Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Quake 3
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sven
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 274

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2002 7:42 am    Post subject: Quake 3 Reply with quote

When I want to play Quake 3 I need to kill artsd first because Quake 3 wants exclusive access to the /dev/dsp device. Else, if I keep artsd running, Quake 3 would freeze at the sound initialization.
Unless there is another solution to this problem than killing artsd I would want to know, how to re-initialize artsd with all the (previous) settings from the Control Center. Just running artsd again does not work because artsd wants to be set up through the command line.
http://multimedia.kde.org/arts-faq.php suggests
Code:
killall artsd ; killall artswrapper
<start app here>
kcminit arts

but there is no kcminit command...
Code:
artsdsp quake3.x86

does not work, btw...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2002 7:54 pm    Post subject: Re: Quake 3 Reply with quote

Just go to kcontrol/sound/'sound server' and uncheck ' start arts soundserver on kde sturtup', or you can lesser time needed to autosuspend soundserver.
Back to top
Target
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Apr 2002
Posts: 199

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2002 1:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just keep things like artsd and esd off at all times. Setting all my apps (xmms, etc...) to use open sound system works just fine. They all share the dsp okay and quake3 can take it when needed, so I see no reason to run sound daemons that only get in the way. :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
recluse
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2002 6:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In my Q3 config file located somewhere in ~/.q3a/ I change my sound device to /dev/dsp1 that way xmms can be playin Fear Factory or whatever at the same time.
_________________
=recluse=
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Craigthulu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Apr 2002
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2002 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Target wrote:
I just keep things like artsd and esd off at all times. Setting all my apps (xmms, etc...) to use open sound system works just fine. They all share the dsp okay and quake3 can take it when needed, so I see no reason to run sound daemons that only get in the way. :P


How do you get esound to not start? I can get arts to stay off but have had no luck with esound.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bung-foo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2002
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2002 5:40 am    Post subject: hey recluse Reply with quote

hey recluse

how do you set the volume levels on dsp and dsp1 so that the music doesn't drown out q3's game sounds or vice versa?

I'm goin to a lan party tomorrow and I want to listen to some tunes while I kick peoples asses ;-)


Bung-Foo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum