Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
UVesaFB - The Successor to VesaFB-TNG (Bootsplash)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
zaratustra_20
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Sep 2006
Posts: 72
Location: Croatia,Europe

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 8:27 am    Post subject: not working Reply with quote

Code:
zaratustra@shanti ~ $ cat /sys/bus/platform/drivers/uvesafb/uvesafb.0/vbe_modes | grep 1280x800
1280x800-8, 0x0169
1280x800-16, 0x016a
1280x800-32, 0x016b


Code:
zaratustra@shanti ~ $ cat /boot/grub/menu.lst     
default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/black.xpm.gz

title=G3N70o-5oUrC3S-2.6.23
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda3 video=uvesafb:1280x800-16:mtrr:3,ywrap


Code:
zaratustra@shanti ~ $ dmesg | grep uves
Kernel command line: root=/dev/sda3 video=uvesafb:1280x800-16:mtrr:3,ywrap
uvesafb: Intel Corporation, Intel(r)915GM/910ML/915MS Graphics Controller, Hardware Version 0.0, OEM: Intel(r)915GM/910ML/915MS Graphics Chip Accelerated VGA BIOS, VBE v3.0
uvesafb: VBIOS/hardware doesn't support DDC transfers
uvesafb: no monitor limits have been set, default refresh rate will be used
uvesafb: scrolling: redraw
uvesafb: framebuffer at 0xc0000000, mapped to 0xf8a00000, using 7872k, total 787


and resolution is still small while in framebuffer...:( any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swimmer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 1289
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm - 915resolution comes to my mind again - look at my post on last page to see how I achieved to first load 915resolution and then the uvesafb module ...

HTH
swimmer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikegpitt
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 3200

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

From Spock's site he says:
Code:
the Video BIOS code is run in userspace by a helper application

Does this mean that we have a chance for generic compatibility for a larger variety of cards, or will support pretty much be where it's at for vesafb-tng? I've noticed on some older machines vesafb support doesn't work, likely due to hardware incompatibilities.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
n3Cre0
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I was never successful in getting vesa-tng to work.. uvesa works great! Now I can finally see my computer shutting down, or drop out of X, switch consoles (ctrl + alt + f[1-?])..
_________________
OS: Linux 2.6.26 i686 Gentoo v2.0.0 Sound: HDA Intel
CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.73GHz (GenuineIntel)
Disk: 95.23GB Video: ATI Radeon Mobility X700 XL with Catalyst 8.08 RAM: 1011MB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OneOfMany
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 108
Location: Portland, OR USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone seen their console shift to the right and down a little from the usual spot? This was always after exiting X windows. I use the ~x86 latest nvidia binary driver inside X. Not sure if it also happens with the nv driver, as I normally see it when I'm not trying to generate it. Another detail might be that I'm using 1920x1200 (yes my video card has that in the list of supported resolutions).

[update]
So far doesn't seem to happen with nv driver. I'll try switching back soon and make sure it repro's for me again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manwich
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2007 5:53 am    Post subject: No Dice Reply with quote

Uvesafb does not give me any errors, but is still displaying my screen in a low resolution! I'm using gentoo-sources 2.6.33 so no need to patch anything, I simply followed the guide on Spocks site. For the kernel parameters I replaced ywrap with redraw because I'm using amd64. I have the initramfs compiled into the kernel.
output of cat /sys/bus/platform/drivers/uvesafb/uvesafb.0/vbe_modes:

640x400-8, 0x0100
640x480-8, 0x0101
800x600-8, 0x0103
1024x768-8, 0x0105
1280x1024-8, 0x0107
320x200-16, 0x010e
320x200-32, 0x010f
640x480-16, 0x0111
640x480-32, 0x0112
800x600-16, 0x0114
800x600-32, 0x0115
1024x768-16, 0x0117
1024x768-32, 0x0118
1280x1024-16, 0x011a
1280x1024-32, 0x011b
320x200-8, 0x0130
320x400-8, 0x0131
320x400-16, 0x0132
320x400-32, 0x0133
320x240-8, 0x0134
320x240-16, 0x0135
320x240-32, 0x0136
640x400-16, 0x013d
640x400-32, 0x013e
1280x800-8, 0x0160
1280x800-32, 0x0161
768x480-8, 0x0162
1680x1050-8, 0x0168
1680x1050-32, 0x0169

excellent, it appears I have support for full resolution!

