Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Test Request: apache and openoffice
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Weeve
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Oct 2002
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2003 11:51 pm    Post subject: Test Request: apache and openoffice Reply with quote

Hi All,

Recently, there have been some notible fixes to apache and openffice in the tree that I'm looking for some people to beat on to make sure they are fixed.

apache has in the past not been able to listen on mulitple ports by default. This is most noticible when people try to run mod_ssl. More information is documented in bug #7172 (http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=7172). This appears to be fixed now. Looking for people particularly with high loads to beat up on this.

openoffice in the past hasn't been able to compile. Now thanks to some patches this is no longer the case. This will take you at least a day and a half on a 300MHz system, so set aside some time.

Please test and provide feedback either to this post or to http://bugs.gentoo.org if you run into problems.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ferris
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 426
Location: N. Virginia (USA)

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2003 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Concerning openoffice:

As an exercise, I tried the build on a U60-SMP (2x450); it took 20 hours
to build and install.

It might have taken less if it used MAKEOPTS for parallelism determination
instead of its own ECPUS environment variable. (Although ebuild file
seems to imply that a parallel make will fail.)

Build and install seem to go fine.

I will be able to do little or no testing, however, because:


  • I really don't have any use for it;
  • I have no documentation for it;
  • Most anything I try causes it to lock up, anyway (Here, "try" means
    moving the cursor around over the openoffice window, press the 'help' button, things like that. "Lock up" means "go to some other screen
    and use 'kill -9 xxx'.")


This particular system is completely up-to-date and standard from
openoffice's point of view, I would think, except that I am using
the ~sparc version of binutils. (It is '-kde -gnome' in case that matters.)

So, it does build and install, but for me, at any rate, I'd say it's not ready
for prime time. I wouldn't know how to begin to turn this into a useful bug
report beyond the subject line of this thread: Try openoffice on sparc and
see what happens.

Sorry I can't feed back something more definite. :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ferris
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 426
Location: N. Virginia (USA)

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2003 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's
[M~I] app-office/openoffice-1.0.3-r1 (0),
by the way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Weeve
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Oct 2002
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2003 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for testing. Odd about the lockups. Other than the model it sounds like you're at the same settings I was testing on.

Did you use the main ooffice binary and/or the program specific binaries (i.e. oowriter)?

Also what window manager were you using?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ferris
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 426
Location: N. Virginia (USA)

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2003 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some information. I'll fill in more later when I can test directly on the system involved.


  • Build was just "ACCEPT_KEYWORDS='~sparc' emerge openoffice"
  • Window manager is fvwm
  • Possibly significant: Application is run over LAN: For this test, I ran on the U60 via
    rsh from my U2; I'll verify one way or the other tomorrow whether this matters;
  • Started with 'ooffice'
  • Pressing 'Tools' button is the quickest way to the lockup
  • If I just type stuff in & save it, that goes OK;
  • The setup & registration were OK

I'll verify operation from a directly attached monitor tomorrow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ferris
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 426
Location: N. Virginia (USA)

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2003 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Connection type doesn't matter. From console, for me the following will
100% put openoffice into a waiting-forever-for-something-that-isn't-going-to-happen state:


  • ooffice
  • Move cursor over Tools
  • Don't bother pressing it; you can't. Putting the cursor there is
    enough.
  • And, I notice some stuff in the ebuild (at line 620) having to do
    with menu-shortcuts-need-gnome-or-kde, and I have USE="... -kde -gnome"
  • java is "/opt/blackdown-jdk-1.4.1/bin/java" which was a fresh
    install, just for openoffice.


If it matters, this is the build environment:
Code:

antaresia root # emerge info
Portage 2.0.49-r3 (default-sparc64-1.4, gcc-3.2.3, glibc-2.3.1-r4, 2.4.21-sparc-r1)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.4.21-sparc-r1 sparc64 sun4u
ccache version 2.2 [enabled]
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="sparc"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CFLAGS="-mcpu=ultrasparc -O3 -pipe"
CHOST="sparc-unknown-linux-gnu"
COMPILER="gcc3"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /var/qmail/control /usr/share/config /usr/kde/2/share/config /usr/kde/3/share/config /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xkb /usr/share/texmf/tex/generic/config/ /usr/share/texmf/tex/platex/config/"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/gconf /etc/env.d"
CXXFLAGS="-mcpu=ultrasparc -O3 -pipe -Wno-deprecated"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="sandbox ccache"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://gentoo.oregonstate.edu http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/distributions/gentoo"
MAKEOPTS="-j3"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY=""
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="sparc arts apm avi crypt encode fbcon foomaticdb gif jpeg mad mikmod mpeg ncurses nls oggvorbis oss png pdflib sdl spell truetype xv xml2 xmms zlib gdbm berkdb slang readline tetex java mysql tcpd pam libwww ssl perl python esd imlib gtk qt motif opengl mozilla X ruby tcltk tiff -gnome -kde cups bidi cjk stroke"


Although the actual build downgrades the CFLAGS to just '-O2' for
optimization.

I am not sure what other information would be useful, and fine-scale
debugging would be, uh, unwieldy. (Another 20 hours to rebuild, for
a start.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ferris
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 426
Location: N. Virginia (USA)

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2003 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Compare with this, which just appeared in the news list:
Marquez LaMaistres:|alt.os.linux.gentoo| wrote:

lamaistres wrote:

> I compiled openoffice-1.1_rc3 from portage last night. It installed fine
> (no errors) and I can start oowriter and oodraw; however, if I try to open
> anything in the menus like file -> open then openoffice crashes hard. It
> starts drawing the frame of the "open" window, but about then it crashes.
> It's so bad that alt+sysrq+<anykey> doesn't work. I'm forced to push the
> reset button. I was wondering if anyone else has similar problems with
> oo_rc3? And possibly has a fix :) ?
> Thanks.
>
> Athlon-tbird
> Xfree-4.3.0-r2
> gcc-3.2.3-r1
>

Different version of openoffice (1.1-r3 vs 1.0.3-r1), different CPU, same
xfree, gcc, and hang.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ferris
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 426
Location: N. Virginia (USA)

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2003 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And, it's not system specific, in that when I package it up and move it
to the Ultra2, the tools-is-a-killer goes along with it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Weeve
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Oct 2002
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2003 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hrm, the only thing different I can see is I did use the KDE useflag, but that really shouldn't make a difference.

I'll keep an eye out on this and if you hear anything, feel free to send it my way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ferris
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 426
Location: N. Virginia (USA)

PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2003 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As you were posting your reply, I had started up an 'emerge kde' and will rebuild with
'USE=kde', because it occured to me that my 'USE=-kde -gnome' is probably unusual. I'll
let you know after the cycle finishes (I left the kde install running overnight, and the
openoffice rebuild will finish long after that :wink: )

I don't know why openoffice would care about kde, but from the ebuild, it looks like it
does, and exactly in the area that locks up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fidzysss
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 109
Location: Paris (France)

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2003 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just tried to reemerging apache and mod_ssl on my ultra5 and it works well (it hasn't worked at all before)

formerly : apache started then was killed and I couldn't find any instance of apache running with ps

now : apache start and fork in 5 process and is able to serve web page

I will now try to find a benchmark suite to simulate heavy loads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ferris
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 426
Location: N. Virginia (USA)

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2003 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Concerning openoffice. I installed kde (3.1.2) and rebuilt openoffice
with USE=kde. It still locks up on any of the View, Tool,
etc.
dropdown items. Otherwise, it seems to work.

Running from kde makes no difference.

I would guess that someone who knew openoffice internals could diagnose
this pretty quickly, but I am not that person.

The only non-standard thing about the U60 is that it has Keith Weslowski's
semctl patch installed in the kernel, and a quick reboot with the standard
2.4.21-r1 kernel shows that that makes no difference.

(By the way, on my system, ECPUS=2 is a bad idea, since it kills the build.)

If anyone has any good ideas, I can try again in a week or so, but for now
I'm taking it off the system (it uses much to much disk space.)

Sorry I can't report anything more useful....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sfaulconer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2003 5:19 pm    Post subject: Me too Reply with quote

I FINALLY got OpenOffice compiled. Only took a few days. I'm experiencing the same issues as Ferris. Clicking 'File' causes total lockup, etc. I'm using a very simple build, not special features, etc. Stock kernel, lots of USE flags, but nothing too crazy (I think), and I'm NOT using '~sparc' by default.

-------------------
System Specs:
-------------------
Dual 360Mhz Ultra60
1024MB Ram
(2) 9GB Seagate HD
Creator3D Frame Buffer

-------------------
uname -a:
-------------------
Linux tps 2.4.21-sparc-r1 #3 SMP Tue Sep 9 20:03:43 EDT 2003 sparc64 sun4u TI UltraSparc II (BlackBird) GNU/Linux

-------------------
emerge info:
-------------------
System uname: 2.4.21-sparc-r1 sparc64 sun4u
ccache version 2.2 [enabled]
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="sparc"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CFLAGS="-mcpu=ultrasparc -O3 -pipe"
CHOST="sparc-unknown-linux-gnu"
COMPILER="gcc3"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /var/qmail/control /usr/share/config /usr/kde/2/share/config /usr/kde/3/share/config /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xkb /usr/share/texmf/tex/generic/config/ /usr/share/texmf/tex/platex/config/"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/gconf /etc/env.d"
CXXFLAGS="-mcpu=ultrasparc -O3 -pipe"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="sandbox ccache"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://gentoo.oregonstate.edu http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/distributions/gentoo"
MAKEOPTS="-j3"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY=""
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="sparc avi crypt cups encode fbcon foomaticdb gif jpeg mad mikmod motif mpeg ncurses oggvorbis oss png pdflib qt sdl spell truetype xv xml2 xmms zlib gdbm berkdb slang readline java X tcpd pam libwww ssl perl python esd imlib gtk opengl dga directfb dnd faad fbdev gtk2 gtkhtml innodb jikes mng mozilla moznocompose moznoirc moznomail mozsvg mysql ppds samba tcltk tetex tiff -arts -apm -gnome -kde -nls"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ferris
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 426
Location: N. Virginia (USA)

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2003 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For the builds, sfaulconer's build and mine should be considered identical, as
should the hardware and pretty much everything else.

I used ACCEPT_KEYWORDS='~sparc' only for the openoffice emerge.
Otherwise, I don't use it either. I used it here only so that the build
would take whatever ebuild file it wanted, rather that the one I forced it
to take. As I think I mentioned, the only think openoffice needed that I
didn't already have was jdk, ant it isn't masked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum