| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
JofCore Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2004 Posts: 116
|
Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2006 8:22 pm Post subject: smtp.gentoo.org listed in uceprotect DNSbl??? |
|
|
Hello,
I recently noticed that I had stopped getting email notifications from the Gentoo Forums. I checked the maillogs on my server, and it looks like smtp.gentoo.org is listed in uceprotect.net's DNSbl:
| Code: | Jun 29 12:27:32 opti sm-mta[28361]: k5TGRVsf028361: ruleset=check_rcpt, arg1=<gentoo-gwn@hanser.org>, relay=smtp.gentoo.org [140.211.166.183], reject=553 5.3.0
<gentoo@hanser.org>... Message from 140.211.166.183 rejected at level1 - see www.uceprotect.net/en/index.php?m=7&s=0
|
As a temporary fix, I've removed the reference to uceprotect.net's DNSbl in my sendmail conf... Any ides how or why smtp.gentoo.org got blacklisted like that?
thx! |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
KingTaco Developer


Joined: 22 Aug 2003 Posts: 207 Location: Bay Area, CA
|
Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2006 8:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
funny. the only reason I can think of is because our SSL certs expired yesterday. we have new ones in place, so maybe it was that. if not I'd suggest finding a better blacklist this one has obviosuly lost it's mind. _________________ Explaining the obvious to the oblivious.
Adopt an unanswered post today -- http://forums.gentoo.org/search.php?search_id=unanswered |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
pilla Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002 Posts: 7192 Location: Pelotas, BR
|
Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2006 8:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
They say that a level 1 black-listing is due to spam being sent from that address or not having reverse DNS. In their own page, they say that we have a reverse DNS (although not RFC-compliant). They also say that we don't appear as black-listed on other lists, so I don't know the real reason for sure. _________________ "I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
JofCore Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2004 Posts: 116
|
Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2006 8:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| KingTaco wrote: | | if not I'd suggest finding a better blacklist this one has obviosuly lost it's mind. |
Yeah, that's kind of what I was thinking too I've noticed that uceprotect has been a little over-zealous in their blocking in the past, but this is the first time something so public as emails from gentoo has been blocked.. They seem to be the only blacklist that's catching all these "spam bouncebacks" too (when the spammer fakes sending email w/my address, and then I get the bounce)... But if they're blocking gentoo, then they gotta go
Edit: they seem to be the only one doing it too... not sure why, maybe they're just wacko or something: http://openrbl.org/client/#140.211.166.183 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
pilla Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002 Posts: 7192 Location: Pelotas, BR
|
Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Maybe it's because they charge to take your IP from the list before 7 days. _________________ "I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
KingTaco Developer


Joined: 22 Aug 2003 Posts: 207 Location: Bay Area, CA
|
Posted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 12:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
| pilla wrote: | | Maybe it's because they charge to take your IP from the list before 7 days. |
reminds me of how microsuck wanted to charge spammers for free reign of @msn.com... _________________ Explaining the obvious to the oblivious.
Adopt an unanswered post today -- http://forums.gentoo.org/search.php?search_id=unanswered |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|