Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
TMPFS
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
harut
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2002 2:28 am    Post subject: TMPFS Reply with quote

I installed gentoo linux from the 132mb iso, without being connected to the net, using XFS file system...

i get the error mounting tmpfs at /mnt/.init.d... [oops]

wrong fs type,....

critical error cannot start blah blah, can someone help me out?
Back to top
dacoval
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 6
Location: Qld, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2002 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It sounds alot like you dont have tmpfs compiled into the kernel.... Im using XFS on at least four systems, and they all mount /mnt/.init.d fine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sinistre
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jun 2002
Posts: 29
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2002 7:44 pm    Post subject: I get the same error Reply with quote

And I do have tmpfs compiled in. Everything seems to be correct...
_________________
Ole Johansen
GPG keyID 7353806D 1999-10-11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2002 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's the third report of this so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klieber
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 3657
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2002 7:47 pm    Post subject: Re: I get the same error Reply with quote

sinistre wrote:
And I do have tmpfs compiled in. Everything seems to be correct...


Wow -- it says, "critical error cannot start blah blah"?? I've never seen that error before. I wonder what the blah blah refers to? ;)

Could you post the exact error message that you're seeing? Also, can you grep your .config file and post the relevant TMPFS portions. (NOT the entire .config file)

--kurt
_________________
The problem with political jokes is that they get elected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2002 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Due to number of reports, bug 3904 has been filed on this issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2002 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

delta407 wrote:
Due to number of reports, bug 3904 has been filed on this issue.


The oddest part about this is, I just installed this system a couple days ago and I need init.d mounted... everything is running fine. (LVM)

Maybe we need to isolate the incidents down to a certain criteria.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2002 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right, but what is the pattern? There's a whole lot of variables...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2002 8:16 pm    Post subject: Re: TMPFS Reply with quote

harut wrote:
I installed gentoo linux from the 132mb iso, without being connected to the net, using XFS file system...

i get the error mounting tmpfs at /mnt/.init.d... [oops]

wrong fs type,....

critical error cannot start blah blah, can someone help me out?


Which ISO did you use, 1.2?
(wondering, and trying to isolate the issue)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2002 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If so, then it may just be an issue with the 1.2 stage 3 tarball, which would be very handy to know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2002 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

delta407 wrote:
If so, then it may just be an issue with the 1.2 stage 3 tarball, which would be very handy to know.


I have a feeling that's that problem, else we'd be having boatloads of people coming in here saying that they installed stage1 and compiled the rest and now they have issues...

We shall see I guess 8O)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2002 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Others have installed the 1.2 stage 3 tarball without issues... hmm... this is just too weird for me. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sinistre
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jun 2002
Posts: 29
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2002 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I went through the whole deal setting the system up from stage 1. Still it won't mount tmpfs on init.d (or anywhere else either). If I comment the checking in /sbin/rc then the system starts fine (except tmpfs isn't mounted ofcourse).

This leads me to think there might be due to some kernel option missing - but I know I have the virtual file system and the dev file system compiled in. However no /dev/shm is created - which should happen according to the documentation with the kernel. That might be an issue. I only have a vague idea of what these systems do and how they behaved so me troubleshooting them is more guessing than anything.

/proc mounts fine and /proc/filesystems show 'nodev tmpfs' but no 'shm'... I'm not sure if that should show up there either.
_________________
Ole Johansen
GPG keyID 7353806D 1999-10-11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sinistre
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jun 2002
Posts: 29
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2002 12:37 pm    Post subject: I think I have solved the problem !!! Reply with quote

But there is something weird still going on! I had UNIX98 PTY support enabled, recompiling the kernel without it made the system boot!! Even after having uncommented the checking in /sbin/rc. And after having rebooted the /dev/shm was present (seems it's not when pty support is enabled?!)

THE WEIRD PART: It still complains when /etc/init.d/checkroot tries to mount tmpfs at init.d because it has already been done in /sbin/rc !? Seems the startup scripts tries to mount it twice!? Both these scrips are checking bootoptions for notmpfs and proceed to mount tmpfs is the flag is not set. Strange? I think so. I hope somebody has an explanation for me - because I"m curious what's really going on.
_________________
Ole Johansen
GPG keyID 7353806D 1999-10-11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ealm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 12
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2002 9:40 am    Post subject: The same with 1.3a... Reply with quote

I installed 1.3a today (1.3b seems to be borked due to a broken python lib which prevents emerge from working).
Everything works fine until I try to boot.
I get two errors, the first about not having DevFS support in kernel.
[ENTER] lets me continue to boot anyway, and that's when the tmpfs error appears:
"Cannot mount tmpfs - too many FS's mounted or incrorrect bla bla bla"

'This is from my .config:
CONFIG_DEVFS_FS=y
CONFIG_DEVFS_MOUNT=y
# CONFIG_DEVFS_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_TMPFS=y


I've tried to comment and uncomment the tmpfs entry in /etc/fstab without resluts.
I've also tried to boot gentoo passing 'gentoo=notmpfs' in lilo. Then I don't get an error about tmpfs, but instead of not being able to find ext2 module when trying to mount ramfs (guess ramfs is secondary to tmpfs).


What is this all about :?:


Last edited by ealm on Tue Jun 25, 2002 1:12 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sinistre
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jun 2002
Posts: 29
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2002 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You'd need support for ramfs in the kernel if you'd want that to work. Try this:

do a make mrproper (this will delete .config so back that up somewhere else)
then make menuconfig and add everything again... don't copy .config into the directory, probably doesn't make any difference (just in case)
then make clean bzImage modules modules_install
and cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot
and cp System.map /boot

run lilo if your using lilo (I don't think you have to do this with GRUB, but then I don't use GRUB).

'mkay reboot. should work fine

check if you have nodev devfs, nodev tmpfs, nodev shm in /proc/filesystems if not then it's probably because it's not in your kernel.
_________________
Ole Johansen
GPG keyID 7353806D 1999-10-11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum