View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
chrisfreet
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:19 pm    Post subject: Why I don't care if you are dropping recommend of Gentoo Reply with quote

I've been using Linux exclusively for about 10 years, maybe more. Over the 10 years, I've tried every distribution, and never really had a favorite until now: Gentoo.

About 6 years ago, my brother-in-law introduced me to Slackware, and I liked it a lot because it was simple to set up, and very stable. VERY stable. A little too stable... I wanted to learn about the OS, to fix problems and learn hands-on, and Slackware was so stable nothing ever broke because everything ran like clockwork. One of the other things I admired about Slackware was the unobtrusive nature of the distribution itself, in that it was the most purely un-distribution like distribution. It had no identity other than the installer, and I liked the autonomy.

While I used Slackware, I searched for other distros to use and install in the hopes I could break it and fix whatever needed fixing. During this search, I found Gentoo. Gentoo was totally different from any other distribution in the seeming complexity of the installation (all the by-hand editing and piece-wise install techniques) and it seemed almost too daunting for someone with only 3 or 4 years of experience, at the time, using Linux. But, nevertheless I strugged with it and managed to install the base system, from bootstraping all the way to installing X. It took FOREVER, and I broke a lot of stuff (intentionally, sometimes), which really was the point for me.