Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[quick howto] openoffice 2.0beta on amd64
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
juhah
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 7:33 pm    Post subject: [quick howto] openoffice 2.0beta on amd64 Reply with quote

OpenOffice.org 2.0beta works fine on amd64. Just grab a copy from http://download.openoffice.org/2.0beta/index.html.
and
Code:
tar xzf OOo_2.0beta_LinuxIntel_install.tar.gz
cd RPMS
rm openofficeorg-suse-menus-1.9.79-1.noarch.rpm \
openofficeorg-redhat-menus-1.9.79-1.noarch.rpm \
openofficeorg-gnome-integration-1.9.79-1.i586.rpm
for f in `ls *.rpm`; do rpm2targz $f; done
for f in `ls *.rpm`; do rm $f; done
for f in `ls *.tar.gz`; do tar xzf $f; done
for f in `ls *.tar.gz`; do rm $f; done
cd opt/openoffice.org1.9.79/program
./soffice

OO can take considerable amount of cpu even to start, dont panic. Note that it multilib might be required for successful experiment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
babo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Aug 2004
Posts: 477
Location: Ljubljana

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what are the benefits of 2.0 version anyway?
Except for amd64 version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hacnslash
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Dec 2004
Posts: 54
Location: west virginia

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

babo wrote:
what are the benefits of 2.0 version anyway?
Except for amd64 version.


http://www.openoffice.org/dev_docs/features/2.0/index.html
_________________
http://freshmeat.net/projecs/hacburn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
disciple
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 May 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 7:28 pm    Post subject: Re: [quick howto] openoffice 2.0beta on amd64 Reply with quote

juhah wrote:
OpenOffice.org 2.0beta works fine on amd64. Just grab a copy from http://download.openoffice.org/2.0beta/index.html.
and
Code:
tar xzf OOo_2.0beta_LinuxIntel_install.tar.gz
cd RPMS
rm openofficeorg-suse-menus-1.9.79-1.noarch.rpm \
openofficeorg-redhat-menus-1.9.79-1.noarch.rpm \
openofficeorg-gnome-integration-1.9.79-1.i586.rpm
for f in `ls *.rpm`; do rpm2targz $f; done
for f in `ls *.rpm`; do rm $f; done
for f in `ls *.tar.gz`; do tar xzf $f; done
for f in `ls *.tar.gz`; do rm $f; done
cd opt/openoffice.org1.9.79/program
./soffice

OO can take considerable amount of cpu even to start, dont panic. Note that it multilib might be required for successful experiment.


The beta versions did work before my upgrading to 2005.0 (amd64). After the upgrade the bin version complains about not finding pango in /usr/lib32. I re-emerge pango and still puts it in /usr/lib(64).**
-----------------------
(soffice.bin:541): WARNING **: /usr/lib32/pango/1.4.0/modules/pango-basic-fc.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Failed to load Pango module for id: 'BasicScriptEngineFc'
(soffice.bin:541): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: file gobject.c: line 1561 (g_object_ref): assertion `G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed

** (soffice.bin:541): CRITICAL **: file pango-engine.c: line 68 (_pango_engine_shape_shape): assertion `PANGO_IS_FONT (font)' failed

** ERROR **: file shape.c: line 75 (pango_shape): assertion failed: (glyphs->num_glyphs > 0)
aborting...
----------------------
Have you encountered this behaviour?
[EDIT]
Solved - http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-314313.html
_________________
Glad the tomb is empty!

Disciple | <'))><
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wzzrd
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

babo wrote:
what are the benefits of 2.0 version anyway?
Except for amd64 version.


This is NOT an amd64 version, since there doesn't exist a version for amd64 yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
disciple
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 May 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wzzrd wrote:
babo wrote:
what are the benefits of 2.0 version anyway?
Except for amd64 version.


This is NOT an amd64 version, since there doesn't exist a version for amd64 yet.


Thanks wzzrd, it has been solved. AMD64 platform can execute x86 binaries naturally. http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-314313.html
Again, thanks.
_________________
Glad the tomb is empty!

Disciple | <'))><
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wzzrd
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 5:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

disciple wrote:
wzzrd wrote:
babo wrote:
what are the benefits of 2.0 version anyway?
Except for amd64 version.


This is NOT an amd64 version, since there doesn't exist a version for amd64 yet.


Thanks wzzrd, it has been solved. AMD64 platform can execute x86 binaries naturally. http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-314313.html
Again, thanks.


I know ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bfkeats
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Feb 2004
Posts: 268

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the script. I didn't much feel like waiting for the official release.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dark_glaive
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 May 2004
Posts: 176
Location: Raleigh, NC

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 4:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, the Oo guys are going to release a native 64-bit binary at some point? Or not?
_________________
RipOff, a CD Ripper for Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wzzrd
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, supposedly, but if you take a look at the dates most of the amd64 stuff is posted at oo.org you'll figure that the release is probably pretty far away in the future. Pitty though. Us amd64-users would really like a native port...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
^jimmy^
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2004
Posts: 51
Location: Erlangen, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2005 7:49 am    Post subject: openoffice 2.0 BETA very slow on amd64.... Reply with quote

Hi all, I just installed openoffice 2.0 BETA on my AMD64 and it is so slow to start up. The weird thing is that I have an athlon-xp too and I installed it there too. And on the athlon-xp it is very fast and works very nice. The only difference is that on the AMD64 I have "-gnome +kde" and on the athlon-xp "+gnome +kde". May that be the reason? I have I32 enabled on the kernel, so it should be able to run openoffice as a 32bit application.

Cheers!

^jimmy^
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donjuan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 May 2004
Posts: 760
Location: At Uni

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jimmy, the problem you're talking about it discussed here: http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-317087-highlight-openoffice.html
Right now there's not really a solution for it. Some people have said that disabling java in openoffice makes it work load faster, but others say that it doesn't help.
_________________
Command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS is considered harmful, use the package.* files.

The Stage 1 on 3 Install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nonsuse
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is something really weird going with soffice/gtk+/ on amd64. Currently I run openoffice.org1.9.79, I myself use fluxbox as window manager and soffice works fine. My wife uses gnome and there the trouble begins: after starting soffice, warnings are issued:
Code:
(soffice.bin:16075): Gdk-WARNING **: Error converting from UTF-8 to STRING ...

She can work with soffice, but when it comes to saving a file or 'save as', soffice crashes, tries to recover etc, but no success. The same happens when running in a xfce4 environment. But again, with fluxbox not.

I did some search in the net already and got systems settings, that e.g. firefox-bin (32bit) starts without the 'GDK-Warning UTF-8 to ISO-8559-1'. From that side the system seems okay

Does anyone experience the same problem? It seems to me there are some problems with the 'GTK frontend' etc.

Best regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donjuan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 May 2004
Posts: 760
Location: At Uni

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update your emul-linux-x86-gtklibs to version 1.2-r1
_________________
Command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS is considered harmful, use the package.* files.

The Stage 1 on 3 Install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nonsuse
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did that already:
Code:
# emerge -p emul-linux-x86-gtklibs

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild   R   ] app-emulation/emul-linux-x86-gtklibs-1.2-r1 


But the problem still persists

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nonsuse
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some of the trouble might be that shared libs didn't get unloaded. When I login right after booting and starting X with fluxbox as windowmanager, firefox-bin (32bit) and soffice 2.0 don't produce any GDK-Warnings about utf8 to iso-8859. But doing that (login startx with fluxbox) after my wife was at the computer with 'gnome' as desktop, even firefox-bin (32bit) produces the GDK-Warnings. For me it seems that one of the gtk-libs in 64bit mode is broken when it comes to string conversation. As long as the 64bit version of that lib is not loaded firefox-bin and soffice works fine. If it gets loaded or is already loaded, the 32bit applications like soffice and firefox-bin make problems. I know, somewhere is a setting to tell whether shared libraries shall be unloaded afer use or stay in main memory. That would help for me with fluxbox as windowmanager. Even after using the 64bit version of that lib, it will get unloaded and soffice and firefox-bin will be fine. For gnome as desktop the problem will continue to exist.

I guess I switch back to OO-1.4.

Cheers,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
twodeko
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Mar 2005
Posts: 43
Location: Ames, IA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

does anyone know how to install the 32bit JRE. a little confused on that one and it is taking forever to load for me.

thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mallchin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Jan 2003
Posts: 655
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice, pity about the slow startup though...
_________________
6700 @ 2.66GHz, 4Gb RAM, 2 x 500Gb, 8800 GTX, PhysX, X-Fi, 24" Widescreen, Tux mascot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
makton3g
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just got the Beta loaded here. Thing opens like a charm under Fluxbox. I am glad I put it on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
projectle
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2005 12:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Forgive an obviously stupid question, but OpenOffice is Open Source is it not?

As that is the case, why wouldn't one be able to compile OpenOffice 1.9m104 so that it is a 64-bit Application?

The only reason why I would think that this would not be possible is if the developers made assumptions on bit-calculations and register sizes, in turn making it not very efficient under a 64-bit Enviroment (as it would be computing a 32-bit value using the full register width).

If that is the case, then wouldn't it still be possible to compile for a 64-bit Enviroment, however it would require greater ammounts of memory while running?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
passive
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2005 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is crazy.

I did a little experiment.
JRE(Blackdown) on, CPU in powersave mode (800Mhz): 211 Seconds to start
JRE(Blackdown) on, CPU in performance mode (1800Mhz): 99 Seconds to start
JRE off, 800Mhz: 4 seconds.
JRE off, 1800Mhz: 2 seconds.

I have to assume something weird is going on here. I'm experience a 50x performance increase by disabling the JRE.
I'll see if I can install a Sun JRE, perhaps that plays better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ketjow
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Apr 2004
Posts: 382
Location: Krakow, Poland

PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2005 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

passive wrote:
This is crazy.

I did a little experiment.
JRE(Blackdown) on, CPU in powersave mode (800Mhz): 211 Seconds to start
JRE(Blackdown) on, CPU in performance mode (1800Mhz): 99 Seconds to start
JRE off, 800Mhz: 4 seconds.
JRE off, 1800Mhz: 2 seconds.

I have to assume something weird is going on here. I'm experience a 50x performance increase by disabling the JRE.
I'll see if I can install a Sun JRE, perhaps that plays better.
same thing here. After disabling java, oo2 starts almost at once :)
Does anyone know what the jre is for in openoffice2? I don't miss any functionality..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jacobs
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Apr 2003
Posts: 174
Location: Czech republic

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How do you disable JRE for just one particular package? I tried disable java in OO2 settings, but everytime I try to uncheck that checkbox, OO2 freezes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ferrarif5
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 211
Location: Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no problems with OOBeta2 with Java:
Code:

$time oowriter
real    0m3.348s
user    0m2.185s
sys     0m0.179s

Although I do get the terminal flooding messages
Quote:
Gdk-WARNING **: Error converting from UTF-8 to STRING: Conversion from character set 'UTF-8' to 'ISO-8859-1' is not supported
.
I installed Sun-Java myself (32bit of course) from their website instead of using portage or blackdown.

Versions
Sun Java: 1.5.0_01
Openoffice: 1.9.104
Gentoo Profile: 2005.0
_________________
Asus P6X58D-E Mobo
Intel Core i7 920
18GB Corsair DDR3
User:335876 | Screenshot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ketjow
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Apr 2004
Posts: 382
Location: Krakow, Poland

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jacobs wrote:
How do you disable JRE for just one particular package? I tried disable java in OO2 settings, but everytime I try to uncheck that checkbox, OO2 freezes.
it freezes for about 20 seconds. wait, and it will un-freeze with the checkbox unchecked :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum