The Case of the Missing Applications
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Kilian
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2003 5:19 pm    Post subject: The Case of the Missing Applications Reply with quote

I've been running linux server systems for about 6 years now, and I've run linux on the desktop on one of my secondary machines for nearly 3 years. But just recently I've tried to migrate my main workstation to linux, and found things seriously lacking.

I do a variety of things with my computer, including but not strictly limited to web and graphic design, programming, and network management. So, to be brief and to the point, here's what I really need replacements for:

• Dreamweaver
    I can write the HTML by hand, but I need something on par with Dreamweaver's site management tools. I like it repairing links when I rename files, checking for broken ones for me, and generally taking care of the otherwise time consuming management of the site. Without this, the wasted time builds up too fast. This is an absolute must have.
  • Flash
    There are libraries and tools, but nothing that even comes close to Macromedia's GUI. Again, another must-have.
  • Photoshop OR Paint Shop Pro
    ... and don't even think about telling me to use GIMP. It is tried and has been found seriously wanting. I'm told and have even been shown that it can do most everything Photoshop can, but only through obscure technics and endless searching for functionality. I need something better.

Running these things in wine or vmware is also not an option. I need native environment speeds. If there's a great replacement out there that I'm missing, I'll be overjoyed to hear about it, but unfortunately, until there are more good production apps of this calibre for linux, I won't be able to run it as my day to day workstation.
paranode
l33t
l33t