Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Asus P5W DH Delux traps [partly solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5678
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blubbi wrote:
Just to let you know:

ata2.00: failed to IDENTIFY (I/O error, err_mask=0x104)
Quote:
Sollution:
FIXED! the patch was accepted for 2.6.23.x It should be merged in on of the next 2.6.23.[2/3/4] releases
You can get the patch (p5wdh-workaround-2.6.23.1.patch here: http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=8923 )

Warning:
Be aware of this bug and dont hotplug devices on this PMP!
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9010

I don't know if this bug is fixed with the mentioned patch above... I can't try right now.
Comment:
I have reported a bug here: http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=8923
Thans shiver! He suggested this in my other post: http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-536306-highlight-ata2.html
Does anyone have it working without this workaround?


woot ! :D
and he made his promise come true - hopefully it will boot now without a 30 seconds "minute's silence" for sil

well well - I'll patch this into my puppy & see how it works

any experience so far ?
_________________
Unofficial minimal livecd x86/amd64 w/reiser4+truecrypt (by Neo2)
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 545
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works flawless.

If you have an SATA disk to test hotplug on the SIL, could you pleas do so?

I want to see if the patch got rid of my other bug here:
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9010

Not much longer and I got the devs to patch all flaws in the p5wdh away:

http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9010 OPEN
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=8918 OPEN (work is in progress)
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=8923 DONE
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=8259 DONE
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=8627 DONE
_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5678
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no, unfortunately not :(

at least most flaws on this board are now fixed / gone :D :

http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=7422
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=7383

sky2 seems to work fine for me, dunno, maybe it's rock solid with .24.1 release ? :P
_________________
Unofficial minimal livecd x86/amd64 w/reiser4+truecrypt (by Neo2)
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 545
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nice nice...

seems the asus p5w-dh gets a good mobo for linux ;-)

sky2 works fine here.
_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 545
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to let you know something important:

Hotpluging on EZ_RAID (SIL-4723)
Quote:
Sollution:
No sollution jet

Warning:
DONT, DO not even think about doing this. That damn SIL-4723 sucks in storage mode
and rendes a drive completely useless when you hotplug it once or twice.

Comment:
See here for the bugreport: http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9010


That damn SIL-4723 sucks ass, it's such a buggy piece of ....

I even doupt that it can be worked around. But we will see if Tejun can fix it... he's a real magician!

_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5678
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

there's a new bios out which you might want to try out:

- speedstep works again
- onboard sound doesn't automagically enable itself

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showpost.php?p=2544198&postcount=6430

version 2403

it's working fine here :D
_________________
Unofficial minimal livecd x86/amd64 w/reiser4+truecrypt (by Neo2)
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jasiu85
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Oct 2007
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey,

I have ASUS P5K mobo and I'm still trying to install Gentoo on it. I already ran into the "failed to IDENTIFY" problem because 2007.0 CD has 2.6.19 kernel. But not during kernel boot, but around 70h after the system has started. Very strange to me...

Anyway, I have other problem with the mobo and I want to ask if any of you has ran into a similar problem:

My mobo can't reboot... When I enter BIOS, change some settings and choose "Save & Exit", the computer turns off for about 3-5s, then the power comes back on (I can hear the fans), but the screen is black, there's no POST, power LED is off. I can press the power button to cut the power, turn it on again, and the same happens. I have to pull out the power cable and put it back in to turn the computer on again. The same happens when I do a soft reset (Ctrl+Alt+Del). When I use the reset button though, everything's fine. What's that?? Bad BIOS (I have the latest), something's wrong with the hardware?

Thanks,

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 545
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jasiu85 wrote:
Hey,

I have ASUS P5K mobo and I'm still trying to install Gentoo on it. I already ran into the "failed to IDENTIFY" problem because 2007.0 CD has 2.6.19 kernel. But not during kernel boot, but around 70h after the system has started. Very strange to me...