kernel paramaters:
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda6 video=uvesafb:1680x1050-32,redraw
(Also tried with mttr:3, same result, I removed it because I have no idea how many MTTRs I have, and no seems to have explained how to set this option)

Gentoo boots as normal, but does not change resolutions!

output of dmesg | grep uvesafb:

uvesafb: NVIDIA Corporation, G86 Board - e416h01c, Chip Rev , OEM: NVIDIA, VBE v3.0
uvesafb: VBIOS/hardware doesn't support DDC transfers
uvesafb: no monitor limits have been set, default refresh rate will be used
uvesafb: scrolling: redraw
uvesafb: framebuffer at 0xb3000000, mapped to 0xffffc20001480000, using 13781k, total 14336k

Ack! No apparent errors. Where have i gone wrong!! I would absolutely love to have a full resolution TTY!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swimmer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 1289
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2007 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm - I don't see any "CONSOLE=/dev/tty1" in your cmdline ...

Mine looks like this:
Code:
root=/dev/sda3 video=uvesafb:1280x1024-32 mtrr=3 scroll=ywrap splash=verbose,fadein,theme:mine fbcon=scrollback:512K CONSOLE=/dev/tty1

(All in one line!!!)

HTH
swimmer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
96140
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 1324

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2007 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

--

Last edited by 96140 on Fri Sep 13, 2013 8:56 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manwich
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2007 4:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Google shows that the K8 uses the write back write policy for the L2 cache. I'll try mtrr:2 and see what happens

Edit: no difference


Last edited by manwich on Tue Oct 30, 2007 4:41 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manwich
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2007 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

swimmer wrote:
Hmmm - I don't see any "CONSOLE=/dev/tty1" in your cmdline ...

Mine looks like this:
Code:
root=/dev/sda3 video=uvesafb:1280x1024-32 mtrr=3 scroll=ywrap splash=verbose,fadein,theme:mine fbcon=scrollback:512K CONSOLE=/dev/tty1

(All in one line!!!)

HTH
swimmer

Odd, I notice you pass mtrr=3 to the kernel instead of using the mtrr:3 option for uvesafb. I'm a bit confused about the difference

Edit: sorry, I figured it out. You just have it compiled as a module
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OneOfMany
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 108
Location: Portland, OR USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 12:48 am    Post subject: Re: No Dice Reply with quote

manwich wrote:
Uvesafb does not give me any errors, but is still displaying my screen in a low resolution! I'm using gentoo-sources 2.6.33 so no need to patch anything, I simply followed the guide on Spocks site. For the kernel parameters I replaced ywrap with redraw because I'm using amd64. I have the initramfs compiled into the kernel.
output of cat /sys/bus/platform/drivers/uvesafb/uvesafb.0/vbe_modes:

640x400-8, 0x0100
...


I notice the FAQ on Spock's page says to look in /sys/class/graphics/fb0/modes instead (not sure if it matters)...

As far as MTRR's go, higher is better if your hardware supports it. But it is probably a good idea to remove the option until you get it working. I don't know what happens if the hw doesn't support the option...for resolutions not listed it just uses the default (low) resolution. Previously I had passed an unsupported resolution in and vesa-tng gave me something that looks the same as my current 1920x1200. But uvesafb doesn't...I had to pass the supported resolution in (one from the location I point at above...the U and V don't seem to matter...guessing V = vesa mode, U = user custom mode).

Also might try just specifying the resolution and let the bits per pixel not be specified. Or try other values (8, 16, 24), of course according to your output it looks like 8 and 32 are the only two supported numbers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manwich
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 5:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

output of cat /sys/class/graphics/fb0/modes

Code:
U:1680x1050p-59
V:1280x1024p-85
V:1280x1024p-75
V:1280x1024p-60
V:1024x768p-85
V:1024x768p-75
V:1024x768p-70
V:1024x768p-60
V:1024x768i-53
V:800x600p-85
V:800x600p-75
V:800x600p-72
V:800x600p-60
V:800x600p-56
V:640x480p-85
V:640x480p-75
V:640x480p-72
V:640x480p-60
V:640x400p-85
U:1680x1050p-59
U:768x480p-60
U:1280x800p-60
U:320x240p-60
U:320x400p-59
U:320x200p-59
U:1280x1024p-59
U:1024x768p-60
U:800x600p-59
U:640x480p-60
U:640x400p-59


I notice it wanted me to use a 59 refresh rate (at least I think that's what it means at least). I assume p means progressive scan which should be default for an LCD. I'm not entirely sure how to do this. I tried adding maxvf:59 to grub.conf but I still get
Code:
uvesafb: no monitor limits have been set, default refresh rate will be used
in dmesg. I'm not entirely sure if this means I failed to set the verticle refresh rate, if I gave an invalid vertical refresh rate (maybe it should be 59.89?), if it successfully loaded the vertical refresh rate but wants a horizontal scan rate and maximum pixel clock (IIRC LCDs don't use horizontal scan rates?). I'm not even sure if this is the problem but I seem to remember someone saying they needed to change the refresh rate to 59. BTW I've removed mtrr:2 until I get it working. I might add nomtrr just to be safe.
Any ideas? Not only is it not in 1680x1050 resolution, it never changes resolution from the small res while the kernel is loading.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sLumpia
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 119
Location: troller land

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 4:52 pm    Post subject: Re: No Dice Reply with quote

manwich wrote:
I'm using gentoo-sources 2.6.33 so no need to patch anything,

wow :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creidiki
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Mar 2007
Posts: 283
Location: Varese (Italy)

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So far, vesafb-tbg makes my console run @ 1680x1050, uvesafb runs @ 640x480 and nothing i do changes that.

I'm sticking with 2.6.22 for now.
_________________
'((eINIT) (soor overlay))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Habbit
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Sep 2007
Posts: 237
Location: 3.7137 W, 40.3873 N

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I seem to be having some strange problems with uvesafb in gentoo-sources-2.6.23 in amd64: regardless of the mode I select in the kernel line, my monitor goes blank, though Gentoo continues to (successfully) load, blissfully unaware that its display is dead. Vesafb, on the other hand, works fine (but is not able to show 1680x1050, which is what I want uvesafb for)

These are the kernel buffer (dmesg) relevant lines, recovered through ssh while the monitor was blank:
Code:
[   21.374020] uvesafb: (C) 1988-2003, ATI Technologies Inc. R48001.00, R48001.00, 01.00, OEM: ATI ATOMBIOS(C) 1988-2003, ATI Technologies Inc. R48001.00, VBE v3.0
[   21.379475] uvesafb: VBIOS/hardware supports DDC2 transfers
[   21.500685] uvesafb: monitor limits: vf = 75 Hz, hf = 83 kHz, clk = 150 MHz
[   21.500814] uvesafb: scrolling: redraw
[   21.504215] uvesafb: mode switch failed (eax=0x34f, err=0). Trying again with default timings.
[   21.760431] uvesafb: mode switch failed (eax=0x34f, err=0). Trying again with default timings.
[   22.018964] Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 80x30
[   22.019003] uvesafb: mode switch failed (eax=0x34f, err=0). Trying again with default timings.
[   22.279628] uvesafb: framebuffer at 0xe0000000, mapped to 0xffffc20010100000, using 16384k, total 16384k
[   22.280811] fb0: VESA VGA frame buffer device
[   22.281544] vga16fb: initializing
[   22.281547] vga16fb: mapped to 0xffff8100000a0000
[   22.282275] fb1: VGA16 VGA frame buffer device

The GRUB kernel line was root=/dev/sdb6 video=uvesafb:1680x1050 CONSOLE=/dev/tty1 (but any other mode, or even no mode setting at all, produces the same result), and I _do_ have the required initrd with v86d and all its dependencies on it. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
_________________
Code:
~ $ objdump -d ./habbit_mind
90      xchg %rax, %rax
EB FD   jmp $-3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anarsoul
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Location: Belarus

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've managed to set 1280x800 resolution with uvesafb :)
Actually it's a dirty hack - I've compiled 915resolution with v86d in single binary, but it works

I can provide patch, write to PM ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anarsoul
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Location: Belarus

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 5:34 pm    Post subject: v86d patch Reply with quote

Here's a v86d patch with ebuild: http://fenix-fen.at.tut.by/v86d.tar.gz
Note that it's a really dirty hack ;) It can be used with intel video only. Now it's configured to use 1280x800-16 with mode number 5a. If you want another one resolution, or different mode number - change v86d-915.patch ;)

Don't forget to add video=uvesafb:1280x800-16,mtrr:3,ywrap to your kernel command line ;)
And you should recompile kernel too ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phsdv
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2005
Posts: 372
Location: Europe

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Without any hacks running at 1600x1200@60Hz (same as my X11 resolution).
Code:
Linux version 2.6.23-gentoo-r1
...
Kernel command line: root=/dev/sda3 video=uvesafb:1600x1200-32,mtrr:2,ywrap
...
uvesafb: NVIDIA Corporation, G86 Board - p403h24 , Chip Rev   , OEM: NVIDIA, VBE v3.0
uvesafb: protected mode interface info at c000:b010
uvesafb: pmi: set display start = c00cb073, set palette = c00cb0ce
uvesafb: pmi: ports = 3b4 3b5 3ba 3c0 3c1 3c4 3c5 3c6 3c7 3c8 3c9 3cc 3ce 3cf 3d0 3d1 3d2 3d3 3d4 3d5 3da
uvesafb: VBIOS/hardware supports DDC2 transfers
uvesafb: monitor limits: vf = 85 Hz, hf = 106 kHz, clk = 229 MHz
uvesafb: scrolling: ywrap using protected mode interface, yres_virtual=2293
Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 200x75
uvesafb: framebuffer at 0xfb000000, mapped to 0xf8880000, using 14336k, total 14336k
fb0: VESA VGA frame buffer device
So it is definitely possible. All the posts here made me think that it uvesafb would be worse than vesa-tng. However it is not the case for me. (your millage may vary...)

According to cat /sys/class/graphics/fb0/modes I should be able to get it even at higher refresh rates, but I did not manage that yet.
Code:
$ cat /sys/class/graphics/fb0/modes
U:1600x1200p-85
U:640x480p-67
V:1600x1200p-85
V:1600x1200p-75
V:1600x1200p-70
V:1600x1200p-65
V:1600x1200p-60
V:1280x1024p-85
V:1280x1024p-75
V:1280x1024p-60
V:1024x768p-85
V:1024x768p-75
V:1024x768p-70
V:1024x768p-60
V:800x600p-85
.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anarsoul
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Location: Belarus

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

phsdv wrote:
Without any hacks running at 1600x1200@60Hz (same as my X11 resolution).


Yep, but you have nvidia card :)
Intel videocards by default don't have widescreen resolutions in vesa mode list.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hoyanf
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 80
Location: Malaysia

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anarsoul wrote:
phsdv wrote:
Without any hacks running at 1600x1200@60Hz (same as my X11 resolution).


Yep, but you have nvidia card :)
Intel videocards by default don't have widescreen resolutions in vesa mode list.


You should try and check supported resolutions reported by fb :-
Code:
cat /sys/class/graphics/fb0/modes


Regards,
hoyanf
_________________
WorkPC -> Xeon x3440 | Gigabyte P55-UD6 | 16GB DDR3 | HDD1 - 600GB | HDD2 - 500 GB | HDD3 - 1TB
HomePC -> Xeon x3320 | Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P | 8GB DDR2 | HDD1 - 500GB | HDD2 - 1TB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anarsoul
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Location: Belarus

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hoyanf wrote:


You should try and check supported resolutions reported by fb :-
Code:
cat /sys/class/graphics/fb0/modes


Regards,
hoyanf


Of course, I've tried. But there's no 1280x800 in vesa modes list without using 915resolution (it's utility to patch video bios of intel 855/865/9x5 chipsets).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2641
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anarsoul wrote:
phsdv wrote:
Without any hacks running at 1600x1200@60Hz (same as my X11 resolution).


Yep, but you have nvidia card :)
Intel videocards by default don't have widescreen resolutions in vesa mode list.
Erm, have you guys noticed that 1600x1200 is not a widescreen resolution? :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swimmer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 1289
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm - I *do* have a nvidia card and 'cat /sys/class/graphics/fb0/modes' gives me nothing more that that:
Code:
U:1280x1024p-59
V:1280x1024p-85
V:1280x1024p-75
V:1280x1024p-60
V:1024x768p-85
V:1024x768p-75
V:1024x768p-70
V:1024x768p-60
V:1024x768i-53
V:800x600p-85
V:800x600p-75
V:800x600p-72
V:800x600p-60
V:800x600p-56
V:640x480p-85
V:640x480p-75
V:640x480p-72
V:640x480p-60
V:640x400p-85
U:320x240p-60
U:320x400p-59
U:320x200p-59
U:1280x1024p-59
U:1024x768p-60
U:800x600p-59
U:640x480p-60
U:640x400p-59

How comes?

Greetz
swimmer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Donkey_Breath
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Dec 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

swimmer wrote:
Hmm - I *do* have a nvidia card and 'cat /sys/class/graphics/fb0/modes' gives me nothing more that that:
Code:
U:1280x1024p-59
V:1280x1024p-85
V:1280x1024p-75
V:1280x1024p-60
V:1024x768p-85
V:1024x768p-75
V:1024x768p-70
V:1024x768p-60
V:1024x768i-53
V:800x600p-85
V:800x600p-75
V:800x600p-72
V:800x600p-60
V:800x600p-56
V:640x480p-85
V:640x480p-75
V:640x480p-72
V:640x480p-60
V:640x400p-85
U:320x240p-60
U:320x400p-59
U:320x200p-59
U:1280x1024p-59
U:1024x768p-60
U:800x600p-59
U:640x480p-60
U:640x400p-59

How comes?


I also have this issuewith an nvidia card (an 8600GT). X runs 1680x1050 fine, and hwinfo --vbe states that the framebuffer supports "Mode 0x0369: 1680x1050 (+6720), 24 bits".

I have the same modes as you with 'cat /sys/class/graphics/fb0/modes' - i.e. no widescreen modes higher than 640x400 and no resolution at all higher than 1280x1024. Was really hoping to finally be able to use a decent resolution with this system, as I can't use vesa-tng with my 64-bit Gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Netolish
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2007 11:02 am    Post subject: Problem to build v86d Reply with quote

I still cannot build v86d.
Error: " You need to compile klibc against a kernel tree patched with uvesafb"

Kernel 2.6.23-gentoo-r1
CONFIG_CONNECTOR=y
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FB_UVESA=y

Dmesg:
uvesafb: failed to execute /sbin/v86d
uvesafb: make sure that the v86d helper is installed and executable
uvesafb: Getting VBE info block failed (eax=0x4f00, err=-2)
uvesafb: vbe_init() failed with -22
uvesafb: probe of uvesafb.0 failed with error -22

Reboot, reemerged klibc but emerge v86d still failed.

Any tips to check?

Thanks Netolish
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Page 4 of 9

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum