Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
The Gentoo Framebuffer, Bootsplash & Grubsplash How-To
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 25, 26, 27  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
darth
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2003 10:35 pm    Post subject: Possible solution to missing /proc/splash Reply with quote

For all those people who couldn't get /proc/splash, I had the same problem at first then it dawned on me somehow to check if I am actually setting the right mode. And I wasn't!?

I checked this by doing:

Code:

[18:17](darth@dagobah): dmesg| grep vesa                                                                                                                 
Kernel command line: root=/dev/hdb3 video=vesa:ywrap,mtrr vga=0x318
vesafb: framebuffer at 0xd0000000, mapped to 0xe0800000, size 32768k
vesafb: mode is 1024x768x32, linelength=2048, pages=0
...


Then I saw the "x32" and I said WTF? (really loud) So I looked at the mode table again *closely* and when I realized what I did I slapped my self on the forehead and put in 0x317 which gave me what I needed:

Code:

[18:17](darth@dagobah): dmesg| grep vesa                                                                                                                 
Kernel command line: root=/dev/hdb3 video=vesa:ywrap,mtrr vga=0x317
vesafb: framebuffer at 0xd0000000, mapped to 0xe0800000, size 32768k
vesafb: mode is 1024x768x16, linelength=2048, pages=0
...


And the splash loaded...

In my haste to get the glorious bootsplash I incorrectly managed to see 16M as 16 bit (instead of 16 Million colors), duh?

It all works properly at 16 BIT so check if that might be your problem too! Bootsplash does not currently work at 32 bit yet so it will never load if you are at 32, or 8, or 24.

Cheers!

-D

PS - This was all done with gentoo-sources r3 which is already patched so all I had to do was emerge bootsplash, create the initrd and add it to the boot sequence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mojo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Nov 2002
Posts: 47
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2003 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

when you are interested in a working progressbar keep an eye on this topic and its posts:

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=47612

maybe they will soon have a solution for the problem :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
katharsis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Apr 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2003 3:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, you wanted screenshots, here's mine:

http://www.geoshock.com/console.png

Thanks for the help :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simcop2387
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Aug 2002
Posts: 200
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2003 12:30 pm    Post subject: Re: Possible solution to missing /proc/splash Reply with quote

darth wrote:
For all those people who couldn't get /proc/splash, I had the same problem at first then it dawned on me somehow to check if I am actually setting the right mode. And I wasn't!?
...
It all works properly at 16 BIT so check if that might be your problem too! Bootsplash does not currently work at 32 bit yet so it will never load if you are at 32, or 8, or 24.


THANK YOU i've been trying to figure this out myself, never realized that it doesn't work at 16 bit, i'll have to go and patch everything up so that it'll work at 32bit eventually, if i can figure it out that is....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mojo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Nov 2002
Posts: 47
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2003 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So guys this is for everyone who wants to have a progressbar at boottime

D-e-e wrote:
Code:

I added the following into the function eend in the file /sbin/functions.sh.
Code:

if [ "${BOOT}" = "yes" ] && [ -z "${EBUILD}" -a -w /proc/splash ] && [ -s /dev/shm/ ]
    then
        if ! [ -e /dev/shm/progress_bar_counter ] ; then echo 0 > /dev/shm/progress_bar_counter ; fi
        NEW_VALUE=$(( `cat /dev/shm/progress_bar_counter` + 2849 ))
        echo "$NEW_VALUE" > /dev/shm/progress_bar_counter
        echo "show $NEW_VALUE" > /proc/splash
fi

Place the above code at the begining of the eend(){} function, so that it executes before the rest of the function does.

I came up with the number "2849" by adding the number of scripts that were called after the shared memory (/dev/shm) was mounted, added one to that number, and divided 65536 by it. Eg. 65536/(number_of_scripts + 1).

With this additon the progress bar animates smoothly without any hitches. Must have the following code in your fstab to mount /dev/shm
Code:
none                    /dev/shm        tmpfs           defaults               0 0

This code will only move the progress bar during BOOT.



you must do one change to the bootsplash init script to export the correct bootslpash image to console 2-5 and not the silent bootsplash:

Code:

you will find in the start subsection in /etc/init.d/bootsplash this line:
 /sbin/splash -s -u $TTY /etc/bootsplash/${BOOTSPLASH_THEME}/config/bootsplash-$(/sbin/fbresolution).cfg

you have only to add a "-n" (without the "") after $TTY:

/sbin/splash -s -u $TTY -n /etc/bootsplash/${BOOTSPLASH_THEME}/config/bootsplash-$(/sbin/fbresolution).cfg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bcore
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Apr 2003
Posts: 59
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2003 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fyi: The code in step #10 of the instructions has a typo (bootplash instead of bootsplash)

:)
_________________
MR DOWNY: BISCUIT BRAAAAAAAAAAA
YUO: LOL!!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 9
Location: Austin, TX

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2003 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here is a little visual inspiration from last xmas break when i was playing around with framebuffer a bit:

http://www.cs.utexas.edu/~danb/screenshots/fb1.png
http://www.cs.utexas.edu/~danb/screenshots/fb2.png
http://www.cs.utexas.edu/~danb/screenshots/fb3.png
http://www.cs.utexas.edu/~danb/screenshots/fb4.png
http://www.cs.utexas.edu/~danb/screenshots/fb5.png
http://www.cs.utexas.edu/~danb/screenshots/fb6.png
http://www.cs.utexas.edu/~danb/screenshots/fb7.png
http://www.cs.utexas.edu/~danb/screenshots/fb8.png

to achieve the cool feathered dark box thing, i used the gimp to create a completely black image and a simple mask (the cool feathered box thing), and then used composite (from imagemagick) in combination with an image of my choice to apply the blackness to the chosen image, masked through the mask

if you want to play with the idea:
http://www.cs.utexas.edu/~danb/splash/black.bmp
http://www.cs.utexas.edu/~danb/splash/mask.bmp
http://www.cs.utexas.edu/~danb/splash/create

enjoy :)

...and dont be an ass; leave my aim friends alone :P


Last edited by danb on Thu May 13, 2004 8:12 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maw
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Aug 2002
Posts: 175
Location: Nottingham, UK

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2003 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got it working, now I can see I'm going to spend hours and hours looking for the perfect splash image to use. Lovely!

Actually, this was fairly painless, the painful part of my latest kernel modifications was that ACPI breaks networking in 2.4.20 for some reason. I'm sure it was fine in 2.4.19... ah well.

Excellent instructions.
_________________
Your Gentoo woll sle me sodenly!
I may the beaute of it not sustene
(to misquote Chaucer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scocou
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 184
Location: Pacific NW, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2003 11:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works great! I might add that scroll-back buffering DOES work <shift+PgUp> as expected (not to be contrary ;) ). I think links looks beautiful using the fb driver, as well as lynx on the console... here's a few pics; http://members.shaw.ca/sbc/pics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jondkent
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 289
Location: London

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2003 8:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got it working fine with the latest XFS kernel, no patching required either for that kernel btw :D

grub config is:

Code:
kernel /boot/bzImage root=/dev/hda4 video=mtrr,vesa:1024x768 vga=0x317


Gonna play around with frame buffer apps when I get a minute

Cheers for the howto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moonclimber
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 24
Location: NUPT NanJing China

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2003 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using lilo not grub, and I config my lilo.conf like this:

vga=0x317

image=/boot/my_kernel
append="video=vesa:1024x768@85"
.....

But in console mode , it seems useless for screen refreshing :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maw
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Aug 2002
Posts: 175
Location: Nottingham, UK

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2003 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got me a screenshot (not guaranteed to stay up for very long)

http://www.alledora.co.uk/images/fb0.jpg

Picture's from when I was playing with my camera in the park the other day.
_________________
Your Gentoo woll sle me sodenly!
I may the beaute of it not sustene
(to misquote Chaucer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zenzei
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Mar 2003
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2003 4:15 pm    Post subject: Re: The Gentoo Framebuffer, Bootsplash & Grubsplash How- Reply with quote

Narada wrote:

Trivia: Mplayer on framebuffer: Try 'emerge mplayer' and then 'mplayer -vo svga <filename>'. Have you managed to get mplayer working under framebuffer? If so, post details!


Lo all!

I use mplayer on my fbdev without any problems, and it looks very well! I use it on my laptop to watch movies, so the 60Hz problem isnt important for my LCD.

This is my commandline
Code:
mplayer -ao alsa9 -sws 2 -autoq 100 -vo fbdev -zoom -fs -vop scale -xy 1024 some_video_file.avi


important parameters:

-ao _whatever_your_sound_device_is(try help) and -vo fbdev

the rest is just for scaling fullscreen with good quality.
Ah! If possible (beware: doesnt work with bootsplash!) set your fb to 24bits, for better colors whenever you are watching a movie. (vga=792 for 1024x768x24bits)

My USE flags for my mplayer are:

[ebuild R ] media-video/mplayer-0.90_rc5 +dga +oss +jpeg -3dfx +sse -matrox +sdl +X +svga +ggi +oggvorbis +3dnow +aalib +gnome +xv +opengl +truetype +dvd +gtk +gif +esd +fbcon +encode +alsa +directfb +arts

you probably only need the fbcon directfb and your_sound_device flags for it to work. (plus anything you want - sse and 3dnow are nice for speeding up!)

Also, take note that I'm using 2.5.68 (tried and worked with 66-67 also); the latest kernels (2.5.XX, specially the 66,67,68) have a LOT of updates in the framebuffer area (check kernel.org changelogs); right now I can switch X to fbdev to X to fbdev+mplayer, fbdev+links, etc etc without any glitch. (and my external monitor is autodetected) - no luck with refresh rates yet though.

Greetings

Martin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iwasbiggs
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jan 2003
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2003 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Working in relatively minimal time. Thank you Neko K for that bugzilla link!! Without it I wouldn't have figured out the framebuffer problem!

No progress bar, but no big deal!

1 gig+ ram
msi geforce 4200ti
vanilla 2.40.20
_________________
www.ruinedsoft.com
Freeware development.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheEternalVortex
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Oct 2002
Posts: 207
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Thu May 01, 2003 1:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I finally had time to play around with it :), and I think it's not too bad at all.
_________________
-- Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FormerSlacker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Posts: 340
Location: Toronto, ON. Canada

PostPosted: Thu May 01, 2003 10:33 pm    Post subject: Yet another sucess story :) Reply with quote

Great article Narada! Followed it and low and behold, it works. I'm using kernel 2.4.20-gaming-r2.

Here are some screens of my configuration here and here.

Just one quirk, you list the command to create the initrd file as:
Code:

/sbin/splash -s -f /etc/bootsplash/default/config/bootsplash-1280x1024.cfg > /boot/initrd-1280x1024


However, in your example grub.conf file, you give the root path for the initrd file.
Code:

initrd=/initrd-1280x1024


But following your splash example, it should be...
Code:

initrd=/boot/initrd-1280x1024


I had some problems myself until I added boot, then it all magicly worked :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jimbow
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 597
Location: Silver City, NM

PostPosted: Thu May 01, 2003 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It all depends on whether or not /boot is on a separate partition (and whether it was mounted when initrd was created :) ).
_________________
After Perl everything else is just assembly language.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FormerSlacker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Posts: 340
Location: Toronto, ON. Canada

PostPosted: Thu May 01, 2003 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jimbow wrote:
It all depends on whether or not /boot is on a separate partition (and whether it was mounted when initrd was created :) ).

Good point :o
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
coolvibe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2003 1:37 am    Post subject: Another success story :) Reply with quote

This is indeed pretty cool...

Here's a dump of my console:

http://www.hackerheaven.org/screenshots/console.png

It's just the default 1024x786 config, supplied by the ebuild, I just replaced the image. Nothing fancy. I like this backdrop because it's nice and dark, and white text displays well on this.
_________________
dash dash space
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scosol
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Dec 2002
Posts: 6
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2003 5:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Werx for me- on a Fujitsu P2040:
http://www.thedenofsin.org/projects/msg_1051852565/console.jpg/view
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jimbow
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 597
Location: Silver City, NM

PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2003 6:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had something funny happen with the splash program. I was using it a lot to test out and edit bootsplash config files. After a while it started sending output to the screen each time it was run. I could not redirect this output to /dev/null, it seems it wasn't on stdout or stderr. After a reboot (laptop), it went back to silent mode.
_________________
After Perl everything else is just assembly language.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beejay
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 03 Oct 2002
Posts: 924
Location: Flensungen (das liegt neben Merlau)

PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2003 9:54 am    Post subject: Great but... Reply with quote

...you can't work with this flickering Picture. :oops:

But no matter what - here is mine :

http://www.judas-merlau.de/benni/screenshots/fb.png

Just default, just a test. :wink:

But Thanks Narada for this guide
_________________
Dort wo schwarzer Rauch aufsteigt, sich alsbald ein Fehler zeigt.
www.paludis-sucks.org | www.gentoo.de | www.gentoo-ev.org | www.gentoo.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moixa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2003 1:40 pm    Post subject: This is cool! Reply with quote

And works very nice for me.

Kernel xfs-sources-r3 does have the patch already included too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blscreen
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Mar 2003
Posts: 118
Location: Innsbruck

PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2003 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It took me a while to get the point that this will only work with a 16 bpp framebuffer. With other colordepths /proc/splash will not appear => no bootsplash.
It is possible to use a framebuffer driver for specific hardware and to get nice refreshrates like 75 Hz, but for some reasons this seems not to work with matroxfb and initrd. When I try to boot into a 16 bpp framebuffer + initrd, the boot process just stops after displaying the kernel comandline parameters.... strange
Without initrd everything is fine, I can set the picture after booting with splash.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
uziel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Feb 2003
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2003 2:51 pm    Post subject: Thanks! Reply with quote

Framebuffer erotica! Up and running in no time, kernel update was due anyway...
Thanks a lot for that howto!

Sincerely
Chris
_________________
Those who promise their way of freedom and peace still do not understand the meaning of the word...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 25, 26, 27  Next
Page 2 of 27

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum