Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Direct rendering (DRI) using X11-DRM HOWTO
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SamuliSuominen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 2133
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 7:46 pm    Post subject: r128 DRI Reply with quote

For Rage 128 DRI forget about x11-drm ebuild in Portage, compile your kernel with Direct Rendering Manager Support, and of course, r128 support. In Menuconfig > Device Drivers > Character Devices. And load those.

Make sure you have USE="opengl" for xorg-x11 , (re)emerge it. USE="insecure-drivers" is for Mach64, so it's not needed.

Make sure you have these bits in xorg.conf:

Section "DRI" # Sets permissions for /dev/dri/card*
Mode 0666
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
SubSection "extmod"
Option "omit xfree86-dga"
EndSubSection
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
Load "glx" # for DRI
Load "dri" # for DRI
EndSection

And use driver "ati", without _any_ options, I mean, get rid of those crazy options you might have. Read the r128(4) manpage for REAL options.

Disable Composite Extension in xorg.conf.

And finally, to check everything works: LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose glxinfo
or LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose glxgears
Actually, LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose <any OpenGL software here>

:!:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bullring
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jan 2005
Posts: 14
Location: califronia

PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 12:43 am    Post subject: Re: r128 DRI Reply with quote

SamuliSuominen wrote:
For Rage 128 DRI forget about x11-drm ebuild in Portage, compile your kernel with Direct Rendering Manager Support, and of course, r128 support. In Menuconfig > Device Drivers > Character Devices. And load those.

Make sure you have USE="opengl" for xorg-x11 , (re)emerge it. USE="insecure-drivers" is for Mach64, so it's not needed.

Make sure you have these bits in xorg.conf:

Section "DRI" # Sets permissions for /dev/dri/card*
Mode 0666
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
SubSection "extmod"
Option "omit xfree86-dga"
EndSubSection
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
Load "glx" # for DRI
Load "dri" # for DRI
EndSection

And use driver "ati", without _any_ options, I mean, get rid of those crazy options you might have. Read the r128(4) manpage for REAL options.

Disable Composite Extension in xorg.conf.

And finally, to check everything works: LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose glxinfo
or LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose glxgears
Actually, LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose <any OpenGL software here>

:!:


Thank you for your suggestions, it works no problem now, glxgears went from 90fps to 452fps. thank you for your help...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sade
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Mar 2005
Posts: 406
Location: Netherlands - Eindhoven

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 11:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

do i need to emerge x11-drm with the new modular X? (xorg-x11-7)
_________________
| 1.6Ghz atom N270 | adopt an unanswerd post | a nice way to post a config file |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dberkholz
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Mar 2003
Posts: 1008
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sade wrote:
do i need to emerge x11-drm with the new modular X? (xorg-x11-7)

Or use the in-kernel DRM in 2.6 kernels.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sade
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Mar 2005
Posts: 406
Location: Netherlands - Eindhoven

PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

is there any difference between the two? one being newer mayb?
_________________
| 1.6Ghz atom N270 | adopt an unanswerd post | a nice way to post a config file |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dberkholz
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Mar 2003
Posts: 1008
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 8:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sade wrote:
is there any difference between the two? one being newer mayb?

Yeah, it mostly depends on when the last merge to the kernel and when the last update of x11-drm was, they can vary as to which is newer at a given time. Also mach64 and the nv stub are only available in x11-drm, and PCI cards work better using x11-drm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sade
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Mar 2005
Posts: 406
Location: Netherlands - Eindhoven

PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i can see that x11-drm dates from the 23th of december 2005, wich is fairly recent. but how can i tell when the kernell is merged?
i use: 2.6.15-gentoo-r1.

the general outline of my thoughts:
currently dri/drm is not working on my machine, so i'm trying other versions putting my money on the newest one in tree. and after that the cvs/svn.
_________________
| 1.6Ghz atom N270 | adopt an unanswerd post | a nice way to post a config file |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dberkholz
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Mar 2003
Posts: 1008
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sade wrote:
i can see that x11-drm dates from the 23th of december 2005, wich is fairly recent. but how can i tell when the kernell is merged?
i use: 2.6.15-gentoo-r1.


In general, merges happen within about two weeks after the _prior_ kernel was released. The DRM has been getting merged about once per release lately.

You might want to make sure your configuration is correct rather than worrying about too-old DRM unless you've got a super-new card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SamuliSuominen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 2133
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sade wrote:
is there any difference between the two? one being newer mayb?


nah, both are okay but if you get unresolved symbols (in dmesg) with x11-drm that version is incompatible with your kernel version (portage doesn't check this compability anyway) also it might be because kernel is compiled with wrongish options.

here is how I update my drm.ko and radeon.ko from CVS, with a simple script that is runned when X is _not running_.

#!/bin/bash
cd /usr/src
cvs -d:pserver:anonymous@cvs.freedesktop.org:/cvs/dri login
cvs -z3 -d:pserver:anonymous@cvs.freedesktop.org:/cvs/dri co drm
cd /usr/src/drm/linux-core
make clean
make DRM_MODULES="radeon"
rmmod radeon
rmmod drm
cp /usr/src/drm/linux-core/*.ko /lib/modules/$(uname -r)/kernel/drivers/char/drm/
depmod -ae
modprobe radeon

now, you can replace the radeon words with mach64, nv, r128, via, whatever if available in DRM CVS.

you can also use CVS ebuild of libdrm, http://unaffiliated.unk.fi/experimental/x11-libs/libdrm
and CVS ebuild of Mesa DRI, http://dev.gentoo.org/~spyderous/overlay/media-libs/mesa

but both only with X.org 7.0 allready installed.

:wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sade
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Mar 2005
Posts: 406
Location: Netherlands - Eindhoven

PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, i got dri and drm working using x11-drm. and my glxgears fps tripled. but something was using all resources and i could barely move my mouse-cursor. so i switched it off.

does somebody have any id's on this? what could be eating my resources when in dri?
this is all i've got in my section device:
Code:
        Identifier      "Unichrome VIA CLE266"
        Driver          "via"
        VendorName      "Via"
        BoardName       "cle266"
        Option          "DPMS"

_________________
| 1.6Ghz atom N270 | adopt an unanswerd post | a nice way to post a config file |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bensberg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Mar 2005
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sade wrote:
well, i got dri and drm working using x11-drm. and my glxgears fps tripled. but something was using all resources and i could barely move my mouse-cursor.

Maybe a runaway interrupt? Have you checked with top that it's not some process eating all CPU time?

With via, though, you may want to use the latest version from svn -- see the openchrome project pages. Or... ask spyderous to make a new release of x11-drm. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sade
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Mar 2005
Posts: 406
Location: Netherlands - Eindhoven

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bensberg wrote:
Maybe a runaway interrupt? Have you checked with top that it's not some process eating all CPU time?

i did check top, and total cpu time goes to 3% when idle for 15seconds, mayb a runaway interrupt, how can i check?
_________________
| 1.6Ghz atom N270 | adopt an unanswerd post | a nice way to post a config file |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bensberg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Mar 2005
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sade wrote:
i did check top, and total cpu time goes to 3% when idle for 15seconds,

What process uses all of the CPU during those 15 seconds? And does CPU usage go up again to 100% as soon as you become active again?

Sade wrote:
mayb a runaway interrupt, how can i check?

Don't know, there might be some indication in 'dmesg'. But I mixed things up: it are some of the KM400s that have buggy interrupt hardware.

The messages you get about agp and drm in 'dmesg' look okay?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sade
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Mar 2005
Posts: 406
Location: Netherlands - Eindhoven

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry i meant 15seconds after starting xorg-x11. when i move my mouse nothing realy happens to the cpu-usage.
the only proces that jumps up is event/0 but it only uses 1% cpu usage.

when i start programs, cpu-usage jumps up to 100% and the particilar program is together with x responsible for that.

[edit]
this is in my dmesg (this snip occurs many times (almost infinity) in the dmesg)
Code:
Disabling IRQ #11
irq 11: nobody cared (try booting with the "irqpoll" option)
 [<c0136b92>] __report_bad_irq+0x31/0x74
 [<c013666c>] __do_IRQ+0xa9/0xdd
 [<c0104e9d>] do_IRQ+0x19/0x24
 [<c011f83d>] __do_softirq+0x4d/0xbd
 [<c011f8da>] do_softirq+0x2d/0x31
 [<c011f981>] irq_exit+0x32/0x3d
 [<c0104ea2>] do_IRQ+0x1e/0x24
 [<c03737e3>] _spin_unlock_irqrestore+0xa/0x1c
[<c02da7bb>] (usb_hcd_irq+0x0/0x54)
[<c02da7bb>] (usb_hcd_irq+0x0/0x54)
[<c02da7bb>] (usb_hcd_irq+0x0/0x54)
Disabling IRQ #11


[edit 2]
Code:
dmesg | grep -e drm -e agp
this yields nothing, strange don't u think

[edit 3]
after a reboot it does give output:
Code:
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Routing Table [\_SB_.PCI0.AGPB._PRT]
Linux agpgart interface v0.101 (c) Dave Jones
agpgart: Detected VIA CLE266 chipset
agpgart: AGP aperture is 32M @ 0xe4000000
[drm] Initialized drm 1.0.1 20051102
[drm] Initialized via 2.7.4 20051116 on minor 0:
[drm] Used old pci detect: framebuffer loaded
i'm guessing that the irq stuff filled the dmesg log at such a rate that this drm and agp stuff was pushed out.
_________________
| 1.6Ghz atom N270 | adopt an unanswerd post | a nice way to post a config file |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bensberg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Mar 2005
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sade wrote:
[<c0136b92>] __report_bad_irq+0x31/0x74
[<c013666c>] __do_IRQ+0xa9/0xdd
[<c0104e9d>] do_IRQ+0x19/0x24 [...]

Do you maybe have kernel debugging enabled? Possibly all these messages are slowing your machine down. Maybe even getting written into log files?

To get rid of these fake interrupt requests... Best to pop into #unichrome at irc.freenode.net and ask there, as I haven't eaten any cheese of these things. :)

[Edit]: Grepping through the Unichrome mail brought up this: try adding 'Option "DisableIRQ" "True"' to the Section "Device" in your xorg.conf. See 'man via'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sade
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Mar 2005
Posts: 406
Location: Netherlands - Eindhoven

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

100 times thanks bensberg.
Code:
Option "DisableIRQ" "True"' to the Section "Device" in your xorg.conf

this option works, and i know am a happy fellow. scoring about 200fps in glxgears but more importantly with XvmC running

P.S. this option was not in the man via page
_________________
| 1.6Ghz atom N270 | adopt an unanswerd post | a nice way to post a config file |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bensberg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Mar 2005
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sade wrote:
this option works, and i now am a happy fellow.

Cool. :)

Sade wrote:
P.S. this option was not in the man via page

Apparently x11-drm does not include the man pages of the drivers, so you're still seeing the old page of Xorg-6.8.2. Mine is from CVS. Maybe file a bug? Or wait till you update to Xorg-7.0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dberkholz
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Mar 2003
Posts: 1008
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bensberg wrote:
Sade wrote:
this option works, and i now am a happy fellow.

Cool. :)

Sade wrote:
P.S. this option was not in the man via page

Apparently x11-drm does not include the man pages of the drivers, so you're still seeing the old page of Xorg-6.8.2. Mine is from CVS. Maybe file a bug? Or wait till you update to Xorg-7.0.


x11-drm doesn't include man pages at all, those come from the individual driver packages in 7.0 (or xorg-x11 in the monolith).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peterfa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 23
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 7:28 pm    Post subject: r128, what not to do Reply with quote

I would just like to let people know that if you have an ATi with r128 chipset, do not use both the ati-drivers and dri in the kernel. It will not work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SamuliSuominen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 2133
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 7:39 pm    Post subject: Re: r128, what not to do Reply with quote

peterfa wrote:
I would just like to let people know that if you have an ATi with r128 chipset, do not use both the ati-drivers and dri in the kernel. It will not work.


ati-drivers won't work anyway, it's only for Radeons starting from 8500.

What I want to make known is there is absolutely no point using ati-drivers for cards 8500-9250, just use DRI drivers with X.org 7.0 and you'll get support you need including eyecandies with Composite Extension. Will also work on r100 type of cards, 7000, 7200, 7500.

8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peterfa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 23
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
ati-drivers won't work anyway

Aye, that makes sense. Also, emerge -C ati-drivers fixes problems easily if you run into the issue I had.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roderick
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jul 2005
Posts: 908
Location: St. John's, NL CANADA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have Modular X 7.0, and testing CVS versions of Xgl, Mesa, Libdrm, etc.

I'd like to be able to get an ebuild for X11-drm. Should I just mod the ebuild I have for Libdrm and add a USE flag for drm to build drm.ko and my video card or should I get an ebuild of X11-drm? If the latter, has anyone got an ebuild to get the CVS and build the modules?

Thanks.
_________________
If God were a pickle, I'd still say "no pickle on my burger".
http://roderick-greening.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tappel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 3:26 pm    Post subject: mach64: Unknown symbol pci_pretty_name Reply with quote

I have an Acer laptop with ATI Rage Mobility M/P AGP (8M memory). I'm using Linux 2.6.15gentoo-r1, agpgart support for my chipset (ALi M1621) enabled, no DRM in the kernel.

I've emerged x11-drm (complains compile-time about missing definition for pci_pretty_name in the mach64 driver (i don't have the log available right now, can submit if needed) and then re-emerged xorg-x11 with insecure-drivers flag. Everything else seems to work so far, but the mach64 module does not load:

Code:
# insmod /lib/modules/2.6.15-gentoo-r1/x11-drm/mach64.ko
insmod: error inserting '/lib/modules/2.6.15-gentoo-r1/x11-drm/mach64.ko': -1 Unknown symbol in module


dmesg shows the message "mach64: Unknown symbol pci_pretty_name".

Anyone have any idea?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tappel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 5:59 pm    Post subject: Re: mach64: Unknown symbol pci_pretty_name Reply with quote

tappel wrote:
dmesg shows the message "mach64: Unknown symbol pci_pretty_name".

Anyone have any idea?


Figured it out myself, should probably file a bug against this, though.

I added the following lines in drm/linux/drmP.h, at the end of the file, before #endif /* __KERNEL__ */:

Code:
#ifndef pci_pretty_name
#define pci_pretty_name(dev) ""
#endif


in a similar way to how it is done in the Linux kernel mainline drmP.h.

(Hmph, using ebuild by hand is annoying... How does one pass variables to ebuild? It doesn't seem to care about make.conf or environment variables, I had to tweak the ebuild file by hand to get the VIDCARDS right. Emerge should have the unpack, compile, install and qmerge actions, IMHO.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SamuliSuominen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 2133
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 6:03 pm    Post subject: Re: mach64: Unknown symbol pci_pretty_name Reply with quote

tappel wrote:
Code:
# insmod /lib/modules/2.6.15-gentoo-r1/x11-drm/mach64.ko
insmod: error inserting '/lib/modules/2.6.15-gentoo-r1/x11-drm/mach64.ko': -1 Unknown symbol in module


dmesg shows the message "mach64: Unknown symbol pci_pretty_name".

Anyone have any idea?


What version of x11-drm? Get the latest ~arch one for 2.6.15/16.

echo 'x11-base/x11-drm' >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
emerge -av x11-drm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 7 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum