Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Cannot mount Drives
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tactical Fart
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 3:46 pm    Post subject: Cannot mount Drives Reply with quote

After a complete install, and after using "emerge -vG kdebase", I tried to get into my External Hard Drive. I can't seem to get it to appear. I got it to work once, but it I don't know how, and it was read only, plus I messed something up and did a clean install. Under "Storage Media", I see 4 icons: DVD (sro), Hard Disk (sda1), Hard Disk (sdc1), and Hard Disk (sdd1)(this is w/ my external drive connected.) Whenever I click on them (except sda1), It says Feature only available with HAL". I tried "emerge HAL" and it said there are no ebuilds to satisfy it, so I tried "emerge hal", and even though it found one, it failed. How can I access my drives and write to them? I'm a noob, and am slowly grasping linux, but am too stubborn to give up.
Would it help if I posted my fstab?

Side question: how do you pronounce "gentoo"? This is driving me crazy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattsteven
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 240
Location: Your Planet

PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
euse -E hal
emerge -uD --newuse world


That should re-merge your kde with the proper hal dependency drawn in. If euse doesn't work, emerge gentoolkit

I pronounce it as "jen" "two" like the penguin.
_________________
Matthew Steven
Linux-only desktop since 1998
Graying hair since 2006
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tactical Fart
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I not sure what "euse -E hal" does, but I think it worked. when I used the next command though it gave me the following message.

localhost ~ # emerge -uD --newuse world
Calculating world dependencies... done!

!!! Error: the =app-dicts/aspell-en-0.5* package conflicts with another package;
!!! the two packages cannot be installed on the same system together.
!!! Please use 'emerge --pretend' to determine blockers.

For more information about Blocked Packages, please refer to the following
section of the Gentoo Linux x86 Handbook (architecture is irrelevant):

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?full=1#blocked


I used "emerge gentoolkit" and it was completly sucessful, but I don't know how to launch it. :(

Also, out of curiosity, I used "mount /dev/sr0 /mnt/cdrom" and was sucessful in reading a dvd, though I don't have VLC running yet.

If It helps anyone, here's my fstab.

GNU nano 2.0.4 File: /etc/fstab Modified

/etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# noatime turns off atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency). It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail / tail freely.
#
# The root filesystem should have a pass number of either 0 or 1.
# All other filesystems should have a pass number of 0 or greater than 1.
#
# See the manpage fstab(5) for more information.
#

# <fs> <mountpoint> <type> <opts> <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/sda1 / ext3 noatime 0 1
/dev/sda2 none swap sw 0 1
/dev/sr0 /mnt/cdrom iso9660 noauto,ro 0 0
/dev/sdc1 /mnt/memstick auto noauto 0 0
/dev/sdd1 /mnt/sd auto noauto 0 0
#/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto 0 0

proc /proc proc defaults 0 0

# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
# use almost no memory if not populated with files)
shm /dev/shm tmpfs nodev,nosuid,noexec 0 0
none /spu spufs default 0 0
(this is a cut and paste, no editing)

In the line for sda2, I have for my dump/pass 0 1, when it should be 0 0. while typing this message I corrected it and the machine offered to mount the newly detected drtive. I said yes, and I got the "feature only available with HAL" error again.

I can't wait to hear what I'm doing wrong so I can kick myself repeadedly. (on the first 7 times I installed Gentoo, I didn't delete the # in front of XSESSION in the rc.conf, and hence couldn't get fluxbox. :lol: )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattsteven
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 240
Location: Your Planet

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hal is "hardware layer abstraction support" which I don't use, but I assume it makes it easy for KDE to automagically mount your media.

You can always mount devices "by hand" as well as you discovered. The thing that gets some new users is that by default Linux systems do not mount when media is loaded, you have to tell it to.

For your merge problem, just follow the directions they gave you: "Please use 'emerge --pretend' to determine blockers. "

Then when you unmerge the blocking package, run the update command again.
_________________
Matthew Steven
Linux-only desktop since 1998
Graying hair since 2006
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redhatter
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 548
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 11:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

(Why on earth is this in Alternate Architectures?)

I find the easiest way to set up drives, when you're getting used to Linux, is to do it manually using the mount command run from sudo (app-admin/sudo):

Code:
$ sudo mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt/usbdrive


where sdb1 is your USB drive (example), and /mnt/usbdrive is an empty directory where you want your drive's contents to appear.

To set sudo up: emerge app-admin/sudo, then run visudo as root and uncomment the line:
Code:
%wheel  ALL=(ALL)       ALL


Alternatively, have a look at pmount (sys-apps/pmount) -- it does some of this for you, semi-automatically mounting things under /media.
_________________
Stuart Longland (a.k.a Redhatter, VK4MSL)
I haven't lost my mind - it's backed up on a tape somewhere...

Gentoo/MIPS Cobalt developer, Mozilla herd member.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tactical Fart
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="Redhatter"](Why on earth is this in Alternate Architectures?) /quote]
This is on my PS3

Anyway I managed to mount my External Hard Drive using "mount /dev/sdf /mnt/external" and now I can explore it. But when I try to write it simply says, could not write to (insert directory here). Writing is the only problem I'm having right now. I typed dmesg and I got
"FAT: Filesystem panic (dev sdf1)
invalid access to FAT (entry 0x40af4a7b)"
Which repeats several times, but with different numbers, and
"attempt to access beyond end of device
sdf1: rw=0, want=74179675420, limit=488392002"
Which also repeats, but only the limit remains constant. If there a special command that I need to use?

Also I 'm not sure it matters, but It's a 250GB drive.

I managed to get my sd card to read and write though. I used "mount /dev/sdd /mnt/sd" and now I can read and write at will. My external hard drive is the only one giving me problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redhatter
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 548
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm... PS3 or not... still it isn't really a discussion about the architecture, but rather one about mounting disks in general. Thus it may be worthwhile getting a mod to move this thread to a more appropriate forum.

When it says "could not write to $DIRECTORY", what reason does it give? I/O Error? Permission Denied? No space left on device?

If the dmesg output is showing messages about trying to access beyond the end of the device, this could mean two things:
o Funny partition table -- fix by backing up, repartitioning, then reformatting
o Incorrectly detected size -- not sure of a fix.

What does /sys/block/sdf/size and fdisk -ul /dev/sdf report? Using my internal IDE HDD (on a Lemote Fulong; concept is the same though):

Code:
stuartl@taijia ~ $ cat /sys/block/sda/size
78140160
stuartl@taijia ~ $ sudo /sbin/fdisk -ul /dev/sda

Disk /dev/sda: 40.0 GB, 40007761920 bytes
64 heads, 32 sectors/track, 38154 cylinders, total 78140160 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1              32       65535       32752   83  Linux
/dev/sda2           65536    78139391    39036928    5  Extended
/dev/sda5           65568    29364223    14649328   83  Linux
/dev/sda6        29364256    68427775    19531760   83  Linux
/dev/sda7        68427808    78139391     4855792   82  Linux swap / Solaris


Note the locations of the partitions in terms of their sectors... you're looking for a partition that ends beyond the disk's boundary.
_________________
Stuart Longland (a.k.a Redhatter, VK4MSL)
I haven't lost my mind - it's backed up on a tape somewhere...

Gentoo/MIPS Cobalt developer, Mozilla herd member.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mimosinnet
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 525
Location: Barcelona, Spain

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2007 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am having the same issues with hal, and I have followed the advice from the forum:

I have hal as a useflag:
Code:
# euse -i hal
global use flags (searching: hal)
************************************************************
[+ CD ] hal - Enable Hardware Abstraction Layer (HAL) support


My system is up-to-date:
Code:
# emerge --update --deep -Ntav world
These are the packages that would be merged, in reverse order:
Calculating world dependencies... done!
Total: 0 packages, Size of downloads: 0 kB
Nothing to merge; would you like to auto-clean packages? [Yes/No] n


I can mount the pen drive with the mount command.

I have added the user to any groups related with hal/usb the usb just in case it was needed.
Code:
# cat /etc/group | grep perru
audio:x:18:pulse,perru,mimosinnet
cdrom:x:19:haldaemon,perru,mimosinnet
video:x:27:root,perru,mimosinnet
cdrw:x:80:haldaemon,perru,mimosinnet
usb:x:85:haldaemon,mimosinnet,perru
users:x:100:games,perru,mimosinnet
haldaemon:x:1002:haldaemon,perru
plugdev:x:1003:haldaemon,perru,mimosinnet
games:x:35:perru,mimosinnet
perru:x:1011:


And I still get the message: "Feature only available with HAL".

I am setting the computer for my sister. It would be nice that KDE detects the usb instead of asking her to go into konsole to mount the device.

Any ideas?

Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnny99
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Oct 2005
Posts: 232
Location: Berkeley, California

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 5:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm in the same boat. Manual mount works, kde reacts to an inserted cd, but when I try to open in Konqueror, "Feature only available with HAL". Do I need to rebuild something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kgroombr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2007
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am getting this same problem. I have the hal useflag set and an "emerge -DNvu world" shows nothing needs to be rebuilt, but I get the message "feature only available with HAL" when attempting to eject CDs. It might come up when trying to do other things, but since it just came up, I am googling for an answer.

Ken
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
step
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2002
Posts: 198

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just (re)emerge HAL

emerge sys-apps/hal -atv

start HAL daemon
/etc/init.d/hald start

launch Konqueror and test it. (select USB, DVD, CD etc)

If it works OK, run:
rc-update add hald default
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OPelerin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 334
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cheers.

I had the same wierd issue. I've re-emerged hal and now things are fine again. Thanks for the trick.
_________________
Olivier PELERIN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum