Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub Error Collection [Part 7] [POST GRUB QUESTIONS HERE!]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 23, 24, 25, 26  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gurugemair
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Apr 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 9:40 pm    Post subject: grub installation problems Reply with quote

>>> Merging sys-boot/grub-0.97-r3 to /
cat: /proc/mounts: No such file or directory
cat: /proc/mounts: No such file or directory
*
* Cannot automatically mount your /boot partition.
* Your boot partition has to be mounted rw before the installation
* can continue. grub needs to install important files there.
*

!!! ERROR: sys-boot/grub-0.97-r3 failed.
Call stack:
ebuild.sh, line 1555: Called dyn_preinst
ebuild.sh, line 1031: Called pkg_preinst
ebuild.sh, line 1248: Called mount-boot_pkg_preinst
mount-boot.eclass, line 64: Called mount-boot_mount_boot_partition
mount-boot.eclass, line 54: Called die

!!! Please mount your /boot partition manually!
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.

!!! FAILED preinst: 1
and the mount command says:
/dev/hda4 on / type reiserfs (rw,noatime,notail)
/dev/hda2 on /boot type reiserfs (rw)
I'm trying to setup a winblows dual boot as well so that's why hda2 is my boot partition.
any help would be apriciated i've been having this problem for a while. thx.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spindle
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Dec 2003
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm pretty sure that for the boot partition you should use a "true" Linux filesystem like ext2 and not reiserfs. This might be the problem. The handbook recommends ext2 (and this is what I use for boot while I use reiserfs for the / partition).

Code:
/dev/hde3 on / type reiserfs (rw,noatime,notail)
/dev/hde1 on /boot type ext2 (rw,noatime)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaumux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 990
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 11:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

spindle wrote:
I'm pretty sure that for the boot partition you should use a "true" Linux filesystem like ext2 and not reiserfs.

Actually wat u said might be wrong i am using a reiserfs for my /boot with no problems.

According to wat gurugemair wrote
The most probable reason is that he hasn't got a proper fstab file and has not mounted the boot partition on /boot
Plz post ur /etc/fstab just in case
Also check that the type of partition u want to use here in built into the kernel and not a module
And mount the boot partition to /boot then try installing grub
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[mod]Merged above 3 posts here.

gurugemair, in the future please search before you post. It's hard to miss the GRUB error collection :wink:[/mod]

Code:
cat: /proc/mounts: No such file or directory

I suspect you forgot to mount /proc. You need to do that before you can run grub.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spindle
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Dec 2003
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks shaumux for the correction. That's good to know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Omega21
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 788
Location: Canada (brrr. Its cold up here)

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2007 11:04 pm    Post subject: Quick and easy question about GRUB Reply with quote

Hi there,
I have a strange partition layout:

Windows- hda1
Linux- Boot hdc1 // Root hdc2

When I install GRUB, I need to put it on the MBR, so I can type:

grub> setup (hdx)

My question is which hard drive do I put for the setup line, the windows or linux one? Thanks!
~Ian
_________________
iMac G4 1GHz :: q6600 //2x 500GB//2GB RAM//8600GT//Gentoo :: MacBook Pro//2.53GHz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2007 12:01 am    Post subject: Re: Quick and easy question about GRUB Reply with quote

[mod]Merged above post here.[/mod]

Hi.
Omega21 wrote:
Hi there,
I have a strange partition layout:

Windows- hda1
Linux- Boot hdc1 // Root hdc2

When I install GRUB, I need to put it on the MBR, so I can type:

grub> setup (hdx)

My question is which hard drive do I put for the setup line, the windows or linux one? Thanks!
~Ian


It all depends on what disk you want to boot from and whether you want to use GRUB as your main boot loader. If you want to boot from the windows disk, then you should install GRUB into hd0. If you want to boot from the linux disk, install it into hd1. By the way, if you boot from the linux disk, be warned that grub will see it as hd0 and not as hd1. So you'll have to adapt the entries in your grub.conf file for that.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elbartoqwertyuiop
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 May 2007
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 12:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using the 2007.0 live cd to install gentoo on my inspiron b120, when I get to the grub install stage, this is what I got:
Code:

 * Linking from new grub.conf name to menu.lst
 * Copying files from /lib/grub and /usr/lib/grub to /boot
 * To install grub files to another device (like a usb stick), just run:
 *    emerge --config =grub-0.97-r3
>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
>>> sys-boot/grub-0.97-r3 merged.

>>> No packages selected for removal by clean
>>> Auto-cleaning packages...

>>> No outdated packages were found on your system.
 * Regenerating GNU info directory index...
 * Processed 107 info files.
Probing devices to guess BIOS drives. This may take a long time.


    GNU GRUB  version 0.97  (640K lower / 3072K upper memory)

 [ Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported.  For the first word, TAB
   lists possible command completions.  Anywhere else TAB lists the possible
   completions of a device/filename. ]
grub> quit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
friedmud
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 258
Location: Austin, TX USA

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok guys... been running Gentoo for years... but I just ran into a Grub problem I can't solve.

I have two IDE HD's in master slave... master is a windows drive, slave is linux. I've had gentoo up and running in this configuration for about two years now.

Just today I got a new SATA HD.... so I plug it in and boot up my machine, only to be greeted with:

Code:
GRUB loading, please wait...
Error 5


I have booted from a Gentoo install cd and chrooted over to my Gentoo partition... and gone back through the grub setup process... I tried changing drive numbers around (just in case Grub was seeing them in a different order because of the new drive), but nothing seems to help. I can install Grub just fine onto HD0 and it reports complete success... but always Error 5.

If I remove the drive (or disable my SATA controller) everything boots fine.

Any suggestions?

Friedmud
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
friedmud
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 258
Location: Austin, TX USA

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After a bit of messing around, I thought the error might have been caused by the new drive not having a partition table... so I partitioned it and created an ext3 filesystem out of the whole drive.

Unfortunately... now I get "Error 15" which I believe is usually missing files (can't find grub.conf).

Is it possible that while in linux off the install cd... the drives are in a different order than when grub is trying to boot??

When chrooted grub definitely sees my windows drive as hd0 my linux drive as hd1 and the new SATA drive as hd2... but it feels like that isn't the case when grub is booting...

Friedmud
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
friedmud
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 258
Location: Austin, TX USA

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 3:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well... I guess I figured it out.

After taking a hunch that the drives were getting reordered when Grub was trying to boot... I modified the device map such that the windows drive was hd0 the linux drive was _hd2_ and the sata drive was _hd1_ then reran grub-install.

This did the trick. I have no idea why grub is putting the sata drive _in between_ the other two.... but it is.

Weird... just weird.

Friedmud
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matthijs70
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Oct 2006
Posts: 43
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 10:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I try to install grub on a Compaq ML370R01 with Gentoo 2007.0 but if fails.

I had to install Grub manually and it seems to boot, but now I got:
!!! Block device /dev/ida/c0d0p3 is not a valid root device...
!!! The root block device is unspecified or not detected

This is the layout of my disks:
/dev/ida/c0d0p1 = /boot (ext2)
/dev/ida/c0d0p2 = swap
/dev/ida/c0d0p3 = / (ext3)

I also created a device.map with:
(fd0) /dev/fd0
(hd0) /dev/ida/c0d0

And this is my grub.conf;
timeout=30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=Gentoo Linux
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.19-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/ida/c0d0p3 udev
initrd /initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.19-gentoo-r5

Any clue what goes wrong ???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.
Matthijs70 wrote:
I try to install grub on a Compaq ML370R01 with Gentoo 2007.0 but if fails.

!!! Block device /dev/ida/c0d0p3 is not a valid root device...
!!! The root block device is unspecified or not detected

This is not a grub error. This means you forgot to include the support for the cpqarray driver in the kernel <*> and not as a module <M>. Activate the support under Device Drivers ---> Block devices ---> Compaq SMART2 support.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matthijs70
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Oct 2006
Posts: 43
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep I now understand .. it seems to be module .. but MUST be included in kernel.

Thanks,
Matthijs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mgmguy1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Oct 2006
Posts: 17
Location: Norwood Pa

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 4:17 pm    Post subject: /ect/grub.conf is blank How do I Fix it ??? Reply with quote

My /ect/grub.conf is blank. How do I edit it to fix it ?

I am assumeing I do this.

title Windows XP
rootnoverfity hda,o
makeactive
chainloder +1


BTW this is my fdisk -l read out

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 1 843 6373048+ b W95 FAT32
/dev/sda2 * 844 14713 104857200 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda3 14714 20673 45057600 f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/sda5 14714 14783 529168+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda6 14784 15339 4203328+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda7 15340 20673 40325008+ 83 Linux
_________________
If you don't vote don't complain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32173
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mgmguy1,

You make a new file with
Code:
nano -w /boot/grub/grub.conf

rootnoverfity hda,o should be
Code:
rootnoverfity (hd0,0)
to boot from /dev/sda1 if sda is your first or only drive
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vitoriung
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 May 2007
Posts: 158
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 10:33 pm    Post subject: Grub - error 15 after reformating boot partition Reply with quote

Hi,
I accidentaly deleted boot partition, than recreated, reinstaled grub, copied bzImage to /boot, but I dont get a splashscreen - only menu very poor readable, after comment in grub.conf I have clean menu (BW), but with error 15: file not found, I tried all advices from Gentoo Grub Error Collection page, but nothing works. Seems to be that loader doesnt have access to /boot directory on /hda4, when I edit the line in grub to - kernel /nameimage root=/dev/hda2 it boots (but than ends on kernel panic)
Is it posible when I reformating boot partition, that some ID of partiotion has changed and needs to be reported to some config file on hda4?

my partitions are
hda1 - ntfs
hda2 - boot
hda3 - swap
hda4 - ext3

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davascript
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 618
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you reinstalled grub to the MBR using

Code:
grub --no-floppy
root (hdx,x)
setup (hdx)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vitoriung
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 May 2007
Posts: 158
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 2:58 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

I followed hand book and instaled grub by -

#grub-install --no-floppy /dev/hda

is it the same way, or shut I run #setup (hda) as well?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vitoriung
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 May 2007
Posts: 158
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried it, but with same result,
in my case I have in grub -

root= (hd0,1)
Filesystem type extfs2, partiotion type 0x83
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.20-gentoo-r8 root=/dev/hda4

Error 15: File not found

if I edit grub loader by press E to -

kernel /kernel-2.6.20-gentoo-r8 root=/dev/hda2

it boots sucessfully...!!

Any sugestions? If someone really wants to help me now, because I am trying to fix it now and next couple of hours, contact me on ICQ 168844312 or skype - Vitoriung

Thanks a lot..

V.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[mod]Merged above 4 posts here. As you mention this thread in your first post, you are aware of it!. Please make all future posts on this issue here as we prefer to have it all together and not having grub issues spread throughout the forums.[/mod]

vitoriung wrote:
I accidentaly deleted boot partition, than recreated, reinstaled grub, copied bzImage to /boot, but I dont get a splashscreen - only menu very poor readable, after comment in grub.conf I have clean menu (BW), but with error 15: file not found

I assume this is all happening because you didn't copy the contents of the /boot dir and didn't emerge grub again. Thus, you don't have the boot symlink nor the splashimage file - which caused the unreadable screen.
Please run emerge -av grub and post your grub.conf file if it still fails to load your kernel.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vitoriung
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 May 2007
Posts: 158
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wasted too much time, so I realized to better improove my experience with instalations, and reinstaled all system, anyway it was cleaned before with this X server isue http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-560764-highlight-startx.html

Thanks for help, now I'm back with my "X" problem :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gehzumteufel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 7:22 pm    Post subject: Error 13: invalid or unsupported executable format Reply with quote

ive been searching but nothing fully applies to me so im posting.

im installing gentoo via a vm in vmware 6. i get Error 13: invalid or unsupported executable format. my grub.conf is below

Code:

default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.20-r8
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.20-gentoo-r8 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc r$
initrd /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.20-gentoo-r8


i have been reading a bunch and at one time removed the /boot from the line but that had no effect. my fstab is also below.
Code:

/dev/sda1               /boot           reiserfs                noatime,notail $
/dev/sda3               /               reiserfs                noatime,notail $
/dev/sda2               none            swap            sw              0 0
/dev/cdrom              /mnt/cdrom      audo            noauto,ro       0 0
#/dev/fd0               /mnt/floppy     auto            noauto          0 0


it all seems to be fine but im a n00b. thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32173
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gehzumteufel,

Welcome to gentoo.

Can you tell use what happens when you try to boot and what error message you get ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gehzumteufel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2007 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
gehzumteufel,

Welcome to gentoo.

Can you tell use what happens when you try to boot and what error message you get ?

i get the error 13 as mentioned above but here is the full error:
http://i8.tinypic.com/4ldx9o7.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 23, 24, 25, 26  Next
Page 24 of 26

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum