Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Dell Inspiron 9400
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dob
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Oct 2002
Posts: 199
Location: S.L.P.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How do you start it? I removed some of the dell hidden partitions so I don't know if I'll be able to use it :oops:

And is mythtv worth it? Since you probably didn't hook a tv tuner to the laptop...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dob
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Oct 2002
Posts: 199
Location: S.L.P.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

VinzC wrote:
dob wrote:
By the way, something I found recently: to be able to bind the multimedia buttons in kmix/amarok and any other app of your liking without using a special daemon like lineakd:

Code:
xmodmap -e 'keycode 174=XF86AudioLowerVolume'
xmodmap -e 'keycode 176=XF86AudioRaiseVolume'
xmodmap -e 'keycode 160=XF86AudioMute'
xmodmap -e 'keycode 153=XF86AudioNext'
xmodmap -e 'keycode 144=XF86AudioPrev'
xmodmap -e 'keycode 162=XF86AudioPlay'
xmodmap -e 'keycode 164=XF86AudioStop'

If you select Dell keyboard in KDE keyboard control then you don't need the three aliases for volume buttons.
Didn't know that :)
Can it be done directly in xorg.conf? I think the KDE keyboard control you're mentioning is just a front end for xkb stuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4630
Location: Theux (Belgium)

PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dob wrote:
VinzC wrote:
...
If you select Dell keyboard in KDE keyboard control then you don't need the three aliases for volume buttons.
Didn't know that :)
Can it be done directly in xorg.conf?

I never tried in fact. Both Gnome (I think) and KDE support such a setting.
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
GNU/Linux user #369763
“Wow! I feel root”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4630
Location: Theux (Belgium)

PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 7:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hell! After a couple upgrades or switching to GCC 4.1 (yes, I did recompile world) or whatever, the damn mic input doesn't work anymore! It's been working from kernel 2.6.15 (IIRC) and built-in HDA driver and now it doesn't. I noticed that because I'm using Skype. One day (a couple of months ago) I tried Skype and I could use the microphone. Once more Skype now shows me the microphone input doesn't work anymore. Go figure...
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
GNU/Linux user #369763
“Wow! I feel root”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b1zki7
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Location: Nottingham UK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 7:07 pm    Post subject: Inspiron monitor issue Reply with quote

help!

my father brought a Dell Inspiron 9400 top notch thingy and after c.1 month the bloody monitor has packed up? i have had it working but only through luck! now it wont fire up, it comes on and shows the dell bit as if it is gonna load and then bam the screen goes down. i can hear windows start and it connect to my wireless network but i cant see a thing??? any advise please?????

cheers

Dave Underhill MA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4630
Location: Theux (Belgium)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might not know what this forum is all about (i.e. Gentoo Linux) but it's not about Windows or anything else than Gentoo Linux. However I'll try my best to answer your question. If I understood you can see the Dell logo when the laptop starts hence it's working properly. Given my experience with Windows I'd say what you experience is a driver problem - I've already seen such kinds of wierd problems especially after automatic updates for example.

Press the F8 key and select "Use last known good configuration". It's how I got Windows working normally again after it repeatedly rebooted every 10-15 seconds.

And if you want to give Gentoo Linux a try, go to www.gentoo.org, download and burn a live/install CD ISO image to check how it looks like.
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
GNU/Linux user #369763
“Wow! I feel root”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danton
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Feb 2003
Posts: 3
Location: switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chiliwilly wrote:
but i notice that the "subwoofer" on the downside on the laptop does not work, or at least i don't sense it's vibrations as i do when i used on windows, has anyone else have this problem, or its just my imagination??

Maybe this is old news, but I've figured out how to make subwoofer work on my M90 (which should be very similar to i9400)
Add the following line to your /etc/modules.d/alsa:
Code:
options snd-hda-intel model=ref

Then run
Code:

# modules-update
# /etc/init.d/alsasound restart

Now you should have a new subwoofer channel (labeled LFE) in alsamixer/kmix/etc.

I use out-of-kernel alsa-driver 1.0.13 with gentoo-sources-2.6.18-r1, if that matters. There are also other options for snd-hda-intel driver described in the documentation included with the source package. You can view it with
Code:

# ebuild /usr/portage/media-sound/alsa-driver/alsa-driver-1.0.13.ebuild unpack
# less /var/tmp/portage/alsa-driver-1.0.13/work/alsa-driver-1.0.13/alsa-kernel/Documentation/ALSA-Configuration.txt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4630
Location: Theux (Belgium)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot, danton. Do you happen to know how one can tell what version of Alsa drivers kernel sources use? I'm currently using 2.6.17-gentoo-r8 bulit-in Alsa driver but wonder what driver version it was built onto.

EDIT: I've found it finally.
Code:
cat /proc/asound/version

On my machine 2.6.17-r8 is based on alsa driver version 1.0.11rc4.
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
GNU/Linux user #369763
“Wow! I feel root”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R1zZ1
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 91
Location: Campobasso-Roma (Italy)

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying to install gentoo on this laptop but i have a problem with kernel 2.6.18-gentoo-r2.

It halts after these lines are visualized:

Code:


[....]

Simple Boot Flag at 0x36 set to 0x1
Installing knfsd (copyright (C) 1996 okir@monad.swb.de).
NTFS driver 2.1.27 [Flags: R/O].
Initializing Cryptographic API
io scheduler noop registered
io scheduler cfq registered (default)
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:01.0 to 64
assign_interrupt_mode Found MSI capability

[.....]



Can anybody help me? :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4630
Location: Theux (Belgium)

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

R1zZ1 wrote:
Code:


[....]

Simple Boot Flag at 0x36 set to 0x1
Installing knfsd (copyright (C) 1996 okir@monad.swb.de).
NTFS driver 2.1.27 [Flags: R/O].
Initializing Cryptographic API
io scheduler noop registered
io scheduler cfq registered (default)
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:01.0 to 64
assign_interrupt_mode Found MSI capability

[.....] <<--- What's after this?

_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
GNU/Linux user #369763
“Wow! I feel root”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R1zZ1
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 91
Location: Campobasso-Roma (Italy)

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, i made a mistake writing the message.

After that line my kernel freezes....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaped.ch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Dec 2005
Posts: 46
Location: switzerland

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

* SOLVED

i've configured my kernel (2.6.18-suspend2) matching your guide for setting up the dvd device (had no DMA on the DVD using the IDE drivers).
but my dvd isn't recognized any more (no /dev/sr0, /dev/cdrom, /dev/dvd, etc.. . any ideas?

the system is a thinkpad t60

EDIT: stupid me... for thinkpad t60's you need ide support. the DMA problem solves with the following kernel config.

Code:

Device Drivers  --->
  ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL support  --->
    <*> ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL support
      <*>   Enhanced IDE/MFM/RLL disk/cdrom/tape/floppy support
      <*>     Include IDE/ATAPI CDROM support
      [*]     PCI IDE chipset support
      [*]       Generic PCI bus-master DMA support
      [*]         Use PCI DMA by default when available
      <*>         Intel PIIXn chipsets support

  SCSI device support  --->
    [*]   legacy /proc/scsi/ support
    <*>   SCSI disk support
    <*>   SCSI CDROM support
    <*>   SCSI generic support

    SCSI low-level drivers  --->
      <*> Serial ATA (SATA) support
      <*>   AHCI SATA support
      <*>   Intel PIIX/ICH SATA support


thanks,
shaped
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4630
Location: Theux (Belgium)

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think this is a udev-related issue. Here are my settings:
zgrep SCSI /proc/config.gz | grep -v '^#':

CONFIG_SCSI=y
CONFIG_SCSI_PROC_FS=y
CONFIG_SCSI_SATA=y
CONFIG_SCSI_SATA_AHCI=y
CONFIG_SCSI_ATA_PIIX=y

dmesg | grep scsi:
[17179573.584000] scsi0 : ata_piix
[17179574.068000] scsi1 : ata_piix
[17179574.212000] sd 0:0:0:0: Attached scsi disk sda
[17179574.292000] sr0: scsi3-mmc drive: 24x/24x writer cd/rw xa/form2 cdda tray
[17179574.292000] sr 1:0:0:0: Attached scsi CD-ROM sr0
[17179574.292000] sd 0:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg0 type 0
[17179574.292000] sr 1:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg1 type 5

cat /proc/scsi/scsi:
Attached devices:
Host: scsi0 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 00
  Vendor: ATA      Model: FUJITSU MHV2080B Rev: 0085
  Type:   Direct-Access                    ANSI SCSI revision: 05
Host: scsi1 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 00
  Vendor: _NEC     Model: DVD+-RW ND-6650A Rev: 102C
  Type:   CD-ROM                           ANSI SCSI revision: 05

_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
GNU/Linux user #369763
“Wow! I feel root”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R1zZ1
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 91
Location: Campobasso-Roma (Italy)

PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I solved the problem with the kernel, now i need horizontal sync e vertical refresh to put in xorg.conf. I set VertRefresh 60 but xorg starts with refresh at 50Hz :(

Can anybody post his correctly working xorg.conf?

Thx!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4630
Location: Theux (Belgium)

PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

R1zZ1 wrote:
I solved the problem with the kernel, now i need horizontal sync e vertical refresh to put in xorg.conf. I set VertRefresh 60 but xorg starts with refresh at 50Hz :(

Can anybody post his correctly working xorg.conf?

Thx!

Depends... Is it an nVidia, ATI or i945? BTW what's your screen's resolution?
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
GNU/Linux user #369763
“Wow! I feel root”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R1zZ1
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 91
Location: Campobasso-Roma (Italy)

PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VinzC wrote:
R1zZ1 wrote:
I solved the problem with the kernel, now i need horizontal sync e vertical refresh to put in xorg.conf. I set VertRefresh 60 but xorg starts with refresh at 50Hz :(

Can anybody post his correctly working xorg.conf?

Thx!

Depends... Is it an nVidia, ATI or i945? BTW what's your screen's resolution?


I have an nVdia 7900GS, the screen is WUXGA with truelife and its resolution is 1920x1200.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4630
Location: Theux (Belgium)

PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

R1zZ1 wrote:
I have an nVdia 7900GS, the screen is WUXGA with truelife and its resolution is 1920x1200.

Good. Here's mine (note it was tuned for Beryl):
Code:
Section "Module"
    Load        "ddc"   # ddc probing of monitor
    Load        "dbe"   # Double buffer extension
    SubSection  "extmod"
      Option    "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
    EndSubSection
    Load        "type1"
    Load        "freetype"
    Load        "synaptics"
    Load       "glx"
EndSection
Section "Files"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/local/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/freefont/"
EndSection
Section "ServerFlags"
    Option      "AllowMouseOpenFail" "true"
    Option "SuspendTime"        "10"
    Option "OffTime"            "15"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Keyboard1"
    Driver      "kbd"
    Option      "XkbModel"      "inspiron"
    Option      "XkbLayout"     "be"
    Option      "AutoRepeat"    "500 30"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "USBMouse"
    Driver      "mouse"
    Option      "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
    Option      "SendCoreEvents" "true"
    Option      "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Touchpad"
    Driver      "synaptics"
    Option      "SendCoreEvents"        "true"
    Option      "Device"                "/dev/input/mouse0"
    Option      "Protocol"              "auto-dev"
    Option      "LeftEdge"              "1700"
    Option      "RightEdge"             "5300"
    Option      "TopEdge"               "1700"
    Option      "BottomEdge"            "4200"
    Option      "FingerLow"             "25"
    Option      "FingerHigh"            "30"
    Option      "MaxTapTime"            "180"
    Option      "MaxTapMove"            "220"
    Option      "VertScrollDelta"       "100"
    Option      "HorizScrollDelta"      "100"
    Option      "MinSpeed"              "0.09"
    Option      "MaxSpeed"              "0.18"
    Option      "AccelFactor"           "0.15"
    Option      "EdgeMotionMinZ"        "17"
    Option      "EdgeMotionMaxZ"        "21"
    Option      "EdgeMotionMinSpeed"    "30"
    Option      "EdgeMotionMaxSpeed"    "35"
    Option      "LeftRightScrolling"    "1"
    Option      "UpDownScrolling"       "1"
    Option      "EmulateMidButtonTime"  "75"
    Option      "ZAxisMapping"          "4 5"
    Option      "SHMConfig"             "on"
EndSection
Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "DellLFP"
    HorizSync   31.5 - 100
    VertRefresh 30-90
    Option      "DPMS"
EndSection
Section "Device"
    # Some names might need to be changed hereafter:
    Identifier  "nVidia7800Go"
    Driver      "nvidia"
    VendorName  "nVidia"
    BoardName   "nVidia GeForce 7800 Go"
    Option      "NoLogo" "1"
    Option      "RenderAccel" "true"
    # VideoRam    262144
    # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
    # Option for AIGLX/Beryl:
    Option      "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen 1"
    Device      "nVidia7800Go"
    Monitor     "DellLFP"
    DefaultDepth 24
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       8
        Modes       "1920x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes       "1920x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "1920x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
    # Option for AIGLX:
    Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
EndSection
Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier  "Flat Panel Only"
    Screen      "Screen 1"
    InputDevice "Touchpad"      "AlwaysCore"
    InputDevice "USBMouse"      "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1"     "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection
Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

Last notes: you also need x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers (not nvidia-legacy-drivers). I included the following variables in make.conf:
Code:
INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse synaptics"
VIDEO_CARDS="nv nvidia vesa"

_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
GNU/Linux user #369763
“Wow! I feel root”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R1zZ1
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 91
Location: Campobasso-Roma (Italy)

PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thx a lot!! 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4630
Location: Theux (Belgium)

PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're welcome :) .
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
GNU/Linux user #369763
“Wow! I feel root”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R1zZ1
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 91
Location: Campobasso-Roma (Italy)

PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've ever 50Hz :(

I don't know why....windows runs with 60Hz of VertRefresh....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4630
Location: Theux (Belgium)

PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Normally nvidia driver gets its refresh rate from EDID (IIRC). So there's no need to fix the vertical refresh frequency. Try to set it to 60 just in case...
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
GNU/Linux user #369763
“Wow! I feel root”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R1zZ1
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 91
Location: Campobasso-Roma (Italy)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

With your and my xorg.conf i have 50 Hz, with xorg.conf generated by an Ubuntu livecd the monitor is at 60 Hz. But I've not tried that conf file in gentoo, I'll do this soon.

Can be a problem related to xorg-x11 7.1?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4630
Location: Theux (Belgium)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

R1zZ1 wrote:
Can be a problem related to xorg-x11 7.1?

I have absolutely no idea...
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
GNU/Linux user #369763
“Wow! I feel root”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LD
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Dec 2003
Posts: 336
Location: Middle of No-Where Granbury, Tx

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are the in kernel DRM drivers for the 945GM good at this point? I'm finally doing a reinstall of Linux after months with windows. What changes have been made that I can use from when I initially setup the thing back earlier this year?
_________________
[Owner/Operator: Dhampir Dreams]
Last.fm profile
Netflix Profile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4630
Location: Theux (Belgium)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 3:42 pm    Post subject: SD Card reader doesn't create /dev/sd? node anymore Reply with quote

Hi.

I don't know since when it doesn't work but now my laptop doesn't create a /dev/sd? node when I plug the card in the reader. I see messages about mmcblk0 in the log like this:
Code:
Nov 27 14:54:23 solo [17179720.612000] mmcblk0: mmc0:e624 SD512 495488KiB
Nov 27 14:54:23 solo [17179720.612000]  mmcblk0: p1
Nov 27 14:57:44 solo [17179921.648000] mmcblk0: mmc0:e624 SD512 495488KiB
Nov 27 14:57:44 solo [17179921.648000]  mmcblk0: p1
Nov 27 14:59:17 solo [17180014.004000] mmcblk0: mmc0:e624 SD512 495488KiB
Nov 27 14:59:17 solo [17180014.004000]  mmcblk0: p1

Usually there is another message that immediately follows, which says something like "waiting 5s for the device to come up" but here nothing such happens. I've recompiled udev (079-r2). But it used to work with that version of UDEV... Am I the only one or is it a side-effect of GCC4.1?

EDIT: I'm running gentoo-sources-2.6.17-r8...
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
GNU/Linux user #369763
“Wow! I feel root”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Page 7 of 9

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum