Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Bridge br0 not starting
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
LaMagra
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Nov 2004
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 10:35 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Bridge br0 not starting Reply with quote

Hi,

since I updated my system, my bridge doesn't startup at boot. I have to start it manually and all process that need this interface.

Code:

modules=( "iproute2" )

...
eth0 settings
...

config_eth1=( "null" )
config_tap0=( "null" )

config_br0=( "192.168.178.51/24 brd 192.168.178.255" )
bridge_br0="eth1 tap0"

depend_br0() {
              need net.eth1 net.tap0
}


At boottime I see this:

Code:
...
Starting eth1
    Bringing up eth1
Starting tap0
    Bringing up tap0
Starting br0
    Creating bridge br0 ...
    Adding ports to br0
        network interface tap0 does not exist
        Please verify hardware or kernel module (driver)
Starting eth0
...


After booting, I can start br0 manually without any errors. Does tap0 need a few seconds to start so that the br0 init scripts can't find tap0?

I'm using the 2.6.17-gentoo-r4 kernel and just updated to sys-apps/baselayout-1.12.4-r6.

Any ideas what I can do?


Last edited by LaMagra on Wed Aug 23, 2006 1:24 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LaMagra
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Nov 2004
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've tried to start the services manually.

test1
net.eth1 ok
net.tap0 ok
net.br0 error (tap0 not found?)

then I tried this

test2
net.eth1 ok
net.tap0 ok
openvpn ok (runs on tap0)
net.br0 ok

It seems that the net.br0 init scripts can only find the tap0 device if there is openvpn running on it.
Then I tried to add openvpn in the depend line of net.br0.

Code:
depend_br0() {
              need net.eth1 net.tap0 openvpn
}


After reboot I got the same error. I don't know how to fix this. My problems started with my last baselayout update.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tuntap_tap0="tap"
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LaMagra
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Nov 2004
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works fine now. Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum