Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
HP Vizulaize c3000 Booting the hppa media
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 10:31 pm    Post subject: HP Vizulaize c3000 Booting the hppa media Reply with quote

Hi I have just got a couple of machines of ebay.

Im trying to to install Gentoo on using the hppa install media.
Never used a machine like this before having real problems even getting passed the first stage of the manual.
Dont no what i am doing wrong here.
I have been trying to follow this guide http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-hppa.xml?full=1#book_part1_chap1

Im trying to boot the gentoo cd so i can begin with the installation but seem to be getting stuck.

Code:
Code Listing 3.6: Booting from a CD-ROM

> boot IDE ipl


Which then brings this menu up.
Code:

Boot path initialized.
Attempting to load IPL.


HARD Booted.
palo ipl 1.5 root@hope Sat Apr 23 18:06:47 CEST 2005

Boot image contains:
    0/vmlinux32 6241293 bytes @ 0x3904000
    0/vmlinux64 8352719 bytes @ 0x3ef8000
    0/ramdisk 1007589 bytes @ 0x105800

Information: No console specified on kernel command line. This is normal.
PALO will choose the console currently used by firmware (serial).Current command line:
0/vmlinux initrd=initrd TERM=linux root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc cdroot looptype=squashfs loop=/livecd.squashfs hda=scsi console=ttyS0
 0: 0/vmlinux
 1: initrd=initrd
 2: TERM=linux
 3: root=/dev/ram0
 4: init=/linuxrc
 5: cdroot
 6: looptype=normall
 7: loop=/image.loop
 8: hda=scsi
 9: hdb=scsi
 10:console=ttyS0
 11:sti=/10/6/2/0
 12:sti_font=VGA8X16

<#>    edit the numbered field
'b'    boot with this command line
'r'    restore command line
'l'    list dir


I then proceed to do what it says in the manual
but when i try n boot it seems to fail

Any ideas guys ? or could u tell me the commands i need to press in order to get it working thanks.
Never ever used this type of box before only use to the amd64 / x86 installs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark_alec
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 6066
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Gentoo on Alternative Architectures.
_________________
www.gentoo.org.au || #gentoo-au
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anyone ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HPRichard
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 94
Location: KA, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2008 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the one line offered by palo really says
Code:
 6: looptype=normall
(with two "l"), then try to edit this line and move to one "l", as a first idea. (But this line could also be written false by purpose, don't know.
You state that it seems to fail. What helps you to indicate that it fails? What happens or does not happen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well i Just cant get past the "Palo Screen"
Im trying to get into the root terminal so i can begin the setup.
Like i said never used a HP machine before
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HPRichard
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 94
Location: KA, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, then it might help to press "b" and then the enter key afterwards. The minimal result should be an error message by palo. If you do not state the "ipl" keyword in the boot command, palo should automatically choose some settings and try to boot, at least on most machines this is the default behaviour.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your support i will give this a try and get back to you.
Really thankful for your help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum