Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Monitor CPU Temperature with lm_sensors and gkrellm
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
smokeslikeapoet
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 96
Location: Cordova, TN USA

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2003 4:52 am    Post subject: Monitor CPU Temperature with lm_sensors and gkrellm Reply with quote

Introduction
This process was accomplished with an Athlon XP 1800+ and EpoX 8KHA+ Via KT266A. Your result will be slightly different than my own. Please read the follow-up posts for information on other systems. I don't claim to be an expert in cpu cooling or motherboard sensor troubleshooting, I just consolidated about 2 hours worth of research in one HowTo. If you're having trouble getting lm-sensors working or have other platform specific questions I've opened a support thread here:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=326081

Making It Work
When compilling your kernel in the Character Devices section enable I2C Support , I2C device interface, and I2C /proc interface, as modules. If you have a tvtuner card, like I do, you already have probably already enabled these options. If you haven't already enabled them all you have to do is:
Code:
# make modules && make modules_install


After compilling your kernel do the following
Code:
emerge i2c lm-sensors gkrellm

if you're running kde you can use ksensors instead of gkrellm.
Code:
# emerge ksensors


Then run:
Code:
# sensors-detect

Press [return] to select the default options when you're prompted until you come to this
Code:
 Now follows a summary of the probes I have just done.
 Just press ENTER to continue:

You will get a list of sensors and directions like this.
Code:
Driver `eeprom' (should be inserted):
  Detects correctly:
  * Bus `bt848 #0' (Bit-shift algorithm)
    Busdriver `UNKNOWN', I2C address 0x50
    Chip `Serial EEPROM (SDRAM DIMM)' (confidence: 8)
  * Bus `SMBus Via Pro adapter at 5000' (Non-I2C SMBus adapter)
    Busdriver `i2c-viapro', I2C address 0x50
    Chip `Serial EEPROM (SDRAM DIMM)' (confidence: 8)
  * Bus `SMBus Via Pro adapter at 5000' (Non-I2C SMBus adapter)
    Busdriver `i2c-viapro', I2C address 0x51
    Chip `Serial EEPROM (SDRAM DIMM)' (confidence: 8)
 
Driver `w83781d' (should be inserted):
  Detects correctly:
  * ISA bus address 0x0290 (Busdriver `i2c-isa')
    Chip `Winbond W83697HF' (confidence: 8)
 
 
 I will now generate the commands needed to load the I2C modules.
 Sometimes, a chip is available both through the ISA bus and an I2C bus.
 ISA bus access is faster, but you need to load an additional driver module
 for it. If you have the choice, do you want to use the ISA bus or the
 I2C/SMBus (ISA/smbus)?
 
WARNING! If you have some things built into your kernel, the
below list will contain too many modules. Skip the appropriate ones!
To load everything that is needed, add this to some /etc/rc* file:
 
#----cut here----
# I2C adapter drivers
# modprobe unknown adapter bt848 #0 using Bit-shift algorithm
# modprobe unknown adapter bt848 #0 using Bit-shift algorithm
modprobe i2c-viapro
modprobe i2c-isa
# I2C chip drivers
modprobe eeprom
modprobe w83781d
#----cut here----
 
To make the sensors modules behave correctly, add these lines to either
/etc/modules.conf or /etc/conf.modules:
 
#----cut here----
# I2C module options
alias char-major-89 i2c-dev
#----cut here----

Instead of following those directions verbatim, I added i2c-viapro, i2c-isa, eeprom, and w83791d to /etc/modules.autoload. Make sure you have alias char-major-89 i2c-dev in /etc/modules.conf. The lm_sensors ebuild has added /etc/init.d/lm_sensors for us. So to load lm_sensors at boot do this:
Code:
# rc-update add lm_sensors default

Since we're Linux users and don't like to reboot do this, just replace the my modules with you're own.
Code:
# modprobe i2c-viapro
# modprobe i2c-isa
# modprobe eeprom
# modprobe w83781d

and then start lm_sensors:
Code:
# /etc/init.d/lm_sensors start


You can check to see if it's working properly. Just type:
Code:
# sensors

You should get an output similar to this:
Code:
eeprom-i2c-0-50
Adapter: bt848 #0
Algorithm: Bit-shift algorithm
 
eeprom-i2c-1-50
Adapter: SMBus Via Pro adapter at 5000
Algorithm: Non-I2C SMBus adapter
Memory type:            DDR SDRAM DIMM SPD
SDRAM Size (MB):        256
 
eeprom-i2c-1-51
Adapter: SMBus Via Pro adapter at 5000
Algorithm: Non-I2C SMBus adapter
Memory type:            DDR SDRAM DIMM SPD
SDRAM Size (MB):        256
 
w83697hf-isa-0290
Adapter: ISA adapter
Algorithm: ISA algorithm
VCore:     +1.76 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +0.00 V)
+3.3V:     +1.52 V  (min =  +2.97 V, max =  +3.63 V)
+5V:       +4.89 V  (min =  +4.50 V, max =  +5.48 V)
+12V:     +12.58 V  (min = +10.79 V, max = +13.11 V)
-12V:      +2.10 V  (min = -13.21 V, max = -10.90 V)
-5V:       +0.58 V  (min =  -5.51 V, max =  -4.51 V)
V5SB:      +5.53 V  (min =  +4.50 V, max =  +5.48 V)
VBat:      +3.13 V  (min =  +2.70 V, max =  +3.29 V)
fan1:        0 RPM  (min = 3000 RPM, div = 2)
fan2:        0 RPM  (min = 3000 RPM, div = 2)
temp1:       +28°C  (limit =  +60°C)                       sensor = thermistor
                                                                               
temp2:     +41.5°C  (limit =  +60°C, hysteresis =  +50°C) sensor = thermistor
                                                                               
alarms:
beep_enable:
          Sound alarm disabled


Now, I'm sure my output isn't totally accurate and yours probably isn't either. For example, I'm not using the normal 3 pin connector for my CPU fan because I have an 80mm Delta screamer on my heat sink. I also know that my core voltage isn't 1.52V. This can be corrected in:
Code:
/etc/sensors.conf

Since calibration is motherboard specific it is beyond the scope of this tutorial (perhaps a new tutorial is in order), but you can read more on how to calibrate your output on these pages:

The CPU core temps can only be exactly measured in a laboratory environment. You can however correct the mesurements you know to be inaccurate.

Finishing Up
Now you can launch gkrellm2 as a user (note the program name is gkrellm2). With the gkrellm window active press F1. Expand the Builtins menu and click on sensors. Here you can configure which sensors you would like to see in the gkrellm window. I'll leave that up to you. A note to my fellow Americans you can select Fahrenheit temps in the Options tab. Ksensors can also be configured in much the same way by right-clicking on the window.

This is my first How-To attempt for this forum your constructive criticism is appreciated.

edit: corrected typo, added ksensors info, added command line sensors info, added categories, added supercool Indigo headers, added calibration information (thanks, puddpunk). updated lm_sensors to lm-sensors.
_________________
-SmokesLikeaPoet

Folding@Home


Last edited by smokeslikeapoet on Sun Jan 11, 2004 10:07 am; edited 7 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ERW1N
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Mar 2003
Posts: 35
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2003 6:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thx a lot.
been looking for this tips. :D

smokeslikeapoet wrote:
After compilling your kernel do the following
Code:
emerge i2c lmsensors gkrellm



there's a typo there, should be:
Code:
emerge i2c lm_sensors gkrellm

_________________
AthlonXP 2100+ :: 512 MB DDR :: Radeon 8500 (128mb) :: Sound Blaster Audigy
2.4.20-gentoo-r5 :: XFree 4.3.0-r2 :: Gnome 2.2.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ERW1N
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Mar 2003
Posts: 35
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2003 6:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the sensor gives me:
temp1 36.0 C
temp2 28.5 C
temp3 7.5 C

what are those temp? cpu or motherboard?
it's impossible to have such low temperature for my Athlon XP

-Erwin-
_________________
AthlonXP 2100+ :: 512 MB DDR :: Radeon 8500 (128mb) :: Sound Blaster Audigy
2.4.20-gentoo-r5 :: XFree 4.3.0-r2 :: Gnome 2.2.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ctford0
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Oct 2002
Posts: 774
Location: Lexington, KY,USA

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2003 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is also a nice program for KDE called ksensors instead of gkrellm for all you KDE fans out there.

During the set I also had to create the directory /etc/sysconfig manually before I could get /etc/init.d/lm_sensors to start.

ERW1N:
A good check would be to reboot and check the health status in your bios to see what the temperature is running there.


Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piquadrat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 301
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2003 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

just a side note to IBM ThinkPad users: lmsensors can damage the bios or something. The install script checks wheter the PC is a ThinkPad and denies installation in that case, I think.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
barlad
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 673

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2003 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another note, for ASUS mobo users. On most recent motherboards (the ones using ICH4 chipset), ASUS disables the SMBus device and does not provide us with any bios option to enable it. Thus it is totally impossible to have lm_sensors work "out of the box". That said, there is a hack, documented in lm_sensors package, which solves it.

If anyone has got that problem, I can post a walkthrough.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smokeslikeapoet
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 96
Location: Cordova, TN USA

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2003 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ERW1N wrote:
the sensor gives me:
temp1 36.0 C
temp2 28.5 C
temp3 7.5 C

what are those temp? cpu or motherboard?
it's impossible to have such low temperature for my Athlon XP

-Erwin-


Your first temp is your processor. I would assume that you measured it idle. Mine runs at 42.5 at load with a 24.5 degree ambient room tempurature. Your second tempurature is the secondary sensor on your motherboard. Mine runs at 28.0C. The secondary sensor should not be much higher than your ambient room tempurature, otherwise you could use an extra case fan or two.

If you want a program that will tax your processor for a while click on the link in my signature. It's a distributed computing project that combats infectious diseases.

For some software cooling solutions checkout this thread.
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=6131
_________________
-SmokesLikeaPoet

Folding@Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ERW1N
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Mar 2003
Posts: 35
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2003 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

barlad wrote:
Another note, for ASUS mobo users. On most recent motherboards (the ones using ICH4 chipset), ASUS disables the SMBus device and does not provide us with any bios option to enable it. Thus it is totally impossible to have lm_sensors work "out of the box". That said, there is a hack, documented in lm_sensors package, which solves it.


i have ASUS A7V333 and lm_sensors works fine, it's just not detecting the CPU temp correctly....

smokeslikeapoet wrote:
Your first temp is your processor. I would assume that you measured it idle. Mine runs at 42.5 at load with a 24.5 degree ambient room tempurature. Your second tempurature is the secondary sensor on your motherboard. Mine runs at 28.0C. The secondary sensor should not be much higher than your ambient room tempurature, otherwise you could use an extra case fan or two.


i rebooted my box and checked the BIOS, the only match temp was the 1st temp which was displayed as M/B temp in BIOS. Weird.. seems lm_sensors can't detect my cpu temp correctly.
_________________
AthlonXP 2100+ :: 512 MB DDR :: Radeon 8500 (128mb) :: Sound Blaster Audigy
2.4.20-gentoo-r5 :: XFree 4.3.0-r2 :: Gnome 2.2.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StuBear
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Feb 2003
Posts: 157
Location: Melbourne,AUSTRALIA

PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2003 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="ERW1N]i rebooted my box and checked the BIOS, the only match temp was the 1st temp which was displayed as M/B temp in BIOS. Weird.. seems lm_sensors can't detect my cpu temp correctly.[/quote]

try typing
Code:
sensors
at a command prompt. On my gigabyte MB, I had a similair problem, I found that sensor-detect had detected the standard i2c sensor and the via sensor (viapro). gkrellm uses the standard one by default. On my system the via sensor showed the correct temp, but the i2c on was way off - I guess the offset etc needs to be tweaked for the standard i2c sensor, but I just set gkrellm to display the readings from the via sensor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ERW1N
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Mar 2003
Posts: 35
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2003 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cool!
sensors gives me the correct temperature and fan speed..

how to set gkrellm to display the reading from via sensor?
i tried checking the conf files but couldn't find anything
_________________
AthlonXP 2100+ :: 512 MB DDR :: Radeon 8500 (128mb) :: Sound Blaster Audigy
2.4.20-gentoo-r5 :: XFree 4.3.0-r2 :: Gnome 2.2.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GenKiller
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Mar 2003
Posts: 66
Location: United States of America

PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2003 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very nice tutorial! It's very nice to see a tutorial done about it, and it works awesome here on my Asus A7M266-D :D
_________________
http://www.digital-drip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swat
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 144

PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2003 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

barlad wrote:
Another note, for ASUS mobo users. On most recent motherboards (the ones using ICH4 chipset), ASUS disables the SMBus device and does not provide us with any bios option to enable it. Thus it is totally impossible to have lm_sensors work "out of the box". That said, there is a hack, documented in lm_sensors package, which solves it.

If anyone has got that problem, I can post a walkthrough.


This would be useful, as it is what i'm trying to do ;)

Thank you

Simon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smokeslikeapoet
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 96
Location: Cordova, TN USA

PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2003 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

barlad wrote:
Another note, for ASUS mobo users. On most recent motherboards (the ones using ICH4 chipset), ASUS disables the SMBus device and does not provide us with any bios option to enable it. Thus it is totally impossible to have lm_sensors work "out of the box". That said, there is a hack, documented in lm_sensors package, which solves it.

If anyone has got that problem, I can post a walkthrough.


If you want to add the information. I'll included it in my howto. You can post or pm me the info.
_________________
-SmokesLikeaPoet

Folding@Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
puddpunk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2003 2:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What hasn't even been mentioned on this thread, is that temperatures that are on the BIOS screen or whatever, have a whole lot of calculations done to it, to give an accurate temperature.

That means, that the reason some of your sensors are giving "funky" results, is that lm_sensors needs to be calibrated. There should be a file in the /usr/doc/<lmsensor-package> directory which will step you through it.

smokeslikeapoet, I suggest you complete this howto with directions for sensor calibration.

Thanks,
Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smokeslikeapoet
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 96
Location: Cordova, TN USA

PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2003 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

puddpunk wrote:
What hasn't even been mentioned on this thread, is that temperatures that are on the BIOS screen or whatever, have a whole lot of calculations done to it, to give an accurate temperature.

That means, that the reason some of your sensors are giving "funky" results, is that lm_sensors needs to be calibrated. There should be a file in the /usr/doc/<lmsensor-package> directory which will step you through it.


I added your info to the tutorial. Thanks.
_________________
-SmokesLikeaPoet

Folding@Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arlequin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Nov 2002
Posts: 707
Location: grep $USER /etc/passwd | cut -d':' -f6

PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2003 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah baby yeah, thanx for this tutorial :wink:
A little question: is there an app for gnome2 that show the temp ? A panel addon would be really gret 8) If someone know where I can find this...
_________________
J'vous dis ciao !
Au fait, ciao ça veut dire bye en anglais.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Braempje
l33t
l33t


Joined: 31 Jan 2003
Posts: 748

PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2003 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is just great, and works perfectly since I also have an Epox 8KHA+ :D
Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
barlad
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 673

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey guys,
sorry for the delay.
This is a HOW-TO to make smbus work on some asus motherboards. Sorry if this is not clear enough, english is not my native language. Feel free to modify it and add it to your post Smokeslikeapoet
I did not invent all of that, it's very well documented in the lm_sensors package. I just formatted it.

INTRODUCTION
This how-to concerns people who own an ASUS motherboards and cannot spot the SMBus device although the documentation says it exists. It ONLY works for ASUS motherboards using an ICH4 intel device (82801DB) or an ICH2 device (82801BA). Using it with another motherboard may be dangerous.
They are for pentium IV and use an intel Chipset. For exemple, it includes all the P4G8 serie or some motherboards with i801 chipset.
You can know what device is on your motherboard just by doing a lspci, you should then recognize the given references. Some lines will read like this:
Code:
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp. 82801BA/CA/DB/EB PCI Bridge (rev 82)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corp. 82801DB LPC Interface Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corp. 82801DB Ultra ATA Storage Controller (rev 02)


PREPARATION
You need:
- lm_sensors and i2C emerged
Code:
 emerge lm_sensors
emerge i2c
- the lm_sensors sources. either lm_sensors-2.6.5 or lm_sensors-2.7.0. We will suppose you untared it in ~/lmsensors directory. If you deleted the distfiles, you can grab it with
Code:
 emerge -f lm_sensors
then copy it from /usr/portage/distfiles.
- Pci HOTPLUG support compiled IN the kernel

STEP I
- There is a module created by lm_sensors to activate the smbus hidden by ASUS. Basically, it just enables it in the bios (by modifying two bits) then it reports it to the kernel so that lmsensors can see the device. That module must not have been used a lot because there is a glitch in the source that prevent it from compiling.

- The module is in ~/lmsensors/prog/hotplug/ so do
Code:
 cd ~/lmsensors/prog/hotplug

- Let's fix the sources. Edit the p4b_smbus.c file.
Modify the line 263 that reads:
Code:
write_lock_irqsave(i801smbus_lock, i801smbus_lock_flags);

with:
Code:
write_lock_irqsave(&i801smbus_lock, i801smbus_lock_flags);

Modify the line 268 that reads:
Code:
write_unlock_irqrestore(i801smbus_lock, i801smbus_lock_flags);

with:
Code:
write_unlock_irqrestore(&i801smbus_lock, i801smbus_lock_flags);

- We are ready to compile the module now.
Code:
 make -f Makefile.p4B

Now you should have a file called p4b_smbus.o.


STEP II
- We have to try if it works. run:
Code:
 insmod p4b_smbus.o

Dmesg should give you something like this
Code:
i801smbus: found Intel ICH4 (82801DB).
i801smbus: SMBus activated in LPC!
i801smbus: Enabled

And lspci should give you this:
Code:
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corp. 82801DB/DBM SMBus Controller (rev 02)

If you have this, then you are all set.

- copy p4b_smbus.o to your kernel modules directory:
Code:
 cp p4b_smbus.o /lib/modules/`uname -r`/misc/ 

Add p4b_smbus to your modules.autoload file.

- Now I think there are two options. Once p4b_smbus.o is loaded, you can most likely run sensors-detect. I did not do that but it should work.
The other way to go is just to load manually the following modules:
Code:
 modprobe i2c-core
modprobe i2c-i801
modprobe i2c-dev
modprobe i2c-proc
modprobe w83781d

Add those modules to your module.autoload file.

Enjoy. It works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vi Rocks
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 May 2003
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 6:11 pm    Post subject: devfs support for i2c devices. Reply with quote

Currently the makedev.sh script provided in lm_sensors creates
i2c devices in /dev . eg /dev/i2c-0 /dev/i2c-1 etc upto /dev/i2c-32.
But when i2c-dev module is loaded it creates a directory in /dev called i2c.

Is there a way by which all this can be encompassed in devfs.
i.e the devices would be /dev/i2c/<i2c-device-0> to /dev/i2c/<i2c-device-31>
and then use devfs to create symbolic links to the files in /dev/i2c directory.
thanks
_________________
Oh, the searing kiss of hot lead. How I've missed you! I mean -- I think I'm dying.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ctford0
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Oct 2002
Posts: 774
Location: Lexington, KY,USA

PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2003 1:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chris

Last edited by ctford0 on Sat May 17, 2003 2:12 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smokeslikeapoet
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 96
Location: Cordova, TN USA

PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2003 5:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ctford0: This isn't a support forum. I started a thread for specific problems here: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=326081
Please, respond to that thread and post the requested information.

If anyone has platform specific issues or concerns other than how the howto is written please post them to the thread mentioned above.
_________________
-SmokesLikeaPoet

Folding@Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kermitjunior
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2003 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

smokeslikeapoet wrote:
ERW1N wrote:
the sensor gives me:
temp1 36.0 C
temp2 28.5 C
temp3 7.5 C

what are those temp? cpu or motherboard?
it's impossible to have such low temperature for my Athlon XP

-Erwin-


Your first temp is your processor. I would assume that you measured it idle. Mine runs at 42.5 at load with a 24.5 degree ambient room tempurature. Your second tempurature is the secondary sensor on your motherboard. Mine runs at 28.0C. The secondary sensor should not be much higher than your ambient room tempurature, otherwise you could use an extra case fan or two.


Not necessarily. When you run #sensors it tells you what temp is what sensor. On my Abit K7R, they are:

temp1: SYS Temp
temp2: CPU Temp
temp3: SBr Temp

On another note... this howto is awesome!!!
Much better than the gkrellm documentation (which didn't work for me!)

V/r,
KJ
_________________
-----
Toshiba Satellite A15-S157, 2.2 Celery, 40GB, 512MB
AMD Athlon XP 1900+, 640MB PC2100, ABIT KG-7R
IBM 120GB (Linux), WD 30GB (WinDoze), ATI All-In-Wonder 128 Pro PCI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
calhoun
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 91
Location: Point Pleasant, NJ

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2003 3:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been looking for this. Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
totoffe
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 86
Location: Orange County, CA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2003 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oupps just a wee error :

emerge i2c lm-sensors gkrellm


it is not an underscore!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikaro
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 2527
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2003 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you use fluxbox and use the 'slit' insted of Gkellm, you can use dockapps.

Code:

emerge wmgtemp


add this to your .xinitrc before the "exec fluxbox" line

Code:

WM_BG_COLOR=#dbdfe8
wmgtemp -t -H 75 -w 70 -M 85 &

_________________
linux: #232767
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum