Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] OpenOffice 2.1.0 fails: Bytecode error
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
labba
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 178
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 8:43 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] OpenOffice 2.1.0 fails: Bytecode error Reply with quote

Hi!
I get the following error when trying to emerge openoffice-2.1.0:

Code:
checking whether to add custom build version... yes, Build 2.1
checking whether to build with Java support... yes
checking the installed JDK... ./configure: line 10248: test: 0
10500: integer expression expected
checked (JDK
1.5.0_10)
checking for target java bytecode version... ./configure: line 10285: test: too many arguments
configure: error: Unable to guess java bytecode version from java version!
make: *** [stamp/build] Fehler 1

!!! ERROR: app-office/openoffice-2.1.0 failed.
Call stack:
  ebuild.sh, line 1546:   Called dyn_compile
  ebuild.sh, line 937:   Called src_compile
  openoffice-2.1.0.ebuild, line 317:   Called die

!!! Build failed
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.

!!! When you file a bug report, please include the following information:
GENTOO_VM=sun-jdk-1.5  CLASSPATH="" JAVA_HOME="/opt/sun-jdk-1.5.0.10"
JAVACFLAGS="-source 1.4 -target 1.4" COMPILER=""
and of course, the output of emerge --info



emerge --info:

Code:

Portage 2.1.1-r2 (default-linux/x86/2006.0, gcc-4.1.1, glibc-2.4-r4, 2.6.17-ck1 i686)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.17-ck1 i686 AMD Athlon(tm)
Gentoo Base System version 1.12.6
Last Sync: Mon, 15 Jan 2007 16:30:01 +0000
distcc 2.18.3 i686-pc-linux-gnu (protocols 1 and 2) (default port 3632) [disabled]
ccache version 2.4 [enabled]
app-admin/eselect-compiler: [Not Present]
dev-java/java-config: 1.3.7, 2.0.31-r2
dev-lang/python:     2.3.5, 2.4.3-r4
dev-python/pycrypto: 2.0.1-r5
dev-util/ccache:     2.4-r6
dev-util/confcache:  [Not Present]
sys-apps/sandbox:    1.2.17
sys-devel/autoconf:  2.13, 2.61
sys-devel/automake:  1.4_p6, 1.5, 1.6.3, 1.7.9-r1, 1.8.5-r3, 1.9.6-r2, 1.10
sys-devel/binutils:  2.16.1-r3
sys-devel/gcc-config: 1.3.14
sys-devel/libtool:   1.5.22
virtual/os-headers:  2.6.17-r2
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CBUILD="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=athlon-xp -fomit-frame-pointer -pipe"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/kde/3.3/env /usr/kde/3.3/share/config /usr/kde/3.3/shutdown /usr/kde/3.5/env /usr/kde/3.5/share/config /usr/kde/3.5/shutdown /usr/share/X11/xkb /usr/share/config"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/env.d /etc/env.d/java/ /etc/gconf /etc/java-config/vms/ /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/terminfo /etc/texmf/web2c"
CXXFLAGS="-O2 -march=athlon-xp -fomit-frame-pointer -pipe"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="autoconfig ccache distlocks metadata-transfer parallel-fetch sandbox sfperms strict"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://distfiles.gentoo.org http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/gentoo"
LANG="de_DE@euro"
LC_ALL="de_DE@euro"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1"
LINGUAS="de"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --delete-after --stats --timeout=180 --exclude='/distfiles' --exclude='/local' --exclude='/packages'"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/root/overlay /root/overlay/xeffects/experimental /root/overlay/xeffects/trunk"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="3dnow X alsa alsa_cards_emu10k1 alsa_pcm_plugins_adpcm alsa_pcm_plugins_alaw alsa_pcm_plugins_asym alsa_pcm_plugins_copy alsa_pcm_plugins_dmix alsa_pcm_plugins_dshare alsa_pcm_plugins_dsnoop alsa_pcm_plugins_empty alsa_pcm_plugins_extplug alsa_pcm_plugins_file alsa_pcm_plugins_hooks alsa_pcm_plugins_iec958 alsa_pcm_plugins_ioplug alsa_pcm_plugins_ladspa alsa_pcm_plugins_lfloat alsa_pcm_plugins_linear alsa_pcm_plugins_meter alsa_pcm_plugins_mulaw alsa_pcm_plugins_multi alsa_pcm_plugins_null alsa_pcm_plugins_plug alsa_pcm_plugins_rate alsa_pcm_plugins_route alsa_pcm_plugins_share alsa_pcm_plugins_shm alsa_pcm_plugins_softvol apache2 apm arts berkdb bitmap-fonts cli cracklib crypt cups dlloader dri eds elibc_glibc emboss encode foomaticdb fortran gdbm gif gpm gstreamer gtk gtk2 iconv imlib input_devices_keyboard input_devices_mouse ipv6 isdnlog jpeg kde kdeenablefinal kdehiddenvisibility kernel_linux libg++ libwww linguas_de mad mikmod mmx motif mp3 mpeg ncurses nls nptl nptlonly ogg opengl oss pam pcre perl png pnp ppds pppd python qt qt3 qt4 quicktime readline reflection samba sdl session spell spl sse ssl tcpd tiff truetype truetype-fonts type1-fonts udev usb userland_GNU video_cards_nv video_cards_nvidia video_cards_v4l video_cards_vesa vorbis x86 xml xorg xv zlib"
Unset:  CTARGET, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, INSTALL_MASK, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS


This error was also present with openoffice-2.0.4. Any suggestions?


Last edited by labba on Mon Mar 05, 2007 10:35 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
santaclaws
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2007
Posts: 161
Location: Deeper Underground

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe you could re-emerge java.

What ist the output of
Code:
 java-config -L
?

(If nothing helps I would use openoffice-bin)
_________________
Software is like sex. It is better when ist is free.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
labba
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 178
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

That's what java-config -L says:
Code:
*)      Sun JDK 1.4.2.13 [sun-jdk-1.4]
2)      Sun JDK 1.5.0.10 [sun-jdk-1.5]
3)      Sun JDK 1.6.0 [sun-jdk-1.6]


Reemerging java doesn't help...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
santaclaws
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2007
Posts: 161
Location: Deeper Underground

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there..

Have you tried to change your java config?

Code:
java-config -S
or with
Code:
java-config -s


Maybe uninstall sun-jdk-1.6.0,switch to sun-jdk-1.5.0 as I described above and then re-emerge open-office.
_________________
Software is like sex. It is better when ist is free.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
labba
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 178
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey santaclaws,

yes I already tried that: I changed the jdk to 1.5 and even 1.6 but that didn't solve the problem. The strange thing is that it doesn't matter which jdk I use (by setting it with java-config -S) I will always get the following error:
Code:
checking the installed JDK... ./configure: line 10248: test: 0
10500: integer expression expected
****checked (JDK 1.5.0_10)****


And also notice that it says "GENTOO_VM=sun-jdk-1.5" although java-config is set to Sun JDK 1.4.2.13. Maybe that's the problem... Why is portage using jdk 1.5?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
santaclaws
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2007
Posts: 161
Location: Deeper Underground

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi labba,

I do not know why portage uses 1.5 (or 1.4 :wink:) :?: I think there are still some apps that need that e.g. azureus
What should be better in 1.6?


BTW have you put the "java" use flag in yout make.conf or did you try to compile openoffice with java flag enabled?

Quote:
And also notice that it says "GENTOO_VM=sun-jdk-1.5" although java-config is set to Sun JDK 1.4.2.13. Maybe that's the problem...


Oh. I do not know. I think it only has to do with the bug report hasn't it?
_________________
Software is like sex. It is better when ist is free.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
labba
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 178
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

yes I have the useflag "java" set, but I don't think this would make a difference...

Some other ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
santaclaws
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2007
Posts: 161
Location: Deeper Underground

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try
Code:
 java-check-environment


Is there any strange output given?

Maybe you can find a hint here: Klickhttp://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/java.xml Or maybe it helps if you do not install a jdk but only a jre.

(BTW have you always done
Code:
env-update && source /etc/profile
and
Code:
etc-update
?)

Last but not least I suggest to write a bug report.
_________________
Software is like sex. It is better when ist is free.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
labba
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 178
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

java-check-environment:
Code:
 * === Java Environment Checker ===
 * The purpose of this script is to check the sanity of your Java Environment.
 * We have significantly changed and improved the way Java is handled in many respects.
 * Please refer to http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/java/java-upgrade.xml for details

 * Checking vm_environment_files ...                                                                                                     [ ok ]

 * Checking user_settings ...
 * Running as root. Don't need to check user settings.                                                                                   [ ok ]

 * Checking generation_1_system_vm ...                                                                                                   [ ok ]

 * Checking virtual_provides ...                                                                                                         [ ok ]

 * Checking overlays_eclasses ...                                                                                                        [ ok ]

 * Java environment is sane. Congratulations


Quote:
Or maybe it helps if you do not install a jdk but only a jre

Does that make sense? I won't be able to compile any java code without a jdk, will I?

Anyone else? Am I really the only one with this problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alistair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 869

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 1:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

santaclaws wrote:
Try
Code:
 java-check-environment


Is there any strange output given?

Maybe you can find a hint here: Klickhttp://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/java.xml Or maybe it helps if you do not install a jdk but only a jre.

(BTW have you always done
Code:
env-update && source /etc/profile
and
Code:
etc-update
?)

Last but not least I suggest to write a bug report.


there is no need to run env-update and source your profile now.


the new java system runs completely seperately from that. /usr/bin/java, /usr/bin/javac are actually a link to /usr/bin/<something> that figures out what the currect vm is and calls the correct command
_________________
______________
Help the gentoo-java project. Visit Gentoo Java Project

what good are admin powers if you don't abuse them for personal gain - mark_alec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
david.stevenson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Nov 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Wiltshire, England

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I have similar problem, if not the same.
Code:

 * Checking generation_1_system_vm ...
 * No Generation-1 System VM is set! (no /etc/env.d/20java)
 * It doesn't look like java-config-1 sees any installed VMs.
 * It is most likely because you don't have a 1.4 JDK installed
 * This is required for generation-1 to work properly.
 * You will want to emerge =virtual/jdk-1.4*                                        [ !! ]

 * Some problems were found. Please follow the instructions above, and rerun java-check-environment
mac-mini david # emerge  -pv virtual/jdk

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R   ] virtual/jdk-1.5.0  0 kB

Total size of downloads: 0 kB
mac-mini david # java-config -L
The following VMs are available for generation-2:
*)      IBM JDK 1.5.0.3 [ibm-jdk-bin-1.5]


I have added the java use flag so I can get the help wizard working.
And I would be happy to try the bin version if there was one for ppc
_________________
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
red-wolf76
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 714
Location: Rhein-Main Area

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The way Java is handled was changed a while back. You need to maintain two sets of vms on your machine to work around old applets trying to access a different ABI, I think.

For generation 1 Java you need the 1.4*, for new generation 2 Java you need either 1.5* or 1.6* (although openoffice seems to stick to 1.5* for now).

You can set both by using java-config (actually, this command should run "java-config-2" for generation 2) and java-config-1 (the old one) to set the respective environment VMs.

hth
_________________
0mFg, G3nt00 r0X0r$ T3h B1g!1111 ;)

Use sane CFLAGS! If for no other reason, do it for the lulz!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
david.stevenson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Nov 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Wiltshire, England

PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you are saying this is a bug in ppc openoffice 2.1, it should be using java-config-2 to detect jdk 1.5* which I have and not using java-config-1 to look for jdk 1.4* which I do not have.

Note I did not have any java jdk till I started this emerge openoffice, it brought in the jdk 1.5*
_________________
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
red-wolf76
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 714
Location: Rhein-Main Area

PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah well, I can't speak for PPC. Strictly an x86 man, myself...
_________________
0mFg, G3nt00 r0X0r$ T3h B1g!1111 ;)

Use sane CFLAGS! If for no other reason, do it for the lulz!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
labba
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 178
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

*bump*

Problem still unsolved :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alistair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 869

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

red-wolf76 wrote:
The way Java is handled was changed a while back. You need to maintain two sets of vms on your machine to work around old applets trying to access a different ABI, I think.

For generation 1 Java you need the 1.4*, for new generation 2 Java you need either 1.5* or 1.6* (although openoffice seems to stick to 1.5* for now).

You can set both by using java-config (actually, this command should run "java-config-2" for generation 2) and java-config-1 (the old one) to set the respective environment VMs.

hth


Generation 2 doesn't require you to have >1.4, it allows you to have greater than 1.4
Java Upgrade Guide wrote:

Generation 1
This generation consists of the existing eclasses (java-pkg, java-utils, and java) and java-config-1. Generation 1 is legacy system that is being phased out.
Generation 2
This generation consists of the new eclasses (java-pkg-2, java-pkg-opt-2, java-ant-2, and java-utils-2) and the new version of java-config. This is the generation that we are migrating towards.


Generation 1 only exists still because there are generation 1 packages within the portage tree. After that it will be purely an 'archive'.

Quote:

1. Why was Java 1.5 hard-masked for so long?

Java 1.5 was hard masked forever because there were a number of issues which made it unsafe to use a 1.5 JDK as your system VM.

The first issue with Java 1.5 was backwards compatibility. If you compile packages with a 1.5 JDK, the default behavior is that the compiled classes can only be used in a 1.5 or above VM.

The other significant issue is that there are packages which are not compatible with JDK 1.5, as they currently exist in the portage tree. For example, several abstract classes and interfaces now have new abstract methods in 1.5. This means that packages would need to be patched to override these abstract methods. Failing that, you could also try using 1.4 to compile the offending package. However, due to the backwards compatibility problem mentioned above, you wouldn't be able to use external libraries, because they were compiled only for 1.5.


Generation 2 allows the management of packages irrespective of the version of java you compile it with.
A package that have DEPEND=">=virtual/jdk-1.4" and RDEPEND=">=virtual/jre-1.4" will automatically use a jdk >= 1.4 yet (thru a number of solutions) pass -source and -target flags to the java compiler so that 1.4 java classes are produced.

Within generation 1 using sun-1.5 would always produce 1.5 class files (therefore making that package impossible for use in building or running other packages that required a 1.4 vm).
_________________
______________
Help the gentoo-java project. Visit Gentoo Java Project

what good are admin powers if you don't abuse them for personal gain - mark_alec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alistair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 869

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try emerging =virtual/jdk-1.4*
_________________
______________
Help the gentoo-java project. Visit Gentoo Java Project

what good are admin powers if you don't abuse them for personal gain - mark_alec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
labba
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 178
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
merge =virtual/jdk-1.4* -pv

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R   ] virtual/jdk-1.4.2  0 kB
[ebuild   RF  ] dev-java/sun-jdk-1.4.2.13  USE="X alsa doc nsplugin -examples -jce" 35,510 kB

Total: 2 packages (2 reinstalls), Size of downloads: 35,510 kB
Fetch Restriction: 1 package (1 unsatisfied)


This is already installed on my system. Will try to reemerge but I don't think this will help.

alistair, do you have some other ideas? If you need more information about my system, let me know :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alistair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 869

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 12:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know your already posted this info but just so I can attempt to reproduce your system fairly closely (im actually on amd64, but it shouldn't matter)


java-config-1 -L
java-config-2 -L

emerge --info
java-check-environment (as root and your user)
_________________
______________
Help the gentoo-java project. Visit Gentoo Java Project

what good are admin powers if you don't abuse them for personal gain - mark_alec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
labba
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 178
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
java-config-1 -L
The following JDKs are available for generation-1:
*)      Sun JDK 1.4.2.13 [sun-jdk-1.4.2.13]

Code:

java-config-2 -L
The following VMs are available for generation-2:
1)      Sun JDK 1.4.2.13 [sun-jdk-1.4]
*)      Sun JDK 1.5.0.11 [sun-jdk-1.5]
3)      Sun JDK 1.6.0 [sun-jdk-1.6]

Code:

emerge --info
Portage 2.1.2-r9 (default-linux/x86/2006.0, gcc-4.1.1, glibc-2.5-r0, 2.6.17-ck1 i686)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.17-ck1 i686 AMD Athlon(tm)
Gentoo Base System release 1.12.9
Timestamp of tree: Mon, 19 Feb 2007 17:00:01 +0000
distcc 2.18.3 i686-pc-linux-gnu (protocols 1 and 2) (default port 3632) [disabled]
ccache version 2.4 [enabled]
dev-java/java-config: 1.3.7, 2.0.31-r3
dev-lang/python:     2.3.5-r3, 2.4.3-r4
dev-python/pycrypto: 2.0.1-r5
dev-util/ccache:     2.4-r6
sys-apps/sandbox:    1.2.17
sys-devel/autoconf:  2.13, 2.61
sys-devel/automake:  1.4_p6, 1.5, 1.6.3, 1.7.9-r1, 1.8.5-r3, 1.9.6-r2, 1.10
sys-devel/binutils:  2.16.1-r3
sys-devel/gcc-config: 1.3.14
sys-devel/libtool:   1.5.22
virtual/os-headers:  2.6.17-r2
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CBUILD="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=athlon-xp -fomit-frame-pointer -pipe"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/kde/3.3/env /usr/kde/3.3/share/config /usr/kde/3.3/shutdown /usr/kde/3.5/env /usr/kde/3.5/share/config /usr/kde/3.5/shutdown /usr/share/X11/xkb /usr/share/config"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/env.d /etc/env.d/java/ /etc/gconf /etc/java-config/vms/ /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/terminfo /etc/texmf/web2c"
CXXFLAGS="-O2 -march=athlon-xp -fomit-frame-pointer -pipe"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="autoconfig ccache distlocks metadata-transfer parallel-fetch sandbox sfperms strict"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://distfiles.gentoo.org http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/gentoo"
LANG="de_DE@euro"
LC_ALL="de_DE@euro"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1"
LINGUAS="de"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --delete-after --stats --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/root/overlay /root/overlay/xeffects/experimental /root/overlay/xeffects/trunk"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="3dnow X alsa apache2 apm arts berkdb bitmap-fonts cli cracklib crypt cups dlloader dri eds emboss encode foomaticdb fortran gdbm gif gpm gstreamer gtk gtk2 iconv imlib ipv6 isdnlog jpeg kde kdeenablefinal kdehiddenvisibility libg++ libwww mad midi mikmod mmx motif mp3 mpeg ncurses nls nptl nptlonly ogg opengl oss pam pcre perl png pnp ppds pppd python qt qt3 qt4 quicktime readline reflection samba sdl session spell spl sse ssl tcpd tiff truetype truetype-fonts type1-fonts usb vorbis x86 xml xorg xv zlib" ALSA_CARDS="emu10k1" ALSA_PCM_PLUGINS="adpcm alaw asym copy dmix dshare dsnoop empty extplug file hooks iec958 ioplug ladspa lfloat linear meter mulaw multi null plug rate route share shm softvol" ELIBC="glibc" INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" LINGUAS="de" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="nv nvidia v4l vesa"
Unset:  CTARGET, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, INSTALL_MASK, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS


as root:
Code:

java-check-environment
 * === Java Environment Checker ===
 * The purpose of this script is to check the sanity of your Java Environment.
 * We have significantly changed and improved the way Java is handled in many respects.
 * Please refer to http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/java/java-upgrade.xml for details

 * Checking vm_environment_files ...                                                                                                     [ ok ]

 * Checking user_settings ...
 * Running as root. Don't need to check user settings.                                                                                   [ ok ]

 * Checking generation_1_system_vm ...                                                                                                   [ ok ]

 * Checking virtual_provides ...                                                                                                         [ ok ]

 * Checking overlays_eclasses ...                                                                                                        [ ok ]

 * Java environment is sane. Congratulations!


as user:
Code:

java-check-environment
 * === Java Environment Checker ===
 * The purpose of this script is to check the sanity of your Java Environment.
 * We have significantly changed and improved the way Java is handled in many respects.
 * Please refer to http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/java/java-upgrade.xml for details

 * Checking vm_environment_files ...                                                                                                     [ ok ]

 * Checking user_settings ...                                                                                                            [ ok ]

 * Checking generation_1_system_vm ...                                                                                                   [ ok ]

 * Checking virtual_provides ...                                                                                                         [ ok ]

 * Checking overlays_eclasses ...
!!! Invalid PORTDIR_OVERLAY (not a dir): '/root/overlay'
!!! Invalid PORTDIR_OVERLAY (not a dir): '/root/overlay/xeffects/experimental'
!!! Invalid PORTDIR_OVERLAY (not a dir): '/root/overlay/xeffects/trunk'                                                                  [ ok ]

 * Java environment is sane. Congratulations!


I hope this helps to reproduce the error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alistair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 869

PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 6:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you running java-config-1 & java-config-2 are root or your user?
_________________
______________
Help the gentoo-java project. Visit Gentoo Java Project

what good are admin powers if you don't abuse them for personal gain - mark_alec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
labba
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 178
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This was as root. Do you need the output as normal user, too?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alistair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 869

PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

shouldn't do.....

Let me have a think about what going on here and also a little play around. You might want to come over to irc://freenode/#gentoo-java and ask the guys there. They may have experience with this
_________________
______________
Help the gentoo-java project. Visit Gentoo Java Project

what good are admin powers if you don't abuse them for personal gain - mark_alec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
labba
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 178
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*bump*

Any news, alistair?

Someone else?

This is so annoying :evil:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Betelgeuse
Developer
Developer


Joined: 10 Aug 2004
Posts: 12
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 10:03 pm    Post subject: This is caused by weird env Reply with quote

This seems to be caused by having
Code:
 _JAVA_OPTIONS=-Dswing.aatext=true
defined in the environment. Now we just need to find what is putting this to the environment because I have never seen this before. As a workaround at this time you can
Code:
unset _JAVA_OPTIONS
before emerging openoffice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum