Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
pc freezes when I run xf86config
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2002 4:50 am    Post subject: pc freezes when I run xf86config Reply with quote

I had a problem b4 that console blanking woudl freeze my pc.

so I turned it off and "solved" that issue.

NOW after having compiled X and kde, my pc crashes again in similar fashion, when I run xf86config.

so I assume there's something wrong with something I've compiled into my kernel incorrectly.. or something I'm missing.

any advice would be GREATLY appreciated, cause I can't get any further than here now! :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fghellar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 856
Location: Porto Alegre, BR

PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2002 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To me it sounds like a hardvare problem. Can you post here your complete hardware list?
_________________
| www.gentoo.org | www.tldp.org | www.google.com |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2002 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

once I installed the nvidia drivers, the problem seems to have ceased.

but my hardware is as follows:

asus av7133 m/b
amd 1ghz
512mb sdram
40gig seagate barracuda hdd
sblive 5.1
leadtek gf3
12x pioneer dvd
24x ricoh burner
realtek 8139 nic

ta!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fghellar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 856
Location: Porto Alegre, BR

PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2002 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might want to have a look at the VIA Arena Forums, and specially at the ASUS VIA chipset motherboards section. Many people have problems with VIA chipsets and the SBLive (e.g.: A7V133 + SB Live! 5.1 = No Problem Now). I hope you don't! :)
_________________
| www.gentoo.org | www.tldp.org | www.google.com |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2002 5:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cool ta I'll check them out - I believe the problem with the via + sblive is restricted to when you have two hdd on the via chipset, but I have one hdd on a promise controller =)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum