Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Install on SunFire 280r - please help
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
balkor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 5:38 pm    Post subject: Install on SunFire 280r - please help Reply with quote

I am by no means an expert for SPARC (more of a PC person) but need to learn
These are specs I know for now. if there is something more needed PLEASE by all means ask and I will more then happly provide (if I know how to)

Open Boot 4.16.4 (did flash on it)
SunFire 280R
2xUltraSPARC-III+ SPARC64
4096 MB mem

2007 universal
stop+a
boot cdrom
2617 and/or 2620
Silo 1.4.13
Allocated 8 Megs of memory at 0x40000000 for kernel
loaded kernel version 2.6.17
loading inital ramdisk (837852 bytes at 0xFF802000 phys, 0x40C00000 virt) . . .
ERROR: Last Trap: illegal Instruction

Error -256
{0} ok



What do I do
I have found where some say to do a cold boot which I unplugged the server waited 10 seconds and replugged the system and followed the steps with the "Stop+A" etc
I tried looking for the 2005 version but have not found it....tried the beta 2 of 2008 and got the same error

being that I am such a nubb I know not what to do..
can you help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blu3bird
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 609
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is most likely an OBP/silo issue.

Can you try to install the machine using netboot and after installing boot using sys-boot/silo-1.4.13a_pre20070930_p2?

A quide for how to set up netbooting can be found here and a netboot image here.
_________________
Black Holes are created when God divides by zero!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
balkor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2008 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK as I said previously I am not Sun/SPARC guy. I am a PC guy for I understand POST and blah blah on a PC. SPARCs run differently and understanding it (the hard way) rather quickly for have several of them wasting away resources that can be used. SO I appreciate what your doing and hope to help the endeavor to improve/contribute to the Open Source environment.


To clarify what the document is saying. Turn Sunfrie 280r on "Stop+A" which brings to {ok}. enter command net boot

What is suppose to happen is it to receive an IP configuration from the DHCP server and then . . . (I guess something like a PXE boot with RIS for windows which is remote installation services)

the IMG file is to then be sent/pulled from/to the SPARC machine.

is this correct?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blu3bird
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 609
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2008 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mostly yes,

sparcs have obp which basicly does what a bios does...start the computer and load a program(eg the linux kernel).

After entering "boot net" the sparc machine tries to get an ip using an reverse arp request(not dhcp) and then downloads the netboot image from the tftp server(you'll see hex numbers counting up as it is received).

The netboot image is just a sparc executable that includes the linux kernel and an initramfs(mini root filesystem with tools you need to install). So after receiving it the obp just needs to execute it.
_________________
Black Holes are created when God divides by zero!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
balkor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2008 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update on this matter
I had found that when I booted the SPARC
hit STOP+A
entered command

setenv boot-device cdrom
reset-all

this solved the problem. So this should be added to the virtual "List" of troubleshooting with SPARCs lol

Newest issue is going through the compile of the kernel and available storage blah blah...
Will keep posted information on this matter in the hopes that it will help improve the transition of other SPARCers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
balkor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2008 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update: This is what is suppose to happen
Code:

# chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
# env-update
>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
# source /etc/profile
# export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"

this is what is happening
Code:
Traceback  (most recent call last):
 file "/usr/sbin/env-update", line 27, in ?
blah blah blah
blah blah blah
OSError: [errno 62] Too many levels of symbolic links: '/var/temp'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blu3bird
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 609
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2008 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What stage archive did you use?

Can you post the output of(from inside the chroot):
file /var/tmp
file /usr/tmp
file /tmp

But whatever causes this, this should fix it(inside the chroot):
Code:
rm /var/tmp && mkdir /var/tmp

_________________
Black Holes are created when God divides by zero!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
balkor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Deleted the tmp directory and made it again.
Ran the:
# env-update
and all was fine...then
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
armin76
Developer
Developer


Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Posts: 173

PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

balkor wrote:
Update on this matter
I had found that when I booted the SPARC
hit STOP+A
entered command

setenv boot-device cdrom
reset-all

this solved the problem. So this should be added to the virtual "List" of troubleshooting with SPARCs lol

Newest issue is going through the compile of the kernel and available storage blah blah...
Will keep posted information on this matter in the hopes that it will help improve the transition of other SPARCers


Did you had Solaris installed by any chance?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
balkor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Original OS on it prior to install yes. there was Solaris 9 on it.

So there is a slight learning curve going on here :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
balkor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got the portage and the compile all good and all
using kernel-2.6.24-r8
Issues having now is with
qlogic's QLA2XXX
i believe it is ISP2200
the system goes through normal till hits the adapter and it says
QLOGIC Fibre Channel HBA Driver
Found an ISP2200, irq 18, iobase 0x000007fd00100000
coniguring PCI space
Configuring NVRAM parameters
inconsistent NVRAM detected: checksum=BLAH garbage
verifying loaded RISC code . . .
(long puse, very long pause)
Firmware Image unavailable
Firmware imgaes can be retrieved from ft;//BLAH BLAH BLAH
Failed to initalize adapter

so the system is looking for the kernel which is on SDAx but since the adapter is not detected it wont boot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4727
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.

Have you read this guide? Make sure you have qla-fc-firmware installed.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arjay5
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jun 2010
Posts: 6
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 1:45 am    Post subject: Solaris 10 installation Reply with quote

Hello can anybody help me with a problem with installing Solaris 10 on my SunFire 280R server ??....
The problem that I am having is that solaris 10 will install up until it prompts me to type in my username which it will allow me to do, but then it asks me to type in a password to which I can't type anything into it.
Can anyone give me any reasons for this????.

Cheers

Arjay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum