Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[PALUDIS] Support thread (current v. 0.24.6) - Part 3
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 13, 14, 15  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
krisse
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 318
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 7:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for the explanation!

I had read what he wrote, and the page he was pointing at, and browsed through the other docs for info about this. And put those, and only those, lines into bashrc. But hadn't realized that "i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++", too, could be what I wanted; ie a symlink to /usr/bin/ccache.

Removed CC & CXX lines from bashrc, checked with ccache -s, and sure enough, it's getting hit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3056
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Clearly, paludis supports downloading from a local directory (through file://) which just does a "cp" from that location.

I'm not sure how you'd do it but I'd like to see a hook that does a "mv" instead.

The reason I like this idea is that this makes it easy to remove old distfiles without having 2 locations full of distfiles.

What I mean is that my distfiles are in /distfiles/new then I move all of them to /distfiles/old. Then I would call a script that parsed out from the URI, the file name and did a "mv" on that file from /distfiles/old to /distfiles/new. So after I ran that script /distfiles/new only had the files that are used by stuff I currently have installed and /distfiles/old only has old files.

Also, the advantage of not doing a "cp" for this case is that it'll save space (don't have the same 2 files in 2 locations) and after the script is done I can look at the contents of /distfiles/old to see if there were any other files I wanted (stuff I'd downloaded but not yet installed) which would be really hard to sift through if both directories mostly had copies of the same files.

I could probably hack the original script to work with paludis rather than portage, but I'm not a sed master by any means.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rbrown_
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 20
Location: Under the bridge

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

slycordinator wrote:

The reason I like this idea is that this makes it easy to remove old distfiles without having 2 locations full of distfiles.


There's a ruby demo called remove_unused_distfiles.rb, it's installed into /usr/share/paludis/ruby/demos when you install paludis with the ruby use flag. See Ciaranm's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Devrethman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jan 2005
Posts: 141
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure what's up with this, but when I try to update KDElibs, I get this:
Code:
>>> Done builtin_strip
>>> Starting pkg_preinst
 * Checking desktop entry validity

>>> Done pkg_preinst
>>> Starting builtin_saveenv
>>> Done builtin_saveenv
>>> Completed ebuild phases loadenv strip preinst saveenv
>>> Writing VDB entry to '/var/db/pkg/kde-base/-checking-kdelibs-3.5.6-r9'...
>>> Writing VDB entry keys ...
>>> Generating saved ebuild and environment...
>>> Finished writing VDB entry
>>> Checking whether we can merge to / .................................
!!! Cannot overwrite directory '/usr/kde/3.5/lib' with symlink '/var/tmp/paludis/kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.6-r9/image/usr/kde/3.5/lib'


Install error:
  * In program paludis -i world:
  * When performing install action from command line:
  * When executing install task:
  * When installing 'kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.6-r9':
  * When merging 'kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.6-r9::gentoo' at '/var/tmp/paludis/kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.6-r9/image' to VDB repository 'installed':
  * Install error: Not proceeding with install due to merge sanity check failing


_________________
Signature is out for lunch. Feel free to talk to its empty desk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3056
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rbrown_ wrote:
slycordinator wrote:

The reason I like this idea is that this makes it easy to remove old distfiles without having 2 locations full of distfiles.


There's a ruby demo called remove_unused_distfiles.rb, it's installed into /usr/share/paludis/ruby/demos when you install paludis with the ruby use flag. See Ciaranm's blog


Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dleverton
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Posts: 517

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Devrethman wrote:
I'm not sure what's up with this, but when I try to update KDElibs, I get this:

Is this on AMD64? Gentoo/AMD64 used to have /lib, /usr/lib, /usr/kde/*/lib etc as real directories, and lib64 as symlinks pointing to them; it was changed to the other way round a couple of years ago, but if you installed before then your system won't have been updated automatically. The problem comes when the ebuild tries to install the lib symlink, which conflicts with the existing directory. Portage handles that somehow (I'm not sure how exactly) but Paludis rejects it, to be safe.

To fix it, you should
  • remove the /usr/kde/3.5/lib64 symlink
  • rename /usr/kde/3.5/lib to /usr/kde/3.5/lib64
  • make a "lib" symlink in /usr/kde/3.5 pointing at /usr/kde/3.5/lib64
You may have to do the same thing in other places where you have both lib and lib64, but if you need to do it in /, you'll need to do it from a statically-linked busybox, and make sure you have a way to recover if something goes wrong.


Last edited by dleverton on Fri May 25, 2007 9:41 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3056
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 8:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dleverton wrote:
rename /usr/kde/3.5/lib to /usr/kde/3.5/lib


:?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rbrown_
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 20
Location: Under the bridge

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

slycordinator wrote:
dleverton wrote:
rename /usr/kde/3.5/lib to /usr/kde/3.5/lib


:?:


rename /usr/kde/3.5/lib to /usr/kde/3.5/lib64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dleverton
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Posts: 517

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

slycordinator wrote:
dleverton wrote:
rename /usr/kde/3.5/lib to /usr/kde/3.5/lib


:?:

Oops, sorry! :oops: rbrown_ already answered, but I'll edit my post to fix that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Devrethman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jan 2005
Posts: 141
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rbrown_ wrote:
slycordinator wrote:
dleverton wrote:
rename /usr/kde/3.5/lib to /usr/kde/3.5/lib


:?:


rename /usr/kde/3.5/lib to /usr/kde/3.5/lib64

I have both a lib AND a lib64, so should I move everything in lib to lib64 and then symlink them?
Nevermind, On closer inspection, regular lib is empty.
_________________
Signature is out for lunch. Feel free to talk to its empty desk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phlogiston
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 1925
Location: Europe, Swizerland

PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe these questions are silly, but does paludis use the same ebuild tree as portage does? And can I use them parallel?
_________________
Workstation: 5.1 SurroundSound, LIRC remote control; Laptop [IBM-T43]: patched sources, s2disk/ram, fingerprint sensor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3056
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes it uses the same tree.

And yes you can use them simultaneously. The only issue will be that you have to regenerate your caches if you install/uninstall stuff in portage but haven't sync'd in paludis.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paapaa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Aug 2005
Posts: 955
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Phlogiston wrote:
Maybe these questions are silly, but does paludis use the same ebuild tree as portage does? And can I use them parallel?


Please read this:

http://paludis.pioto.org/cachefiles.html

(And of course the FAQ)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nikaya
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2006
Posts: 1471
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello everybody,
strange behaviour of Paludis (since I'm using it).
After a sync there are some packages to update,but I only want to install one single target.
Following case:I'm syncing and "paludis -i world -p" shows me some packages to update: gcc-4.1.2,transcode and mozilla-thunderbird-bin.
Because compiling gcc needs a lot of time I only want to install mozilla-thunderbird-bin and gcc later."paludis -i mozilla-thunderbird-bin -p" gives me the
following:
Code:

# paludis -i mozilla-thunderbird-bin -p
    Building target list...
    Building dependency list...
    These packages will be installed:
  * sys-devel/gcc-4.1.2 {:4.1} [U 4.1.1-r3] (-altivec) -bootstrap -build -d% -doc fortran -gcj gtk (-hardened) -ip28 -ip32r10k -mudflap (-multilib) -multislot (-n32) (-n64) nls -nocxx -objc -objc++ -objc-gc -test -vanilla <virtual/c++-tr1-functional-0::installed, virtual/c++-tr1-memory-0::installed, 1 more>

* mail-client/mozilla-thunderbird-bin-2.0.0.0 {:0} [U 1.5.0.10] linguas: -be% -bg -ca -cs -da de -el -en_GB -es -es_AR -es_ES -eu -fi -fr -ga -ga_IE -hu -it -ja -lt -mk -nb -nb_NO -nl -pa% -pa_IN -pl -pt% -pt_BR -pt_PT% -ru -sk -sl -sv -sv_SE -tr -zh% -zh_CN -zh_TW%

The list of examples can be continued endlessly,like this for Opera:
Code:

# paludis -i opera -p
Building target list...
Building dependency list...

These packages will be installed:

* media-libs/freetype-2.3.4-r2 {:2} [U 2.3.4-r1] X -bindist -debug -doc zlib <app-text/poppler-0.5.4-r1::installed, media-libs/fontconfig-2.4.2::installed, 4 more>
* media-libs/libpng-1.2.18 {:1.2} [U 1.2.16] -doc <app-text/ghostscript-esp-8.15.4::installed, net-print/cups-1.2.11::installed, 3 more>
* x11-misc/xdg-utils-1.0.1 {:0} [U 1.0]  <net-print/cups-1.2.11::installed>
* www-client/opera-9.21 {:0} [U 9.20-r1] -gnome -qt-static spell

Total: 4 packages (4 upgrades)

So,what is happening here and how can I tell Paludis to only install the one given package?
_________________
Notes on Dhamma
How to waste your time: look for an explanation of consciousness, ask to know what feeling is. (Nanavira Thera)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krisse
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 318
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does the options
Code:
--dl-reinstall never --dl-upgrade as-needed
make a difference? (You probably only need the latter, since there were only upgrades, and no reinstalls, in the list.)

Last edited by krisse on Tue May 29, 2007 11:17 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zxy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Posts: 1160
Location: in bed in front of the computer

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@john.doe: you can do
Code:
paludis -i1 =mail-client/mozilla-thunderbird-bin-2.0.0.0 -p

_________________
Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.
Lao Tzu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krisse
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 318
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

zxy wrote:
@john.doe: you can do
Code:
paludis -i1 =mail-client/mozilla-thunderbird-bin-2.0.0.0 -p


I'm not sure, but wouldn't have thought that a simple --preserve-world and specifying the version of the-app-that-is-to-be-installed would do the trick? But that some options regarding "deplist behaviour" would be required?

Oh, by the way, paludis wrapper 0.1.3 works like a charm. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phlogiston
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 1925
Location: Europe, Swizerland

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
>>> Starting pre_src_unpack
!!! [Errno 13] Permission denied: '/etc/portage/profile/make.defaults'
 * Unable to determine VM for building from dependencies:
NV_DEPEND: >=virtual/jdk-1.4
                >=dev-libs/glib-2.6
                >=x11-libs/gtk+-2.6.8
                >=dev-libs/atk-1.10.2
                cairo? ( >=x11-libs/cairo-1.0.2 )
                gnome?  (
                                        =gnome-base/libgnome-2*
                                        =gnome-base/gnome-vfs-2*
                                        =gnome-base/libgnomeui-2*
                                )
                seamonkey? (
                                        >=www-client/seamonkey-1.0.2
                                        >=dev-libs/nspr-4.6.2
                                )
                xulrunner? (
                                        net-libs/xulrunner
                                )
                opengl? (
                                        virtual/opengl
                                        virtual/glu
                                )
                dev-java/ant-core
                app-arch/unzip
                x11-libs/libX11
                x11-libs/libXrender
                x11-libs/libXt
                x11-proto/xextproto            >=dev-java/java-config-2.0.31 >=sys-apps/portage-2.1_pre1       >=dev-java/javatoolkit-0.2.0-r1 >=sys-apps/portage-2.1_pre1  dev-java/ant-core            >=dev-java/java-config-2.0.31 >=sys-apps/portage-2.1_pre1       >=dev-java/javatoolkit-0.2.0-r1 >=sys-apps/portage-2.1_pre1  dev-java/ant-core
VNEED:

!!! ERROR in dev-java/swt-3.2.2:
!!! In java-pkg_switch-vm at line 4085
!!! Failed to determine VM for building.


Whats the best way to solve that?
_________________
Workstation: 5.1 SurroundSound, LIRC remote control; Laptop [IBM-T43]: patched sources, s2disk/ram, fingerprint sensor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mitharen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I seem to be having a problem syncing. I'm not sure whether this is a general gentoo problem or paludis specific, but I figured I'd get yelled at for using a non-standard config if I tried somewhere else first. ;)

Basically, not all servers seem to be giving me the same sync. Every so often I'll paludis -s and then paludis -pi world and see a couple of dozen downgrades. If I then paludis -s again it seems to fix it, and I'll see several updates like usual. Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zxy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Posts: 1160
Location: in bed in front of the computer

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if this has nothing to do with sync. Try
Code:
paludis -ip world --dl-downgrade error
to see which packages want to be downgraded and why.

But servers can have older data, too (when they didn't sync yet). IIRC servers are synced every hour...
_________________
Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.
Lao Tzu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mitharen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll try out the --dl-downgrade error thing next time it happens. I usually don't sync more often than once every two days or so, though, so I doubt it's due to hitting up unsync'ed servers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zxy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Posts: 1160
Location: in bed in front of the computer

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I usualy had problems like this with kdelibs being upgraded and then some package pulled the downgrade. So I had to reinstall that package in order to stop kdelibs up/down-grading.
_________________
Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.
Lao Tzu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dR0PS
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Feb 2005
Posts: 116
Location: DE/Hamburg

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 10:19 pm    Post subject: installed, works, time will say... Reply with quote

Report

I've just successfully installed paludis beside portage.

2 problems occured to me:

- the migration-script didn't convert my /etc/portage/package.keywords/$files to the new place being in /etc/paludis/keywords.conf.d/$files - so i had to hand-edit these $files

- I had to rebuild a handfull of older kde-packages <3.5.7 that were build using older/broken portage versions.
they now wanted to pull in 2 different older kdelibs versions


so far, for me, paludis seems to be a little faster and cooperates with portage - BUT has more than a handfull of new command-options ;) time will say....

dR0PS
_________________

~x86 gentoo / zen-sources 2.6.36-zen1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phlogiston
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 1925
Location: Europe, Swizerland

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2007 6:55 am    Post subject: Re: installed, works, time will say... Reply with quote

dR0PS wrote:
Report

- the migration-script didn't convert my /etc/portage/package.keywords/$files to the new place being in /etc/paludis/keywords.conf.d/$files - so i had to hand-edit these $files

dR0PS


Here the files were created but not converted. I had to add ~x86 on most of the lines. So it would be nice if the script would take care of that 8)
_________________
Workstation: 5.1 SurroundSound, LIRC remote control; Laptop [IBM-T43]: patched sources, s2disk/ram, fingerprint sensor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nikaya
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2006
Posts: 1471
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2007 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zxy wrote:
@john.doe: you can do
Code:
paludis -i1 =mail-client/mozilla-thunderbird-bin-2.0.0.0 -p

Don't work,same result.
krisse wrote:
Does the options
Code:
--dl-reinstall never --dl-upgrade as-needed
make a difference? (You probably only need the latter, since there were only upgrades, and no reinstalls, in the list.)

Yes,"--dl-upgrade as-needed" solved the problem.Thanks for your proposal.
But anyway,it's a "funny" behaviour of Paludis.The manpage says:
Quote:

-i, --install
Install one or more packages
and I expected it the way Portage does,installing the specified package.This "deplist behaviour" of "--install" is pretty strange.
dR0PS wrote:

- I had to rebuild a handfull of older kde-packages <3.5.7 that were build using older/broken portage versions.
they now wanted to pull in 2 different older kdelibs versions

That's a known problem:
http://paludis.pioto.org/faq.html#downgrades
_________________
Notes on Dhamma
How to waste your time: look for an explanation of consciousness, ask to know what feeling is. (Nanavira Thera)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 13, 14, 15  Next
Page 3 of 15

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum