beginer need help with dual boot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
garylouden1
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 3:38 pm    Post subject: beginer need help with dual boot Reply with quote

hi im very new to linux and i would like to set up the current windows xp i have with a dual boot of gentoo

thing is i have no clue what to do, i have looked at web sites but none really make sense, im not a computer noobie im quite good but all this linux stuff is really confusing me..... :?

could someone that knows how to do this please point me in the right direction or better still show me what to do??

thank you :)
garylouden1
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and also i have no clue what version to download, i no its not the minimal one but i dont know what one out of the other 2 :? :?
BoNd60
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Normally, the livecd 2005.1 is what you need (the minimal is for making an online installation (fetch all the sources,...) and the universal contains what you need to install gentoo without a download)
For dual-booting, see this thread https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-406331-highlight-.html and don't be afraid to ask if you don't understand something

In every situation, don't forget that the answer is 42
garylouden1
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i no this is asking alot but could someone that is linux savy maybe write a list of what i have to do?

so far i have windows installed and have like 50gb unused space.

my specs of pc are :

amd 3200 64bit
512mb corsair twinx dual channel
160gig 7200rpm 8mb buffer
dvd rw
cd rw
ATI 9800pro graphics card

what exactly do i have to do now? i downloaded the universal cd( dont worry if this is wrong i got 10meg cable 8) )