Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
What sparcs are people running?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9 ... 11, 12, 13  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
liquiz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2004 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have had several sparc systems floating around for a year and just dusted them off to play with since I got hired on to do Sun/Slowaris testing for nStor.

Home:
Ultra 5 270mhz/256mb/9g - just finished initial portion of stage 3 install with 2004.2
SS20 150mhz/144mb/9g - possible bad cdrom drive, going to try one of my non-sun scsi cdrom drives to see if that fixes it. Im such a putz, the problem is actually that I was using 2004.02 cds, which of course are sparc64 :) Downloading the 2004.01 right now.

Work:
Ultra 5 360mhz/256mb/9g - finished stage 3 install and all the exta apps. Trying to figure out the Xwindows at the moment.

Peace,
Liquiz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jshanab
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Dec 2003
Posts: 359

PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2004 8:01 pm    Post subject: Putting togather an e4500 Reply with quote

6*336 with 2gig
x2622A UPA graphics I/O board and a creator3D ff2+ card
501-3113 with a pair of 73gb drives (get rid of FC array for pg@e concerns)


I am trying to decide weather I should put gentoo or solaris on it. like what is the real difference. I know 10 years ago solaris was the only OS that allowed Many to Many thread-process model. 2.4 or 2.6 on the kernel?

other than that I have gentoo on this athlonxp 1600
solaris on my SS5
solaris on my SS20,dual headed 21" CDE ,200mhz,PCMCIA
winxp on 2 desktops and a notebook
win2000 on a notebook
Redhat 7.2 on server
redhat 8,9 on drive drawer and play machine.

Wow, I never wrote that all at once, no wonder my PG&e bill is so high, let me go turn some off....
oh and a PALM phone :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ali_abedi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Oct 2004
Posts: 25
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2004 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm running on loads of boxes at work.. real quick too.

Got it on

8 E420R dual processor, 1gig of RAM, 2 36gb HDD
7 E220R dual processor, 1gig of RAM, 2 36gb HDD

Will potentially have it
4 Netra T105, 512Mb RAM, 2 18gb HDD - but my netboot installation isn't working yet and not sure what's wrong.

Unfortunately, I have to install it on a plethora of x86 boxes too -yeuk!!! customers huh!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Woogoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Location: Perth, Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm currently running 3 x SS5 and 1 x SS20 on OpenBSD. I'm also running (for about 2 days now) an SS20 with Gentoo 2.4.27 using:

CPU = 4 x 125MHz HyperSparcs
MEM = 512Mb
SCSI = Quantum 4.1Gb, DDS3 DAT
VIDEO = Sun CG6 with X / Fluxbox

That's about it.

--
Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freshy98
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 274
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Woogoo wrote:
I'm currently running 3 x SS5 and 1 x SS20 on OpenBSD. I'm also running (for about 2 days now) an SS20 with Gentoo 2.4.27 using:

CPU = 4 x 125MHz HyperSparcs
MEM = 512Mb
SCSI = Quantum 4.1Gb, DDS3 DAT
VIDEO = Sun CG6 with X / Fluxbox

That's about it.

--
Regards.


is that SS20 with hypersparcs stable???
_________________
Mac Pro single quad 2.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 8800GT. MacBook. Plus way too many SUN/Cobatl/SGI and a lonely Alpha.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Woogoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Location: Perth, Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well the current uptime is:

16:04:57 up 2 days, 1:26, 1 user, load average: 0.59, 0.45, 0.21

And it appears to be holding its own. With that said it's not the fastest thing on the planet, in fact so much so that I'm quite dissappointed with the performance. But maybe I'm asking to much of it.

I guess we can't have everything.

--
Regards,

William.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freshy98
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 274
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, quad 125MHz must be faster then dual 50MHz ;-)
that took me a week from stage 1 to install.

btw: william as in wli?
_________________
Mac Pro single quad 2.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 8800GT. MacBook. Plus way too many SUN/Cobatl/SGI and a lonely Alpha.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ciaranm
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 1719
Location: In Hiding

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2004 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

freshy98 wrote:
well, quad 125MHz must be faster then dual 50MHz ;-)
that took me a week from stage 1 to install.

btw: william as in wli?

wli isn't in Perth...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Woogoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Location: Perth, Scotland

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2004 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No I'm not that Wli, as stated I live in Perth, UK.
_________________
--
Regards,

William
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wirwzd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jul 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Leominster, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Posting from the live cd on my eternally bootstrapping Ultra 5

128 MB ram (Ebay, I'm a comin)
80 GB WD800JB (Yeah, I know....)



cpu : TI UltraSparc IIi (Sabre)
fpu : UltraSparc IIi integrated FPU
promlib : Version 3 Revision 11
prom : 3.11.12
type : sun4u
ncpus probed : 1
ncpus active : 1
Cpu0Bogo : 539.03
Cpu0ClkTck : 000000001017df80
MMU Type : Spitfire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ichoes
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Oct 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am running on a Sun Blade 100, 256MB ram, 20GB HD.
and currently on the setup of a SUN E250, 6 36GB SCSI HD. 2GB RAM, Dual ultrasparc 400MHz.
:D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ashu69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Nov 2004
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 9:04 am    Post subject: SunBlade 150 Reply with quote

Count me in as a gentoo on sparc user,

I installed Gentoo on a partition on my SunBlade150. I dual boot it with
Solaris for now, intend to migrate fully to Gentoo as desktop, if things work out.
Here are the details:

sun4u sparc64, CPU UltraSparc IIe (Hummingbird) at 550 MHz, 384 MB,
40 GB IDE, graphics card ATI Mach64 (Rage 3D XL).

Stuff i have running on it: Kernel 2.6.6, gcc3.3.3, glibc232r9, Xorg 6.8.0.

I was having a miserable time on it untill today when with the help of
Spam on the multimedia forum, i finally got 1024x768x85 resolution
on my trusty old Sony GDM 20E20 monitor..... :D

I generally love Gentoo so far. Though i always have to boot with
ide=nodma or else i am toast. I hope someday someone would fix
that one, i migrated to 2.6.6 from 2.4.26 because i thought (mistakenly,
it turns out) it is fixed in 2.6.x.

Another of my pain points is that whenever the machine hard-hangs
(mostly due to my stupidities like trying to run fbset from inside an
X environment.... ) and i have to power-cycle the box, it messes up
my boot partition (attempting to boot gets "Fast MMU Miss" from OBP).
So i have to boot from LiveCD and re-run silo. This is very painful, not
to mention confidence-reducing.

With 2.6.6 i need to get my serial port working. Right now it
leads to "c0 respawning too quickly" (i have tried changing the terminal
type, as some folks have suggested, didn't work). I haven't
really worked on that one fully yet, so it might be something i did.

Thanks to all you folks for bringing Gentoo on SPARC to us!! If you
even wondered if people appreciate it, YES WE DO!

-a
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ukadner
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Nov 2004
Posts: 4
Location: 49°59'N-09°03'E

PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got an ULTRASparc10 with 1024 MB RAM, onboard video, 2*9.1 GB IDE HDD plus a second 10/100 NIC from my employer last week (for free... :D). I am totally new to Gentoo... Just got the base system installed and will try to get the X stuff up and running during the next few days (if I find some spare time...).
_________________
Regards,
uk.[eom]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poulpe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here are the little beasts I own:
- Ultra 5, 360MHz UltraSparc IIi, 512Mb RAM, 120Gb IDE HDD
- SparcStation 20, 4xHyperSparc 100MHz, 512Mb RAM, 2x9Gb SCSI HDD

Both running Gentoo Linux and happy with it... :D
Have fun with your sparc boxes!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Woogoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Location: Perth, Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was running Gentoo on an SS20 4 x 125MHz with 512MB RAM but ditched it in favour of NetBSD 2.0_RC5 due to its (Gentoo's) performance (or lack of it) under X.

The performance of X (twm) under NetBSD is far superior to that of Gentoo I have to say, so I won't be doing any more installs of Gentoo.
_________________
--
Regards,

William
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
varis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Nov 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 7:33 pm    Post subject: Blade 1000 Reply with quote

Hello,

Sun Blade 1000:
- 2 x 750Mhz UltraSPARC III
- 1GB RAM
- 18GB FC-AL HDD
- Elite3D-m6
- Toshiba CD-ROM
- PC monitor, using 13W3-HD15 adapter

Very nice box, quite slow compared to any proper Opteron/AMD64 box. Eats electricity like popcorn, sustained 350W, all the time (number includes 19" CRT). Solaris 9 is nice, no driver problems but the default CDE is horrible.

I just ordered a couple of cheapo 18GB drives with spuds and heat plates. One disk is for Gentoo and another one is for Solaris 10. Better try on extra disks before messing my current working configuration...

I have no idea how Gentoo will work on this machine. If it does not work, I will go for Solaris10 with Blastwave (driver stability from Solaris and your standard GNU tools from Blastwave).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nl0pvm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Nov 2004
Posts: 46
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 10:28 pm    Post subject: SS20 Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm a complete newbie to gentoo as i'm running SUSE linux on my SMP Xeon katmai.

I have got a Sparcstation 20:
- 2 x ??Mhz Hypersparc
- 512Mb RAM
- 4Gb QUANTUM XP34550W
- 9.1Gb SEAGATE ST39103LW (but only able to use 8.4G due to sun disklabel problems)

It runs stable for 3 day's now on a 2.4.27 SMP kernel.

I had a lot of difficulty's installing this machine as the tftp-boot image that gentoo "provides" is very bad (tar = broken) and gentoo does not have a sparc bootflop. Apart from this is all the compiling on this machine a hell of a job. (considering that it fails often due to all sort of dependency problems and bugs during compiling.)

I am a SUSE user and not yet a GENTOO user, but who knows ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Diezel
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 600
Location: Karjaa, Finland

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have an old SS5 110Mhz with 128Mb RAM, 1Gb hdd.
I sold the 20" monitor with an x86 machine awhile ago so I haven't got a display for it anymore. Hope sshd stays alive ;)
It runs debian, tried to stuff Gentoo in it a few times but the 1Gb hdd just doesn't cut it.
I'd love to get an Ultra but in Finland they are SO expensive....I get 2 new AMD 2400 Mhz for the price of one Ultra 5 300Mhz with an 4.3Gb hdd.
So until the prices come down atleast a little I'm stuck in x86 land.
_________________
A bus station is where a bus stops, a train station is where a train stops. On
my desk I have a work station..
Nixadmins.net
FLUG member 473
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjensen42
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Aug 2005
Posts: 23
Location: Austin, TX

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reviving this old thread Reply with quote

OK, this thread is old, but someone might still be reading once in a while...

I just finished getting Gentoo to work on two old Sparcs -- a SparcStation 20 (Ross 125MHz) and an Ultra Enterprise 1 170. Both work fine, although I need to scavenge some more RAM somewhere, and maybe a couple SCSI hard drives.

I was thinking about installing a second CPU on the ss20, but several other threads seem to indicate that SMP on HyperSparcs just doesn't work and won't ever be fixed. But from reading older posts on this thread, it sounds like several people are doing just that, and aren't having problems. So now I'm confused -- but that's nothing new. :-)

Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HackingM2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jul 2004
Posts: 239
Location: Cambridge, England

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 11:51 pm    Post subject: Re: Reviving this old thread Reply with quote

mjensen42 wrote:
I was thinking about installing a second CPU on the ss20, but several other threads seem to indicate that SMP on HyperSparcs just doesn't work and won't ever be fixed. But from reading older posts on this thread, it sounds like several people are doing just that


Some of us are lucky. I'm running an Netra x1 with two CPUs and 512MB RAM booting from a network drive. I'm using a 2.6.x kernel with SMP support and UDEV. Most users aren't so lucky. All I can say is to try it. :)

To be fair if there is a Gentoo developer who needs an Netra x1 I could be persuaded to donate one. :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tunkaflux
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Aug 2003
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 1:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Reviving this old thread Reply with quote

HackingM2 wrote:
mjensen42 wrote:
I was thinking about installing a second CPU on the ss20, but several other threads seem to indicate that SMP on HyperSparcs just doesn't work and won't ever be fixed. But from reading older posts on this thread, it sounds like several people are doing just that


Some of us are lucky. I'm running an Netra x1 with two CPUs and 512MB RAM booting from a network drive. I'm using a 2.6.x kernel with SMP support and UDEV. Most users aren't so lucky. All I can say is to try it. :)


A Netra X1 uses UltraSparc cpu's. The problem here are HyperSparc cpu's :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tunkaflux
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Aug 2003
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The people who are using Linux SMP on HyperSparcs, did they do anything special (e.g. special patches, ...)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HackingM2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jul 2004
Posts: 239
Location: Cambridge, England

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:42 pm    Post subject: Re: Reviving this old thread Reply with quote

tunkaflux wrote:
HackingM2 wrote:
mjensen42 wrote:
I was thinking about installing a second CPU on the ss20, but several other threads seem to indicate that SMP on HyperSparcs just doesn't work and won't ever be fixed. But from reading older posts on this thread, it sounds like several people are doing just that


Some of us are lucky. I'm running an Netra x1 with two CPUs and 512MB RAM booting from a network drive. I'm using a 2.6.x kernel with SMP support and UDEV. Most users aren't so lucky. All I can say is to try it. :)


A Netra X1 uses UltraSparc cpu's. The problem here are HyperSparc cpu's :)


Sorry that my previous post turned out to be crap! :lol: Have you looked at this http://mcslp.com/?p=104? He claims to have 2005.0 running on a dual HyperSparc. Also check out http://web.opennet.ru/docs/HOWTO/SPARC-HOWTO-12.html.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
francoisp31
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 24
Location: Toulouse (france)

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello,

got 1*sparcstation5 1*ultrasparcstation5 2*ultrasparcstation10 1*ultrasparcstation60
but one of ultrasparcstations10 isn't mine.
_________________
merci @+
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
millermiller
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2005
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 3:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using the following configuration:

SUN ULTRASPARC 10
Sun4u sparc64, CPU UltraSparc IIi at 440 MHz, 256 MB,
8 GB IDE, graphics card ATI Mach64 (Rage 3D XL).

happy with it
_________________
Free as in Freedom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9 ... 11, 12, 13  Next
Page 8 of 13

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum