Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE4 Overlay - monolithic ebuilds
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 29, 30, 31  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Zephyrus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 10:17 pm    Post subject: KDE4 Overlay - monolithic ebuilds Reply with quote

NOTES
IMPORTANT:

  1. We're not responsible for any damage these ebuilds can do to your computer.
  2. Do _NOT_ report bugs to gentoo dev trough gentoo bugzilla. This overlay is not supported in any way.
  3. Do _NOT_ sync too often with the SVN.

I'll repeat this since someone disturbed some gentoo devs for problems with this overlay:
PLEASE DO NOT REPORT/COMPLAIN/ASK FOR HELP ANYWHERE ELSE THAN HERE.


The documentation is now hosted here: http://overlays.gentoo.org/proj/kde/wiki

**************
Hi, I've an announcement to all the users of the KDE4 overlay.
As some of you have probably already noted, recently I've been less active than usually. There's a reason behind that: my university schedule is becoming increasingly tight and I can't manage to follow the overlay development anymore. :( I hope that you can understand my position. I'd like to thanks anyone which worked on the overlay with me and all the users which decided to try this overlay (and its numerous bugs).


Last edited by Zephyrus on Thu Oct 11, 2007 6:43 pm; edited 37 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Conan
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Nov 2004
Posts: 360

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could I suggesting using the -cvs suffix portage now supports to denote live ebuilds instead of arbitrary version numbers? makes more sense :)

(Yes I know that its svn and not cvs, but portage just uses -cvs for live ebuilds).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great work! I already love okular, which is the only kde4 thing I'm interested in and using atm.

No idea why SVN ebuilds should be named -cvs, just call it -svn, like x264-svn, uim-svn, irssi-svn etc.
Or does portage spit out a special ewarn/info with -cvs? And if yes, why not with -svn? :P

But indeed, -svn would be good, or just kdebase4 kdelibs4 etc, some naming diffrence to current kde.
_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zephyrus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 10:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I can put the -svn at the end of the name, but I still have to give to the package a version number. Therefore it could be something like kdelibs-svn-4.
I used "5" as version because this is conventionally used by the old kde3 live ebuilds.


Last edited by Zephyrus on Mon Jan 08, 2007 2:54 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, at least for the kde* ebuilds that would superseed current kde3 versions.
For the others like poppler it would just cause depend chaos, in that case using -9999 is the "default" in portage if there is a default at all. At least vapier uses that for enlightenment 0.17 and its libs ecore, edje etc.
_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Conan
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Nov 2004
Posts: 360

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As of portage 2.1 portage now supports a -cvs suffix. This could be used instead of a version number, at least I believe thats what the news file is implying.

EDIT: actually, it appears to be a cvs- prefix.. still the same behavior though, just kind of confusing.. not sure what that does to package names.

EDIT2: err its a prefix-to-the-suffix. which I think means cat/package-cvs-version is a valid name.


Last edited by Conan on Mon Jan 08, 2007 5:17 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Conan wrote:
As of portage 2.1 portage now supports a -cvs suffix. This could be used instead of a version number, at least I believe thats what the news file is implying.

And they really forgot about svn? That would be poor.
No offense intended whatsoever, I'm just wondering and didn't know about the -cvs suffix feature yet.
_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Conan
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Nov 2004
Posts: 360

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 11:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think they just decided to use -cvs to imply all live sources ebuilds as to most users the difference isn't apparent :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
baigsabeeh
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Sep 2005
Posts: 520
Location: North Brunswick, NJ

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know why, but I just hate the way KDE looks. Gnome looks so much cleaner.
_________________
BSD > SysV > Linux
BSD FTW!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Conan
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Nov 2004
Posts: 360

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

that has nothing to do with this thread, please troll on slashdot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brot
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 320

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
Calculating dependencies... done!
!!! Error: circular dependencies:

('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/kdelibs-5', 'merge') depends on
   ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/kdepimlibs-5', 'merge') (hard)
('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/kdepimlibs-5', 'merge') depends on
   ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/kdelibs-5', 'merge') (hard)


I think that kdelibs shouldnt depend on kdepimlibs. Well - thanks for the overlay ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zephyrus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, that's definitely wrong. :(
It should be fixed in the new revision. Please sync and check if the bug is resolved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brot
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 320

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zephyrus wrote:
Please sync and check if the bug is resolved.


Seems like its working now. Thanks for fixing it ;)

Now its time to play arround with kde4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArneBab
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 370
Location: Graben-Neudorf, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can I somehow keep HAL from requesting < dbus-0.90?

Same for net-dns/avahi...

for the time being, I removed the use-flags and added gnome-vfs to the package.mask...
=gnome-base/gnome-vfs-2.16.3

Wishes,
Arne
_________________
Being unpolitical means being political without realizing it. - Arne Babenhauserheide ( http://draketo.de )

pkgcore: So fast that it feels unreal - by doing only what is needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zephyrus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried installing dev-libs/dbus-glib and dev-python/dbus-python?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rainmaker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Feb 2004
Posts: 1650
Location: /home/NL/ehv/

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 2:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just checked out the overlay, but a emerge -uDv world just gives me:
Code:
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating world dependencies... done!
[ebuild  N    ] dev-util/cmake-2.4.5  2,543 kB
[ebuild     U ] app-text/poppler-0.5.99 [0.5.4] USE="jpeg zlib -cjk" 0 kB [7]
[ebuild     U ] media-libs/taglib-1.4.99 [1.4-r1] USE="-debug" 0 kB [7]
[ebuild  NS   ] kde-base/kdelibs-5  USE="acl alsa bzip2 cups fam spell ssl tiff -debug -doc -jpeg2k -kdeenablefinal -kerberos -openexr -pie -zeroconf" 0 kB [7]
[ebuild  N    ] kde-base/kdepimlibs-5  USE="ldap -debug -kdeenablefinal -pie -sasl" 0 kB [7]
[ebuild  NS   ] kde-base/kdebase-5  USE="bzip2 opengl samba ssl -debug -ieee1394 -kdeenablefinal -lm_sensors -openexr -pie -usb -xkb" 0 kB [7]
[ebuild     U ] app-text/poppler-bindings-0.5.99 [0.5.4] USE="cairo gtk qt3 qt4" 0 kB [7]


Where are kdemultimedia and friends?
_________________
If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with bullshit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zephyrus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems that i can't replicate your problem :( .
Are you sure you have unmasked them?
Rember that if you want to use emerge -uDv to install these ebuilds, you must have installed the old versions (in fact you're doing an upgrade).
What is the result of emerge -vp =kde-base/kdemultimedia-5?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rainmaker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Feb 2004
Posts: 1650
Location: /home/NL/ehv/

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm, looks like the KDE "meta" ebuild didn't pull in all the deps it promised...

Code:
 Medusa ~ $ emerge -vp =kde-base/kdemultimedia-5

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild  N    ] kde-base/kdepimlibs-5  USE="ldap -debug -kdeenablefinal -pie -sasl" 0 kB [7]
[ebuild  NS   ] kde-base/kdebase-5  USE="bzip2 opengl samba ssl -debug -ieee1394 -kdeenablefinal -lm_sensors -openexr -pie -usb -xkb" 0 kB [7]
[ebuild  NS   ] kde-base/kdemultimedia-5  USE="alsa flac gstreamer musicbrainz theora vorbis -akode -debug -kdeenablefinal -pie -taglib -tunepimp -xine" 0 kB [7]


Thanks for the tip, pretty stupid I didn't try this before posting :P

Why isn't there a kde-base/kde-5 meta ebuild by the way?
_________________
If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with bullshit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zephyrus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Added kde meta ebuild :)
I also imported the kdewebdev and kdevelop ebuilds in the git repository, but do not use them at the moment because they are work in progress.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zephyrus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:( Bad news. It seems that one of the last kde svn commit has completely broken the kdebase ebuild.
I'm working on a fix (or maybe a temporary workaround since i don't have much time to work on the overlay due to university exam session).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArneBab
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 370
Location: Graben-Neudorf, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there a reson, why you use slot 0 instead of slot 4?
_________________
Being unpolitical means being political without realizing it. - Arne Babenhauserheide ( http://draketo.de )

pkgcore: So fast that it feels unreal - by doing only what is needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zephyrus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Slot 0? It should be 5.0
Code:

cat /var/db/pkg/kde-base/kdelibs-5/SLOT
5.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArneBab
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 370
Location: Graben-Neudorf, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 11:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

THat's what eix gives me:

Code:
[U] kde-base/kdelibs
     Available versions:
        (3.5)   3.5.2-r6 ~3.5.5-r4 3.5.5-r5 ~3.5.5-r6 ~3.5.5-r7 [M]~3.5.6
        (0)     (*)3.80.2[1] (*)5[1]
        (4)     *3.99.99[2]

Code:
[1] /usr/portage/local/layman/kde
[2] /usr/local/overlays/kde4svn


Wishes,
Arne
_________________
Being unpolitical means being political without realizing it. - Arne Babenhauserheide ( http://draketo.de )

pkgcore: So fast that it feels unreal - by doing only what is needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zephyrus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm investigating the problem, however I'd trust the world db ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kuschelkriterium
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Nov 2004
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For some days now, emerging kdelibs-5 dies during installing with the following error:

Quote:

>>> Completed installing kdelibs-5 into /var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-5/image/

--------------------------- ACCESS VIOLATION SUMMARY ---------------------------
LOG FILE = "/var/log/sandbox/sandbox-kde-base_-_kdelibs-5-11563.log"

symlink: /usr/kde/svn/share/doc/HTML/en/sonnet/common
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
!!! This ebuild is from an overlay: '/usr/portage/local/layman/kde'


Anyone experiencing the same? Any ideas?

I'm running ~amd64; further information will follow if needed.

Thanks in advance
_________________
And as in uffish thought he stood/The Jabberwock, with eyes of flame/Came whiffling through the tulgey wood/And burbled as it came!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 29, 30, 31  Next
Page 1 of 31

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum