Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
apache + openssl on a ultra10
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mndfreeze
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Aug 2002
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2002 7:12 am    Post subject: apache + openssl on a ultra10 Reply with quote

Ok, for some reason when you emerge apache and set it up so it runs, then install mod_ssl, openssl etc..

When you start apache with the -D SSL flag it WILL NOT start. No errors in the logs, it just never starts.

Apache without SSL will start just fine.

Doign this same thing on gentoo/x86 works flawlessly.

Anyone have any ideas? Its required I get openSSL running on this as its going production soon.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
filoseta
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jun 2002
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2003 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been having struggling with a similar problem off and on for around a month and a half. (just a test install)

Basically, if -D SSL is in the apache startup options, apache starts and opens the ports to listen for incoming connections. However, it does not respond to anything (http or https). Even "apache2ctl status" just sits there. (of course that just uses lynx to get the status page, but when it fails you know there is a major problem)

If "SSL" is not defined everything works perfectly.

I have tried both apache 1.3 and 2, same error condition. The logs give no indication of problems, even at the debug level the boot log just lists all of the modules (including "ssl_module") with no indication of failure.

I have also tried re-emerging openssl and have kept it up to date but haven't tried updating to the 9.7 series yet.

Can anyone shed any light about potential problems? Or, does anyone have https working on an ultra10?

Thanks for any help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xming
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2002
Posts: 434

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2003 9:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you have to configure the ssl (same goes for php), you should do something like ebuild mod_ssl-x.y.z config

xming
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
filoseta
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jun 2002
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2003 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xming wrote:
you have to configure the ssl (same goes for php), you should do something like ebuild mod_ssl-x.y.z config

xming


Maybe I was under the wrong impression, but I thought mod_ssl was build into apache2 and all that was required to initiate SSL was to pass -D SSL to apache on start. At least this is what worked for my x86 boxes.

If this is not the case for ultrasparcs, how do you convice mod_ssl to accept apache2 as its apache dependency?

Thanks for you help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kumba
Developer
Developer


Joined: 16 Jul 2002
Posts: 383
Location: Sigma 957

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2003 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This has actually been going around for quite some time. It's some really weird bug in either apache, or mod_ssl. I've run an strace on it, and basically, apache says the SSL port is in use, and thus can't bind to it, and so it just gives up and exits silently.

You can find the results of my strace dumps here. They're probably a little old, but the same error seems to still be happening.

--Kumba
_________________
"The past tempts us, the present confuses us, the future frightens us. And our lives slip away, moment by moment, lost in that vast, terrible in-between."
--Emperor Turhan, Centauri Republic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
filoseta
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jun 2002
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2003 2:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kumba wrote:
This has actually been going around for quite some time. It's some really weird bug in either apache, or mod_ssl.

Thank you very much. At least I know it isn't just gross incompetence on my end.

On that note, does anyone have this working or is it a platform wide bug?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kumba
Developer
Developer


Joined: 16 Jul 2002
Posts: 383
Location: Sigma 957

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2003 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not exactly sure if it's a sparc thing, or just sparc64. I'm slowly kicking my sparc32 system into shape, so I'll know soon enough.

--Kumba
_________________
"The past tempts us, the present confuses us, the future frightens us. And our lives slip away, moment by moment, lost in that vast, terrible in-between."
--Emperor Turhan, Centauri Republic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum