Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Native Airport Extreme Drivers
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 40, 41, 42  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gringo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 3733

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

holly crap, cant believe havent seen this before! Working nicely here :D

Thanx a lot guys !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zeuss1414
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Mar 2004
Posts: 490

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Firstable congratulation for your very good job.

I try to make the driver works but I come up against some problems.
A the moment I can scan wireless network with iwlist but I can't connect to a network and I dont understant why.
What can I do ?

PS : I'm french, so do take care about my speling mistakes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zuess1414:
You haven't provided any information about your setup, what you've tried, or what the driver debugging information is in dmesg. I can't help without more information.

gringo:
Good to hear, glad it's working for you! :)
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zeuss1414
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Mar 2004
Posts: 490

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it work fine until I enter the essid.

The modules are mounted during the boot
Code:
# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
ipv6                  308164  10
snd_pcm_oss            64928  0
snd_mixer_oss          21952  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_seq_dummy           4068  0
snd_seq_oss            41556  0
snd_seq_midi_event      8096  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                64056  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device         10316  3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
eth1394                22632  0
ohci1394               40724  0
ieee1394              115664  2 eth1394,ohci1394
sr_mod                 20036  0
bcm43xx               420084  0
firmware_class         12128  1 bcm43xx
ieee80211softmac       30848  1 bcm43xx
ieee80211              49172  2 bcm43xx,ieee80211softmac
ieee80211_crypt         7008  1 ieee80211
cdrom                  47676  1 sr_mod
ide_scsi               19140  0
scsi_mod              118692  2 sr_mod,ide_scsi
usbhid                 48740  0
snd_powermac           51552  0
snd_pcm               105604  2 snd_pcm_oss,snd_powermac
snd_timer              28324  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd                    70164  8 snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,sn
d_seq_device,snd_powermac,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore              11396  1 snd
snd_page_alloc         11880  1 snd_pcm
therm_adt746x          13416  0
radeon                123656  1
drm                    85816  2 radeon
uninorth_agp           11048  1
agpgart                38588  2 drm,uninorth_agp
ehci_hcd               38312  0
ohci_hcd               24580  0
usbcore               148892  4 usbhid,ehci_hcd,ohci_hcd
sungem                 37060  0
sungem_phy             10272  1 sungem


After I tried :
Code:
 iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

eth1      IEEE 802.11b/g  ESSID:off/any  Nickname:"Broadcom 4306"
          Mode:Managed  Frequency=2.472 GHz  Bit Rate:54 Mb/s   Tx-Power=2346 dBm   
          RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
         
eth2      no wireless extensions.

sit0      no wireless extensions.


Code:
 # ifconfig eth1
eth1      Lien encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:11:24:22:D3:85 
          adr inet6: fe80::211:24ff:fe22:d385/64 Scope:Lien
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:5 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 lg file transmission:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:348 (348.0 b)
          Interruption:52 Adresse de base:0x8000


Code:
 # iwlist eth1 scan
eth1      Scan completed :
          Cell 01 - Address: 00:0C:41:DE:1E:CE
                    ESSID:"Gandalff"
                    Protocol:IEEE 802.11g
                    Mode:Master
                    Channel:10
                    Encryption key:on
                    Bit Rates:54 Mb/s
                    Extra: Rates (Mb/s): 1 2 5.5 6 9 11 12 18 24 36 48 54
                    Quality=100/100  Signal level=-53 dBm 
                    Extra: Last beacon: 347ms ago
          Cell 02 - Address: 00:0F:66:C9:34:23
                    ESSID:"Gandalff"
                    Protocol:IEEE 802.11g
                    Mode:Master
                    Channel:10
                    Encryption key:on
                    Bit Rates:54 Mb/s
                    Extra: Rates (Mb/s): 1 2 5.5 6 9 11 12 18 24 36 48 54
                    Quality=100/100  Signal level=-43 dBm 
                    Extra: Last beacon: 418ms ago


Code:
# iwconfig eth1 essid Gandalff


Code:
# dmesg | tail
SoftMAC: Queueing Authentication Request to 00:0c:41:de:1e:ce
SoftMAC: cannot associate without being authenticated, requested authentication
SoftMAC: /home/zeuss14/Airport/ieee80211softmac-20051207/ieee80211softmac_auth.c:55:ieee80211softmac_auth_queue()
SoftMAC: Sent Authentication Request to 00:0c:41:de:1e:ce.
SoftMAC: /home/zeuss14/Airport/ieee80211softmac-20051207/ieee80211softmac_auth.c:104:ieee80211softmac_auth_resp()
SoftMAC: Open Authentication completed with 00:0c:41:de:1e:ce
SoftMAC: /home/zeuss14/Airport/ieee80211softmac-20051207/ieee80211softmac_assoc.c:106:ieee80211softmac_assoc_work()
SoftMAC: /home/zeuss14/Airport/ieee80211softmac-20051207/ieee80211softmac_assoc.c:15:ieee80211softmac_assoc()
SoftMAC: sent association request!
SoftMAC: associating failed (reason: 0x13)!


I think there is a problem with the last command[/list]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zeuss1414:
Error 0x13 means that the AP denied your association request because the driver doesn't support the Short Preamble option. We don't yet have an option to use the short preamble option, so you're out of luck until the functionality is added or you turn off that setting on your AP.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zeuss1414
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Mar 2004
Posts: 490

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What a bad luck.

It is strange because my AP is a Linksys WRT54G and WAP54G.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
balkira
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Dec 2004
Posts: 99
Location: /local/pub

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zeuss1414:
Quote:
Code:
# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
ipv6                  308164  10

and
Quote:
Code:
# ifconfig eth1
eth1      Lien encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:11:24:22:D3:85
          adr inet6: fe80::211:24ff:fe22:d385/64 Scope:Lien

What about ipv4? is it the same result? could that be related?
_________________
no way to happiness, happiness is the way
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fuoco
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 386
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 1:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone has successfully used the driver with Linksys routers, specifically BEFW11S4 ?

I can't get it to associate...

from "iwlist eth2 scan" I get:
Code:
eth2      Scan completed :
          Cell 01 - Address: 00:0F:66:20:E8:6B
                    ESSID:"gad-link"
                    Protocol:IEEE 802.11b
                    Mode:Master
                    Channel:3
                    Encryption key:off
                    Bit Rates:11 Mb/s
                    Extra: Rates (Mb/s): 1 2 5.5 11
                    Quality=100/100  Signal level=-42 dBm
                    Extra: Last beacon: 149ms ago


so I run: "iwconfig eth2 rate 11M channel 3 essid gad-link"
and then check dmesg:
Code:
SoftMAC: /home/gad/src/softmac-source-repository-7833cabc9781/ieee80211softmac_assoc.c:106:ieee80211softmac_assoc_work()
SoftMAC: /home/gad/src/softmac-source-repository-7833cabc9781/ieee80211softmac_assoc.c:15:ieee80211softmac_assoc()
SoftMAC: sent association request!
SoftMAC: /home/gad/src/softmac-source-repository-7833cabc9781/ieee80211softmac_assoc.c:41:ieee80211softmac_assoc_timeout()
SoftMAC: assoc request timed out!


Why is it timing out every time ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 2:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried setting the rate and channel seperately from the essid?
Have you tried to associate more than one time?
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fuoco
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 386
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 5:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
Have you tried setting the rate and channel seperately from the essid?
Have you tried to associate more than one time?


Yes to both. It didn't do any difference.
I dunno what changed suddenly - but now I keep getting instead:

Code:
SoftMAC: associating failed (reason: 0x1)!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fuoco
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 386
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is one thing I can think of... When I look in the web admin of the router at the Channel setting, the channel-frequency table does not match the one in iwconfig. Channel 3 in iwconfig is 2.422Ghz and in the router - 2.427 Ghz. So I tried to set the frequency with "iwconfig eth2 freq" - but it kept setting it to 2.417Ghz.
Then I tried using "iwconfig eth2 channel 4" which is the equivalent in the router to 3 in the driver... It got set, but once I do "iwconfig eth2 essid ..." it automatically sets the channel to 3. This automation might be the problem - since 3 is not the right channel maybe...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fuco:

Possibly, but I don't think so. Error 0x1 is an unspecified error, not much to go on. :(
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fuoco
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 386
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
fuco:

Possibly, but I don't think so. Error 0x1 is an unspecified error, not much to go on. :(


I don't know where this error came from, I now still keep getting timeout for association. When I try to associate the frequency according to iwconfig is never set to what it is set on the router. Why don't you think it could be the problem?
iwlist eth2 frequency shows a list of 13 channels/frequencies, while in the router the list includes 11 channels/frequencies and the lists don't match. If the driver uses channel number automatically - it never sets the right frequency. I can't change it manually obviously because of the auto setting it does when using 'essid' with 'iwconfig'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darklesi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 12
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there :D
I finally got it to work! emerge hotplug solved my problem :oops: (i thought i had it) lol

Thanks ppl
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fuoco:

If you think that's the problem, comment out the channel changing code in the softmac and see if that fixes it for you. Where are you from?
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fuoco
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 386
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
fuoco:

If you think that's the problem, comment out the channel changing code in the softmac and see if that fixes it for you. Where are you from?


I wouldn't know how to find the code to comment out...
I'm in Israel, but the hardware was bought in Canada (both router and laptop).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fuoco
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 386
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fuoco wrote:
JoseJX wrote:
fuoco:

If you think that's the problem, comment out the channel changing code in the softmac and see if that fixes it for you. Where are you from?


I wouldn't know how to find the code to comment out...
I'm in Israel, but the hardware was bought in Canada (both router and laptop).


Well I found the code and commented it out. Now I can manually choose the channel (and so the frequency) but even when they match between iwconfig and the router's configs it keeps giving me:
SoftMAC: assoc request timed out!
Maybe the timeout is too short ? should I try to change it ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cenrim
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Dec 2004
Posts: 142
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

got this bcm43xx_phy.c:333-FIXME too and it works ;)

btw: some people said, dhcp won't work and you shoud use a static IP
well, it works fine for me, in several university wireless' and in the open one metioned above (in my kitchen ;))
as soon I got a association, dhcp works fine

and second.. hmm...
oh, has noone else tried a "make install" after building the softmac&bcm modules?
after doing so, one "modprobe bcm43xx" loads all needed modules ;)

EDIT:
fuoco:
sometimes I gotta retrying (by setting the essid again, so a new assoc request is send) 3-5 times, but then it works
oh, and someone on the debian-ppc-ML said the range is much lesser than in OS X, probably because of not fully implemented (tx-)power managing
_________________
[/garbage]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fuoco
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 386
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cenrim wrote:
fuoco:
sometimes I gotta retrying (by setting the essid again, so a new assoc request is send) 3-5 times, but then it works
oh, and someone on the debian-ppc-ML said the range is much lesser than in OS X, probably because of not fully implemented (tx-)power managing


I tried repeatedly many times and even put a very long timeout delay - it keeps timing out.
And the AP is hardly 1 meter from the laptop at the moment :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chaotician
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 61
Location: San Francisco

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Complete n00b...

I'm having a problem (well, I'have had quite a few trying to get this to work, but I've been able to figure most of them out) getting fwcutter to work.

I've pulled down the source, run make in the trunk/fwcutter folder and when I go to run fwcutter I'm getting

bash: fwcutter: command not found

I'm sure it's something so simple that I'll smack myself, but if someone could point me in the right direction I would be forever grateful.
_________________
Pain is weakness leaving my body.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chaotician
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 61
Location: San Francisco

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nevermind, figured it out.
_________________
Pain is weakness leaving my body.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bz31
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fuoco wrote:
Does anyone has successfully used the driver with Linksys routers, specifically BEFW11S4 ?

I can't get it to associate...

from "iwlist eth2 scan" I get:
Code:
eth2      Scan completed :
          Cell 01 - Address: 00:0F:66:20:E8:6B
                    ESSID:"gad-link"
                    Protocol:IEEE 802.11b

You have a 802.11b router, not 802.11g ? Maybe it's the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fuoco
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 386
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bz31 wrote:
fuoco wrote:
Does anyone has successfully used the driver with Linksys routers, specifically BEFW11S4 ?

I can't get it to associate...

from "iwlist eth2 scan" I get:
Code:
eth2      Scan completed :
          Cell 01 - Address: 00:0F:66:20:E8:6B
                    ESSID:"gad-link"
                    Protocol:IEEE 802.11b

You have a 802.11b router, not 802.11g ? Maybe it's the problem.


Yes it's a 802.11b router, but afaik those should work now too...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chaotician
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 61
Location: San Francisco

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dmesg

Code:

ieee80211softmac: no version for "ieee80211_wx_get_scan" found: kernel tainted.
bcm43xx: Unknown symbol release_firmware
bcm43xx: Unknown symbol request_firmware
bcm43xx driver 0.0.1


Any ideas?
_________________
Pain is weakness leaving my body.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cenrim
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Dec 2004
Posts: 142
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chaotician:
a line similar to the "kernel tainted" one shows up, when I set the rate, but it works.
so at least this one shouldn't be a problem

bz31:
the ap can't handle 54Mb/s (802.11g), so you should set rate to 11M (802.11b) ;)
_________________
[/garbage]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 40, 41, 42  Next
Page 3 of 42

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum