Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
using one partition for everything
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jicman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2004
Posts: 37
Location: Rochester, NY

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 6:38 pm    Post subject: using one partition for everything Reply with quote

Greetings!

So I have partitioned my hard drive this way:
Code:

/dev/hda1 - will be boot
/dev/hda2 - will be swap
/dev/hda3 - Whole Disk for sun sparc systems
/dev/hda4 - Everything else (usr, var, home, etc...)


the Sparc Gentoo Documentation says that

Quote:

# mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo
# mkdir /mnt/gentoo/usr
# mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/gentoo/usr
# mkdir /mnt/gentoo/var
# mount /dev/sda5 /mnt/gentoo/var
# mkdir /mnt/gentoo/home
# mount /dev/sda6 /mnt/gentoo/home


so, I don't know if the first mount should go to hda4. In other words, I know that /boot should be done on hda1, but where are the rest of the mounts going to go to? And do I need to specify them?

thanks,

jic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10315
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 6:48 pm    Post subject: Re: using one partition for everything Reply with quote

Quote:

# mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo
# mkdir /mnt/gentoo/usr
# mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/gentoo/usr
# mkdir /mnt/gentoo/var
# mount /dev/sda5 /mnt/gentoo/var
# mkdir /mnt/gentoo/home
# mount /dev/sda6 /mnt/gentoo/home


For the partition scheme that you said, that instruction are right. For the rest I dont understand well your question. You mount and create the dirs in that orders, that is right for installing. That sdaX things are for SCSI drives. For IDE would be hdaX, as you said "hda4". All the rest of dirs that are not mounted with any drive, will remain in the partition that goes on / (in this case it is sda1). So /boot wil be a dir under sda1 (/).

As I said, I did not understand so well the qestion, so, if you need some more help try to explain a bit more and I will be glad to help you if I can, with my limited knowledge. :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jicman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2004
Posts: 37
Location: Rochester, NY

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Indeed you are right. Perhaps I should have been more clear. However, sometimes you guys almost read my mind, so I was expecting a mind read on this one. :-)

Ok, so, as you can see the instructions say to create many partitions and mount this partitions with usr, home, root, etc.. Well, I had it setup like that and /usr ran out of space. What I am trying to do is to have /usr /var /home,...,etc, share one partition, hda4. How do I make those mounts? Is this clear enough or you need more info? :-)

thanks for taking the time.

jic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10315
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2005 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, if I understood ok, you want to melt all of these into one single partition, k?

You just have to create one partition with all the available space. If you create a primary partition it will be called /dev/sda1, if it is a extended partition it will be called /dev/sda5. That is not relevant at all. If you are not sure what your hd layout is right now, post here the output from "fdisk -l /dev/sda", that would be helpfull.

Once created the partition, you just have to mount / under it. That way, all the dirs under / are also mounted there. In other words: /var, /usr, /home and whatever other directory that is not explicitly mounted specifically in any other partition, is kept where / is mounted.

Luck with that, and dont have a doubt to ask again if you need it. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jicman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2004
Posts: 37
Location: Rochester, NY

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
livecd ~ # fdisk -l /dev/hda

Disk /dev/hda (Sun disk label): 15 heads, 63 sectors, 8892 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 945 * 512 bytes

Device Flag Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 0 1058 499905 83 Linux native
/dev/hda2 u 1059 2117 499905 82 Linux swap
/dev/hda3 0 8892 4201470 5 Whole disk
/dev/hda4 2118 8892 3200715 83 Linux native
livecd ~ #


So, I have the this setting. I want to use hda1 for boot. The question is do I mount /mnt/Gentoo to hda4 or hda1?

thanks.

jic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NetrixTardis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Location: Selma, TX

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mount -t ext3 /dev/hda4 /mn/gentoo
mkdir /mnt/gentoo/boot
mount /dev/hda1 /boot

and go on to installing the system files and whatnot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Toady
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 161
Location: South Wales, UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NetrixTardis wrote:
mount -t ext3 /dev/hda4 /mn/gentoo
mkdir /mnt/gentoo/boot
mount /dev/hda1 /boot

and go on to installing the system files and whatnot.


Close....

Assuming you have made the filsystems (stick with EXT3 as ReiserFS is rather broken on Sun hardware ;))

mount /dev/hda4 /mnt/gentoo
mkdir /mnt/gentoo/boot
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot

Now you can continue with the install.

Hope that helps..
_________________
Toady

Gentoo Laptop
3.1.10-gentoo-r1, Intel Core 2 Duo (32bit)
Gnome on the desk, Intel in the box, on-board everything, but it all works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jicman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2004
Posts: 37
Location: Rochester, NY

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks guys!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum