Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Portato - A Portage GUI
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 18, 19, 20  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So ... I worked at the backend part of Portato, making it fit for other system than portage. That's why it is more likely that an error occurres :) - if this happens, please report it
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

New Release: 0.6.0
- general support for different backend systems
- removed asterisks as "installed" sign - using an image now
- added ebuild window (incl. syntax highlighting)
- added usetips
- allowed copying out of the console
- added accelerators
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmichaelsen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Nov 2002
Posts: 1276
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Necoro,

how about integrating etc-proposals in Portato - they would probably complement each other.

Have Fun,

Björn
_________________
etc-proposals, your friendly config file updater!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bmichaelsen wrote:
Hi Necoro,

how about integrating etc-proposals in Portato - they would probably complement each other.

Have Fun,

Björn

Hey :) - looks good ... will see if I get to this during the weekend
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bmichaelsen wrote:
Hi Necoro,

how about integrating etc-proposals in Portato - they would probably complement each other.

Have Fun,

Björn


Done ... checkout version 9999 and enable "etcproposals"-useflag

(hmm ... is this now seen as a crosspost? ... :?: )
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BRAND NEW FEATURE: A Qt-Frontend ...

Now it is possible to use a qt-frontend instead of the Gtk one. Therefor you just have to activate the qt4-UseFlag. If you disable the gtk-Flag you won't even get the gtk-part installed :).

If you only have one of them installed, the normal "portato" call will launch the appropriate frontend. If you have both, "portato" will start gtk. - Please use "portato qt" to launch Qt.

As I do not use the qt-frontend by myself (I'm a XFCE-User, and Qt just looks ugly here ;)), I really need your help to find bugs, or recognize parts that could be made better in any way :)

So far,
Necoro

P.S.: This is only in SVN at the moment. New release will follow this weekend (I hope).
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 4:23 pm    Post subject: Release 0.7.0 - the Cute One ;) Reply with quote

Finally, here it is:

Release 0.7.0 is out

Changes from version 0.6.0:
- USE_EXPANDED variables (like LINGUAS, VIDEO_CARD) are now shown collapsed in the useflag list
- Plugin System (the "syntax" and "etcproposals" stuff is now implemented as a plugin)
- most important: Fully functionable Qt-Frontend

Check it out! 8)

Short note: "syntax" UseFlag is only needed for the gtk-part to show ebuilds with syntax highlighting. Qt always does it.

/edit: Btw: Portato still needs a maintainer to get it into the tree ;)
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wolfden
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Oct 2004
Posts: 102
Location: Midwest

PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

very nice, first time ever used it and it's all good. Love having the CLI right in the application

:D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ingmarv
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 27 Feb 2007
Posts: 188
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The ebuild from your overlay misses a dependency on x11-libs/vte when compiling it with the Qt use flag, and without the GTK use flag. Manually pulling in x11-libs/vte obviously fixes this, but it'd be nice if you could update your ebuild.

The only thing I used Kuroo for, is searching for packages, or viewing ebuilds.
I think I'll dump Kuroo for Portato though, looks nicer, and it's faster than Kuroo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ingmarv wrote:
The ebuild from your overlay misses a dependency on x11-libs/vte when compiling it with the Qt use flag, and without the GTK use flag. Manually pulling in x11-libs/vte obviously fixes this, but it'd be nice if you could update your ebuild.


Oops ... Qt does not need vte ... but in the ebuild I looked, whether vte is built with the python useflag ... and it seems, that if vte is not installed, it crashes ... *fixed*
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ingmarv
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 27 Feb 2007
Posts: 188
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Necoro wrote:
Ingmarv wrote:
The ebuild from your overlay misses a dependency on x11-libs/vte when compiling it with the Qt use flag, and without the GTK use flag. Manually pulling in x11-libs/vte obviously fixes this, but it'd be nice if you could update your ebuild.


Oops ... Qt does not need vte ... but in the ebuild I looked, whether vte is built with the python useflag ... and it seems, that if vte is not installed, it crashes ... *fixed*


Alright, so I can safely remove it.

A few more things:
- Maybe the 9999.ebuild should be masked ?
- Could you add a .desktop file and possibly an icon? It just looks a tiny bit nicer. :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ingmarv wrote:
A few more things:
- Maybe the 9999.ebuild should be masked ?
- Could you add a .desktop file and possibly an icon? It just looks a tiny bit nicer. :-)


Ahm ... the 9999 is marked as testing "~x86 ~amd64" ... the others as stable "x86 amd64". Complete masking is not possible ;) - this is not done in the ebuild.

Hmm ... Icon ... I know, that it is time to get one ... but: if I am going to create it, it will look ... ehm ... not nice ^^ ... Perhaps - is there anyone who might want to create an icon?
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dol-sen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 2557
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[edit] Please excuse the following early morning pre-fully awake brain dribble :oops: [/edit]

[dribble]
Actually, vte is a gtk+ terminal widget. To be fully gtk+ free you would need qt equivalent, and probably a bunch more coding.

[/dribble]

Coming along nicely :)
_________________
Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch...


Last edited by dol-sen on Sat Apr 21, 2007 5:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dol-sen wrote:
Actually, vte is a gtk+ terminal widget. To be fully gtk+ free you would need qt equivalent, and probably a bunch more coding.

Coming along nicely :)

Say what ^^ ... Vte is only needed for the Gtk-Part ... Qt takes a terminal self written by me ;) ... it has been just a small mistake in the ebuild ^^
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Soo ... thanks to wolfden, we now have an icon - and additionally: the .desktop-files to make it visible in system menus. as portato has to be run as root, we added gksu/kdesu to the dependencies and they will be run on startup...
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vegan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Mar 2007
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wan't to request option
- sorting packages by installed on top or bottom of the list , this is makeing browsing portage easier.
great app I hate porthole and i'm really looking forward to your app , good luck !
_________________
Go Vegan! For The Sake of Animals
//Gentoo 2007.0/desktop, portage- 2.1.3_rc8, kernel @ 2.6.22-kamikaze1 (CFSv19) i686, "/" REISER4, ~x86, gcc-4.1.2, glibc-2.5-r3
//P4 2.4Ghz, 768 RAM , ATI Radeon X1600pro AGP, P4P800, SB Live ! 5.1, WDC 80GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

okay *add to TODO list*
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ingmarv
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 27 Feb 2007
Posts: 188
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Necoro wrote:
Soo ... thanks to wolfden, we now have an icon - and additionally: the .desktop-files to make it visible in system menus. as portato has to be run as root, we added gksu/kdesu to the dependencies and they will be run on startup...


Thanks :) Now I can launch it from Katapult just like every other program.
However, the .desktop file doesn't work, at least not here. Pasting the command in a terminal shows this. Probably a typo ?

Code:
ingmar@indigo:~$ kdesu -t --nonewdcop -c portato qt
_IceTrans
SocketUNIXConnect: Cannot connect to non-local host p086h089
Qt: Session management error: Could not open network socket
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/portato", line 57, in ?

main()
  File "/usr/bin/portato", line 54, in main
    run()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/portato/gui/qt/__init__.py", line 18, in run

m = MainWindow()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/portato/gui/qt/windows.py", line 602, in __init__

plugin.load_plugins("qt")
  File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/portato/plugin.py", line 466, in load_plugins

__plugins = PluginQueue(frontend)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/portato/plugin.py", line 254, in __init__

self._load()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/portato/plugin.py", line 339, in _load

plugins = filter(lambda x: x.endswith(".xml"), os.listdir(PLUGIN_DIR))
OSError
:
[Errno 2] Onbekend bestand of map: '/usr/share/portato//plugins'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem is not the .desktop file, but this error-message:
Code:
[Errno 2] Onbekend bestand of map: '/usr/share/portato//plugins'
(which I think should mean 'No such file or directory')
Does this directory exist?

What useflags do you have set for portato?

/edit: Solved: Portage removed the plugin-directory if no plugins have been installed. Added "keepdir"-call to all ebuilds. So please update the ebuilds and try a re-emerge :)
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ingmarv
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 27 Feb 2007
Posts: 188
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Necoro wrote:

/edit: Solved: Portage removed the plugin-directory if no plugins have been installed. Added "keepdir"-call to all ebuilds. So please update the ebuilds and try a re-emerge :)


Thanks for the quick-fix, it works perfectly now!

:-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wolfden
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Oct 2004
Posts: 102
Location: Midwest

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I went to emerge this on a gnome system and it wants to pull in KDE packages

kdesu, kdelibs 8O don't want them installed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wolfden wrote:
I went to emerge this on a gnome system and it wants to pull in KDE packages

kdesu, kdelibs 8O don't want them installed

do not set the qt4-Flag ... :)
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wolfden
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Oct 2004
Posts: 102
Location: Midwest

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks, will add that to the package.use than

I should of thought of that myself, but it's been a long day and ready for bed

:D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 8:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vegan wrote:
I wan't to request option
- sorting packages by installed on top or bottom of the list , this is makeing browsing portage easier.

Done finally (in the SVN version)

(GTK: Click at the package list header
Qt: Left click on the package list and select menu)
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vegan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Mar 2007
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks :)
Can you explain me this "etcproposals" "noroot" USE flags ?
_________________
Go Vegan! For The Sake of Animals
//Gentoo 2007.0/desktop, portage- 2.1.3_rc8, kernel @ 2.6.22-kamikaze1 (CFSv19) i686, "/" REISER4, ~x86, gcc-4.1.2, glibc-2.5-r3
//P4 2.4Ghz, 768 RAM , ATI Radeon X1600pro AGP, P4P800, SB Live ! 5.1, WDC 80GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 18, 19, 20  Next
Page 3 of 20

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum