Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Outdated] KC11: Kernel compiling for the beginner.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
wilburpan
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2003 2:58 am    Post subject: [Outdated] KC11: Kernel compiling for the beginner. Reply with quote

This FAQ has been updated and extended, please see KC11 - kernel compiling for the beginner instead

Navigation: [Kernel Compilation] [Table of Contents]

Kernel compiling for the beginner

I was a complete beginner when I first tried installing Gentoo. At that time, that was also my first attempt at compiling a kernel. These are some things I would keep in mind for any other beginners at kernel compiling:

1. It is much more important to have a working kernel than an optimized kernel at first.

Again, it is much more important to have a working kernel than an optimized kernel at first. You can always try to optimize and recompile later.

2. Keep it simple at first. All you really need to get the kernel and Gentoo going at first is what's outlined in step 15 of the install docs and networking. To reiterate the install documentation, you need to:

-- under "Code maturity level options":
    -- select "Prompt for development and/or incomplete code/drivers"

-- under "File systems":
    -- select "Virtual memory file system support (former shm fs)"
    -- select "/proc file system support"
    -- select "/dev file system support (EXPERIMENTAL)"
    -- select "Automatically mount at boot"
    -- unselect "/dev/pts file system for Unix98 PTYs"
    -- select all of the hard disk filesystems you are using (reiserfs, ext2, ext3, JFS, XFS)