Setting up a personal webserver through gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Elsipkitch9809
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 6:36 pm    Post subject: Setting up a personal webserver through gentoo Reply with quote

Hi,

Okay, I've been using gentoo for about over a year now, and I definitely love the configurability and power of it, and I'm curious now about how I would go about setting up a webserver. I currently pay for one from www.hummingbirdhosting.com, but I'd like to try starting my own server from my own computer. Maybe even build a custom machine for it later, who knows. But I have no experience in this area, and I was wondering if anyone could point me in the best direction for tutorials, etc, for setting a server up with gentoo. I'd like to try to make it have cgi (specifically python), server side includes, and I guess more, but I can start simple. I'm willing to learn about security too, so I can minimize the probability of being hacked. Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

Thanks in advance

Last edited by Elsipkitch9809 on Tue Mar 01, 2016 5:51 am; edited 1 time in total
paranode
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll jump in here and highly recommend the Gentoo Security guide. I think anyone who administers a publicly accessible computer should know their stuff. This is a great guide and the Grsecurity stuff is especially hardcore.

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-security.xml

Apache also has very good documentation on their website.

http://httpd.apache.org/

Hope that helps some.
uzik
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 7:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Setting up a personal webserver through gentoo Reply with quote

alaterale wrote:
Hi,