Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[HOWTO] ATI Radeon overclocking
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
BetterUnborn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2004
Posts: 57
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 9:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
n Powerstate 2 i get

Core: 418.50 MHz, Mem: 364.50 MHz


Same for me here, got an X600 Mobility.
Code:
aticonfig --list-powerstates
    core/mem      [flags]
-----------------
* 1: 105/122 MHz  [low voltage]
  2: 209/182 MHz  [low voltage]
  3: 392/250 MHz  [overdrive, default state]

Changing the frequencies with rovlock in powerstates 1 or 2 doesn't seem to have any effect on power consumption at all. No matter what I do, I always get the same ~1220 mA current drawn from my battery (state 1). Only if I go to low with the frequency, I get a system hang. Maybe it's insignificant then, in undervolted state frequency doesn't matter too much.

ATI's PowerPlay not only undervolts and underclocks, if you have PCI express, it also disables PCI-lanes (at least windows drivers do so). I've read that the 16 lanes PCIexpress in normal state provides consume something around 6-7W (!). 6 W@12V -> 200mA extra current ... and somehow this number was familiar to me. I've noticed a strange fluctuation in power consumption, sometimes the current my notebook needs switches down to ~1000mA ... compared to the number above, this could just be my PCIexpress. I never noticed any change in system performance this fluctuation was related to, nor did I switch off any components, nor was it related to harddisk or fan activity. The only noticeable thing was some extra heat.
Could it be that switching off PCI lanes is somehow "unstable"? And something tries to re-enable them? Where can I find system information about my PCI express?
_________________
Treffen sich zwei Planeten.
Sagt der eine: "Oh, gehts mir schlecht! Ich hab homo sapiens!"
Antwortet der andere: "Keine Angst, das kenn' ich. Geht schnell vorbei!"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richard77
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Apr 2004
Posts: 281

PostPosted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works well also with my R9200:

stock frequency: 250/200 (GPU/mem)
glxgears: 1365

underclock: 100/150 (GPU/mem)
glxgears: 776

underclock: 200/150 (GPU/mem)
glxgears: 1000
Some artifact due maybe to GPU to much clocked vs memory

overclock: 250/250 (GPU/mem)
glxgears: 1620

overclock: 280/280 (GPU/mem)
glxgears: 1830

overclock: 280/300 (GPU/mem)
glxgears: 1910

overclock: 290/300 (GPU/mem)
glxgears: 1940

aiming for 2000:
overclock: 280/330 (GPU/mem)
glxgears: 2020
a lot of artifacts

Just to have more data for charts:

underclock: 190/200 (GPU/mem)
glxgears: 1260

Let's see how much low we can go:

underclock: 50/120 (GPU/mem)
a lot of artifacts, no glxgears. Same artifacts with 100/120

underclock: 50/150 (GPU/mem)
glxgears: 450, artifacts only with glxgears

underclock: 80/150 (GPU/mem)
glxgears: 675. No artifacts.

140 for memory is to low (artifacts)

I think that i will leave it underclock (hey, its 32°C now, at 8pm, and no conditioning in my house).



Thanks for your programming skill proof

federico
_________________
Fletto i muscoli e sono nel vuoto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zietbukuel
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 607

PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 3:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone knows how to make this permanent?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
synss
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 282
Location: Dijon > Berlin > Tokyo > Nürnberg > München

PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zietbukuel wrote:
Anyone knows how to make this permanent?


To make it permanent, just write an initscript or put the command into /etc/conf.d/local.start
_________________
Compress portage tree
Elog viewer
Autodetect swap
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zietbukuel
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 607

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JuMPeRfLy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2004
Posts: 30
Location: Bangor, Wales

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the command in my local.start which works until I start X, then the default clocks are loaded. Anyone know why this would happen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zietbukuel
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 607

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JuMPeRfLy wrote:
I have the command in my local.start which works until I start X, then the default clocks are loaded. Anyone know why this would happen?


I have done this:

Created an executable file in /etc/init.d named rovclock with the contents:

Code:
#!/sbin/runscript
start() {
        rovclock -c 340 -m 250
}

stop(){
        rovclock -c 310 -m 190
}


This is form my card, change the values to fit your needs.
Then do this:
Code:

rc-update add rovclock default


And it should work :) (at least works for me...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shimbob
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Sep 2003
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm getting 0mhz for my memory speed.
This is on an Asus Pundit-R, w/ ATI 9100IGP chipset

Code:
zlab cpufreq # rovclock -i
Radeon overclock 0.6e by Hasw (hasw@hasw.net)

Found ATI card on 01:05, device id: 0x5834
I/O base address: 0xd000
Video BIOS shadow found @ 0xc0000
Reference clock from BIOS: 14.32 MHz
Memory size: 1024 kB
Memory channels: 3, CD,CH only: 0
tRcdRD:   5
tRcdWR:   8
tRP:      8
tRAS:     18
tRRD:     3
tR2W-CL:  2
tWR:      1
tW2R:     3
tW2Rsb:   0
tR2R:     2
tRFC:     13
tWL(0.5): 0
tCAS:     6
tCMD:     0
tSTR:     0
XTAL: 14.32 MHz, RefDiv: 13

Core: 100.24 MHz, Mem: 0.0 MHz


Code:
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon 9100 IGP (prog-if 00 [VGA])
        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Unknown device 8107
        Flags: bus master, 66MHz, medium devsel, latency 96, IRQ 11
        Memory at e8000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=64M]
        I/O ports at d000 [size=256]
        Memory at fda00000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
        Expansion ROM at fd900000 [disabled] [size=128K]
        Capabilities: [58] AGP version 3.0
        Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
inet_igor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 12:12 am    Post subject: overclocking integrated graphics Reply with quote

Thank you for making this code available!

What is involved in getting support for integrated mobile graphics (express 1100, 1250) overclocking?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SteveBallmersChair
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Jul 2006
Posts: 84
Location: Being thrown around in Redmond

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get the same "invalid reference clock from BIOS: 0.0 MHz" when I ran rovclock -i on my Radeon x1900GT. I think that it might have something to do with the kernel not fully recognizing the GPU ("unknown device 724b")
Code:

/usr/sbin/lspci -vv
05:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Unknown device 724b (prog-if 00 [VGA])
        Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc Unknown device 0b12
        Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
        Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
        Latency: 0, Cache Line Size 08
        Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 58
        Region 0: Memory at d0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
        Region 2: Memory at fd7f0000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
        Region 4: I/O ports at 6c00 [size=256]
        [virtual] Expansion ROM at fd700000 [disabled] [size=128K]
        Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
                Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
                Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
        Capabilities: [58] Express Endpoint IRQ 0
                Device: Supported: MaxPayload 128 bytes, PhantFunc 0, ExtTag+
                Device: Latency L0s <4us, L1 unlimited
                Device: AtnBtn- AtnInd- PwrInd-
                Device: Errors: Correctable- Non-Fatal- Fatal- Unsupported-
                Device: RlxdOrd+ ExtTag- PhantFunc- AuxPwr- NoSnoop+
                Device: MaxPayload 128 bytes, MaxReadReq 128 bytes
                Link: Supported Speed 2.5Gb/s, Width x16, ASPM L0s L1, Port 0
                Link: Latency L0s <64ns, L1 <1us
                Link: ASPM Disabled RCB 64 bytes CommClk- ExtSynch-
                Link: Speed 2.5Gb/s, Width x16
        Capabilities: [80] Message Signalled Interrupts: 64bit+ Queue=0/0 Enable-
                Address: 0000000000000000  Data: 0000

_________________
Unix is user friendly- it is just picky who its friends are.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberPinguin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 510
Location: 2416.94 Miles From Home

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have an ATI Radeon Mobility 7500 in my laptop, ChipID 0x4C57, with 32MB shared RAM. Compaq crippled the BIOS in this thing, so I can't change the amount of RAM shared to video without doubling the amount of RAM in the computer. I haven't been able to find a decent group of settings for overclocking this video card. Can anyone share their wisdom on this?
Code:
#lspci -vv
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Mobility M7 LW [Radeon Mobility 7500] (prog-if 00 [VGA])
   Subsystem: Compaq Computer Corporation Unknown device 00b7
   Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping+ SERR- FastB2B-
   Status: Cap+ 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
   Latency: 66 (2000ns min), Cache Line Size: 32 bytes
   Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 11
   Region 0: Memory at 48000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=128M]
   Region 1: I/O ports at 3000 [size=256]
   Region 2: Memory at 40400000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
   [virtual] Expansion ROM at 40420000 [disabled] [size=128K]
   Capabilities: [58] AGP version 2.0
      Status: RQ=48 Iso- ArqSz=0 Cal=0 SBA+ ITACoh- GART64- HTrans- 64bit- FW- AGP3- Rate=x1,x2,x4
      Command: RQ=32 ArqSz=0 Cal=0 SBA+ AGP+ GART64- 64bit- FW- Rate=x4
   Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
      Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
      Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-

Device Section of xorg.conf:
Code:
Section "Device"
    Identifier "Radeon 7500[0]"
    Driver     "radeon"
    BusID      "PCI:1:00:0"
    Option     "EnablePageFlip" "true"
    Option     "BackingStore"  "true"
    Option     "RenderAccel"   "true"
    Option     "AGPFastWrite"  "true"
    #Option     "AccelMethod"   "xaa"
    Option     "AccelMethod"   "exa"
    Option     "AGPMode"       "4"
    Option      "GARTSize" "64"
    Option      "ColorTiling" "1"
    Option     "DDC"
    Option     "MergedNonRectangular" "true"
    Option     "DynamicClocks" "true"
    Option     "MergedFB"      "true"
    Option     "CRT2Hsync"      "30-121"
    Option     "CRT2VRefresh"   "60"
    Option     "MetaModes"      "1024x768-1280x1024 1024x768"
    Option     "CRT2 Position"  "RightOf"
    Option     "BIOSHotkeys"    "on"
EndSection

Code:
#rovclock -i
Radeon overclock 0.6e by Hasw (hasw@hasw.net)

Found ATI card on 01:00, device id: 0x4c57
I/O base address: 0x3000
Video BIOS shadow found @ 0xc0000
Reference clock from BIOS: 27.0 MHz
Memory size: 32768 kB
Memory channels: 2, CD,CH only: 0
tRcdRD:   9
tRcdWR:   4
tRP:      8
tRAS:     18
tRRD:     3
tR2W-CL:  3
tWR:      4
tW2R:     2
tW2Rsb:   1
tR2R:     2
tRFC:     20
tWL(0.5): 2
tCAS:     3
tCMD:     0
tSTR:     1
XTAL: 27.0 MHz, RefDiv: 6

Core: 258.75 MHz, Mem: 364.50 MHz

Code:
$glxgears
libGL warning: 3D driver claims to not support visual 0x4b
3216 frames in 5.0 seconds = 643.123 FPS
3213 frames in 5.0 seconds = 642.470 FPS

Thanks!
_________________
aidanjt wrote:
You see, instead of arguing from ignorance, and fear, there is only one way to verify a theory. And that's not by clutching a black book and begging the sky fairy for deliverance from the mad scientists and their big machines.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shimbob
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Sep 2003
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SteveBallmersChair wrote:
I get the same "invalid reference clock from BIOS: 0.0 MHz" when I ran rovclock -i on my Radeon x1900GT. I think that it might have something to do with the kernel not fully recognizing the GPU ("unknown device 724b")


I believe the output of lspci does not rely on the kernel, but on /usr/share/misc/pci.ids
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberPinguin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 510
Location: 2416.94 Miles From Home

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 6:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got all my timings/etc. figured out. Just in case anyone else needs the info for a Radeon Mobility M7 7500 card (yes, I know it's pretty old, but...):
Code:
UberPinguin ubrpngn # rovclock -i
Radeon overclock 0.6e by Hasw (hasw@hasw.net)

Found ATI card on 01:00, device id: 0x4c57
I/O base address: 0x3000
Video BIOS shadow found @ 0xc0000
Reference clock from BIOS: 27.0 MHz
Memory size: 32768 kB
Memory channels: 2, CD,CH only: 0
tRcdRD:   5
tRcdWR:   2
tRP:      4
tRAS:     14
tRRD:     3
tR2W-CL:  2
tWR:      3
tW2R:     0
tW2Rsb:   1
tR2R:     1
tRFC:     14
tWL(0.5): 2
tCAS:     3
tCMD:     0
tSTR:     1
XTAL: 27.0 MHz, RefDiv: 6

Core: 290.25 MHz, Mem: 380.25 MHz

This gives me a great performance boost with (so far) good stability. Tweaking beyond this results in artifacts, distortion, loss of performance, and sometimes even rebooting. I've gone from ~647fps to ~1018 in glxgears and can now use compositing without worry. Yay!
_________________
aidanjt wrote:
You see, instead of arguing from ignorance, and fear, there is only one way to verify a theory. And that's not by clutching a black book and begging the sky fairy for deliverance from the mad scientists and their big machines.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrtayloriv
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 149
Location: N. Idaho

PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2007 4:12 am    Post subject: Radeon Mobility M6 Overclocking Reply with quote

I have a Radeon Mobility M6, what are the maximum safe settings for overclocking my video card?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberPinguin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 510
Location: 2416.94 Miles From Home

PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2007 7:15 am    Post subject: Re: Radeon Mobility M6 Overclocking Reply with quote

jrtayloriv wrote:
I have a Radeon Mobility M6, what are the maximum safe settings for overclocking my video card?

Your best bet is to increment each setting slowly, testing along the way. Keep an eye on temperature and stability, and scale back a little when they get out of hand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrtayloriv
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 149
Location: N. Idaho

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 4:22 am    Post subject: Safe temperatures for Radeon Mobility M6 Reply with quote

What would be consider a safe operating temperature for a Mobility M6?

Thanks,
jrtayloriv
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbryner
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Posts: 47
Location: pdx

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 8:26 pm    Post subject: multi gpu card? Reply with quote

I've got an ati firemv2400 that has multiple gpus:

Code:

lspci:
05:01.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon R250 Lf [FireGL 9000] (rev 02)
05:01.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon R250 Ln [Radeon Mobility 9000 M9] [Secondary] (rev 02)
05:05.0 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon R250 Lf [FireGL 9000] (rev 02)
05:05.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon R250 Ln [Radeon Mobility 9000 M9] [Secondary] (rev 02)


rovclock seems to affect only the first one:
Code:

pcm0175 smbenumshares # rovclock -i
Radeon overclock 0.6e by Hasw (hasw@hasw.net)

Found ATI card on 05:01, device id: 0x4c66
I/O base address: 0xd800
Video BIOS shadow found @ 0xc0000
Reference clock from BIOS: 27.0 MHz
Memory size: 65536 kB
Memory channels: 1, CD,CH only: 0
tRcdRD:   6
tRcdWR:   2
tRP:      7
tRAS:     16
tRRD:     5
tR2W-CL:  3
tWR:      3
tW2R:     1
tW2Rsb:   1
tR2R:     2
tRFC:     20
tWL(0.5): 2
tCAS:     3
tCMD:     0
tSTR:     1
XTAL: 27.0 MHz, RefDiv: 12



But I'm basing this only its display of the first card in the lspci. Anyone know how this affects cards like this with multi-screen outputs? The firemv2400 is a 4 head card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phlogiston
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 1925
Location: Europe, Swizerland

PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone knows about this xtal frequency?
_________________
Workstation: 5.1 SurroundSound, LIRC remote control; Laptop [IBM-T43]: patched sources, s2disk/ram, fingerprint sensor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Therion 666
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How i can overclock this card?

Code:
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RS300M AGP [Radeon Mobility 9100IGP]


Code:
Found ATI card on 01:05, device id: 0x5835
I/O base address: 0x9000
Video BIOS shadow found @ 0xc0000
Reference clock from BIOS: 14.31 MHz
Memory size: 131072 kB
Memory channels: 2, CD,CH only: 0
tRcdRD:   9
tRcdWR:   8
tRP:      8
tRAS:     18
tRRD:     3
tR2W-CL:  2
tWR:      1
tW2R:     3
tW2Rsb:   0
tR2R:     2
tRFC:     13
tWL(0.5): 0
tCAS:     6
tCMD:     0
tSTR:     0
XTAL: 14.31 MHz, RefDiv: 6

Core: 300.51 MHz, Mem: 0.0 MHz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
auftable
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is this program still being developed? I could use it with my ATI Radeon Mobility HD 4330.
Is this the official place for discussing this program?
I think it does not fully recognize my card:

Code:

sudo rovclock -i
Radeon overclock 0.6e by Hasw (hasw@hasw.net)

Found ATI card on 01:00, device id: 0x9552
I/O base address: 0x2000
Video BIOS shadow found @ 0xc0000
Invalid reference clock from BIOS: 0.0 MHz
Memory size: 0 kB
Memory channels: 1, CD,CH only: 0
tRcdRD:   3
tRcdWR:   1
tRP:      3
tRAS:     6
tRRD:     1
tR2W-CL:  1
tWR:      1
tW2R:     0
tW2Rsb:   0
tR2R:     1
tRFC:     13
tWL(0.5): 0
tCAS:     0
tCMD:     0
tSTR:     0

I also tried -x 1432 and 2950.

The bus frequencies are not shown. Can I do this with the open radeon driver or do I need to use fglrx?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Page 5 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum