Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Cifs "mount error 5 = Input/output error" but smbfs works!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
humbletech99
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 May 2005
Posts: 1229
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 12:36 pm    Post subject: Cifs "mount error 5 = Input/output error" but smbf Reply with quote

I can't mount cifs share, but smbfs works fine with same credentials.
Code:
mount -t cifs //duckula/backup /mnt/duckula/backup/
Password:
mount error 5 = Input/output error
Refer to the mount.cifs(8) manual page (e.g.man mount.cifs)

The username and password I'm using are correct since I can mount via smbfs this way.

I haven't had much luck on the web, saw some things about matching hostname/ip resolution but my resolution is fine and matching.

Any ideas?
_________________
The Human Equation:

value(geeks) > value(mundanes)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4726
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.

Since the CIFS module is supposed to use/support the new Win2KXX security model, which SMB still doesn't, what OS is running in the host you're trying to use? Have you tried using -o user=<user-name>?
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
humbletech99
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 May 2005
Posts: 1229
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

still the same.
_________________
The Human Equation:

value(geeks) > value(mundanes)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4726
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What OS is running the host you're trying to connect to? What version of Samba do you have?
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
humbletech99
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 May 2005
Posts: 1229
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the version of samba is the latest stable - 3.0.22, the other os is running linux with samba-2.2.8a-234, but it also doesn't seem to work against my windows 2000 workstation...
_________________
The Human Equation:

value(geeks) > value(mundanes)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum