View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
sonicbhoc Veteran
Joined: 24 Oct 2005 Posts: 1805 Location: In front of the computer screen
|
Posted: Mon Dec 12, 2005 3:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grub keeps mounting my reiser3 partition read only! why? just so you know, my reiser partition is / and ext2 is /boot. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cinquante n00b
Joined: 02 Dec 2005 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 11:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hello
When i boot with my personnal livecd, it can't boot.
This is the result of setup (cd) in grub :
Code: |
Checking if "/boot/grub/iso9669_stage1_5" exists... yes
Runnig "embed /boot/grub/iso9660_stage1_5 (hd31)" ... failed (this is not fatal)
Error 31 : File is not sector aligned
|
What is the error ?
I am using the HOWTO for create my livecd.
Thank and excuse my english |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54572 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 6:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
sonicbhoc,
grub does not actually mount any partitions. All it does is load the kernel into memory, load in initrd file (if there is one) into memory and attach it to /dev/ram0 then pass control to the kernel. From here on its up to the kernel.
HAving said that, I suspect that you get an error message about fsck failing during booting.
This is normallay caused by incorrect entries in /etc/fstab. Look carefully at the line for your root partition. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Legions n00b
Joined: 16 Dec 2005 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 8:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i dont know what a grub is :-/ _________________ hello world! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jmbsvicetto Moderator
Joined: 27 Apr 2005 Posts: 4735 Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)
|
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi and welcome to the forums Legions!
GRUB is the GRand Unified Boot-loader. It boots your system and presents you the menu to select the OS or kernel to boot. _________________ Jorge.
Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
inf0c0m n00b
Joined: 13 Jul 2004 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 7:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
im getting the 'Error 15'. never really had this problem before, tried reinstalling grub a few times, nothing has worked yet. heres the info i can provide, lemt me know what else is needed
grub.conf:
default 0
timeout 5
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.14-r5
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.14-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/hda3
livecd linux # ls -l /boot/
total 2406
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 33754 Dec 16 18:43 config-2.6.14-gentoo-r5
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 1024 Dec 16 19:32 grub
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 2404124 Dec 16 19:31 kernel-2.6.14-gentoo-r5
drwx------ 2 root root 12288 Dec 16 15:16 lost+found
any reason my system.map isnt there as well as a ton of other files that normally are? a look at my working gentoo system:
mythbox ~ # less /boot/grub/grub.conf
default 0
timeout 5
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.14-r4
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.14-gentoo-r4 root=/dev/hda3
mythbox ~ # ls -l /boot/
total 5555
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 27 Dec 11 05:10 System.map -> System.map-2.6.14-gentoo-r4
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 923106 Dec 11 05:10 System.map-2.6.14-gentoo-r4
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 1 Dec 10 18:45 boot -> .
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 23 Dec 11 05:10 config -> config-2.6.14-gentoo-r4
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 38041 Dec 11 05:14 config-2.6.14-gentoo-r4
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 1024 Dec 16 18:24 grub
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 2342714 Dec 12 12:38 kernel-2.6.14-gentoo-r4
drwx------ 2 root root 12288 Dec 10 18:28 lost+found
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 24 Dec 11 05:10 vmlinuz -> vmlinuz-2.6.14-gentoo-r4
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 2342520 Dec 11 05:10 vmlinuz-2.6.14-gentoo-r4
any ideas? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54572 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 10:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
inf0c0m,
info grub says :-
Code: | 15 : File not found
This error is returned if the specified file name cannot be found,
but everything else (like the disk/partition info) is OK. | which normally means you have a typo.
You have something more subtle wrong.
Normally /boot contains a symbolic link to itself like this
Code: | lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 1 Dec 14 2004 boot -> . | which you seem to have missing.
This is a dirty hack that allows grub.conf to be the same regardless of the existance of a real /boot partition or not.
With a real /boot, the root (hd0,0) statement points to the place where the kernel actually is.
With a /boot folder on the root partition root (hd0,0) points to the kernels root partition and the kernel is in /boot, which you have to provide in the path to kernel. The link allows the /boot to be provided wethee its needed or not.
There are two things you can do (theres always a choice). Add the symbolic link or
remove the /boot from
Code: | splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.14-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/hda3 |
_________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
inf0c0m n00b
Joined: 13 Jul 2004 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 2:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | inf0c0m,
info grub says :-
Code: | 15 : File not found
This error is returned if the specified file name cannot be found,
but everything else (like the disk/partition info) is OK. | which normally means you have a typo.
You have something more subtle wrong.
Normally /boot contains a symbolic link to itself like this
Code: | lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 1 Dec 14 2004 boot -> . | which you seem to have missing.
This is a dirty hack that allows grub.conf to be the same regardless of the existance of a real /boot partition or not.
With a real /boot, the root (hd0,0) statement points to the place where the kernel actually is.
With a /boot folder on the root partition root (hd0,0) points to the kernels root partition and the kernel is in /boot, which you have to provide in the path to kernel. The link allows the /boot to be provided wethee its needed or not.
There are two things you can do (theres always a choice). Add the symbolic link or
remove the /boot from
Code: | splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.14-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/hda3 |
|
i do have a real boot partition, so would removing /boot fix those?
Code: | /dev/hda3 on / type reiserfs (rw)
/dev/hda1 on /boot type ext3 (rw) |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
othar n00b
Joined: 17 Dec 2005 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 4:00 pm Post subject: Error 11: Unrecognized device string |
|
|
Hi, I'm new to the linux and gentoo stuff but I'm giving it a try. Currently I'm trying to install a kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r6 on a Xeon computer. Everything run smoothly (kind of, after a few tries) till the reboot part, I installed the grub but on the boot I get the following message:
root (hd0,0)
filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83
kernel /kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r6-myfirstkernel
[Linux-bzimage, setup=0x1c00, size=0x207490]
root=/dev/sda3 udev
Error 11: Unrecognized device string
My guess is that the grub does not recognize the filesystem on the boot partition, because the filesystem is actually an ext3fs, not an ext2 like the message says. I did this cause the boot partition size is 1 Gb, and someone told me that in large partitions the ext3 is better.
My disk partitions are as follows:
sda1 Boot ext3fs
sda2 swap
sda3 root ext3fs
sda4 home ext3fs
And the computer does have an sda, not a hda.
The grub.conf is like this:
default=0
timeout=2
#splashimage=(hd0,1)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title Gentoo
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r6-myfirstkernel
root=/dev/sda3 udev
Can anyone tell me how to stop this from happening?
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54572 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 5:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
inf0c0m,
Yes - I can tell you have a real boot partition because your ls /boot showed a lost+found folder.
Removing the /boot from the two lines I hightligheted in your grib.conf should fix your grub issue.
Your splashimage failed because (hd0,1) is your swap. There is no splashimage file there. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Last edited by NeddySeagoon on Sat Dec 17, 2005 5:16 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54572 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 5:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
othar,
This must be on a single line in grub.conf
Code: | kernel /kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r6-myfirstkernel
root=/dev/sda3 udev |
No matter how long the kernel line, it must be one line. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
othar n00b
Joined: 17 Dec 2005 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 3:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks, I've never suspected that.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Lazy_Dewd Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 22 Dec 2004 Posts: 144
|
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 7:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
haven't seen this one around. for the collection
Problem:
Grub Error 13: can't recall what it was he said but it was something about not being able to read the executable format. not sure tough. correct me by all means
solution: simply booted with my backup-kernel (if you don't have it, just use the cd) and made my kernel again (actually, I didn't changed anything), listed the modules and checked them with the ones in the autoload.d file. ran modules-update
reboot. worked fine.
hope it can help someone - don't know what it went wrong the first time tough.
working backup kernel is not a luxury |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DrunkenWarrior n00b
Joined: 20 Oct 2005 Posts: 48
|
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 12:18 am Post subject: grub error 15 -- when adding 2nd hard disk [solved] |
|
|
hey all you grub jedi's...
....i installed gentoo as per the standard instructions in the handbook, same reccomended partition scheme on one hard drive.
i have 2 maxtor drives, both of them have correct jumper settings for master and slave.:
1. master: 40g
2. slave: 200g
when i add the 2nd hdd (slave) grub gives
Grub Error 15
and thats it! i bought a new cable, didn't fix the problem. i had linux installed on the 200g also, so i tried removing the partitions with fdisk but it didn't help. come to think of it, i deleted the partitions then quit, did i have to save that to the disk before quitting? anyways..
grub works if only the master is connected. what do i have to do to get the other drive formatted ext3 and working to store my data?
many thanks in advance..
[here is my grub.conf:]
Code: |
default 0
timeout 8
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.14-r2
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.14-gentoo-r2 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hda3 udev
initrd /initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.14-gentoo-r2
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.14-r2 + 3d!
root (hd0,0)
kernel /bzImage root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hda3 udev
initrd /initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.14-gentoo-r2
|
/* edit -- this was solved when i reread the insallation handbook, it said grub usually names the drive hd0, hd1... hdn in the BOOT order, not master/slave order on the cables. when i changed the boot order in my bios to HDD0, HDD1 instead of HDD1, HDD0 my drives are now recognized as PRI/MAS == (hd0) and PRI/SLA == (hd1) in grub. thanks to NeddyS and Lazy for pointing me in the right direction. */ _________________ Wherever you go, there you are.
Last edited by DrunkenWarrior on Wed Dec 21, 2005 3:05 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Lazy_Dewd Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 22 Dec 2004 Posts: 144
|
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 11:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | did i have to save that to the disk before quitting? | yes
it's not about your cable that's for sure.
grub might detect your other drive before your 40G. in this case you would have to tell grub to look on the second drive instead of the first.
edit this line to your situation:
Code: | real_root=/dev/hda3 |
probably something like hdb3, unless you're using sata that is
it's worth a try. post back if it's solved or not |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54572 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 6:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
DrunkenWarrior,
I suspect that you are trying to boot from your slave if itrs fitted and the BIOS falls back to the master if its not there.
Boot the liveCD with both master and slave fitted and go prat waay through the manual grub install, using grubs tab completion.
You will use the different partition layout on each drive to tell them apart.
In the following -> means press the tab key. Doand grub will list your drives. It should respond with hd0 and hd1
continue the command
and grub will list the partitions on hd0.
From this, you should be able to tell if you are looking at the mast or slave.
Use ctrl-c to quit. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
stokesxray n00b
Joined: 28 Jul 2005 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 6:36 pm Post subject: SOLVED typo error in grub how to change? |
|
|
I am totally new to linux. when I installed gentoo and got to the part about grub i used the grub command and type the wrong leading ) ) instead of this ( how to i change this? I can get the system to boot when I edit that line and then hit b but I would like to make it permanant.
thanks
merry xmas
Last edited by stokesxray on Mon Dec 19, 2005 7:29 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
at240 l33t
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 603 Location: UK
|
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 6:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You need to edit /boot/grub/grub.conf
So, as root, mount your /boot partition (mount /boot) if it isn't already mounted and then:
Code: | nano -w /boot/grub/grub.conf |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
nixnut Bodhisattva
Joined: 09 Apr 2004 Posts: 10974 Location: the dutch mountains
|
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 7:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Merged above two posts here. _________________ Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand |
|
Back to top |
|
|
stokesxray n00b
Joined: 28 Jul 2005 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 7:45 pm Post subject: thanks |
|
|
thanks a ton Tux's lil' helper did the trick |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Anon5710 Apprentice
Joined: 23 Jul 2004 Posts: 232 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 10:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Gasp... How am i going to explain this..
Okey about 2 hours ago i had a fully working gentoo system.
Now for some damn reason i did a
don't know the exact command anymore, but i deleted everything in my /boot folder
Why i did that? Beats me... i hitted enter just to fast i think.
Anyway.. not know to much about gentoo i decided to just reboot and restart with the x86 minimal iso.
I Chrooted into my gentoo instalation and compiled a new kernel copied it to /boot.
I unmerged grub (just to be safe) and emerged it back up again... (it was deleted)
enterd the fowweling command:
Code: |
grep -v rootfs /proc/mounts > /etc/mtab
|
Its in the manual so i did that.
instaled grub like this:
Code: |
grub> root (hd0,0)
grub> setup (hd0)
grub> quit
|
Checked everything for no errors, The names in my grub.conf match the files i specified and rebooted.
I boot up, blank screen (just a black screen)
Tough i can go up and down (with the arrow keys) to boot gentoo OS or windowsXP. (i don't see "me" going up or down)
I select my gentoo partition hit enter and... it gives me an error 15 can't find the file or something)
Now i get kinda upset knowing that i did enter the correct name.
Anyone here got a clue on what i got to do ?
here's my grub.conf
Code: |
default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.15-r5 (defaults)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.15-gentoo-r5-defaults root=/dev/sda3
title=Windows XP
rootnoverify (hd0,5)
makeactive
chainloader +1
|
I hope some can help me
// and yes, its stupid to remove everything from your /boot dir (probably the reason why i can't boot)
// So how to fix that ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54572 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 11:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Anon5710,
Error 15 is file not found. Either your splashimage or kernel filenames are wrong ?
Do you see the splash image at boot time, if so, its your kernel filename thats the problem _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Anon5710 Apprentice
Joined: 23 Jul 2004 Posts: 232 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 4:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i do not see the splashimage at boot |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Anon5710 Apprentice
Joined: 23 Jul 2004 Posts: 232 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 4:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i recheked it again...
My grub.conf does really point to the right locations |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rncwnd n00b
Joined: 13 Jun 2003 Posts: 69 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 8:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Does anybody know EXACTLY what error 17 means?
Is it a problem with the grub installation (grub; root (hdx,y); setup(hdz) or is it a grub.conf problem?
My config:
hde -> data disk (non-boot, non-os, PATA-Disc)
sda -> Win XP Pro disc (bootable)
sdb -> Gentoo Disc (non-boot)
sdb1 -> /boot
sdb5 -> /
sdb6 -> swap
theoretically it should be:
(hd0) -> hde
(hd1) -> sda
(hd2) -> sdb
I installed grub in the mbr of (hd0) which is sda. That's correct so far.
I pointed grub to use (hd2,0) as "root". That should be correct (I tried also hd0 and hd1, but there is no e2fs-partition on)
Why do I get error 17????
Greez,
Andy |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|