Strange, but is solved with new kernel.

jasiu85 wrote:

Anyway, I have other problem with the mobo and I want to ask if any of you has ran into a similar problem:

My mobo can't reboot... When I enter BIOS, change some settings and choose "Save & Exit", the computer turns off for about 3-5s, then the power comes back on (I can hear the fans), but the screen is black, there's no POST, power LED is off. I can press the power button to cut the power, turn it on again, and the same happens. I have to pull out the power cable and put it back in to turn the computer on again. The same happens when I do a soft reset (Ctrl+Alt+Del). When I use the reset button though, everything's fine. What's that?? Bad BIOS (I have the latest), something's wrong with the hardware?


Wich BIOS version do you run? But I never heard about such a problem.

regards
blubbi
_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jasiu85
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Oct 2007
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have 0603 BIOS version that was published on 07/03/07. On some other forums I found that this may be due to invalid RAM timing settings. What do you think?

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 545
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Load setup deafults! Or safe settings and see what happens.
But RAM and PWU can cause weird things
_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
l_bratch
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 489
Location: Jersey

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, hotpluging on EZ_RAID (SIL-4723) - it really isn't a good idea.

I accidently did it (cable came loose, and I reconnected it without thinking) and the drive seems to be completely screwed.

This is the result trying to mount afterwards (although it does show up fdisk apparently without any problems):

http://pastebin.ca/784929
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 739
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

crappy SIL, stay away from it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
l_bratch
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 489
Location: Jersey

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh dear, I didn't realise it was this bad... I thought it was data loss that would happen - it completely destroys the drive, even the BIOS sees it as BAD now.

Is there any kind of resolution for this or have I really just lost my 500 GB disk?

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 739
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

possible shortage on the drive from bad hotplug.
i would RMA it and if you can possibly get the drive recognize on another board, then use testdisk to see if you can recover the data of it, or use dd. eitherway, the main board manufacturer should be at fault not you. but that's to be expected for using such a crappy sata controller like SILICON IMAGE. what sucks even more is that the other controller on this board is a JMicron which is no better or worst than the SIL one and the way they split the ICH7R to the forth sata connector on the SLI. Well i hope you get your data back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 545
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

l_bratch wrote:
So, hotpluging on EZ_RAID (SIL-4723) - it really isn't a good idea.

I accidently did it (cable came loose, and I reconnected it without thinking) and the drive seems to be completely screwed.

This is the result trying to mount afterwards (although it does show up fdisk apparently without any problems):

http://pastebin.ca/784929


Go for RMA. The controller can't destroy a drive. So there must be some other defect on the drives interface which lead to shortage or any other physical event. And this is deffinetely the vendors fault. Just RMA it with "Drive died when hotpluged" or without any given reason. (by the way, what vendor, what drive?)

You replied to my bug on kernel bugzilla, would you please attache your dmsg output of the event and provide some more information so the devs can look into it. Theun Hejo is on this, and every information he can get will help us to get rid of the bug, or to simply deaktivcate hotplugging, if it's not fixable, just to prevent data corruption. Thanks http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9010

I recommended Tejun do add warnings, or to completely disable hotplugging on that crap if that crap is not fixable and he agreed. So lets give him as much help as we can as simple users.

So I call at everyone watching this thread to test and comment on the bugs I have opened.
If someone doesn't dare to post on the kernel bugzilla, post it here and I'll forward it.

Or if someone has found another bug, let me know.

regards
blubbi
_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 545
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

l_bratch wrote:
So, hotpluging on EZ_RAID (SIL-4723) - it really isn't a good idea.

I accidently did it (cable came loose, and I reconnected it without thinking) and the drive seems to be completely screwed.

This is the result trying to mount afterwards (although it does show up fdisk apparently without any problems):

http://pastebin.ca/784929


From the dmsg log, your drive seems to be detected at least. So try to connect it to a ICH7 port. Dump all the data with dd. and create a new partition table (cfdisk -z /dev/sd?) AND never ever, in no case, attache the drive to the SIL (except you want to Tejun to track down the bug)
_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 545
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

likewhoa wrote:
possible shortage on the drive from bad hotplug.
i would RMA it and if you can possibly get the drive recognize on another board, then use testdisk to see if you can recover the data of it, or use dd. eitherway, the main board manufacturer should be at fault not you. but that's to be expected for using such a crappy sata controller like SILICON IMAGE. what sucks even more is that the other controller on this board is a JMicron which is no better or worst than the SIL one and the way they split the ICH7R to the forth sata connector on the SLI. Well i hope you get your data back.


Full ACK... we lost a nice ICH7 port for two crapy SIL ports.
After fixing the JMicron kerneldriver it works for me... (I just tested it with a PATA CD-R drive) But I never tried the eSATA port or the internel SATA port.

Could someone check and report if that stuff works?

regards
blubbi
_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
l_bratch
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 489
Location: Jersey

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi thanks for your replies,

I've added some more info in the kernel bug report as was asked, and yeah I'll get an RMA underway unless some answer turns up in here or in the bug report :(

The disk is a Western Digital 500 GB (WD5000KS-00MNB0), around 1.5 years old.

I will try and dd the disk on and ICH7 port later, but will leave it on the SIL for now in case Tejun asks for more info (I don't want to move it around in case it makes it even worse...).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 545
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

l_bratch wrote:
Hi thanks for your replies,

I've added some more info in the kernel bug report as was asked, and yeah I'll get an RMA underway unless some answer turns up in here or in the bug report :(

The disk is a Western Digital 500 GB (WD5000KS-00MNB0), around 1.5 years old.

I will try and dd the disk on and ICH7 port later, but will leave it on the SIL for now in case Tejun asks for more info (I don't want to move it around in case it makes it even worse...).


Thanks
_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jai
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 9:44 pm    Post subject: acpi_cpufreq Reply with quote

Hi, I have been reading through this list looking for anyone having cpufreq problems with this motherboard. I've been runing kernel 2.6.22-r9 with kernel config settings:

Code:
# CPU Frequency scaling
#
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_TABLE=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT_DETAILS is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=y

#
# CPUFreq processor drivers
#
CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K8=y
CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_CENTRINO=m
CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ=m


When i load the acpi_cpufreq module I get this in dmesg

Code:
ACPI: Processor [CPU1] (supports 8 throttling states)
ACPI: Processor [CPU2] (supports 8 throttling states)
ACPI Exception (processor_core-0781): AE_NOT_FOUND, Processor Device is not present [20070126]
ACPI Exception (processor_core-0781): AE_NOT_FOUND, Processor Device is not present [20070126]


Has anyone got this working with this motherboard? Should I expect it to work? If so, what did you do to get it going, what kernel config settings and BIOS version do you use?

Thankyou.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5678
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
#
# CPU Frequency scaling
#
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_TABLE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEBUG=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT_DETAILS=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_USERSPACE is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_ONDEMAND is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=m
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=y

#
# CPUFreq processor drivers
#
CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ=y
CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K8=y
CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K8_ACPI=y
# CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_CENTRINO is not set
# CONFIG_X86_P4_CLOCKMOD is not set

#
# shared options
#
CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ_PROC_INTF=y
# CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_LIB is not set
CONFIG_CPU_IDLE=y
CONFIG_CPU_IDLE_GOV_LADDER=y
CONFIG_CPU_IDLE_GOV_MENU=y


works here with bios version 2403

you might need to get a working bios :wink:

some bios-versions don't work with speedstep :roll:

here my favorite p5w dh deluxe thread: http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=110193
_________________
Unofficial minimal livecd x86/amd64 w/reiser4+truecrypt (by Neo2)
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jai
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did just recently update my BIOS to version 2406 in an attempt to get it going, which is later than the one you have. So it shouldn't be BIOS.

Can you show me your kernel config for cpufreq related stuff?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5678
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jai wrote:
I did just recently update my BIOS to version 2406 in an attempt to get it going, which is later than the one you have. So it shouldn't be BIOS.

Can you show me your kernel config for cpufreq related stuff?


isn't the above posted about cpufreq ? :wink:

http://omploader.org/vOGox/2.6.24-rc4-zen1%20kernel-config
_________________
Unofficial minimal livecd x86/amd64 w/reiser4+truecrypt (by Neo2)
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jai
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry I thought that was my one quoted back in your post.. 8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5678
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jai wrote:
Sorry I thought that was my one quoted back in your post.. 8O


my fault - I should have used "code" instead of "quote" :x :lol:
_________________
Unofficial minimal livecd x86/amd64 w/reiser4+truecrypt (by Neo2)
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 4 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum