Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[HOWTO] ATI Radeon overclocking
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Reistlin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Sep 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many thanks for this program. I've used it to downclock my X300 to reduce the heating. It worked perfectly on my AMD64 box (nforce4-based) with x86_64 Gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stephen_in_nz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerged it to see if I could drop the heat output from my mobility radeon x700.

Using ati 8.18.8 drivers on a 2.6.13 kernel.

I dropped the timings from 350/300 to 80/80 with a corresponding drop in glxgears.

However the temp didn't move - which surprised me. Could it be related to the

Invalid reference clock from BIOS: 0.0 MHz

I get returned from rovclock -i ?

Code:


amd64 acpi # rovclock -i
Radeon overclock 0.6b by Hasw (hasw@hasw.net)

Found ATI card on 01:00, device id: 0x5653
I/O base address: 0xd800
Video BIOS shadow found @ 0xc0000
Invalid reference clock from BIOS: 0.0 MHz
Memory size: 131072 kB
Memory channels: 1, CD,CH only: 0
tRcdRD:   5
tRcdWR:   3
tRP:      5
tRAS:     14
tRRD:     1
tR2W-CL:  2
tWR:      5
tW2R:     1
tW2Rsb:   1
tR2R:     3
tRFC:     15
tWL(0.5): 3
tCAS:     2
tCMD:     0
tSTR:     0
XTAL: 27.0 MHz, RefDiv: 7

Core: 81.0 MHz, Mem: 81.0 MHz



Interesting tool though. Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rschwarze
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 63
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2005 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

in battery mode make a

Quote:

watch -n 2 "cat /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0/state"


there you can see a big difference in the current powerconsumption.

for me its about 950 with (450,210) and about 900 with (60,60).

So my battery runs 20 minutes longer!!


btw: how do you get the heat from your mobility radeon?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pumpkin0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2005 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i like your tool. It helps me a lot to cool down my system. But i still have a request:

The new 8.19 closed-source ATI-driver include Powerplay. These drivers manage to lower the frequency and voltage of the chips. But the driver only support radeons > 8500.

Powerplay is also part of the radeon 7500. Based on windows <-> linux compares i think powerplay lowers the powerconsumption by 40% (effect of rovclock under linux vs effect of powerplay under windows)

Any chances ? Can i help somehow ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alphonsebrown
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 7:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

this baby is great!!! I did the 100/100 underclock :) just a couple of FPS down for fgl_gears
_________________
(Powered by RedHat since I know my self ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hasw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First, I've to say I'm far away from beeing a GPU specialist. This program was born because I wanted one and there was none :)
I got all information from some .h header files and code pieces, so it isn't perfekt. Especially the Mobile versions are sometimes a problem.

To Powerplay: It is far better to also reduce the voltage for power-saving, however I've no idea yet where to begin (where are the voltage-control 'registers'? Differences between revisions? Does the 7500 really have the ability to change the core voltage and not only the frequency?)
I hope someone could answer the questions, because datasheets for newer ATI chips are very rare.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nemem9aa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Location: CZ

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

THX for this piece of software. Work great for x800pro@x800xt AGP
Code:
./rovclock -i
Radeon overclock 0.6b by Hasw (hasw@hasw.net)

Found ATI card on 02:00, device id: 0x4a50
I/O base address: 0xd000
Video BIOS shadow found @ 0xc0000
Invalid reference clock from BIOS: 0.0 MHz
Memory size: 262144 kB
Memory channels: 2, CD,CH only: 0
tRcdRD:   7
tRcdWR:   4
tRP:      5
tRAS:     6
tRRD:     6
tR2W-CL:  2
tWR:      7
tW2R:     1
tW2Rsb:   1
tR2R:     3
tRFC:     20
tWL(0.5): 3
tCAS:     4
tCMD:     0
tSTR:     0
XTAL: 27.0 MHz, RefDiv: 12

Core: 297.0 MHz, Mem: 263.25 MHz

Well, it is writing about invalid reference clock, when changing frequency, but it works.
Code:
 ./rovclock -c 230 -m 230
Radeon overclock 0.6b by Hasw (hasw@hasw.net)

Found ATI card on 02:00, device id: 0x4a50
I/O base address: 0xd000
Video BIOS shadow found @ 0xc0000
Invalid reference clock from BIOS: 0.0 MHz


//edit: Does anyone knows how to monitor temperutere on this GPU by built-in temperature sensor?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Garvonis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 61
Location: California

PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2005 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would just like to point out (since I used FIND for 9600 on all the last pages), that it works for my Radeon 9600. Was able to clock from 324.0/378.0 to 344.25/405.0. Even got higher FPS in glxgears, so I'm satisfied... Touched my fanless heatsink, and it wasn't that hot at all, though I'll have to touch it again when I'm playing a game or something, but yea, great app!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lightbulbjim
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Location: QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many thanks for the useful app. Confirmed working on a Radeon 9550. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
holyghost
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Location: Athens

PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems very nice app, and quite useful for people owning laptops...just for undervoltage....

But the problem is that i cannot even run it...when i try it (as root) it keeps saying:
Code:
titan rovclock-0.6c # ./rovclock -i
bash: ./rovclock: Permission denied


The lspci output for me is
Code:
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc M9+ 5C61 [Radeon Mobility 9200 (AGP)] (rev 01) (prog-if 00 [VGA])
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Unknown device 006b
Flags: bus master, fast Back2Back, 66MHz, medium devsel, latency 66, IRQ 17
Memory at f0000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=128M]
I/O ports at 9000 [size=256]
Memory at e8100000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
[virtual] Expansion ROM at e8120000 [disabled] [size=128K]
Capabilities: [58] AGP version 3.0
Capabilities: [50] PowerManagement version 2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NewBlackDak
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Nov 2003
Posts: 512
Location: Utah County, UT

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have this saved as radclock.sh in ~/scripts, and ~/scripts is part of my $PATH.
I'm going to start working on using it dynamically. Eg kicking up to OC when running 3D apps, going to UC when the screensaver starts.
Let me know if you have any improvements, or suggestions.
Code:

#!/bin/bash
#Author: NewBlackDak
#Disclaimer
#I(nor the author of rovclock) is in no way responsible for damage cause to your machine by using
#This script or the rovclock overclocking utility.
ROVCLOCK="which rovclock"
GREP=`which grep`
AWK=`which awk`
ECHO=`which echo`
VERSION="0.02"
 
#These are things you need to set yourself
#The current values are what works on my 9800
#DEFCORE is the default core clock DEFMEM is the default memory clock
#OC stantd for overclock, and UC stands for underclock
DEFCORE=324.0         
DEFMEM=290.25
OCCORE=380
OCMEM=330
UCCORE=243
UCMEM=217.5

#Lets do some work
getClock()                     
{                               
   $ECHO $1                     
   CORE=`$ROVCLOCK -i | $GREP Core | $AWK '{ print $2}'`
   MEM=`$ROVCLOCK -i | $GREP Core | $AWK '{ print $5}'`
   $ECHO Core : $CORE           
   $ECHO Mem  : $MEM           
   $ECHO                       
}                               

setClock()                     
{                               
        $ROVCLOCK -c $1 -m $2>/dev/null
}                               
                               
                               
if [ $1 ]                       
then                           
        case $1 in             
                               
        d | D )                 
                getClock "Current"
                setClock $DEFCORE $DEFMEM
                getClock "New" 
        ;;                     
                               
        u | U )                 
                getClock "Current"
                $ECHO Set to Underclock Settings
                setClock $UCCORE $UCMEM
                getClock "New" 
        ;;                     
                               
        o | O )                 
                getClock "Current"
                $ECHO Set to Overclock Settings
                setClock $OCCORE $OCMEM
                getClock "New" 
        ;;                     
                               
        h | H )
                $ECHO "useage: $0 [h] [u] [d] [o] [v]"
                $ECHO "        h this help"
                $ECHO "        u set card to underclocked settings"
                $ECHO "        o set card to overclocked settings"
                $ECHO "        d set card to default settings"
                $ECHO "        v version number"
                $ECHO
        ;;

        v | V )
                $ECHO $0 $VERSION
                $ECHO
        ;;

        esac
else
        getClock "Current"
        $ECHO $0 h for help
fi

_________________
Gentoo systems.
X2 4200+@2.6 - Athy
X2 3600+ - Myth
UltraSparc5 440 - sparcy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hasw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

holyghost wrote:
Seems very nice app, and quite useful for people owning laptops...just for undervoltage....

But the problem is that i cannot even run it...when i try it (as root) it keeps saying:
Code:
titan rovclock-0.6c # ./rovclock -i
bash: ./rovclock: Permission denied



Is the rovclock binary executable? Run ls -l rovlock and check the file mode.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
holyghost
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Location: Athens

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hasw wrote:
Is the rovclock binary executable? Run ls -l rovlock and check the file mode.


Yes, of course it is :wink: ,this issue was the first i checked when i saw the permission denied message
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hasw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The program doesn't even start in your case. Otherwise at least the banner would be printed. Maybe the partition where rovclock resides is mounted with the "noexec" option?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
holyghost
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Location: Athens

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
/dev/hda7               /home           reiserfs        user,notail,user_xattr    0 3


As you can see i don't have noexec option in my fstab..maybe one of these options that i have pulls the noexec option enabled...i don't have any idea and i'm too lazy right now to check...

Anyway thx for the idea that you gave me to copy it to another partition...

It Works now!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I'll look up why it didn't run from the beggining when i have time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NewBlackDak
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Nov 2003
Posts: 512
Location: Utah County, UT

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2006 8:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just thought I'd update with my new card

Code:
display: :0.0  screen: 0
OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: RADEON X800 GTO Generic
OpenGL version string: 2.0.5642 (8.22.5)


Underclocked(Core : 202.50, Mem : 249.75)
18790 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3758.000 FPS
20004 frames in 5.0 seconds = 4000.800 FPS
20005 frames in 5.0 seconds = 4001.000 FPS

Default(Core : 398.25, Mem : 492.75)
35725 frames in 5.0 seconds = 7145.000 FPS
39462 frames in 5.0 seconds = 7892.400 FPS
39465 frames in 5.0 seconds = 7893.000 FPS

Overclocked(Core : 519.75, Mem : 580.50)
41367 frames in 5.0 seconds = 8273.400 FPS
46581 frames in 5.0 seconds = 9316.200 FPS
46587 frames in 5.0 seconds = 9317.400 FPS
46585 frames in 5.0 seconds = 9317.000 FPS

It's an X800GTO2 flashed to 16 pipes.
I do get an error, but obviously it's still setting the clocks effectively
Code:
Invalid reference clock from BIOS: 0.0 MHz

_________________
Gentoo systems.
X2 4200+@2.6 - Athy
X2 3600+ - Myth
UltraSparc5 440 - sparcy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EASYdoor
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Aug 2004
Posts: 79
Location: Novo mesto

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sweet man,....this utility rocks!!!
_________________
Pejt na pir! Ne, ne,...se boljs,....JST grem na pir ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Seehund
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does x.org/fglrx or whatever affect the core/mem speed of a graphics card, depending on what they ID it as?

I'm asking because I have a Radeon 9600 XT, which my system apparently thinks is a vanilla 9600.

My 9600 XT should be running @ ~500 MHz core and ~300 MHz mem (600 MHz DDR).
That's the default speed of an XT, and that's what I get in Windows.

rovclock -i reports:

Code:
Found ATI card on 01:05, device id: 0x4152
I/O base address: 0xd800
Video BIOS shadow found @ 0xc0000
Reference clock from BIOS: 27.0 MHz
Memory size: 131072 kB
Memory channels: 1, CD,CH only: 0
tRcdRD:   4
tRcdWR:   2
tRP:      4
tRAS:     9
tRRD:     3
tR2W-CL:  3
tWR:      3
tW2R:     2
tW2Rsb:   1
tR2R:     2
tRFC:     15
tWL(0.5): 2
tCAS:     4
tCMD:     0
tSTR:     1
XTAL: 27.0 MHz, RefDiv: 12

Core: [b]249.75[/b] MHz, Mem: 297.0 MHz


The mem frequency looks OK (rovclock reports half the 600 MHz DDR speed, right?), but 250 MHz core is not right.

If I use the -x option with rovclock and the suggested kHz values, then neither mem or core are correct.


Exactly what numbers are rovclock supposed to report (DDR, DDR/2)?
Is my XT really running at only 250 MHz core under Linux?

If I double the chrystal frequency (rovclock -x 5400 -i) then I get what's supposed to be the correct numbers (500/600).

Am I safe to assume that rovclock is simply wrong, and that my card really runs at its spec'd speed, and that I would actually get the speeds I'm typing as long as I also give the "-x 5400" argument?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jingo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Dec 2002
Posts: 134
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use rovclock to underclock my laptops radeon 7500 chip, to gain battery life.

I am running Ubuntu and have experienced something strange!

Under Ubuntu breezy (Xorg 6.8.2), this works flawlessly. Kernel 2.6.14.3
If I use same settings on Ubuntu Dapper (Xorg 7.0), it hangs my computer. Kernel 2.6.15

In both cases I have the radeonfb kernel module loaded to.

Anyone experiencing this on Gentoo?
Anything to do with the new Xorg 7.0 ?

How do I investigate this? Nothing in the logs!
_________________
I'm not a perfectionist, even though my parents were
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
/carlito
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 450
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 3:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works great on my XPRESS 200M.
Code:
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc ATI Radeon XPRESS 200M 5955 (PCIE) (prog-if 00 [VGA])
        Subsystem: Micro-Star International Co., Ltd. Unknown device 0131
        Flags: bus master, 66MHz, medium devsel, latency 255, IRQ 10
        Memory at d0000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
        I/O ports at d800 [size=256]
        Memory at fbef0000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
        Expansion ROM at fbec0000 [disabled] [size=128K]
        Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2


Code:
 rovclock -i
Radeon overclock 0.6e by Hasw (hasw@hasw.net)

Found ATI card on 01:05, device id: 0x5955
I/O base address: 0xd800
Video BIOS shadow found @ 0xc0000
Reference clock from BIOS: 14.32 MHz
Memory size: 131072 kB
Memory channels: 0, CD,CH only: 0
tRcdRD:   3
tRcdWR:   1
tRP:      3
tRAS:     6
tRRD:     1
tR2W-CL:  1
tWR:      1
tW2R:     0
tW2Rsb:   0
tR2R:     1
tRFC:     13
tWL(0.5): 0
tCAS:     0
tCMD:     0
tSTR:     0
XTAL: 14.32 MHz, RefDiv: 6

Core: 78.76 MHz, Mem: 0.0 MHz

_________________

.O.
..O
OOO
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Prof_Albert
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Apr 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use Kubuntu 5.10 with Kernel 2.6.16.7 and ATi Proprietary driver 8.23.7.
I wanted to use the tool to read my current clocks on my Mobility X700 to determine which powerstate is active.
my powerstates are
Code:

aticonfig --lsp
  core/mem      [flags]
---------------
1: 105/120 MHz  [low voltage]
2: 209/182 MHz  [low voltage]
3: 358/344 MHz  [default state]


when i run it in powerstate 3 i get this

Code:
./rovclock -i
Radeon overclock 0.6e by Hasw (hasw@hasw.net)

Found ATI card on 01:00, device id: 0x5653
I/O base address: 0x3000
Video BIOS shadow found @ 0xc0000
Invalid reference clock from BIOS: 0.0 MHz
Memory size: 262144 kB
Memory channels: 1, CD,CH only: 0
tRcdRD:   6
tRcdWR:   4
tRP:      6
tRAS:     14
tRRD:     1
tR2W-CL:  2
tWR:      4
tW2R:     5
tW2Rsb:   0
tR2R:     3
tRFC:     17
tWL(0.5): 3
tCAS:     2
tCMD:     0
tSTR:     0
XTAL: 27.0 MHz, RefDiv: 7

Core: 357.75 MHz, Mem: 344.25 MHz


according to the table above these clocks seem ok.

in Powerstate 2 i get
Code:

Core: 418.50 MHz, Mem: 364.50 MHz


(The rest of the output is the same)
in Powerstate 1 i even get
Code:

Core: 418.50 MHz, Mem: 479.25 MHz


But the power consumption according to the /proc/acpi/battery/BAT1/state is lower in powerstate 1 and 2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jorges
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Oct 2005
Posts: 114
Location: Barcelona, Spain

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
I tried to use rovclock with my ati mobility x1600, but with no luck. Looking at power consumption, changing the core and memory frequencies seems to have no effect at all. However, I got lock-ups in X several times, only way out was a hard reset.

This the output of rovclock -i:
Code:
Radeon overclock 0.6e by Hasw (hasw@hasw.net)

Found ATI card on 01:00, device id: 0x71c5
I/O base address: 0xb800
Video BIOS shadow found @ 0xc0000
Invalid reference clock from BIOS: 0.0 MHz
Memory size: 131072 kB
Memory channels: 0, CD,CH only: 0
tRcdRD:   3
tRcdWR:   1
tRP:      3
tRAS:     6
tRRD:     1
tR2W-CL:  1
tWR:      1
tW2R:     0
tW2Rsb:   0
tR2R:     1
tRFC:     13
tWL(0.5): 0
tCAS:     0
tCMD:     0
tSTR:     0
XTAL: 27.0 MHz, RefDiv: 12

Core: 0.19 MHz, Mem: 0.0 MHz


This is what I get when I change frequencies (and I don't get a lock-up):
Code:
root@susi { ~ }$ rovclock -c 300 -m 300
Radeon overclock 0.6e by Hasw (hasw@hasw.net)

Found ATI card on 01:00, device id: 0x71c5
I/O base address: 0xb800
Video BIOS shadow found @ 0xc0000
Invalid reference clock from BIOS: 0.0 MHz


This is the output (partial) of lspci -vv :
Code:
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Unknown device 71c5 (prog-if 00 [VGA])
        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Unknown device 10b2
        Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR+ FastB2B-
        Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
        Latency: 0, Cache Line Size 10
        Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 23
        Region 0: Memory at c0000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
        Region 1: I/O ports at b800 [size=256]
        Region 2: Memory at fe2f0000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
        Expansion ROM at fe2c0000 [disabled] [size=128K]
        Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
                Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
                Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
        Capabilities: [58] Express Legacy Endpoint IRQ 0
                Device: Supported: MaxPayload 128 bytes, PhantFunc 0, ExtTag+
                Device: Latency L0s <4us, L1 unlimited
                Device: AtnBtn- AtnInd- PwrInd-
                Device: Errors: Correctable- Non-Fatal- Fatal- Unsupported-
                Device: RlxdOrd+ ExtTag- PhantFunc- AuxPwr- NoSnoop+
                Device: MaxPayload 128 bytes, MaxReadReq 128 bytes
                Link: Supported Speed 2.5Gb/s, Width x16, ASPM L0s L1, Port 0
                Link: Latency L0s <64ns, L1 <1us
                Link: ASPM Disabled RCB 64 bytes CommClk- ExtSynch-
                Link: Speed 2.5Gb/s, Width x16
        Capabilities: [80] Message Signalled Interrupts: 64bit+ Queue=0/0 Enable-
                Address: 0000000000000000  Data: 0000



Any ideas? I'd really like to underclock the card and get some extra time when running on batteries.

Thanks,

Jorges

Edit: kernel is 2.6.15-gentoo-r7, using ati-drivers-8.24.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hasw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2006 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems the chip registers are different on a Mobility X1600.

rovclock -i should show the correct GPU and memory clock frequency (more or less closely, depending if it found the reference clock in the video BIOS) and
I think <code>Core: 0.19 MHz, Mem: 0.0 MHz </code>is far away from the correct values.

Conclusion: Don't use rovclock for Mobility X1600 (yet).

Maybe I'll fix it if I find out what the differences are...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jorges
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Oct 2005
Posts: 114
Location: Barcelona, Spain

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 1:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hasw wrote:
It seems the chip registers are different on a Mobility X1600.

rovclock -i should show the correct GPU and memory clock frequency (more or less closely, depending if it found the reference clock in the video BIOS) and
I think <code>Core: 0.19 MHz, Mem: 0.0 MHz </code>is far away from the correct values.

Conclusion: Don't use rovclock for Mobility X1600 (yet).

Maybe I'll fix it if I find out what the differences are...


OK, thanks. I hope you can fix it.

jorges
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tlaloc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 451
Location: Europe - Alps - Tyrol

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are there to expect any problems using this with the fglrx driver in big desktop (two monitors) mode?

Bye, Val.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 4 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum