Stable Kernels gone bad
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mlynx
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2003 9:19 pm    Post subject: Stable Kernels gone bad Reply with quote

I am trying to diagnose why my stable kernels have started crashing. I updated to XFree-4.3.0_r2 on Friday night (was running XFree-4.3.0), other than that, I haven't made any major changes.

The logs show a problem with an i/o request to the floppy failing (sometimes). Occasionally I can see the message from the kernel oops, other times the oops starts dumping and doesn't stop so I cannot even read the messages.

I am using Gentoo-Sources kernels. I have tried rebuilding the kernel and some of the older kernels I built that were stable.

What more can I do to try and fix this? I am a newbie when it comes to kernel level stuff so I don't know what else I can offer or do to diagnose this. I was really enjoying the stability of the Linux kernel up until this weekend, I was able to go for several weeks without a reboot, now I cannot go even two hours.
dice
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2003 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're getting the same issue with kernels that had previously been working well for you that would seem to indicate a hardware problem.
mlynx
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2003 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suspect a hardware problem as well, but how would I go about diagnosing what is failing? I should also mention that this is on a laptop, basically a sealed system (no hardware changes).
hielvc
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2003 11:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you did a XFree update then thats probably where the prob statred. If your "XF86Config"