9, bold style is used by some programs, like liferea to highlight something. And that's what pisses me off, this lack of distinction. But not enogh to change font, looks too good for me ;)

Thanks anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here ya go:
Code:
   <!-- From http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-511382-start-650.html
   To create difference between small Candara and small Candara bold -->
   <match name="family" target="pattern">
      <test name="family" qual="any">
         <string>Candara</string>
      </test>
      <test compare="less_eq" name="size">
         <double>10</double>
      </test>
      <test name="weight" compare="more">
         <const>medium</const>
      </test>
      <edit name="embolden" mode="assign">
         <bool>true</bool>
      </edit>
   </match>

It makes the "small Candara bold" very wide, but at least it's distinguishable.

I don't know why this is needed - maybe a bug with the font's definition file :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manwe_
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 552
Location: Kraków/Cracow, Poland

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 2:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PaulBredbury wrote:
It makes the "small Candara bold" very wide, but at least it's distinguishable.

Wider than oryginal bold, but imho not very wide. Blurry, that's for sure (even with hintfull added to this <match>) : http://img264.imageshack.us/img264/5535/screenshot2008101704241ui3.png
Never mind though, works for me. Definitely better than nothing. Many thanks 4 help :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ocin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Jan 2006
Posts: 500

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seriously, the patched ebuilds are better than the default ones - but the fonts still suck.

Comparing gentoos fonts with the patched ebuilds to a debian systems with font related .debs (libxft, libcairo and libfreetype) from ubuntu:

Gentoo: http://nico.core.ws/tmp/gentoo_sq.png
Ubuntu: http://nico.core.ws/tmp/ubuntu_sq.png

Both screenshots show squirrelmails option page in mozilla firefox 3.x.x with the following options set in about:config:
Code:
font.FreeType2.autohinted true
font.FreeType2.enable true
font.Freetype2.unhinted false


The gentoo system uses following settings:
All font packages are compiled with newspr and ubuntu useflags.
eselect fontconfig list:
Quote:
[1] 10-antialias.conf *
[2] 10-autohint.conf *
[3] 10-hinting.conf *
[4] 10-hinting-full.conf *
[5] 10-hinting-medium.conf
[6] 10-hinting-slight.conf
[7] 10-no-sub-pixel.conf
[8] 10-sub-pixel-bgr.conf
[9] 10-sub-pixel-rgb.conf *
[10] 10-sub-pixel-vbgr.conf
[11] 10-sub-pixel-vrgb.conf
[12] 10-unhinted.conf
[13] 11-lcd-filter-lcddefault.conf *
[14] 20-fix-globaladvance.conf *
[15] 20-unhint-small-dejavu.conf *
[16] 20-unhint-small-dejavu-experimental.conf
[17] 20-unhint-small-vera.conf *
[18] 25-unhint-nonlatin.conf
[19] 30-metric-aliases.conf *
[20] 30-urw-aliases.conf *
[21] 40-nonlatin.conf *
[22] 45-latin.conf *
[23] 49-sansserif.conf *
[24] 50-user.conf *
[25] 51-local.conf *
[26] 53-monospace-lcd-filter.conf *
[27] 57-dejavu.conf *
[28] 60-latin.conf *
[29] 61-dejavu-experimental.conf
[30] 65-fonts-persian.conf *
[31] 65-khmer.conf
[32] 65-nonlatin.conf *
[33] 69-unifont.conf *
[34] 70-no-bitmaps.conf
[35] 70-yes-bitmaps.conf
[36] 80-delicious.conf *
[37] 90-synthetic.conf *


The debian/ubuntu system uses autohint/hintfull and subpixel rendering (set in gnomes settings)

The difference is clear. Gentoos fonts suck hard.
Are those ebuilds including all patches which are used by ubuntu?
The fonts under archlinux are looking like the ubuntu ones just for your info.

Do we need to change the ebuilds and add more/other patches? Or am I missing something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swimmer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 1287
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 4:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try with 70-no-bitmaps.conf enabled ...

HTH
swimmer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mostidiot wrote:
the fonts still suck.

It's blatantly obvious that you're seeing a bitmap font - can't you see that??

The problem is, some weirdos actually prefer bitmap fonts sometimes, so we can't have one perfect ruleset to suit everyone. This is why you have to use your brain, read this thread, and create your own ruleset.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ocin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Jan 2006
Posts: 500

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah, thx.

The fonts look nice now in firefox but my urxvt font is broken now.
http://nico.core.ws/tmp/nobitmap.png
URxvt*font: xft:Terminus:pixelsize=14

edit: fixed it with http://nico.core.ws/misc/50-enable-terminus.conf

edit2: the fontconfig ebuilds have errors:
In the ebuilds there is a line
Code:
cp "${FILESDIR}"/30-replace-bitmap-fonts.conf conf.d/

this does not work because the patches need to be adjusted too (fontconfig-2.6.0-ubuntu.diff and fontconfig-2.5.0-ubuntu-3.diff)
files: fontconfig-2.6.0/conf.d/Makefile.am, fontconfig-2.5.0/conf.d/Makefile.in and fontconfig-2.5.0/conf.d/Makefile.am
this is a bit of botch.

edit3: cairo-1.8.2 is in portage now too


Last edited by ocin on Wed Nov 05, 2008 4:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
overkll
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Sep 2004
Posts: 1244
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cairo-1.8.2 was released yesterday as stable into the portage tree. It has (-newspr%*). Will a new cairo ebuild be added to the lcd-brightness overlay, or is 1.8.2 ok to use?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bi3l
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 268
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just spent some time synchronizing the overlay with portage ebuilds and ubuntu patches. I've also removed old ebuilds and patches and fixed the issue with 30-replace-bitmap-fonts.conf. As for cairo-1.8.2, it's not used by ubuntu yet, so there are no patches at the moment. I'll see if the old patches can be used as is.

As always, the overlay is available here: http://ogmrip.sourceforge.net/misc/gentoo-lcd-filtering.tar.bz2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bi3l wrote:
if the old patches can be used as is.

The cairo directfb-no-accel patch doesn't apply. That's all I found, in Fedora.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 26, 27, 28, 29, 30  Next
Page 27 of 30

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum