Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
can not use .xsession
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ejlinux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 May 2002
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2002 3:54 pm    Post subject: can not use .xsession Reply with quote

Hi, I have a problem to use .xseesion file to customize my XWindow setting.
I am using KDM and when I put a .xsession file then I can not login into that account. Only after I delete that file, I can login again normally. Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naan Yaar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 1549

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2002 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post your .xsession file below?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joshtimmons
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jun 2002
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2002 4:25 pm    Post subject: Is your .xsession set as executable? Reply with quote

Is your .xsession set as executable?

try
Code:
chmod +x ~/.xsession
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ejlinux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 May 2002
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2002 8:06 pm    Post subject: Not OK so far Reply with quote

I put only one line there:
export LANG=zh_CN

after change it to executable, still the same problem. Instead of login into KDE, it falls back to KDM login screen. After I remove .xsession, everything OK again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naan Yaar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 1549

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2002 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You cannot just have the variable setting alone in your .xsession since this is file that will be executed as the session script file. You can copy over the Xsession file from the xdm directory (from memory /usr/lib/X11/xdm) and make modifications that you need.

There is probably a nicer way to set LANG in KDE, though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reverius42
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jul 2002
Posts: 166
Location: Tucson, AZ

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2002 8:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Not OK so far Reply with quote

ejlinux wrote:
I put only one line there:
export LANG=zh_CN

after change it to executable, still the same problem. Instead of login into KDE, it falls back to KDM login screen. After I remove .xsession, everything OK again.


Try making that file

Code:
#!/bin/sh
export LANG=zh_CN


and see if that does the trick... that tells it to use the shell as an interpreter.
_________________
Even a stopped clock gives the right time twice a day.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naan Yaar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 1549

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2002 8:39 pm    Post subject: Re: Not OK so far Reply with quote

This would not work. The .xsession file itself will be "exec"d by the start-up scripts. When the process corresponding to the .xsession file ends, the session is terminated and you will be back at the kdm/xdm window.
reverius42 wrote:
...Try making that file

Code:
#!/bin/sh
export LANG=zh_CN


and see if that does the trick... that tells it to use the shell as an interpreter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mksoft
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 844

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2002 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wouldn't it be easier to add the export clause to /etc/X11/xdm/Xsession :?:
_________________
There's someone in my head but it's not me - Pink Floyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naan Yaar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 1549

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2002 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wasn't sure whether he wanted to do it for all users (which I had presumed based on his use of the .xsession file).

For all users, adding to Xsession may be a better idea.
mksoft wrote:
wouldn't it be easier to add the export clause to /etc/X11/xdm/Xsession :?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mksoft
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 844

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2002 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good point, but he's probably the only user on the system ;)

Anyway, to affect only a single user: /etc/X11/xdm/Xsession script checks if there's ~/.xsession if yes executes it, otherwise executes the result of /etc/X11/chooser.sh. So he can simply call it himself in .xession.

.xsession in the user's home dir will probably look like this:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
export LANG=zh_CN
exec "`/etc/X11/chooser.sh`"


This one should work (famous last words :)).

BTW, it doesn't matter if .xseesion is executable or not (at least when running from kdm/gdm/xdm) as Xsession script checks it:
Code:
.....
startup=$HOME/.xsession

# First run ~/.xsession if it exists
if [ -s "$startup" ]; then
        if [ -x "$startup" ]; then
                exec "$startup"
        else
                exec /bin/sh "$startup"
        fi
.....

_________________
There's someone in my head but it's not me - Pink Floyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reverius42
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jul 2002
Posts: 166
Location: Tucson, AZ

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2002 9:34 pm    Post subject: Re: Not OK so far Reply with quote

Naan Yaar wrote:
This would not work. The .xsession file itself will be "exec"d by the start-up scripts. When the process corresponding to the .xsession file ends, the session is terminated and you will be back at the kdm/xdm window.
reverius42 wrote:
...Try making that file

Code:
#!/bin/sh
export LANG=zh_CN


and see if that does the trick... that tells it to use the shell as an interpreter.


Of course! You're right. What was I thinking? :)

I need to stop posting before I've had coffee in the morning.

If you put something else in that file after the "export", like "exec startkde", it will work fine, right?
_________________
Even a stopped clock gives the right time twice a day.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naan Yaar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 1549

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2002 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That will work too. Using chooser.sh as mksoft suggests allows the same .xsession file to work with other choices in session managers, say, if he switched to gdm instead.
Quote:

If you put something else in that file after the "export", like "exec startkde", it will work fine, right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ejlinux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 May 2002
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2002 2:34 am    Post subject: new problem Reply with quote

Thanks a lot for all these help. By putting the exec "`/etc/X11/chooser.sh`" at the end of the .xsession do the trick. Actually by reading /etc/X11/xdm/Xsession, it is clear that if only there is no .xsession, the clause of exec "`/etc/X11/chooser.sh`" will be executed. So if I did not put that clause at the end of my own .xsession. It would not login me into KDE. Now I have a new problem. I tried to put another
export XMODIFIERS=@im=XSIM after that export LANG=zh_CN. Now I have the same problem as before no login just fall back to KDM. I know this must be caused by a different problem associated with XIM server. I just wonder how I could set my XIM server for all my X applications instead of only run it from a terminal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mksoft
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 844

PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2002 6:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try setting it in quotes, e.g:
Code:
export XMODIFIERS="@im=XSIM"

_________________
There's someone in my head but it's not me - Pink Floyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naan Yaar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 1549

PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2002 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't think this is the problem. It will actually work unquoted:
Code:

# export XMODIFIERS=@im=XSIM
# echo $XMODIFIERS
@im=XSIM


mksoft wrote:
Try setting it in quotes, e.g:
Code:
export XMODIFIERS="@im=XSIM"


What does your .xsession-errors in your home directory say?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum