Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
bzImage move error
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mallrats
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 414
Location: Cleveland Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2002 3:34 pm    Post subject: bzImage move error Reply with quote

I recompiled the kernel, so I'm trying to move it to /boot
so I
Code:
mount /dev/hda5 /boot

which seems to work fine
but when I
Code:
cp /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot

I get
Code:
cp: cannot create regular file '/boot/bzImage': Read-only file system

Any ideas what I've done wrong?

doing an ls in the /boot directory gives me nothing, so something's funny there
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tux-fan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 131
Location: Paderborn, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2002 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe in "/etc/fstab" the "/boot" partition is set to "ro" instead of "rw"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rojaro
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 May 2002
Posts: 732

PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2002 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

check if "chmod 0755 /boot" directly after mounting the partition helps, if not check your fstab (see "man fstab" for detailed information about its options).
_________________
A mathematician is a machine for turning coffee into theorems. ~ Alfred Renyi (*1921 - †1970)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fghellar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 856
Location: Porto Alegre, BR

PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2002 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have an entry for /boot in fstab, you should run just
Code:
mount /boot

If not, try
Code:
mount /dev/hda5 /boot
mount
and post the output here.
_________________
| www.gentoo.org | www.tldp.org | www.google.com |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mallrats
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 414
Location: Cleveland Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2002 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mount /boot
instead of
mount /dev/hda5 /boot
fixed it

Anyone know why?

I'm 99% sure that boot is on hda5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fghellar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 856
Location: Porto Alegre, BR

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2002 3:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you run mount /boot, it will look for an entry in fstab and take all the correct options from there. With mount /dev/hda5 /boot, you're not giving any options, so it's trying to guess some things and using defaults for others.
_________________
| www.gentoo.org | www.tldp.org | www.google.com |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum